Table of Contents
Newspaper Articles
1875
TH, JAN 20, 1875
PROVINCIAL COUNCIL MEETING
PUBLIC RECREATION GROUND.
In reply to Mr. Hughes’ question whether the Government had at its disposal any land in or near New Plymouth that could be used as a recreation ground.—Mr. Kelly said the only land the Government had at its disposal was that at the back of the cemetery, known as the “Botanical Gardens.” Many of the reserves around the town were made over to the Education Board, and the only way to get the land from them would be to alter the trust. The difficulty was to obtain funds just at a time when every penny of money was required for opening up roads and settling immigrants.
—Mr. Upjohn thought the Government might purchase the unexpired lease of the racecourse, which was to be put up by auction shortly, and make it over to the Town Board, who could deal with the matter as they thought fit.—Mr. Kelly thought the suggestion of the hon. member a good one, and the Government would make enquiry into a legal objection pointed out by his colleague, and endeavour to meet the wishes of the Council.
TH, JUNE 12, 1875
PUBLIC RESERVES BOARD
The Board met on Wednesday last, when his Honor the Superintendent presided. Present—Messrs. Brown, Gledhill, and Upjohn.
Exchange of Reserves,— His Honor the Superintendent said that the Government were proposing to set apart certain lands for recreation purposes at the back of the town, and there were thirty-five acres of an Education reserve which the Government wished the Board to exchange for land at Mangaone. Mr. Brown moved, Mr. Gledhill, seconded, and it was carried—That the Board is prepared to agree to the suggestion of the Chairman, his Honor the Superintendent, that a portion of the educational reserves, amounting to about thirty-five acres, at the back of the town, be devoted to purposes of town recreation; and that in lieu thereof, eighty acres of land at the Mangaone, on the inland side of the Devon Line, be handed over to the Board as a Reserve for educational purposes?
TH, JUNE 19, 1875
PROVINCIAL COUNCIL MEETING
SATURDAY, JUNE 19, 1875,
The present sitting of Council was nominally called to report the progress of works authorised at the last sitting, and to finish off the business left undisposed of when the Council adjourned. It appears that advantage is taken of it, by means of Ordinances of the Superintendent and Council, to settle some matters which it is prudent should be settled before the Provinces expire. This more especially applies to dealings with reserves that have been granted in trust to the Superintendent for various public purposes, and which it is desirable should be diverted to other public purposes. The Taranaki Agricultural Society Trust Bill is of this class. This Bill takes the St. Germains Square out of the trust under which it is now held as a public square, and makes it available for the Agricultural Society’s yards; a change which the public generally will recognize as a very proper one. The land lying between the Carrington Road and the racecourse, at present held for educational purposes, is about to be changed for purposes of public recreation grounds and water supply, and a portion set aside as the site of a lunatic asylum.
The want of a piece of suitable ground for public recreation, near the town, is very much felt, and this act on the part of the Government will supply the want. The management of this land is to be vested in the Town Board. This is done, we suppose, so as to avoid the creation of an additional Board, of which there are quite sufficient at the present moment without the infliction of another. But there may be differences of opinion whether the Board is the best managing body to undertake this duty of beautifying the grounds and providing suitably for the recreation of the public. But it has the advantage of being an elected body, and therefore not so likely to get fossilised, as is too often apparent in nominated bodies. If the Board will undertake the duty and perform it with only ordinary zeal, it will deserve well of the public. By placing this land in the hands of the Board the water supply is secured, and that in itself will be a great local advantage, which will be the more valued as the town increases in size and the pressing want of a supply of water is more felt than it is at the present time.
TH, JUNE 26, 1875
PROVINCIAL COUNCIL MEETING
Wednesday June 23
A memorial signed by 112 persons, asking for a piece of ground to be set aside for recreation purposes, was presented.
Wednesday June 24
Mr. Kelly moved the second reading of “The Botanical Garden and Public Recreation Grounds Bill, 1875.” The object of this bill was to vest in the Superintendent certain land (about 39 acres), situated between Carrington Road and the racecourse, as a Botanical Garden and Public Recreation Grounds. It was at present held in trust for educational purposes, but the Government intended to give an equivalent to the Education Board. The land was of rather an inferior quality, but would be suitably adapted for the purposes for which it was intended. The Government had fully considered the question as to what body should have the control of the grounds, and had arrived at the decision that the Town Board were the best party to have the management of it if they would undertake it. He had arranged with the Chairman of the Town Board to meet the deputation from that body on Saturday, and some understanding would then be arrived at. The Government considered it would be best for an elective, rather than a nominated, body to have control of it. He intended recommending that a sum of money should be devoted to getting the land in order. An influential petition had been presented from residents in the town, praying that a piece of land should be set aside for recreative purposes; the petitioners undertaking to keep it in order. As the ground was some distance above the level of the town, it was thought a sufficient fall of water could be obtained for the extinguishing of fires, watering of streets, &c.—After some discussion, the Bill was read a second time and ordered to be considered in Committee next sitting day.
TH, JUNE 26, 1875.
THOMAS KELLY’S LETTER TO CARRINGTON.
RECREATION GROUND AND WATER SUPPLY.
Sir,—In looking for a suitable piece of public land within a convenient distance from the town for the site and grounds of a Lunatic Asylum, the fact forced itself on my notice that in the immediate vicinity of the site I have selected, and which I submit for your approval—viz., Mount Herbert—that the interest of the whole community would be well consulted by making the balance of the reserve in the vicinity, by Ordinance of the Provincial Council, an endowment for public recreation grounds. The stream of water which flows through the reserve might be impounded and utilised for the ornamentation of the grounds, for watering the streets of New Plymouth, extinguishing fires, and providing for public baths.
The land to which I refer lies between Carrington Road and the Racecourse, and consist of exchanged town sections set apart for educational purposes. The area of this land, including roads which could be closed by Ordinance, is about 35 acres. It has not been a source of much revenue to the Educational Establishment, having only averaged some £15 per year, and is gradually deteriorating in value by the growth of furze, which successive tenants have failed to eradicate, or even keep down.
The reason of this is that the land is of inferior quality and very broken, rendering it unsuitable for cultivation. But it is admirably adapted by nature for forming recreation grounds, as the scenery is diversified, and winding paths could be made at small costs, and several small sheets of water made by dams of an inexpensive character. Although I propose to divert the purpose of this reserve from education to other public purposes, I do not think it would be desirable to take it without giving to the educational establishment either money compensation to compensate for the rent lost (£15), or to give, by way of exchange, other provincial lands of equal value; but I think the opportunity should not be lost for securing to the public of New Plymouth for all time these grounds which are capable of being made very beautiful for recreation purposes, and the other public services which I have named. The land is situated less than half-a-mile from the centre of the town, and if suitable paths and foot-bridges were made it would be at once used by a large section of the public on holidays, and by the various public organizations on special occasions—such as Templars’ Fetes, Band of Hope, and the various denominational schools for the children’s annual parties. Provisions could be easily made for making it accessible from various parts of the town, such as from the Carrington Road, from Liardet, Gover and Wakefield-streets. While these grounds might be made use of at a small cost to provide rational amusement to the public, the water, while affording a means of beautifying the grounds, could be utilised at a comparative small cost to furnish a supply for watering the streets, extinguishing fires, and providing for public baths; or even for supplying water for domestic purposes for the present population; but I propose to confine myself to the first-named purposes more within the menus of the provincial revenue. The stream which flows through the reserve takes the drainage of about three hundred acres of land roughly estimated, and therefore the annual rainfall, less that lost by evaporation and other causes, could be impounded and made available for the purposes I have named.
Assuming that 6-10 ths of our average annual rainfall could be collected and impounded, this would give a total quantity of 260,000,000 gallons for the twelve months, or a daily supply of about 360 gallons per head on the present population of the town if the whole of the water was impounded and stored up for daily use. The level of the water when damned back would be sufficiently high to flow to any part of the town not higher than 70 feet above the Huatoki River in Devon-street. And thus an abundant supply of water could be obtained at any time if pipes were laid from the reservoir to the most densely built portion of the town. Public baths are now getting an urgent necessity, and facilities ought to be given for their promotion, and nothing would tend more to do so than a good and cheap supply of water. The financial part of the question I leave for further consideration; all that I have at present to urge is that the land be for ever secured to the public for these necessary public purposes during the present session of the Council.
I have, &c. T. KELLY.
His Honor the Superintendent.
TH, JUNE 26, 1875
PROVINCIAL COUNCIL.
Wednesday-June 23
A memorial signed by 112 persons, asking for a piece of ground to be set aside for recreation purposes, was presented.
TH, JUNE 30, 1875
TOWN BOARD MEETING —RECREATION GROUND.
A discussion on the question as to whether the Board was willing to take over certain reserves for use as recreation grounds took place, when Mr. Laird moved, and Mr. H. Shuttleworth seconded, “That the Provincial Government be applied to for all the Town reserves inland of the Devon Line, when the Board will undertake the management of the recreation grounds,” which was carried.
TH, JUNE 30, 1875
PROVINCIAL COUNCIL MEETING
Tuesday June 29
The Council resumed at 2 p.m. and went into Committee on “The Botanic Garden and Public Recreation Grounds Bill, 1875.” Mr. Kelly stated that the Bill had been delayed in order to allow the Town Board to give an opinion on the question. A letter had been received from the Secretary, conveying certain resolutions which had been passed by that Board on the previous evening to the effect that the Board had decided to accept the old gaol, and also that they would undertake the management of the recreation grounds if all the town reserves inland of the Devon Line were also handed over to them. The Government could not agree to hand over the whole of the Town reserves, but that they would be prepared to deal liberally with the Town Board for purposes of recreation. He was surprised that they had refused to take over this valuable reserve. The Government had offered to hand over the land free of charge, build a cottage on it, and also to place a sum of money on the Estimates for the purpose of getting it in order. If the Town Board would not undertake it the Government must get some other body to do so. A memorial, influentially signed, had been received, asking that a reserve might be set aside for such a purpose, the memorialists undertaking to attend to it without any additional expense to the Province, whereas the Town Board would not undertake it on the very liberal terms offered by the Government.—Mr. Brown said he failed to see the generosity of the Government in this matter. The Town Board could not see its way to take this reserve only, as it considered that the ratepayers would not consent to be rated for the purpose of keeping it in order. The Government had simply promised to place £200 on the Estimates for clearing and fencing the land, but no mention was made of an annual vote.—A long discussion ensued, when it was decided that as the Town Board could not see its way to take over the reserve, the consideration of the Bill be postponed, to enable the Government to alter it, in order to convey the reserve to a Board of Trustees.
TH, JULY 28, 1875
RECREATION GROUND BOARD NAMED.
The Board of Trustees appointed under the authority of “The Botanic Gardens and Public Recreation Ground Ordinance,” consist of the following gentlemen:—Messrs. Thomas King, Harris Ford, R. C. Hughes, I. Broad, J. Gilmour, J. T. Davis, and R. J. Collins.
TH, AUGUST 4, 1875
FIRST RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The first meeting of this Board was held on Friday evening last, in the Taranaki Institute, when all the members were present.
Election, of officers.—Mr. T. King was elected chairman, Mr. J. Gilmour treasurer and Mr. R. Collins secretary.
Extent of the ground.—Messrs. T. King and R. C. Hughes were deputed to wait upon the Government to ask them to furnish a map of the ground, which by setting forth the position of the streams and general conformation of the ground, would form a basis of operations for the trustees to work upon. The area of the ground was stated to be 47 acres, and is bounded by the Carrington Road to Mr. G. Cutfield’s land, thence to the Racecourse, along to Gover-street and across to the back of the residence of Mr. G. D. Hammerton.
Ground to be fenced.—It was decided at the meeting that the first work undertaken should be the fencing; and as a practical way of ascertaining the actual requirements and probable cost, the whole of the trustees arranged to meet on Tuesday afternoon, (yesterday) on the ground and make a personal inspection of the property of which they have been elected trustees.
The meeting then terminated.
TH, AUGUST 11, 1875
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
A meeting of this Board was held on Friday evening last, in the Taranaki Institute, Present; Messrs. J. Gilmour, I. Broad, J. T. Davis, R. C. Hughes, and R. J, Collins (secretary), In the absence of the chairman, Mr. Broad was voted to the chair.
Government offer accepted.—On the motion of Mr. Hughes it was carried, “That the Secretary inform the Government that its offer to build a cottage for a keeper is accepted; and that the Board assent to the proposition that the cottage will be available for the residence of an emigrant family, until it is necessary for the protection of the grounds to have a keeper resident thereon.”
Premium for design.—It was moved by Mr. Davis and passed, “That £5 premium be offered for the best design for laying out the recreation ground, with a view to ornamentally planting it.”
Conference with the Town Board.—Mr. Davis was appointed to confer with the Town Board and Mr. Snell, relative to obtaining the top part of two gullies on the western boundary of the grounds.
Proposed purchase of certain sections.—Mr. Gilmour moved, “That the offer of the Government to purchase certain sections necessary to complete the grounds, be accepted with thanks”—Carried.
Application for moneys voted.—Mr. Hughes moved, Mr. Davis seconded, and it was carried, “That the Government be informed of Mr. Gilmour’s appointment as Treasurer, and request the moneys to which the Board is entitled may be placed in the Bank of New Zealand.”
The meeting then adjourned till Friday, the 20th instant, at 6.30 p.m.
TH, AUGUST 18, 1875
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The adjourned meeting of the Recreation Grounds Board took place on Friday evening. Present: Messrs. Ford, Davis, Collins, and Hughes. Mr. Hughes occupied the chair.
Leave of absence granted.—Leave of absence was granted to Mr. T. King.
Proposed Vineyard.—The meeting was called to consider an application from two Germans to lease part of the grounds for a term of twenty-one years, for a vineyard. The applicants were present as was also Mr. Roch (Government interpreter) who explained to the meeting the applicants’ wishes. The following offer was made by the Board:—“That four acres be leased for a vineyard on these conditions: For the first five years free, and if terms are duly fulfilled the Board will grant a lease for the remaining sixteen years, at £10 per year. Lesees to lay out, plant, fence, and keep in good order their four acres; same to be open to the public at all times, except when fruit is ripe, for one mouth, and then with special permission.” The Germans asked for time to consider this offer, which was granted. Should they decide to accept it before the next meeting, they could communicate with the secretary (Mr. R. J. Collins), who was empowered by the Board to agree to it on behalf of the Board, reporting next meeting night.
Laying out the Grounds.—The conditions for design were then discussed, when it was decided that the competitors should send in their plans on the scale of one chain to an inch, with an estimate cost of earthwork, planting, &c.; the competitors to utilize natural features of ground to the best advantage; the cost of whole not to exceed £500. Sites of cricket ground and archery lawn, ornamental pond, keeper’s cottage, and main entrance will be pointed out on map.
The Board then adjourned to Friday next at half-past 6 p.m.
TH, AUGUST 25, 1875
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
A meeting of the Board was held at the Taranaki Institute, on Friday evening Inst.
Present: Messrs. R. C. Hughes, J. Gilmour, I Broad, R. J. Collins, J. T. Davis, and H. Ford, Mr. Hughes was voted to the chair.
Proposed vineyard. — Mr. Roch who was present, informed the Board that there was no sufficient ground for two men to work out as a vineyard, one of the applicants had retired, and the remaining one was willing to take up the lease if the Board would reduce the rental to £8 per annum instead of £10, as asked for by the Board.—On the motion of Mr. Davis, seconded by Mr. Ford, this was agreed to: — On the motion of Mr. Collins, seconded by Mr. Gilmour, it was resolved that the lessee clear up, lay out, and fence in the four acres within two years.
The Board adjourned till Friday 3rd September, at 6.30 p.m.
TH, SEPTEMBER 8, 1875
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
A MEETING of the Recreation Grounds Board took place on Friday evening at the Taranaki Institute. Present: Messrs. Ford, Davis, Gilmour, Collins, and Hughes.
Application from German for reduction of area, as part of four acres was not suitable for vines.—On the motion of Mr. Collins, seconded by Mr. Ford, it was agreed that the application be acceded to, and that the rental be £5 per annum after five years, area not to exceed two and a half acres. Term to commence on 1st September.
Premium for best design of Ground.—On the motion of Mr. Hughes, seconded by Mr. Collins, the premium for best design of laying out grounds was awarded to Mr, R. Bayley.
The extent of Ground.—A deputation (Messrs Ford and Davis) was appointed to wait on the proper authorities and ascertain from them the extent and terms of existing leases (if any) on the grounds lately transferred by ordinance to the Board.
Tenders to be called for clearing Ground. —On the motion of Mr. Hughes, it was agreed that as soon as the deputation ascertained the extent of leases, the Secretary should advertise for tenders for grubbing, burning, and clearing all furze on a portion of the grounds.
The meeting adjourned to Friday, the 17th.
TH, SEPTEMBER 11, 1875
Acclimatisation Society.—A meeting of the members of this society will be held in the Institute, to-day, at 4 p.m. It has been suggested to us that it would be as well if the Recreation Ground Board were to set apart a portion of the domain for the Acclimatisation Society, where they could erect aviaries. The subject is well worth the consideration of the Board.
TH, SEPTEMBER 22, 1875
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Recreation Grounds Board met on Friday last. Present—Messrs. Hughes, Ford, Collins, and Davis.
Existing Leases of Ground.—The deputation appointed reported that the only existing lease was Mr. Rowe’s, for a term of seven years from 4th April, 1874, at 5s. 6d per year, on that part of the ground west of the stream under the old Carrington-road Blockhouse; also that Mr. Snell has two sections as a yearly tenant, at 10s, per year from March 1st.
After some correspondence was read, the Board adjourned.
TH, OCTOBER 13, 1875
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Board met on Friday last. Present: Messrs. R. C. Hughes (in the chair), H. Ford, J. Gilmour, R. J. Collins, and J. T. Davis.
Tenders for clearing.—The sub-committee (Messrs. Ford and Collins) appointed at last meeting to open and receive tenders, reported that they had received five tenders, and had accepted Messrs. Newell and James’, at £20.
Mr. Rowe’s offer to sell right of lease, refused.—It was resolved that Mr. Rowe’s offer to sell the right of his lease be not accepted, and that the Secretary give notice to Mr. Rowe to burn and clear the furze on the ground under lease to him, in accordance with the terms of his lease.
Two sections on the Carrington Road required.—It was moved by Mr. Collins, seconded by Mr. Davis, and carried—” That the Government be requested to hand over to the Board the two sections at the foot of Carrington Road, to enable the Board to have a main entrance from Carrington Road to the grounds, and that Mr. Hughes wait upon the Government and represent the matter.”
The Acclimatisation Society.—Mr. Ford moved, Mr. Collins seconded, and it was agreed to—“That Mr. Hughes wait upon the Secretary of the Acclimatisation Society, to hear the proposition the Society has to make for the use of a portion of the grounds, and report next meeting night.”
After some minor matters had been disposed of, the Board adjourned to Friday, the 22nd October.
TH, OCTOBER 27, 1875
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Board met on Friday evening last.
Present: Messrs. T. King (chairman), R. C. Hughes, R. J. Collins, and J. T. Davis.
Exchange of Sections.—Mr. Hughes reported that on examination of the minute book of the Public Trust Board, he found that Mr. Rowe had exchanged section No. 1065 at the foot of Carrington Road for sections Nos. 1593 and 1618 at the east end of Poverty Flat.
Cattle wandering on the Grounds.—Several complaints having been made about cattle running loose on the grounds, doing damage to the property of persons living near, Mr. Hughes moved, Mr. Davis seconded, and it was agreed to—“That notice be sent to Mr. Snell to keep his cattle off the grounds, or they will be impounded.”
Fencing in Recreation Grounds.—Mr. Hughes moved, Mr. Collins seconded, and it was carried—“That as soon as a tracing of the boundary can be obtained, tenders for a ditch and bank fence be advertised for.”
The Board then adjourned till Friday, 3rd November, at 7 p.m.
TH, NOVEMBER 24, 1875
RECREATION GROUNDS BOARD
The Board met at the Taranaki Institute, at 7 p.m. on Friday last. Present: Messrs, Gilmour, Davis, Collins, and Hughes, Mr. R. C. Hughes in the chair.
Proposed surrender of late Mr. Rowe’s lease.—Correspondence received and read from Mr. T. Colson as trustee of the late Richard Rowe, offering to surrender lease on payment for fencing being made.—Moved by Mr, Gilmour and seconded by Mr. Collins and agreed to, “That Mr. Colson’s offer to surrender lease on fair value being allowed for fence be accepted, provided the necessary funds can be obtained, and that half the cost of clearing furze on ground under lease be borne by Mr, Rowe’s representatives, exchange of sections confirmed.
Nomination of a new Trustee.—The Secretary was instructed to notify to his Honor the Superintendent that the seat held by Mr. Broad had become vacant, that member having absented himself from three consecutive meetings of the Board without leave, and that his Honor be requested to appoint another gentleman for the vacant seat, for which the Board would, respectfully submit the name of Mr. Thomas Colson.
An advance of money required.—The Chairman was requested to interview the Government relative to an advance of money being made to enable the Board to carry out its works.
After which some minor matters were disposed of and the Board adjourned at 8.30 p.m.
TH, December 8 , 1875
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Board met on Friday evening last, at 7 o’clock, at the Taranaki Institute, when there were present—Messrs. T. King (chairman), R. C. Hughes, R. J. Collins, J. Gilmour, H. Ford, and J. T. Davis.—Minutes of previous meeting read and confirmed.—Secretary handed in eight tenders for ditch and bank fence—opened and read—ranging from 9s. to 15s. Moved by Mr. Davis, seconded by Mr. Ford, and carried. “That Huggett and Co.’s tender, at 10s. per chain, be accepted.”—On motion of Mr. Ford, seconded by Mr. Hughes, it was resolved, “ That the secretary make an official application to his Honor the Superintendent for the corrected plan of the grounds the Board having been put to great inconvenience through the delay in obtaining it,” —Mr, Hughes reported that he had made arrangements, subject to approval of the Board, with Mr. Cutfield, to erect a dividing four-rail fence (heart of pine posts and rails), which, on motion of Mr, Ford, was approved of.—On the motion of Mr. Hughes, seconded by Mr, Collins, it was agreed “That application be made to Chairman of Educational Reserve for two sections at foot of Carrington Road.”—Letter received, and read, from Mr. Gilbert offering to rent piece of land bounded by Carrington Road, Brooklands, and Nosworthy Road, at 10s. per acre per annum. Mr. Collins moved, and Mr. Gilmour seconded, and it was carried, “That Mr Gilbert be allowed to occupy it at the will of the Board, to keep the fence in good repair, and clean the whole of the ground, reserving to the Board the right to plant trees on it.— On motion of Mr. Hughes, seconded by Mr. Ford, it was resolved to call for tenders for dividing fence between grounds and Mr. Cutfield.—Adjourned at 8.30 p.m. to 7 p.m. on Friday, 17th.
1876
TH, FEBRUARY 26, 1876
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Board met on Tuesday evening last.
Present: Messrs. T. King (chairman), J. T. Davis, T, Colson, J, Gilmour, H. Ford, R. C Hughes, and R. J. Collins.—The Secretary reported the fencing had been delayed on account of the surveyors’ being unable to attend to mark out the boundaries through press of work on hand. It had since been done, and only awaited for the men to commence work. —The Secretary was instructed to obtain sixty-five puriri posts and two hundred and sixty heart of pine rails, and employ labour to erect fence.—Mr. Hughes reported that Mr. Stephenson was agreeable to sell house and section, and it was agreed that previous to purchasing same that Messrs. Ford and Gilmour should see the house and report as to its state next meeting.—On the motion of Mr. Gilmour it was agreed that tenders for cutting the furze on that portion of the ground that was under lease to Mr. Rowe be called for.— On the motion of Mr. Collins, it was resolved that the valuation of the fencing by Messrs. Gilbert and Eva be accepted and settled at soon as the half-cost of clearing furze be ascertained.—Business for next meeting will be the consideration of making main path way through grounds.—On motion of Mr. Collins, the Board adjourned to Friday, the 18th proximo.
TH, MARCH 8, 1876
The Recreation Grounds.—The Board appointed by the Government to take charge of the reserve set aside as a recreation ground has not been idle during the past twelve months, and now the land has been surveyed, are preparing to put the grounds into some shape. A plan having been prepared, it is the intention of the committee to commence shortly in carrying it out, and at the next meeting of the Board the matter will be brought forward. The main entrance it is proposed to have just past the old Brewery on the Carrington Road, and a path will be made along the banks of the stream to the flat near the boundary of Cutfield’s farm, near which another entrance gate will be fixed. Another path will branch off at right angles, towards the Racecourse, passing close to the vinery, and from which an extensive view of country and sea may be obtained. Efforts will be made by the Secretary (Mr. R. J. Collins) to obtain hardy shrubs and young trees for planting out in the coming season. When once the paths are cut, the Grounds will become a favourite resort. Even now the Grounds are proving attractive.
TH, MARCH 11, 1876
PUBLIC TRUST BOARD.
ROAD THROUGH THE RECREATION GROUND
Recreation Board.—Application from the Secretary of the Recreation Grounds Board was read, asking the trustee of Public Reserves to surrender sections 1065 and 1084 so that a front entrance to the grounds might be made. The trustees instructed the Secretary to write to the Recreation Grounds Board and to state that they declined surrendering the sections asked for.
Road through the Recreation, Ground.— During the consideration of the above matter Mr. Hulke enquired of his Honor when the Carrington Road diversion through the Recreation Ground was likely to be commenced, and whether he could not set the prisoners to work on it. It was intimated to the Board that the prisoners had been promised to the Town Board for a certain time, work having been done for the Province in return for the labour.—Mr. Hulke wanted to know the value of the work done, and moved “That the Superintendent be requested to obtain from the gaoler the number of day’s work done by the prisoners for the Town Board since the 1st January, 1875, to the present time.”—Mr. Upjohn seconded the resolution, which was carried.
TH, MARCH 15, 1876
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Board met at the Taranaki Institute on Friday evening. Present: Messrs. Hughes, Ford, Davis, and Collins.
Seven tenders for cutting furze received and opened—two at £15; one at £14 10s.: two at £10; one at £9; and one at £8. On motion of Mr. Davis, it was resolved that Mr. G. Roach’s tender, at £8, be accepted.—Secretary reported that the contractors for ditch and bank fencing had commenced work, when it was resolved that Messrs, Ford and Colson inspect the same, and see that it is according to specification.—On motion of Mr, Collins Mr. Hughes was appointed to wait on Secretary Public Reserve Trusts, and obtain either lease of, or right of way through sections Nos. 1,065 and 1,081.—On motion of Mr. Ford, the Board adjourned to Friday next.—Consideration of making footpath deferred, as the whole of the Board was not present.
TH, MARCH 29, 1876
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Board met on Friday evening last.
Present; Messrs. Hughes, Ford, Davis, Colson, Gilmour, and Collins.—Minutes read and confirmed.—Secretary read letter from Secretary Public Reserves Trust stating that sections 1065 and 1084 were required to form part of a road up the valley projected and surveyed 4th January, 1867.—Mr. Hughes reported waiting on Secretary Public Reserves Trust, and was informed that it was the intention of the Board to urge on the Government the carrying of a road through the grounds. Motion made by Mr. Ford, seconded by Mr. Gilmour, and carried, “That this Board protest against the action of the Board of Trustees for Public Reserves in urging on the Government the making of a road through the Recreation Grounds, the said grounds having been handed over by Ordinance without any such reservation being made therein.” —Mr. Hughes was instructed to purchase the house offered by Mr. Stephenson.—Mr. Colson and Mr. Ford reported that an improvement might be made by cutting sods and placing them on the inside of the ditch and bank fence. The matter was left in the hands of Mr. Colson.—Mr. Collins moved, Mr. Gilmour seconded, and it was agreed to, “That a pathway be constructed on the west side of the stream parallel with Carrington Road, with a main entrance from Liardet-street.—On motion of Mr, Davis, seconded by Mr. Gilmour, and carried, “That the Secretary write to Secretary of the Wellington Botanical Gardens for any shrubs, &c., that he may have to dispose of.—Adjourned to Friday, the 7th April.
TH, APRIL 12, 1876
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Recreation Grounds Board met on Friday evening last. Present: Messrs. R. C. Hughes, Davis, Colson, Gilmour, and Collins. Mr. Hughes was voted to the chair.—Leave of absence granted to Mr. King. —It was decided to peg out the intended pathway at once, and the Secretary was instructed to call for tenders for construction of same.—Messrs. Blyde and Co.’s offer to turf the inside of ditch and bank fence at 3s. per chain was accepted.—Adjourned to Thursday, 20th April.
TH, APRIL 22, 1876
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Recreation Grounds Board.—This Board met on Thursday. Present: Messrs. Gilmour, Colson, Ford, Hughes, Davis, and Collins. Tenders for the formation of footpaths were opened and read; Charles Tapp’s tender at 4s. 6d. per chain was accepted. A letter from the Superintendent in reference to a road through the grounds was read. Mr. R. Snell’s offer to lease two sections at £1 per year each for twelve years, and the offer from Mr. M. Murphy to lease section 1180 at £1 per year for twenty-one years were read.—On the motion of Mr. Colson, it was resolved that Mr. Snell be allowed to occupy the two sections at the yearly rental offered, but subject to six months’ notice to expire at any time.—Mrs. Moore was allowed part of the ground adjoining the keepers lodge for garden purposes, reserving to the Board the right of planting trees thereon. On the motion of Mr. Collins, the erection of turnstiles and foot bridges was left in Mr. Colson’s hands.—Adjourned to Friday, the 19th May.
TH, MAY 6, 1876
PUBLIC TRUST BOARD
ROAD THROUGH THE RECREATION GROUND
Road through the Recreation. Grounds.—A letter was read from the Secretary of the Recreation Grounds Board, enclosing a resolution passed on the 24th March, as follows : —“ Resolved—That the Board protests against the action of the Board of Trustees for Public Reserves, in urging on the Government the making of a road through the Recreation Grounds, the said Grounds having been handed over by Ordinance without any such reservation being made.” (Signed) R. J. Collins, Hon. Secretary.—His Honor said perhaps they had better pass some resolution respecting the road. He was not aware what Major Atkinson’s opinion was on the matter, and they might perhaps postpone it till he came.—Mr. Gledhill and Mr. Hulke stated that Major Atkinson was a strong advocate for the road being made.—Mr. Crompton considered that the entrance to the Recreation Grounds would be improved by the road.—Mr. Gledhill said in addition to shortening the distance, it would be a great advantage to the settlers living in that direction if the road was made.—Mr. Hulke said the Recreation Board was not a properly constituted one, the Ordinance that had been passed had not been assented to by the Governor.—Mr. Upjohn said the land then reverted back to them to deal with. —His Honor said the Governor had not disallowed the ordinance. He did not know the reason why it had not been assented to.—Mr. Gledhill asked why the road had not been made ?—His Honor replied through want of funds.—Mr. HULKE said he considered that the Grounds should be under the control of the Acclimatization and Horticultural Society, and the Recreation Grounds Committee. With regard to the road he would move, “That his Honor the Superintendent be requested to take immediate steps to have the line of road defined and marked out upon the ground from the original section 1064 to the Oldsworth Road”—Mr. Crompton seconded the resolution, which was carried.
TH, MAY 10, 1876
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
THE Board met on Friday last. Present. Messrs. Hughes, Colson, Davis, and Collins.— Mr. Hughes was called to the chair.—Minutes read and confirmed.—Leave of absence granted to Mr. T. King.—Correspondence read from the Superintendent as to purchase of house and section,—Secretary reported that he had obtained a person to supply puriri posts at 1s. 9d. each, delivered on the ground.—Mr. Davis moved, Mr. Collins seconded, and it was carried, “That the public be solicited for subscriptions (either in cash or shrubs), and that subscription lists be drawn up and left with Messrs. Gilmour, Ford, and Davis.”—On the motion of Mr. Davis, seconded by Mr. Colson, it was agreed to employ a man for a week to plant trees, &c —Mr. Colson moved, Mr. Collins seconded, and it was carried. “That the Town Board be asked to assist with prisoners in forming a road or pathway to the Recreation Grounds from Liardet-street.”— The Board then adjourned till the 19th May.
TH, MAY 17, 1876
PROVINCIAL EXECUTIVE
ROAD THROUGH THE RECREATION GROUND
A deputation of members of the Recreation Board, and other gentlemen interested on public grounds, waited upon the Provincial Executive on Saturday last. There were present, Messrs. T. King, R. C. Hughes, J. T. Davis, H. Ford, J. Gilmour, T, E. Hammerton, D. Callaghan, and E. Humphries. Major Atkinson also happened to be present with his Honor the Superintendent and Messrs. Kelly and Standish.—Mr. Hughes explained that after the Recreation Board had decided to cut a path through the grounds, action had been taken by the Trusts Board to get the Government to form a road on the line of the proposed path, which, if acted upon, would cause considerable inconvenience and additional expense, besides upsetting arrangements already made for carrying out the work. On the maps and plans supplied by the Government in handing the grounds over to the Board no reference whatever was made to any proposed line of road. The grounds were handed over in their entirety, to be dealt with by the Board. Accordingly, on a plan of the grounds which had been designed for laying out ornamental paths, no allowance had been made for road said to have been contemplated ten years ago. As through some oversight the Act giving power to the Board to deal with the grounds had not received the Governors assent, the deputation desired to know what course his Honor proposed to take in the matter. It was pointed out by other members of the deputation that no action had been taken towards forming the road till the Recreation Board had actually had plans prepared, that the saving of distance in the journey to Inglewood would not be more than a quarter of a mile, and that since Maoricot Hill had been cut down, and the railway was so near being opened, there was less need than ever for making proposed road. It would simply enhance the value of some properties on the line of road. With such reservation as to proposed road it was questionable if the Board would have had anything to do with the Recreation Grounds.— His Honor the Superintendent, in reply, said he knew strong feeling was shown by some parties to carrying out the road through the Recreation Grounds, but could not say whether it would be done or not. He would give a final answer on Monday, His Honor said he felt quite sure the bill mentioned, granting power to the Board to deal with the Grounds, would be passed during next session.
TH, MAY 20, 1876
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
Planting of the First Tree in the Recreation Grounds.—Mr. R. J. Collins, the Hon, Secretary of the Recreation Grounds Board, informs us at a meeting held last evening, it was agreed that the ceremony of planting the first tree in the new grounds should take place on the Queen’s Birthday. We believe that Miss Carrington has kindly consented to plant the first tree, after which any lady present who pleases can have an opportunity of planting one likewise. Particulars respecting the ceremony will appear in our next issue.
TH, MAY 24, 1876
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Board met on Friday evening last. Present—Messrs. R. C. Hughes (in the chair), Davis, Gilmour, Collins, and Colson.—The Chairman reported that Mr. Beale, acting for Mr. Stephenson, had accepted offer of Board to purchase house and section for sum of £50.—Mr. Colson moved, and Mr. Gilmour seconded, “That two loads of kohekohe rails be obtained.” Carried.—Mr. Davis moved and Mr. Colson seconded, “That a piece of ground be prepared for planting flowering shrubs.’’ Carried.—Mr. Colson reported that the pathway was completed.—On motion of Mr. Gilmour, seconded by Mr. Colson, it was carried, “That the first tree be publicly planted on the Queen’s Birthday, and that Mrs. Carrington be invited to perform the ceremony.”—Board adjourned to Friday, 2nd June, 1876.
TH, MAY 31, 1876.
PLANTING THE FIRST TREE IN THE RECREATION GROUND
A VERY interesting ceremony was gone through on Monday last, namely the planting of the first tree in the Recreation Grounds. It has been known for some time past that the gentlemen who were appointed as trustees for the grounds had been busily engaged in having portions of it fenced and paths made. They have now commenced planting it with trees, which in a few years will make the place very ornamental, and at the same time afford shelter from the sun’s rays to those who visit the grounds. Monday was one of the most beautiful days we have had this season, and shortly after two o’clock a large number of persons had congregated on a hill just facing the entrance, in readiness to see the ceremony of planting the first tree gone through.
His Honor the Superintendent with Miss Carrington and Miss Jessie Carrington were early on the grounds with a number of friends. The Members of the Recreation Board—Mr. T. King, (chairman), Mr. R. J. Collins, (hon. secretary), and Messrs. T. Colson, H. Ford, J. T. Davis, J. Gilmour, and R. C. Hughes—were also present; and in various ways engaged in arranging preliminaries.
The Band (under the leadership of Mr. R. Townsend) was there and played several of their popular pieces. At About half-past two, everything being arranged,
Mr. T. KING (Chairman of the Recreation Grounds Board), addressing his Honor the Superintendent, said it was now upwards of thirty-eight years since he (Mr. Carrington), as representative of the New Zealand Company; surveyed and laid out the Town of New Plymouth; and his Honor would no doubt remember that he then set apart land that surrounded the town as broad belts and also made large reserves for recreation purposes. Some time afterwards Governor Fitzroy came down here and dispossessed them of those lands and took from them their recreation grounds. Many years had elapsed since then, but lately it has been through his Honor’s means that some amends had been made, and they had had restored to them a portion of that which had been taken away, by setting apart the land for the recreation grounds. Such being the case the trustees considered that it was but fitting that his Honor should be present and take part on the occasion of the planting of the first tree in the grounds.
His Honor F. A. Carrington said, as Mr. T. King had stated, he had surveyed the town; and when doing so, had set apart land for a wide belt round it. He had, also, laid out a spot for Victoria Park and another for a Botanical Gardens; besides reserves for other purposes. Then difficulties of a native character arose, which debarred the Company from acquiring the land, and the belt round the town was taken from them by the act of Governor Fitzroy to compensate settlers who had been turned off other land; and, inasmuch as this was the case, he had carefully considered the matter, and thought it only due to the Corporation that some restitution should be made for what had been taken away. He was shortly going to the Assembly, and he would make it his special duty to see that land was awarded them; and if there was no land in the town then he would try to get other lands somewhere else in lieu thereof, as an endowment for such lands as the town had been unfairly deprived of. It was a just claim, and he believed it would be heeded. At all events, he would try what he could do. He thought they could make very pretty place there, and which, he had no doubt, would be visited by a great many, and who would have an opportunity of spending a very pleasant day in walking through the grounds.
His Honor, accompanied by his eldest daughter, were then taken to the spot prepared for the planting of the first tree, which was a British Oak. Here Mr. J. T. Davis presented Miss Carrington with a neatly polished little spade, on one side of the handle of which was the following inscription: – “To plant the first tree in the Recreation Ground, New Plymouth, May 29, 1876.” On the other side was “Presented to Miss Carrington.” A large hole had been dug and the tree placed in it, which was held by Mr. T. Colson, whilst Miss Carrington very gracefully lifted some of the earth with the spade and threw it over the roots. Mr. T. Colson then took her to the north side of the mound, where a Puriri, as representing New Zealand, was planted in the same manner. The same ceremony was gone through on the west side, where a Norfolk Island Pine, representing the South Pacific Islands, and on the south side a Pinus Insignus, representing America, were planted. Having performed her pleasing duties, and declared that the trees were planted, three cheers were called for Miss Carrington, which was lustily responded to. His Honor was then loudly cheered, and after three cheers for the Recreation Ground Board, the ceremony brought to a conclusion by the band playing the National Anthem.
As it was announced that after the ceremony anyone could plant trees that choose, the place assumed quite an active appearance and all along the walk might be seen persons in groups busy at work planting different kinds of trees the growth of which we have no doubt will be as carefully watched and cared for as if they were in their own gardens. When the Public Domain, as we may call it, is visited by their grand-children or great-grand-children, they will be able to point with pride to the trees which then will be of large size, and say they were planted by their ancestors. The ground we understand has been turned over in readiness to receive the contributions of visitors, and now presents quite a garden-like appearance from the number of shrubs and flowering plants brought to the grounds and set by visitors. For the remainder of the week a man will be employed in the grounds getting ready for the reception of other contributions. There is some talk amongst the Recreation Board Committee of inviting persons during the week to continue taking up suitable plants which they may either set themselves in places pointed out, or which will be taken charge of by the gardener. We hope there will be a large number of such visitors.
TH, JUNE 7, 1876
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Board met on Friday. Present: Messrs, King (Chairman) Ford, Gilmour, CoIson, Hughes, Davis, and Collins (Hon. Sec).—Minutes of previous meeting read and confirmed.— Correspondence read from the Superintendent relative to road through Grounds.—Moved by Mr. Hughes, seconded by Mr. Collins, and agreed to, “That a pathway be made from bridge near entrance from Liardet-street to the Vineyard, and from thence to the stream near Brooklands.—Moved by Mr. Hughes, seconded by Mr. Colson, and carried, “That as the Board require the house for use of man to look after Grounds, the Secretary be requested to give notice to Mr. Murphy to quit.’—Board adjourned to Friday, 9th July.
TH, JUNE 17, 1876
TOWN BOARD
Making of the Road to the Recreation Grounds. — A letter was read from the Secretary of the Recreation Grounds Board asking the assistance of the Town Board towards making Liardet-street to the Recreation Grounds by means of prison labour. The Board considered that the prisoners were better employed, and on the motion of Mr. Ellis seconded by Mr. Laird, it was resolved that the Secretary be instructed to write to the Recreation Grounds Board stating that it was not advisable to take the prisoners off the work they at present were engaged on.
TH, JULY 12, 1876
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
This Board met on Friday evening last. Present: Messrs. Ford, Colson, Gilmour, Davis, Hughes, and Collins.—Minutes of last meeting read and confirmed.—Correspondence read. Treasurer reported that subscriptions amounted to £55.—Mr. Colson moved. Mr. Davis seconded, and it was agreed to, “That the thanks of the Board are due to Mr. Hood and other gentlemen who so liberally responded to the call of the Board for subscriptions; and the Board would invite those gentlemen who have not yet contributed to come forward and do so.’’—Mr. Gilmour moved, Mr. Collins seconded, and it was carried, “That the Board desire to convey their thanks to the nurserymen and ladies and gentlemen for their extremely liberal contributions of shrubs and plants; and to the Town Band for their gratuitous services on the planting of the first tree.”—Moved by Mr. Davis, seconded by Mr. Collins, and agreed to, “That the Acclimatization Society of Taranaki be invited to cooperate with the Board in furthering the object contemplated.—On the motion of Mr. Colson, the Secretary was requested to call for tenders for finding rails and labour in erecting dividing fence between grounds and Brooklands.—Meeting adjourned on motion of Mr. Hughes, to Friday, the 5th August.
TH, JULY 26, 1876
LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
The Taranaki Botanical Gardens Bill has been introduced in the Legislative Council and read a second time. Dr. Pollen in explaining the objects of the Bill, said that in 1875 a Provincial Ordinance was passed with the same intention as this Bill. The Solicitor-General had, however, taken exception to certain provisions that were in the Ordinance, which had given power to impose certain penalties, &c., and in consequence his Excellency was advised not to assent to the measure. These objections, however, had not been to the principle of that Ordinance. The Bill was subsequently committed, when clauses 1 to 8, 10, 11, 12, and 14 to 17, were agreed to, and Clauses 9 and 13 were postponed.
TH, AUGUST 9, 1876
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Board met on Friday evening last, in the Taranaki Institute. Present: Messrs. Gilmour, Davis, Colson, Ford, Hughes, and Collins. Mr. Hughes was voted to the chair.—The minutes of the last meeting were read and confirmed.—The Secretary reported the acceptance of Mr. Skinner’s tender for fencing.—Mr. Colson reported the erection of a dividing fence between Mr. Hammerton’s and the Grounds.—Several important and necessary works were suggested and discussed, but the carrying of them out had to be deferred for want of funds.—The Board then adjourned to Friday, 7th September.
TH, August 9, 1876
EDUCATION BOARD
The Board had a special meeting on Monday afternoon, when Mr. B. Wells presided.
Present: Ven. Archdeacon Govett, Messrs. Standish, and Syme.
The Recreation Ground.—The Chairman said he had called them together owing to the receipt of a telegram from the Chairman of Committees of the Legislative Council in Wellington, as follows:—“The Committee of the Legislative Council desire to be informed whether the Education Board is a consenting party to the proposed transfer of the land to the Botanical Garden Board.” They might be aware that a bill was now before the Legislative Council to legalise the Recreation Grounds Board, and the members wished to know if the Education Board were consenting parties to the transfer.—Mr. Standish having explained that the Government had given the Education Trust some land of far greater extent, and value, at the Waiwakaiho, moved a resolution as follows—“ Although this Board has no legal authority over the reserves at the present time, it is of opinion that the educational interests of the districts will be improved rather than injured by the contemplated exchange.”—Mr. Syme seconded the resolution.—The Chairman said he had no personal feeling in the matter, but he had been requested by the members of the Trust Board to urge the condition that a road promised by the Superintendent should be made through the land.—Mr. Standish said that that question had been settled; and Hon. Major Atkinson, on behalf of those who urged the making of the road, had consented to withdraw all opposition on the Government agreeing to have improvements made in the Carrington Road.—Mr. Wells said that the people living at Inglewood and Mangorei would have to go more than a quarter of a mile out of their way through it.—Mr. Syme was surprised that people should ask for this road when they already had three roads to Inglewood.— Some further discussion on the subject ensued, when the members present not entertaining the views advocated by the Chairman, that a road should be made conditional to the Recreation Board having the land, the resolution was unanimously passed.
The Board then adjourned.
TH, AUGUST 16, 1876
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
A special meeting of this Board was held yesterday afternoon, at 2 o’clock. Present: Messrs. King, Ford, Davis, Gilmour, Hughes, and the Hon. Secretary (Mr. R. J. Collins).—A letter from the Sable Orphan Troupe was read, offering to give a benefit performance in aid of the Recreation Grounds funds. It was resolved that the offer should be thankfully accepted. —After consideration of application, it was resolved that Mr, Roach be allowed to rent five acres (more or less) for a term of three years, at £5 per annum, on condition of keeping the ground clean and the fences in good order; reserving to the Board the right to plant trees and make pathways, and on expiration of his term to hand over the ground laid down in grass.— The Board adjourned.
TH, AUGUST 16, 1876
Entrance to the Recreation Ground.
The public are indebted to his Honor the Deputy Superintendent (Mr. W. M. Crompton) for having a cutting made at the far end of Liardet-street, by which an easy access may now be had to the Recreation Ground.
TH, SEPTEMBER 13, 1876
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Board met on Friday evening last.
Present: Messrs. Hughes, Davis, Colson and Collins. Mr. Hughes was voted to the chair.—The minutes of the last meeting were read and confirmed.—The secretary reported the receipt of over 2,000 shrubs from Canterbury, also that a package of puriri trees, about 300, had been sent to the canterbury Domain Board. —An application from Mr. Gilbert was read, asking to be allowed to plough and take a crop out of that piece of land adjoining Carrington Road and to hand it over laid down in grass. On the motion of Mr. Davis, seconded by Mr. Colson, it was carried, “That Mr. Gilbert’s offer be accepted. —The Board then adjourned to the first Friday in October.
TH, OCTOBER 4, 1876
THE BOTANICAL GARDEN’S BILL
Mr. Kelly in a letter to Mr. Standish states that the Botanical Garden’s Bill, although introduced in the Legislative Council early in the session, has only just finally passed through the house.
TH, OCTOBER 11, 1876
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Recreation Ground Board met on Friday evening, when Messrs. Hughes, Davis, Ford, Colson, and Collins were present.—The secretary reported the completion of the dividing fence between the grounds and Brooklands.—Mr. Colson reported that the Canterbury donation of shrubs were all alive and doing well. —On the motion of Mr. Hughes it was resolved that an approval should be made for volunteers to give a half-day’s work for cutting down the fern around the growing trees on the 9th November next.— The Board then adjourned till Friday, the 3rd November.
TH, NOVEMBER 22, 1876
MALICIOUS DESTRUCTION OF TREES
We regret to hear that some mischievious person has maliciously damaged an oak tree in the Botanic Gardens. According to the new Act any person doing any damage within the grounds is liable to a penalty of £5, in addition to making good the damage.
TH, NOVEMBER 22, 1876
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Board met on Friday evening last. Present: Messrs. Ford, Colson, Davis, and Collins. Mr. Ford was called to the chair. The minutes were read and confirmed. On the motion of Mr. Colson, seconded by Mr. Davis, it was resolved, “That Mr. Charles Carnell (being a resident adjacent to the grounds), be placed in charge thereof, in consideration of his being employed to work thereon for two days a week, and have full power to impound all cattle found trespassing thereon, and exercise the usual duties of a custodian.” After other minor business had been disposed of, the meeting adjourned.
1877
TH, JULY 3, 1877
BOTANICAL GARDEN BOARD
This Board met on Saturday. Present: Mr. T. King, Chairman, Messrs. Davis, Hughes, Colson, and R. Bayley.
Employment of Prison Labour.—The Hon. Secretary (Mr. R. Bayley) laid on the table a letter from the Borough Council, dated July 19th, in reply to a memorial from the Board, offering them a sum of £50, provided that the Board refrained from employing prison labour.—Mr. Hughes thought the sum mentioned should be accepted, but that they should have the prison labour till the ornamental water was finished, and afterwards a day at a time, when required,—Mr. Bayley considered that the time possibly required for forming the ornamental water being so uncertain, the Council should be asked to allow them the prisoners twice instead of once a week.—Some discussion ensued with regard to being able to do the work without prison labour; and it was ultimately proposed by Mr. Hughes, seconded by Mr. Colson, and carried, “That relying on the liberality of the Board in considering any future application, we accept their present proposal with thanks for the same, subject to the Board not transferring the prison labour until the completion of the dam for the ornamental water.”—It was decided that the Secretary be instructed to communicate the above resolution to the Borough Council; and to further state that the prison labour would not be required by them until the summer; and that in consequence of the promise of the Hon. Major Atkinson and the Executive Officer, the Board had gone to the trouble of having the place for the pond surveyed, and plans prepared, and that in addition to prison labour, money was required.
Leave of Absence. —The Secretary brought to the notice of the Board the absence of a member.—Mr. Davis proposed, and Mr. Colson seconded, “That Mr. Gilmour be granted leave of absence.” Carried.
Treasurership,—Mr. Colson proposed. Mr. Hughes seconded, and it was carried, “That Mr. Bayley act as Treasurer during the absence of Mr. Gilmour.”
The Board then adjourned.
TH, JULY 4, 1877
BOROUGH COUNCIL
Donation to the Botanical Garden Board
A letter was read from the Hon. Secretary of the Botanical Garden Board, enclosing a resolution relative to the donation, and the prison labour.—The Mayor said the question for the Council to consider was, were they to consent to give the grant and likewise the use of the prisoners to make the pond.’ He would like to have had some understanding how long it would take to make the pond.—Mr. Vivian said they wanted the £50 to buy tools for the prisoners to work with. They had made a very fair offer, and if they took the money, they should give a guarantee they would not take the prisoners. He was for sticking to the resolution,—The Mayor said he thought they should not give any money except it was to be spent in the planting of trees. They did not want any rural scenery made, as the town was rural in itself. They would be doing a vast deal of good by growing trees, but to spend their money on duck ponds was going into a useless expenditure which was utterly unneeded in this town.—Mr. Vivian considered they would be doing much more good by spending the money on roads.—Mr. Ellis did not agree with what had fallen from the previous speakers. They wanted water for the watering-cart, which could be obtained from the pond. It would be a good opportunity for making it part of their water scheme.—After some further discussion the matter was postponed.
TH, AUGUST 8, 1877
BOROUGH COUNCIL MEETING
The Recreation Grounds.—A letter was read from the Secretary of the Botanical Gardens Board, asking the Borough for an answer to its petition, as the planting season was now on, and stating for the information of the members that the Board did not require the money to buy tools for the prisoners to work with.—The Chairman said the Mayor had stated that he would see to the matter, but, owing to his absence in Wellington, he could not say what had been done.—Mr. Vivian thought the matter had better stand over.
TH, AUGUST 9, 1877
FIRE IN THE RECREATION GROUND
A few days ago, some careless or mischievous person set fire to the furze on the Carrington Road close to the Recreation Ground. The fire destroyed about a chain of the Recreation Ground’s fencing, and several of the newly-planted trees.
TH, SEPTEMBER 11, 1877
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Board met on Saturday at 6.30 p.m. Present: Mr. T. King (chairman), Messrs. Colson, Davis, Ford, and Bayley.
Letter to Borough Council.—It was resolved, “That the Secretary be requested to write to the Borough Council, stating that the Board of Trustees for Public Recreation having expressed their willingness to waive all claim on prison labour, would now feel obliged if the Council would fulfil their former offer in placing to their credit in the Bank of New Zealand the £50 as voted by them.”
Permission to take over land.—It was decided, “That Mr. Henery he allowed to take over the piece of land lately leased to Mr. Roach on the same terms, subject to the following conditions:—That the fern and furze be cleared off the land and fences attended to, to the satisfaction of the Board.”
Vote of thanks.—It was resolved. ‘‘That the thanks of the Board are due to Mr. Davis for his munificent donation to the Grounds of some Californian pines (Wellingtonia Gigantea).”
The Board then adjourned.
TH, SEPTEMBER 22, 1877
PARK UPDATE
We notice with pleasure that considerable improvements have been effected in the Recreation Ground. A great many trees have lately been planted there. Parallel with the northern and eastern boundary of the ground Pinus Insegnis have been planted. Some additional paths have also been formed. The furze and fern have in some places been cleared away, and where this has been done the young trees look healthy and vigorous. Seed beds have been sown of pines in variety, as well as of our own native trees. Unfortunately for the Board, the ground from years of neglect is overgrown with furze, the eradication of which must absorb for some time the bulk of the funds at its disposal. We hope to see, ere long, the artificial lake constructed, as this would add very much to the beauty and interest of the ground. No public park or recreation garden is now-a-days considered complete unless it contains a piece of ornamental water. “The lungs of London,” Hyde Park, Regent’s Park, Victoria Park and Finsbury Park are well provided for in this respect. Plans for the construction of a small lake have, we are informed, been prepared. The one thing needful now is money.
TH, OCTOBER 3, 1877
RECREATION GROUND TRESPASS NOTICE
NOTICE
Any PERSON found TRESPASSING between the Vines planted in the RECREATION GROUNDS will be prosecuted.
- BAYLEY,
Hon. Sec.
TH, OCTOBER 10, 1877
BOROUGH COUNCIL
BOTANICAL GARDEN DONATION
A letter was read from the secretary of the Botanical Garden Board stating that they would refrain from employing the prisoners and would accept of the donation.—The Town Clerk said it had accordingly been handed over to the treasurer.
TH, OCTOBER 10, 1877
We hear that some persons are in the habit, when visiting the Recreation Ground, of damaging the vines lately planted there. An advertisement in another column, notifies that all such persons will be liable to prosecution.
TH, OCTOBER 16, 1877
LARRIKINS IN THE REC.
TO THE EDITOR.
Sir,—I think you will agree with me that it is of little use our having a Recreation Ground in this town, and spending money and care upon it, unless visitors are at least safe from insult, particularly females, when walking there. I regret to say this does not seem to be the case, as the larrikin element appears to be developing in this Province, as in others. On Sunday last, whilst walking there with a lady, I was much annoyed by the conduct of some six or eight boys and hobby-de-hoys who persisted in dogging our footsteps, and not content with that, proceeded to make remarks in a loud tone of voice upon myself and my companion, which finally wound up with an insulting allusion to both, richly meriting a good horsewhipping. Being unwilling at that time and place to take the course I should have done, had I been alone, I was obliged to let their conduct pass unpunished, but I think the subject is of sufficient importance for your columns, hoping it may draw the attention of the authorities to the necessity of having a police officer on duty at intervals, or some regular park-keeper appointed, who could act as special constable within the grounds. Otherwise this pretty place of recreation must be abandoned to the larrikins of the place, for decent people will not frequent any place of the kind, unless secure from insult. Nor will it end here, for this spirit, if unchecked, will lead to acts of violence and destruction to the trees and shrubs as it has elsewhere.
I enclose the expressions used, that you may judge for yourself as to their fitness under any circumstances; also, my name, in guarantee.—I am, &c.,
Anti-Larrikin.
New Plymouth, October 16,1877.
TH, NOVEMBER 9, 1877
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Board met on Tuesday last.
Present: Mr. T. King (chairman), and all the members.
Rules of the Sydney Botanical Gardens.—The Secretary reported that he had written to the Directors of the Botanical Gardens at Sydney for a copy of their rules as to government of, their grounds and had received a reply enclosing the same.
Bye Laws.—The Secretary stated, that it would be advisable to frame a code of byelaws for the safety and preservation of the lands vested in the Board, as provided for by section 10 of “The Taranaki Botanical Gardens Act 1876.”
Dog Nuisance.—The Secretary considered it would be necessary to issue a notice forbidding visitors to the grounds bringing dogs with them.
Printing.—It was proposed by Mr. Ford, seconded by Mr. Colson, and carried, “That fifty copies of section 13 be printed, and posted in various places in the grounds.”
Telegram to Mr. Kelly.—It was resolved on the motion of Mr. Colson, seconded by Mr. Gilmour, “That the Chairman telegraph to Mr. Kelly, M.H.R., requesting him to forward the Bill that is to vest the grounds known as Victoria Park and Botanical Gardens, in the Board.
Clearing Pathways.—It was decided to clean and form up a portion of the pathways, and that tenders be called for the same. All information as to the work required to be obtained from Mr. Colson.
Resignation of Treasurer.—Mr. Gilmour having tendered his resignation as Treasurer, and it being accepted, it was proposed by Mr. Davis and seconded by Mr. Ford, “That a vote of thanks be awarded to him for his past services.”—Carried,—It was moved by Mr. Gilmour, and seconded by Mr. Davis, ” That Mr. Bayly be appointed Treasurer of the Board.”—Carried.
The Board adjourned at 9 p.m.
TH, NOVEMBER 16, 1877
TENDER TO CLEAR PATHS
TENDERS are required for CLEARING a PORTION of the PATHWAY in the Botanical Gardens. Further particulars may be obtained from Mr. T. Colson, to whom the Tenders are to be sent on or before Saturday, the 17th instant.—R. BAYLEY, Hon. Sec.
TH, DECEMBER 18, 1877
FUNDRAISING BAZAAR
A BAZAAR, kindly given by the ladies of New Plymouth in aid of the New Plymouth Boating Club and Recreation Grounds, was opened this afternoon in the Odd Fellows’ Hall. A large number of articles, useful and ornamental, were exposed for sale, whilst the various ladies who presided at the stalls seemed to vie with each other in their effort to bring about a ready sale of the various articles in their charge. The following is a list of the Committee of Management:— Mesdames Brind, Humphries, J. S. McKellar, O’Carrol, Standish, W. Webster, and Miss Hunter. We hope to be able to give a fuller account of the bazaar in tomorrow’s issue.
TH, DECEMBER 19, 1877
FUNDRAISING BAZAAR.
The bazaar given by the ladies of New Plymouth on behalf of the Rowing Club and Recreation Grounds was opened to the public at 3 p.m. yesterday, and during the afternoon and evening was liberally patronised. The large number of useful and ornamental articles exposed for sale were arranged on three stalls, whilst near the door was the refreshment stall. About 9 p.m. a large number of persons were present, and the stall-keepers did a good business in consequence. The stage was ornamented with bunting, in front of which was a model of an open boat, built by Mr. Garland, and the model of a schooner, constructed by Mr. Fitzgerald. A neatly-dressed lamb, presented by Mr. A. Colson, butcher, of Devon-street, was speedily disposed of being divided up into several parts and sold at a profitable figure.
The Committee and ladies and gentlemen who assisted at the stalls deserve every credit for their efforts in connection with the bazaar. We are informed that the total amount realised last evening is slightly in excess of £60, whilst there are several pounds worth of goods still undisposed of.
The following is a description of the model, the workmanship of Mr. Garland, and to which we refer in our report of the bazaar— It is carvel built, and three feet long, nine inches beam; built of alternate streaks of kauri and Australian cedar; timbers being of tawa cut out of the solid and fastened with brass pins. The thwarts are of honeysuckle, fitted inside with cedar and honeysuckle gratings; the stern and bead-sheets are of honeysuckle; the portrait of the builder is let into the back board; the boat is varnished inside and French polished outside; the sculls are made of pine.
1878
TH, JANUARY 3, 1878
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Board met on the 29th December, at 7.30 p.m., when Mr. T. King presided. Present: Messrs. Bayley, Colson, Davis, and Hughes.
Weeding Flower-beds.—It was decided to employ Mr. Breidecker for the purpose of weeding the flower-beds in the Garden.
Repairs to Mr Breidecker’s House.—Messrs. Colson and Bayley were appointed by the Board to examine the house occupied by Mr. Breidecker, and take the necessary steps to put the same in repair; the cost not to exceed one year’s rent.
Preparing Lease.— The Secretary was instructed to take the necessary steps to have a lease drawn out between the Board and Mr. Breidecker.
Removing Fern, &c.—It was resolved to allow any person to take the grass, fern, or raupo, from the grounds of the Board, subject to arrangement with the custodian thereof, Mr. Carnell.
Letter of Thanks.—The Secretary was instructed to write a letter to the Committee of Ladies of the late Bazaar, thanking them in the name of the Board, and as a public body, for their handsome donation.
Tenders for Excavating.—It was decided to call for tenders for excavating the foundations for the dam, and carrying the embankments of the same up to a height of seven feet above present water level. Tenders to be addressed to the Hon. Secretary, who will furnish all details of the work. All tenders for the same to be sent in on or before the 12th January; lowest tender not necessarily accepted,
The Board then adjourned.
TH, FEBRUARY 6, 1878
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Board met on Saturday last, at 7.30 p.m., when Mr. T. King presided. Present: Messrs. Bayley, Colson, Davis, and Hughes.
The Ornamental Water.—The Resident Engineer (who kindly attended at the request of the Board), strongly advised the construction of a deep under-sluice as an absolute necessity in connection with the dam excavation works, and that by constructing the same it ensured the future safety of the dam and protected private property from damage in case of accident.—After some discussion, it was proposed by Mr. Hughes, seconded by Mr. Davis, and carried, “That the construction of the deep under-sluice, as suggested by Mr. C. W. Hursthouse, and according to the plans prepared by Mr. Bayley, be proceeded with, and that additional excavations to the full width of the proposed foundation, be carried on.”
The Contractor.— The SECRETARY then stated that the present contractor had stated his willingness to clear out the rest of the foundation at 1s. 9d. per yard, cutting for culvert 1s. 6d. per yard, and for the completion of puddle wall and slopes, 9d. per yard. It was resolved, on the motion of Mr. Colson, that the embankment be carried up to the full height as originally proposed in plan prepared, the cost not to exceed £100.—It was also decided that the contractor’s (Mr. Neil) offer be accepted at the prices agreed upon respecting the work now in progress, except as to the excavation for culvert, which shall be at the rate of 1s. per yard, or 1s. 6d. if rocks interfere and have to be removed.
Members Become Personally Responsible.— It was also resolved that for the purpose of raising the necessary funds the members of the Board pledge their personal credit.
After passing a vote of thanks to Mr. Hursthouse for his professional advice, and Mr. Bayly for his carefully prepared plans of the under-sluice, the Board adjourned.
TH, February 14, 1878
THE BOTANICAL GARDENS.
DAM UPDATE
WE are pleased to observe that the dam excavation works in connection with the “ornamental water” to be formed in the Botanical Gardens are being rapidly proceeded with. The contractor is now engaged clearing out the dam site, to obtain a foundation for the puddle wall, the said wall to be thirty-one feet in height from foundation to top of dam. Measuring from bank to bank the dam top will be about 110 feet in length. The water in front of the dam will be about sixteen feet deep. On the east bank of the dam there will be a deep under sluice cut, 11ft. 6in. in depth and 3ft. in width, which will carry a culvert 1 foot square and 30ft. in length, in three lengths of 10ft. each. This sluice is constructed for the purpose of emptying the lake when repairs are required, and will doubtless prove of great service in this respect. It is expected that both dam and under sluice will be completed early in April, and then the New Plymouth public will have the satisfaction of seeing in their recreation ground a sheet of ornamental water second, perhaps, to none in the colony, and similar to those which now beautify the noble parks of London. We feel it is but just to say that great credit is due to Mr. R. Bayley and the other members of the Botanical Gardens Board for the spirit they have shown in the improvement of our local park. It must be remembered that these gentlemen have become personally responsible for the carrying out of some of these works, having to that end pledged their personal credit; whilst, added to this, the carefulness with which they superintend the works in progress, merit at the hands of the public, a just need of praise.
TH, April 26, 1878
GIFT OF PLEASURE BOAT
The dam construction works in the Botanical Gardens are rapidly approaching completion, in fact, there is already a large sheet of water in the space enclosed by the dam. Mr. Hirst has kindly presented to the Botanical Garden Board a neat and commodious pleasure boat, which will doubtless prove a most acceptable gift.
TH, April 29, 1878
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Board met on Saturday last, at 7 p.m., when Mr. T. King presided. Present: Messrs. Bayley, Colson, Davis, Gilmour, and Hughes.
Lease.—The Secretary was authorised to affix the common seal of the Board to the lease from the Board to James Neal.
Cash Credit Bond.— It was decided to increase the cash credit bond to £150.
Votes of Thanks.—It was resolved “That a vote of thanks be passed to T. Hirst, Esq., for his handsome donation, viz., a pleasure boat; likewise to J. M, Vivian ,Esq. for his kindness in supplying the ironwork for the dam.
Boat Fees.—It was resolved “That any person desirous of placing a boat on the pond for private use be allowed to on the payment of an annual subscription of £1 1s.”
Caution.—It was decided to request parents “not to allow young children to frequent the grounds unless in charge of a responsible person; and that the public be warned of the danger in walking through the grounds at night.”
The Secretary was instructed to get the foregoing resolution printed, and to post the same at the public entrances of the grounds.
This being all the business, the Board adjourned.
TH, May 16, 1878
- NICOLL’S OUTRIGGER
Mr. Nicoll, the tinsmith, has just built an iron outrigger. It is 15feet long and with 2 feet beam.
TH, May 25, 1878
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Board met on Wednesday last. Present: Messrs. Bayley, Colson, Ford, and Hughes. Mr. R. C. Hughes occupied the chair.
Proposed Union of the Botanical Gardens Board with the Acclimatization Society.— Mr. HULKE attended the meeting, and said he was there on behalf of the public interest, to advocate the union of the Botanical Gardens Board with the Acclimatization Society; and further stated that he had interviewed the members of the latter society, and that they fully approved of the action he was taking. He then informed the meeting as to possible alterations in the event of coalition, as building aviaries, prohibiting boating or bathing in the pond, and utilising the same for fish and waterfowl breeding, &c. After considerable discussion it was resolved “That Messrs. Colson, Hughes, King, and the hon. Secretary wait upon the Acclimatisation Society, and ascertain their views as to the advisability of a conjunction, and report the result at a full meeting of the Board.”
Determining Leases.—It was resolved that the hon. Secretary determine P. Ryan’s lease of the cottage in the grounds, and also to ascertain C Breidecker’s intentions respecting the one held by him.
The overflow from the Pond.—It was decided that the direction in which the overflow from the pond should go should be left to the hon. Secretary.
No rowing on Sunday.—On the motion of Mr, Ford, seconded by Mr. Colson, it was resolved “ That the pond should not be used for boating purposes on a Sunday, and that the Custodian be instructed to enforce the same.”
Police Wanted.—It was resolved that the Chairman write to the Inspector of Police requesting him to place a constable in the grounds on a Sunday between the hours of two and four o’clock in the afternoon.
The Board then adjourned.
TH, May 25, 1878
OUTRIGGER CHRISTENED
The ceremony of christening Mr. Nicoll’s outrigger was performed yesterday in the Ornamental Waters in the Botanical Gardens, with all the ceremony that usually appertains to such an event. We hear that two gentlemen who assisted on that important, occasion were christened likewise, the “Lady of the Lake,” having, like many of her sex thrown those gentlemen overboard, with very little ceremony, on their seeking to make too intimate acquaintance with her.
TH, May 28, 1878
HULKE AND THE POND.
TO THE EDITOR.
Sir, — When Mr. Hulke attended the meeting of the Board he said he was there on behalf of the public interest to advocate the union of the Botanical Gardens Board with the Acclimatisation Society; and furthermore stated that he had interviewed the members of the latter society, and that they fully approved the action he was taking. He then informed the meeting as to the possible alterations in the event of coalition, as building aviaries, prohibiting boating or bathing in the pond, and utilising the same for fish and waterfowl breeding, &c. What a quaint illustration of self-denying patriotism do we see in Mr. Hulke’s first sentence to the Board! “I am here on behalf of the public interest” says the ameliorator. At the risk of appearing ungrateful I should like to ask Mr. Hulke where he considers the public interest is at stake in the Board’s actions, and whether he is or is not a self-constituted advocate of the public interest? He was a self-constituted advocate of the public interest in the harbour business; but an unthankful public did not appear to see it in the same light. It was very kind of Mr Hulke to constitute himself a deputation to wait upon the members of the Acclimatisation Society individually, to place the matter of amalgamation before them; but if we remember rightly the Board offered a large portion of its grounds to the Society some time ago, which the Society refused to accept, and now that the members of the Board have worked so energetically, have performed such an amount of good work, and have pledged their own credit in the bargain, the Society cannot with a good grace ask for an amalgamation, even though it be through the mediation of the disinterested Mr. Hulke. It is to be hoped that the Board will not do anything so suicidal to its popularity as to utilise public money in pampering Mr. Hulke’s temporarily favourite hobby by making that beautiful sheet of water they have enclosed into exclusively a “duck pond.” The object of Mr. Hulke’s labour of love is well known; it is simply the prohibition of boating or bathing in the pond; and he found it impossible to conceal this object even in his interview with the Board. Now if the Board adopts Mr. Hulke’s suggestion and prohibits boating or bathing in the pond it will have broken faith with the public, by having obtained subscriptions under false pretences. My money and labour has been given with the distinct understanding that a pond was to be made for boating and bathing; and I believe those good ladies who are now working night and day to augment the funds of the Board (and who are ever ready and willing to labour nobly in the interest of charity or of the public good) are so doing with the same distinct understanding. I would submit that, as it is quite possible to have beasts, birds, and fishes, without prohibiting boating or swimming, and as the Board is quite capable of keeping these things without the doubtful assistance of the Society, the Board would be acting unwisely in forfeiting the support and confidence of the public by amalgamating with a society whose sphere of usefulness is questionable, and whose popularity is (with the agriculturalist) at the lowest ebb. Furthermore, the Board may rest assured that amalgamation means the extinction of its power, and virtually, through the prestige of the Society, the members of the Board would have no control over the management of their own property,—I am, &c.,
A Worker for the Board.
TH, June 13, 1878
ABOUT THE DAM
As the public have shown a great deal of interest in the formation, construction, and the progress made with the works connected with the dam in the Botanical Gardens, and as they are now completed, a short resume of what has been done may not be out of place, and will be interesting to many of our readers. It is now nearly five months since the contract to do the work was taken by Mr. Neil, and, not withstanding many drawbacks, it has been completed to the entire satisfaction of the Board.
Before, however, proceeding to describe what has been done, it ought to be stated for general information that had not the members of the Board pledged their own personal credit to the amount of £150, the public would not now possess as fine a piece of artificial water as there is now to be found in New Zealand. The public are certainly indebted to those gentlemen for their spirited action in the matter. We trust that members of the community will attend the Bazaar to be held in aid of the grounds, and be but half as ready to spend their money in the purchase of articles as the ladies of New Plymouth have been in making them, and a large addition to the funds of the Board will be realised.
The greatest difficulty which the Contractor had to contend with was the water. Owing to the peculiar formations of the ground it was not possible to divert the stream, therefore it was found necessary to form a coffer dam some little distance above the works, in order to carry the stream by a race cut in the side of the hill clear of the proposed foundation, about 80ft across. The excavation was then gone on with, although water was still coming in too fast to admit of the work being carried on with satisfaction. The spring burst out in many directions, the strongest ones at the sides of the excavations. These springs did not show until the Contractor had got down about 7 feet through a stiff black soil, very much like peat, evidently the stream’s deposit for many years, for it was full of leaves, sticks, &c., some of them being as green as if plucked the day before. The Contractor now introduced a Californian pump, and found that by plying it every half-hour the water could be kept down. Beneath this layer of black soil was a bed of volcanic ashes about 2 inches thick, resembling powdered pumice stone. It was quite gritty, and evidently not wood ashes. This was resting on a bed of very greasy white clay, about 2 feet in thickness. At sight this seemed to be a sound bottom, but the sounding bar disclosing gravel underneath, it was found necessary to remove the clay. Large rocks then began to show themselves, and limbs of trees with the leaves still attached and quite green. Thousands of hinau berries were turned up with shells of mullusca 3 inches long. A further excavation of 2 feet brought the contractor to the bottom, which consisted of a stiff clay. Then being then down about 11 feet below the surface their contention against the water was very laborious. It was now found necessary to run a bank of clay across the excavation, 12 feet from the upper side to the former level of the stream. This being well puddled the benefit was seen at once, for the water collected behind it during the remainder of the time the contractor was at work and the excavation was tolerably dry. The foundation for the puddle wall then carried down 2 feet into the bottom. The excavation being completed the filling-in commenced, the puddle wall being kept about 2 feet below the sides, as they rose guided by plank there to prevent it spreading. This system was followed till the completion of the work.
The intention of the Board in the first instance was to have formed the dam without a scouring sluice, but further consideration induced them to alter their plans, and a deep under sluice was cut on the east bank. It was found necessary to use dynamite in making this cut, as large rocks kept cropping up; but most of the cutting was through very compact gravel cement. Three box culverts were made, each ten feet long by twelve inches clear inside, and carefully laid in a bed of puddle and well rammed for two feet over. The frame for the lift was then placed, the uprights sunk one foot in the ground and well tied at top, bottom, and middle, and collared round the mouth of the culvert to keep it rigid. A lip from the culvert went down about ten inches in the solid, and the race in front was well rammed and beaten for about twelve feet. The front of the lift is boarded with planks two inches thick up to the top, and let into the sides of the race one foot; and the puddle is continued behind all the way up, six feet in breadth. The remaining twenty-four feet is filled up with earth, and kept from falling out into the race at the end by a rubble wall eight feet high. There are of course many other little things that deserve to be noticed, but the foregoing are the principal ones. That it was a large undertaking is manifest, and that the contractors have ably performed their work, the proof is its impermeability.
We have not as yet, been able to obtain exact information to the amount of earth removed, area of water. &c., but the following is an approximate estimate:- about 3,000 yards of earth have been removed, and the area of water obtained is nearly two acres. The length of the sheet, in our estimation, comprises its beauty, as it will run back nearly 400 yards, with varying breadth. The total length of the dam across the way on top is 110 feet by 10 feet wide, with a breadth of 80 feet at the foundation. The pressure of water on the embankment will be over 400 tons—a weight which need not alarm the most timid, as the stability of the work is unquestionable.
In conclusion, we can only wish that the Board had more funds at its disposal, in order that it might continue improving and beautifying the Grounds, which are being made a popular resort for the public for pleasure and amusement.
TH, July 20, 1878
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Board met on Monday last, when Mr. T. King presided. Present: Messrs. R, Bayley, Colson, Davis, and Hughes.
Purchase of Shrubs.—It was resolved that the offer made by Mr. Mitchinson of 500 shrubs at 10s. per 100 be accepted, and that a pound of gum seed be procured.
Cutting Furze.— It was resolved that all fern and furze be cut on the west slope, cleared off and burnt, and that 300 holes, more or less, be dug, three feet wide by 18 inches deep.
Reserves for the Board. — Mr. Hughes moved, Mr. Bayley seconded, and it was carried, “That Mr. T. Kelly M. H. R., be respectfully requested to be good enough to take whatever legislative action may be thought necessary to have the Botanical Gardens and Victoria Park Reserve handed over to the Board.”
Mr. Barr to Report on the Dam.—Mr. Colson moved, Mr. Davis seconded, and it was carried, “That the thanks of the Board be tendered to Mr. R. Bayley for his valuable services in superintending the construction of the dam , and that in order to relieve him of responsibility, and to give assurance to the public, Mr. Barr be requested to examine and report upon the security of the work.
Boating Question.—Question relative to rowing of boats on a Sunday on the lake was brought up, but no satisfactory conclusion was arrived at, and the matter was postponed till the next meeting of the Board.
The Board then adjourned.
The Board met on the 13th July. Present: Messrs. Gilmour, Colson, Davis, Hughes, and Bayley. In the absence of Mr. King, Mr. Hughes was voted to the chair.
Mr. Barr’s Report on the Drain.—The Secretary then read the following report of Mr. Barr on the drain:—
New Plymouth, July 4, 1878,
To. R. Bayley, Esq.
SIR,—Since visiting the dam at the Recreation Ground this afternoon with you, I have examined the drawings of same furnished by you, and have now to report as follows :—
That the top width contemplated, viz., 10 feet, is ample for the depth of water proposed to be stored, but to prevent damage by wash upon the inside slope, it would be well that it had been made a little flatter. It is usual also to pitch these slopes, but I fancy considerations of economy have prevented this being done. It will be well in future, if opportunity offers, that some such protection should be made; or, failing that, that some plants with spreading and but slightly penetrating roots, should be placed. So far as I can see of the manner in carrying out this work, I would, at an earlier stage, have suggested that the material should have been placed in thin uniform layers all over its surface, and these well trampled down rather than forming it to partial widths, and to full height at first. The general consolidation and union of the whole mass would thus have been better secured. As it is, however, I would recommend that the water be not allowed to rise to a greater depth than, say 15 feet at the deepest part, until the whole is properly consolidated.
The puddle wall appears to have been placed with considerable care, but it is rather thinner than usual; but if it has been properly worked the deficiency will not probably affect either the leakage or the safety of the work to any extent.
With regard to the bye-wash, I would recommend that it be lessened, so that its water-way is not less than six feet below the top level of the embankment, and also that it be widened to six feet in the bottom.
If the precautions with regard to the greatest depth of water and the bye-wash be attended to, I do not think there will be any danger of the embankment giving way; but I would strongly urge that the uniform consolidation be attained before much water is stored, for the danger of pressure of any large mass upon a green embankment is very great. —I have, &c.,
George M. Barr, C.E.
—Mr. Davis proposed, Mr. Colson seconded, and it was carried, “That a letter be written to Mr. Barr, conveying the hearty thanks of the Board for his full and valuable report, and the Board at the same time express their gratitude for his liberality in not charging for the same.”
Donations of Shrubs, &c. — It was resolved that the thanks of the Board be accorded to Messrs. Mitchinson, Skinner, Butterworth, L. A. Hamerton, and S. Howell, for donations of shrubs; and to Mr. W. Colson, of Kakararamea, for a black swan.
The Board then adjourned.
TH, August 31, 1878
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Board met last evening. Present: Messrs. Bayley, Colson, Davis, Ford, and Hughes. Mr. Hughes was voted to the chair.
Gum Seed.—The account for the seed was ordered to be paid.
Cutting and Grubbing Furze.—It was resolved that the opening of the tenders for cutting and grubbing the furze on the west side of the stream be postponed until the next meeting, and that a man be employed to cut and grub the furze on the east side of the stream, near Mr. Cutfield’s.
Donations of Trees and Shrubs.—It was resolved that a vote of thanks be accorded to Messrs. Newman, Gibson, and Uncles for their liberal donations.
Draining and Reclaiming Swamp.—Messrs. Davis, Bayley, and Colson were appointed a committee to consider the best means of draining and reclaiming the swamp by the Liardet-street entrance to the grounds, and to prepare and lay before the Board a plan of the same, with an estimate of the cost.
Alteration of the Bye-wash.—The Hon. Secretary read the following letter:—
New Plymouth, August 29, 1878, Gentlemen.—Before the crossings are permanently laid over the reservoir bye-wash, I feel it is my duty to bring before the notice of the Board once more, the advisability of carrying the storm water the other side. In justification to myself I must state that the present direction of the overflow was antagonistical to my own ideas, and in direct opposition to the plans prepared and accepted by the Board, I verbally opposed the alteration when it was brought before the meeting, and now, since Mr. Barr has confirmed my own opinions, regret that I did not go more into detail at that time.
Mr. Barr was fully alive to the disadvantages the bye-wash would be subject to, but economical considerations towards us induced him to let it go.
With the view of now laying these before the Board for their consideration, and for record in the minutes, I shall have the honor of stating them at length.
- The bye-wash being carried at the foot of an embankment 25 feet high, it naturally forms the receptical for any breaks or slips that may take place from the slopes, and as summer is now coming on, they will be numerous and heavy, necessitating constant attention to keep the channel clear. I may state that in forming the present leat a large slip occurred, thereby showing the loose and unstable nature of the soil.
- Owing to the greenness of the embankments I dare not store more water than there is for the next 12 months; and to bring it up to flow through the present bye-wash would necessitate a rise of six feet, higher, I consider, than the present stability of the dam warrants; consequently I am obliged to use the scouring sluice to regulate the supply, and in the event of its getting out of order, and my being unable to lift the gate, I would not be answerable for the result.
- Owing to the formation of the cutting, and knowing the treacherous nature of the soil, I should not feel justified in letting any person be employed in deepening it whilst in my charge; and to make it efficient a depth of 10 feet would have to be reached.
- Having explained before that the safety of the dam depends on the attention paid to the scouring sluice, you may also add that that depends on personal inspection, at least, once a day, during unsettled weather. Mr. Neal has, during the last two months, kindly relieved me from any uneasiness I may have felt as to the rise and fall of the water. Living close by, he attended to the lift and regulated the storage, but now, as he is shortly leaving, it will be necessary to find a substitute in his place.
Having now explained to the Board the drawbacks we may expect from the present state of things, I will venture, with your permission, to point out a remedy.
Unfortunately, there has been expenditure in that direction to the amount of £15, still, in the face of that, I would urge the Board to construct an overflow on the east bank to the present water level. I have estimated the cost of the excavation, and can get it done for 8d. a yard, and 1s. where stone, rock, or boulders are met with. I have roughly surveyed the ground, and find that there would be under 200 yards of earth to remove. The cost, at the outside, would be £6 or £7. The safety of such a course is to be seen at a glance, the stored water relieves itself as it rises, the lift can be permanently fastened down, and no attention required, thereby relieving the Board of a necessary expense in employing a man to look after it. There would be no danger of the sides falling in, as they would not, in the highest place be more than 12 feet: and, in conclusion, I am of opinion that it is not desirable to allow a constant and violent rush of water at the mouth and exit of the scouring sluice, as they being only gravel well rammed, it would tend to work away the foundations of the gate.
I remain, gentlemen,
Your obedient Servant
R. Bayley,
Hon, Sec. and Treasurer.
To the Chairman of the Board of Trustees for Public Recreation.
—It was resolved that Mr. Bayley’s letter’ advocating the alteration of the bye-wash from the western to the eastern side, be reserved for the consideration of a full meeting of the Board.
The Board then adjourned.
TH, September 17, 1878
BYE-WASH TENDER
RECREATION GROUNDS
Tenders will be received until the 21st instant, for DEEPENING the BYE-WASH on the West Side of Dam; and SLOPING the BANK above. For particulars apply to Mr. T. Colson.
- Bayley
Hon. Sec. and Treasurer.
TH, September 19, 1878
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Board met on the 13th instant, at 7 p.m., when Mr. T. King presided. Present: Messrs. Bayley, Colson, Davis, Ford, Gilmour, Hughes.
Cutting Furze. —The Secretary stated that he had received four tenders for cutting and grubbing the furze on the west side of the stream.—The Board decided to accept the tender of D. Claffey, at £6 10s.
Bye wash.—The adjourned question of the bye-wash then came before the Board, and, after considerable discussion, it was proposed by Mr. Davis, and seconded by Mr. Colson, “That the proposed bye-wash be deepened eighteen inches by twelve, and that the bank above be sloped off, and the earth placed behind the dam, tenders to be called for the same.”—An amendment to the foregoing proposition was made by Mr. Bayley, and seconded by Mr. Gilmour, to the effect that the bye-wash should be constructed on the east side according to the original plan. The original motion was carried.
Boating.—The Secretary then brought the boating question before the Board, and a resolution was passed to the effect that there should be none after 12 noon on Sundays.
Custodian.—It, was resolved on the motion of Mr. Davis, seconded by Mr. COLSON. “That a permanent gardener and custodian be engaged at 20s. per week, a three-roomed cottage being found him, and half an acre of ground, rent free.”
The Board then adjourned.
TH, September 21, 1878
CUSTODIAN WANTED
TENDERS will be received by the undersigned up to the 30th instant, for the SITUATION of CUSTODIAN of the Recreation Grounds. Salary, £1 per week, with use of a three-roomed cottage and Half-an-acre of ground.
R.BAYLEY
Hon. Sec.
TH, October 19, 1878
The Recreation Ground Board some time since passed an extraordinary resolution, forbidding the owners of boats to row on the ornamental water on Sundays. At an after meeting that resolution was modified, and permission given to use the water for boating purposes up till noon on Sundays. The New Plymouth Wesleyan Chronicle appears not to approve of this, because “it is fully taken advantage of by numbers of young men and boys, who spend the Sabbath forenoon at this pastime,” and then goes on to say, “We would ask the Committee whether they think it honest on their part to first secure the cooperation of all classes of the community, including prominent church members, and then to suffer this shameless desecration of the sacred day. We certainly cannot commend their forthcoming bazaar to the sympathies of our congregation if this obnoxious resolution is not rescinded.” We can hardly see the distinction between walking in the garden, and rowing on the water, but perhaps the Chronicle would wish the grounds closed on the only day in the week the greater portion of the community have time and inclination to visit them.
TH, November 5, 1878
FUNDRAISING
RECREATION GROUNDS BAZAAR.
THE above will be held at the Odd Fellows’ Hall, on the 8th and 9th instant. ADMISSION: Adults, First Day, 6d.; Second day, 6d. Children, 3d. Doors open from 3 p.m. to 5 p.m., and from 5 p.m. to 10 p.m. each day
R. BAYLEY,
Hon. Sec.
TH, November 9, 1878
RECREATION GROUNDS BAZAAR
A bazaar for raising funds for improving the Recreation Grounds was held yesterday in the Odd Fellows’ Hall, and it far eclipsed any previous effort of the kind in Taranaki, It was a display of dazzling brilliancy that fairly enchanted the visitors, who after entering became helpless victims to the bewitching influence of the ladies who presided over the stalls, or floated, fairy-like, about the room. It would require bright colours, and the pencil of an artist rather than the steel pen of a scribe, to give anything like a description of the appearance of the Hall; and therefore our account of it will naturally be meagre, and fail, we fear, to convey to our readers a correct impression of what the place was really like. We can only say that by tasteful arrangement of evergreens and ferns, with flowers and coloured bunting intermixed, a very charming effect was produced, and when the Hall was lighted up the scene was really enchanting. The stalls were ranged along the sides of the Hall, and one ran down the centre. The stage was set apart for the refreshment department; whilst two stalls on either side of the door at the entrance were devoted solely to toys and children’s presents. On entering, we found so many beautiful things to look at that it was extremely difficult to know where to commence in describing them, We shall, however, first take the stall to the right, and in going round the room mention those things which caught our eyes; but our glances at the things were so cursorily made that we fear there were many articles both beautiful and valuable that must have necessarily escaped our notice.
On entering the ball immediately to the right by the side of the door was Stall No, 1, which was presided over by Miss Arden, Miss E. Wells, Miss F. Macdonald, Miss H. Sole, Miss M. Colson. Here were to be found toys in abundance, and many juvenile visitors stood gazing at the wonders before their eyes, and wishing they were millionaires, that they could purchase the whole stock.
Stall No. 2 was presided over by Mrs. Crompton, and Mrs. Palsgrave, assisted by Miss Watkins, Miss Walker, and Miss Smith. The things on this stall were very beautiful, and were very tastefully displayed. Amongst the articles was a very exquisite piece of workmanship in the shape of a “Tea Cosey,” which attracted considerable attention. There were here also all kinds of bead work ornamentation, photographs, pincushions, antimacassars, and articles which looked very beautiful, but of the use of which we were in total ignorance.
Stall No. 3 was presided over by Mrs. C. W. Hursthouse, Mrs. O’Carroll, assisted by Miss Carrington, Miss E, Halse, Miss M. Halse, Miss Courtney, and was weighted with handsome and valuable articles, causing large crowds to gather and admire them. There were card baskets, picture frames, brackets in leather work, and numerous and beautiful specimens of tatting, as well as very pretty specimens of Cretonne work. There was a new kind of wool made with braid, which was very beautiful; and the banner screen as a specimen of ornamental workmanship, could certainly not have been surpassed. There were bead work baskets and other fancy commodities, which a bazaar naturally suggests, to be found on this stall.
Stall 4 was for refreshments, and was presided over by Mrs. Skinner, Mrs. Bird, Mrs. Devenish, Mrs. Marshall, Mrs. Colson, and Mrs, Howell, assisted by Miss White, Miss E. White, and Miss A. Marshall. The chief attraction at this stall was of course the cake made by Mr. Revell, confectioner, of Currie-street, in which he attempted to represent the recreation ground. It represented a lake with the white swans swimming on it; around it were neatly laid out gardens, and in the centre a pagoda. The other articles in this stall must have been appreciated for they seemed to disappear with marvellous rapidity.
The decorations of the stall were made by Mr. T. K. Skinner, and right worthily he fulfilled the trust imposed upon him. By a skillful and tasteful arrangement of ferns, palms, and nikau quite a rustic arbour was formed, which was most attractive.
Stall No, 5 was presided over by Mrs. L. Hamerton, Mrs. G. D. Hamerton, Mrs. A. S. Douglas, Mrs. Phillips, and Miss Webster,—assisted by Miss Smith, Miss Leatham, and Miss Honeyfield. The supply of articles on this stall were both rich and beautiful, some of them being more than usually recherche. Some exquisitely worked cushions of Berlin wool and headwork, are expressive of the taste and industry of the fair Penelopes who produced them. There were pincushions and other articles, all very beautiful.
Stall No. 6 was presided over by Mrs. Breach and Mrs. Reece, assisted by Miss CoIson and Miss Brooking. Here were to be found some useful as well as ornamental articles, and a very good ottoman was on this stall. There were pincushions, photographs, crochet work, pictures, and other articles which we really cannot remember, but which, as they were grouped together, looked very pretty and attractive.
Stall No. 7 was presided over by Mrs. C. Rawson, assisted by Miss A. Wilson, Miss Rawson, Miss E. Hamerton and Miss M. Leatham. This was at the left side of the entrance door, and was loaded with toys of every description. There were to be found some handsomely-dressed dolls, at which many wistful glances were cast by the little girls, who often were heard appealing to “Mamma, do buy a doll,” promising the very best behaviour for twelve months at least. There was a collection of boy’s wheelbarrows, the present of some tradesman in the place.
Stall No. 8 was in the centre of the room, and was presided over by Mrs. Chilman, Mrs. Powell and Mrs. Petty. At this stall there was a large quantity of useful articles, such as baby linen, and things pertaining to ladies’ wardrobes, all of the most superior workmanship. On this stall were some footstools of good designs, the frame work of which had been made by Mr. F. Revell for the bazaar.
Suspended from the roof were three flycatchers made of white braid and lace, which were very pretty.
“The Bower” faced the entrance door, and was in front of the linen stall. It was formed of fern, nikau, and evergreens; and the presiding deities were. Miss Devenish, Miss Hamerton, and Miss Marshall, who certainly were not the least attractive part of it. Here in all her glory was a large doll dressed as a bride, as she would appear at the altar— resplendent in white satin and tulles, a model for future brides to follow. There were also some most amusing toys at this stall, especially the one showing “where the milk goes.”
Mrs. Humphries and Mrs. Scotland were General Superintendents of the bazaar, and most active in seeing that everything went correctly. We are indebted to the former lady for showing us round the bazaar, and giving us much of the information we required.
Great credit is due to the gentlemen and ladies who decorated the Hall; the names of whom we omitted to inquire—but they have displayed a considerable amount of taste, which is not often seen at bazaars.
We have not learnt what the takings were at the bazaar yesterday, but hear that they were in every way satisfactory. Tonight, the bazaar will be open from 6 to 10 p.m. As an additional attraction it is not improbable that a very handsome series of stereoscopic views will be on exhibition, which have been kindly lent for the occasion. We would advise all who have not attended the bazaar not to fail to go to-night. We know they will be pleased, and the money they spend will go to a purpose which few, we should think would object to contribute to.
TH, November 12, 1878
RECREATION GROUND BAZAAR
The bazaar in aid of the funds for the improvement of the Recreation Ground was continued at the Odd Fellows’ Hall, on Saturday. During the afternoon and evening the hall was crowded, and the purchases made were something considerable. The fair vendors were most laudably importunate in the disposal of their tempting wares, and failed not to display the commodities to the best advantage to determine a reluctant buyer to circulate the golden medium. We hear that nearly £250 was taken during the two days.
TH, November 14, 1878
THE DARDANELLES
Some of the boating fraternity have not inaptly christened the narrow portion of the Recreation Ground Lake “The Dardanelles.”
TH, November 18, 1878
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
THE Board met on Friday (Nov. 15), when Mr. T. King was in the chair. Present: Messrs. Colson, Davis, Hughes, and Bayley.
The Late Bazaar.—It was resolved that the hon. secretary write a letter to the Committee and ladies of the late bazaar thanking them for their great exertions on behalf of the Board: they at the same time tender their best thanks to the ladies and gentlemen who have so liberally augmented the funds of the Board by donations of money during the past nine months.
Settlement of Accounts.—The Secretary was instructed to settle the accounts of the Board as soon as possible.
Donations to the Board.—It was resolved that the Board acknowledge with thanks the donation from the Egmont Lodge I.O.G.T., the richly decorated cake from Mr. Revell, and the valuable assistance of Messrs. Billiald, F. W. Revell, T. K. Skinner, W. Skinner, and other gentlemen.
Receipts at the Bazaar.—The Hon. Secretary stated the receipts at the late bazaar to be £257 6s. 10d. The results of the sales by auction were not included.
Bathing in the Lake.—It was proposed by Mr. Colson, seconded by Mr. Hughes, and carried, “That any persons wishing to avail themselves of the Lake for bathing purposes, may do so on procuring a season ticket from the Hon. Secretary, but not otherwise. That no bathing be allowed after 8 a.m.”
This being whole of the business, the Board adjourned.
1879
TH, January 15, 1879
BATHING HOUSE MEETING
A meeting of gentlemen interested in the formation of a Swimming Club was held in the Institute last evening, “for the purpose of submitting certain propositions to the Recreation Board.” Mr. C. Govett presided. It was urged that the want of a suitable swimming place was very much required in New Plymouth, as, on account of sharks, it was dangerous to go outside the breakers on the beach. The lake in the Recreation Ground was suggested as a desirable place, as, when full of water, it was unsurpassed for swimming purposes, and if certain hours were observed it need not interfere with the public use of the grounds. They expressed their willingness to construct a bathing shed on the water’s edge—one that would be alike useful and ornamental. It was resolved that Mr. C. W. Govett and Mr. R. H. Thompson wait upon the Board to state the views of the meeting on the subject.
TH, January 21, 1879
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
A SPECIAL meeting of this Board was held on Friday. Present: Messrs. Hughes, Colson, Davis, Ford, and R. Bayley. Mr. Hughes was voted to the chair.
Bathing in the Recreation Grounds.—The Hon. Secretary said the meeting had been called in consequence of a letter received from Messrs. C. W. Govett and R. H. Thompson, who had been requested at a public meeting to wait on the Board and ascertain under what circumstances the ornamental water in the Recreation Ground could be thrown open to the public for bathing purposes. There not being a full attendance of members the Board adjourned the question until next meeting.
On Saturday the Board again met, when the members were all present, Mr. King being in the chair.
After considerable discussion Mr. Hughes moved, Mr. Colson seconded, and it was carried, “That Messrs. Govett and Thompson, representing the public meeting mentioned in their letter to the Board, be permitted to erect a neat bathing house by the water’s edge the house to be used free of charge by the public before the hour of 8 o’clock in the morning, but to be subject to the absolute control of the Board, both as regards its use and the conduct generally of persons resorting there. The Board strictly prohibits all bathing until the house be erected.”
The Board then adjourned.
TH, JANUARY 25, 1879
BATHING HOUSE MEETING
A meeting was held last night at the Institute, when a committee, consisting of Messrs. Thompson, Niccol, Edmund, Govett, Olliver, Honeyfield, and Lee, with power to add to their number, was appointed for the purpose of canvassing for subscriptions for the erection of a free, ornamental bathing house in the Recreation Grounds. The Committee meet again next Friday for the purpose of comparing lists, and they invite the public to be present. We can only add that we heartily wish the Committee every success, and trust that the erection of the shed will be commenced without delay, as it would be difficult to find a sheet of water better suited for swimming purposes than that in the Recreation Grounds.
TH, JANUARY 31, 1879
BATHING HOUSE MEETING
We see that the Committee who have been soliciting subscriptions in aid of the Free Ornamental Bathing-house in the Recreation Ground, invite the public to be present at a meeting to be held to-night in the Institute. There appears now no doubt that the erection of the house will be proceeded with, and it is hoped that the public will muster in good numbers, and give the Committee the advantage of any useful suggestion they may have to make.
TH, FEBRUARY 1, 1879
BATHING HOUSE MEETING
The Committee who have been soliciting subscriptions in aid of the Free Ornamental Bathing-house in the Recreation Ground, called a meeting last night in the Institute, when it was decided that the erection of the house should be proceeded with, and it is hoped that the public will assist by adding to the subscription list, which already amounts to £40, Mr. Homan volunteered to design a building suitable for the purpose, from which working plans will be made. The proposed building is to be sixteen feet square, with a verandah running round it six feet wide. The roof will be of the pagoda shape, and of iron, and the whole when completed and neatly painted will be an ornament to the place, Messrs, G. D. Hamerton, Edmonds, and Thompson, were appointed to carry out the wishes of the meeting, and Mr. R. Thompson was elected Secretary and Treasurer. As the building is for the use of the public, everyone should contribute their mite towards its erection.
TH, FEBRUARY 8, 1879
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
A meeting of the Recreation Board was held in the Institute last evening, there being present: Mr. Hughes (in the chair), Messrs. Colson, Ford, and Davis. On the motion of Mr. Ford, seconded by Mr. Davis, it was resolved, “That a man be employed, under the supervision of Mr. Colson, to dig a trench from the pond, through the swamp, to the bridge below Breidecker’s, in order to drain the stream.” The rules of the Auckland Domain were read and approved of. Mr. Colson undertook to act as overseer of works during the present month.
TH, FEBRUARY 12, 1879
BATHING SHED PLANS
We are informed that Mr. Northcroft has kindly promised to prepare the working plans of the bathing shed in the Recreation Ground. The Committee trust that further subscriptions will yet come in, so as to enable a building to be erected worthy of the place. Tenders will shortly be called for, and a swimming match probably held as soon as the building is completed.
TH, MARCH 4, 1879
PARADISE DUCKS RELEASED IN THE LAKE
The Hon. Secretary to the Recreation Ground Board (Mr. R. Bayley), let loose to-day on the ornamental water in the Botanical Gardens, several Paradise Ducks, the gift of a gentleman who takes great interest in all matters connected with acclimatisation. We trust that persons visiting the gardens will take notice of a warning published in another column, and not take their dogs with them, or the animals will be liable to be destroyed.
TDN, MARCH 6, 1879
ORNAMENTAL BATHING HOUSE.
Tenders will be received up to 4 o’clock on Wednesday next for the ERECTION of an ORNAMENTAL BATHINGHOUSE in the Recreation Grounds. Plans and specifications to be seen at my office. The lowest or any Tender not necessarily accepted.
C. W. Govett,
Pro Secretary.
TH, MARCH 11, 1879
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Board met on Saturday at 7. pm., when the Chairman (Mr. T. King) presided. Present: Messrs. Hughes, Colson, Davis, Ford, and Bayley.
The Yearly Accounts.—The Secretary read the receipts and disbursements for the past year, as follows :—
RECEIPTS
Balance in Bank, Dec. 31, 1877 …. £14 12s 7d
Cash overdraft at Bank ………. £150 0s 0d
Borough Council vote ……….. £50 0s 0d
Rents ………………….. £20 12s 0d
Proceeds of bazaar …………… £256 6s 10d
Balance of overdraft at Bank….. £17 1s 0d
£508 12s 5d
EXPENDITURES
Printing. &c. ……………… £6 16s 6d
Expenses of bazaar £59 7s 8d
Rent of Hall for do. £8 19s 0d
£68 6s 8d
Labour — Gardening £29 4s 6d
Dam £184 19s 3d
Carpentering for dam £3 15s 0d
Planting Trees £15 8s 9d
£233 17s 6d
Timber and Cartage …………..£13 1s 0d
Trees ………………….£9 4s 0d
Ironmongery ………………£0 15s 4d
Sundries ……………… £5 6s 7d
Insurance …………………£1 10s 0d
Valuation …………………£1 4s 0d
Custodian, twelve weeks’ salary £12 0s 0d
Repayment of overdraft ……£150 0s 0d
Interest and stamps …………..£6 10s 10d
£508 12s 0d
On the motion of Mr. Ford, seconded by Mr. Colson, the balance-sheet as read was adopted.
Auditor.—On the motion of Mr. Hughes, seconded by Mr. Ford, it was resolved that a vote of thanks be tendered to Mr. Bennett for auditing the accounts, and that he be requested to accept a small gratuity for his services.
Bye-laws.—The Hon. Secretary then read a copy of the bye-laws to be adopted for the protection of the grounds.—It was resolved, on the motion of Mr. Colson, seconded by Mr. Ford, “That the rules as read be adopted, subject to the sanction of the Governor, and that the Hon. Secretary be requested to forward a copy of the same for approval as soon as possible.”
Overseer.—The Board appointed Mr. Davis as overseer for the period ending 7th April next.
Planting Acorns.—It was resolved that the member of the Board in charge should instruct the custodian to prepare a piece of ground for planting acorns.
The Board then adjourned
TH, MARCH 28, 1879
ORNAMENTAL BATHING HOUSE.
The agreement having been signed for the ERECTION of the above, and as the work is to be completed in four weeks, the Canvassing Committee will COLLECT AT ONCE all subscriptions promised.
R.H. Thompson. Hon. Sec.
TH, APRIL 1, 1879
ORNAMENTAL BATHING HOUSE
According to arrangements the ornamental bathing shed in the Recreation Ground is to be completed in a month’s time if fine weather continues. As the cost will exceed what was at first anticipated, the Committee are organising swimming matches to take place on the lagoon to-morrow week.
TH, APRIL 7, 1879
SWIMMING COMPETITION
A PUBLIC SWIMMING COMPETITION will be held in the Recreation Grounds Ornamental Water on Wednesday next, the 9th inst. The racing commences at 2 p.m. The Band will be in attendance.
R. H. Thompson. Hon. Sec.
TH, APRIL 10, 1879
SWIMMING TOURNAMENT.
The excellent facilities which nature has surrounded our settlement with for the indulgence of healthy exercise, are becoming more and more appropriated by ourselves as our habits of utilitarianism develop themselves. The shore upon which the first settlers landed (we will not be so particular as to say the identical spot), is a subject of regard to the people— they love to walk upon it, and a large number take a greater delight in wading through its angry breakers and luxuriating in a dip of the briny. The bathers were not limited to sex—ladies and gentlemen going at their own hours and experiencing the pleasant sensation of a salt water immersion. A shed was put up for stripping and dressing in, but while bathing under such circumstances was very pleasurable, a great practical benefit was found to be wanting—it was the wrong school to study the art of swimming. One or two headstrong ones (perhaps more fool-hardy than courageous) have swam out a long distance so as to get into smooth water, but there was always the double risk of sharks and currents attending such adventurous conduct. However, a number of gentlemen who have taken the most active interest in aquatics put themselves on the qui vive to secure a suitable place for swimming in, and determined that no better place could be had than the ornamental lagoon in the Recreation Ground. Its dimensions and depth of water were all that could be desired, and accordingly negotiations were opened with the Recreation Board, a satisfactory conclusion being arrived at. The bathing people were to put up a shed suitable to their own purposes and ornamental to the ground, an agreement, which everyone who has seen the pretty Swiss-like structure on the banks of the lagoon, will not be disposed to deny. To defray the cost of this, subscription lists were opened, and to augment the funds raised by this means, a swimming tournament was arranged to take place yesterday afternoon. A committee, consisting of Messrs. C. W. Govett, G. D. Hamerton, J. C. Adams, J. A. Edmunds, and R. H. Thompson, was appointed to carry this out, and however sanguine their expectations may have been the result must have exceeded them. The patronage of the ladies was greatly depended on, and every care was taken that there should be nothing unbecoming about the proceedings. The day was beautifully fine, and as the band, under the leadership of Mr. Townsend, had offered its services, the music attracted a large number to the ground. The time appointed for the first race was 2 o’clock, and at that time there was a numerous concourse of spectators; the hills and banks of the lake being excellent vantage ground for onlookers.
Appended are the results of the different events:—
Swimming Race, for boys under 15. Distance, 75 yards. First prize, riding-whip ; second prize, set of mathematical instruments.
Cameron 1, W. Broad 2.
W. Holford also joined in to make a race, but, being over the age, he could not claim a prize, although he came in second.
All-Comers’ Race, 200 yards. First prize, a Britannia teapot; second prize, swimming costume.
O. Scott 1, J. C. Adams 2, Brewster 3.
Messrs. Hughes, Kirkby, Cook, Scott, and Lenahan also competed. This was a splendid contest, and, but for Brewster getting a violent kick on the forehead at starting, which stunned him for a moment, he would no doubt have been the victor. Captain Holford got them well away together; and, notwithstanding the accident referred to, there was a tough struggle between Adams, Scott, and Brewster. The latter was in a fainting condition at the finish.
LONG DIVING, for boys under 15. First prize, pair of spurs; second prize, box of figs.
Cameron 1, W. Holford 2, Ford 3.
There were two other competitors.
Swimming Race, 600 yards. First prize, aneroid barometer; second prize, butter cooler.
Brewster 1, Scott 2, Hughes 3.
This was a very interesting event. Brewster went away with the lead on a steady side stroke; Hughes, breast stroke, and Scott, side stoke following him close, Edmunds turned on his back after fifty yards, and caved in at the hundred and fifty. The others maintained pretty well the same positions; Brewster increasing his lead and winning by over fifty yards. It was a close finish between Scott and Hughes. Time, 11 minutes.
Long Dive, all comers. First prize, silver studs; second prize, gentleman’s work basket.
Scott 1, Brewster 2.
Edmunds also competed.
The sports ended by Master W, Holford walking across the lagoon on a rope; and an aquatic tournament, in which there was an al fresco display of fancy swimming, ornamental headers, and deep diving.
£13 3s. was taken at the gates; the contributions being voluntary.
In the evening the Garrick Club gave a dramatic performance at the Odd Fellows’ Hall, which was a great success ; the report, however, we have to hold over till to-morrow.
TH, APRIL 11, 1879
FUNDRAISING ENTERTAINMENT
On Wednesday evening the Garrick Club gave a dramatic performance at the Odd Fellows’ Hall in aid of the bathing-house. The entertainment was under the patronage of the Chairman and members of the Recreation Board; also the President. Vice- President, and members of the Taranaki Amateur Athletic Club, the audience being a large and appreciative one. A tempting programme had been arranged, consisting of Tom Taylor’s sparkling three-act comedy, “Still Waters Run Deep,” and the farce of “The Rough Diamond.” The first piece is a giant effort for amateurs, requiring, as it does, a strict rendition of the phraseology peculiar to each character, and an assumption of impersonation beyond a mere voluntary rehearsal of the same. Judging it on the whole it was well played. To criticise amateurs is to be hypercritical, for there is no limit to the allowance which should be made to them. The Club was fortunate in securing the services of two professional ladies (Miss Marie Wilton and Miss May Bell), and to the spirited play of the former is to be debited much of the confidence infused into the novices. From first to last Miss Marie Wilton played with an abandon and zest which kept the piece from lagging. Miss Bell, who was suffering from indisposition, and performed her part to prevent disappointment, was graceful and pleasing as Mrs. Mildmay. The part of John Mildmay is exceedingly trying — it is entirely free from demonstration, and it requires a consistency of cool and firm delivery to avoid monotony. For its impersonation Mr. C. D. Whitcombe was cast; and, after having overcome a little nervousness in the first act, he warmed up and gave an excellent delineation of the quiet, shrewd Lancashire man. He was deservedly applauded at the finish. Mr. J. T. V. Kirkby played Captain Hawksley to the life. His affected nonchalance in his machinations to entrap the apparently unsuspecting Mildmay was capital acting. Mr. Potter found an excellent representative in Mr. Ainslie, who is a really clever old-man actor; and the other parts were satisfactorily filled by Messrs. Newman, Adams, Ogilvie, and Nicoll.
During the interval which followed, Mrs. W. Courtney presented the prizes to the successful competitors in the athletic sports and swimming competition.
The farce of “The Rough Diamond” was capitally played, each one thoroughly entering into his and her part. Miss Wilton, Miss Bell, Messrs. H. Humphries, J. C. Adams, J. C. Ogilvie, and R. H. Thompson appeared in it, and acquitted themselves so well that it would be invidious to particularise. The gross proceeds of the entertainment were £25.
TH, MAY 17, 1879
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The ordinary meeting of the above board was held last night (May 16). Present: Messrs. Colson, Davis, Ford, and Hughes. In the absence of the Chairman (Mr. T. King), Mr. R Hughes presided.
Resignation.— Notice of Mr. Gilmour’s resignation was read and accepted.
New Member.— Proposed by Mr. Davis, seconded by Mr. Ford and carried, “That Mr. R. H. Thompson be recommended for the vacancy.”
Loan.— An application was read from the Bathing House Committee for a loan of £9 12s.
Proposed by Mr. Colson and seconded by Mr. Davis and carried. “That the thanks of the Board be presented to the Bathing House Committee for the successful exertions in reference to the erection of the Bathing House, and that the Board advance the money as requested for the payment of outstanding accounts.”
TH, JULY 8, 1879
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
This Board met on the 4th July. Present. Messrs. Colson, Hughes, Davis, and Bayley.— In the absence of Mr. King, Mr. H. Ford was voted to the chair.
Byelaws.—The Hon. Sec. read a letter from the Colonial Secretary inclosing a Gazette, in which the byelaws of the Board were published.—It was resolved that they be inserted twice in each of the local papers.
Donations.—It was resolved “That the thanks of the Board be tendered to Mr. A. Colson for his present of two Muscovy ducks, and to Mr. Mitchinson for his donation of shrubs.”
Care of the Grounds.—Mr. Colson agreed to take charge of the grounds for the current month.
The Board then adjourned.
TH, JULY 9, 1879
NEW BOARD MEMBER
His Excellency, by Proclamation in the Government Gazette, has appointed Mr. Ralph Hodge Thompson to be a Member of the Board of Trustees for Public Recreation, in the room of Mr. John Gilmour, resigned.
TH, JULY 16, 1879
BYE-LAWS of THE TARANAKI BOTANIC GARDEN BOARD, NEW PLYMOUTH.
Colonial Secretary’s Office, Wellington, June 10, 1879.
The following bye-laws made by the Board of Trustees for Public Recreation at New Plymouth are published in accordance with the provisions of “’The Taranaki Botanic Garden Act, 1876.”.
G. S. Whitmore.
BYE-LAWS.
- It shall not be lawful to take or admit any dog into the gardens, and any dog found in the same shall be shot or otherwise destroyed.
- No person may put up or erect a swing in any part of the grounds, unless with permission in writing of the Board.
- No person may erect or keep any stall or booth, unless with the permission in writing of the Board.
- Any person acting under the authority of the Board may summarily prevent the erection of, or remove or pull down, any stall or booth about to be put up, or put up, contrary to the above by-laws.
- No person may climb or get up any tree.
- No person may fish in the lake or in any part of the streams that run through the grounds, or set night lines, without the permission in writing of the Board.
- No bathing shall be allowed after 8 o’clock a.m.
- No children will be allowed admission to the grounds, unless accompanied by an adult.
- No person will be allowed to pass through the grounds after dark, with the exception of those residing in the grounds.
- It shall be lawful for the Board, on the occasion of fetes and all other gatherings held under the auspices or authority of the Board, to impose or authorise the imposition of charges for admission to the ground.
- Any person who shall be convicted of any breach of any of the above by-laws shall be liable to a penalty of not less than one shilling and not exceeding five pounds,
- These bye-laws shall come into operation on the 1st August, 1879.
R. BAYLEY, Hon. Sec. and Treasurer.
TH, OCTOBER 1, 1879
LARGE EEL CAUGHT
We were shown yesterday a large eel, measuring about 3 feet 6 inches long, and weighing over 15 lbs., which had been caught in the lagoon at the Recreation Grounds. Another eel, not quite so large, was caught at the same time and place.
TH, OCTOBER 6, 1879
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
This Board met on Friday last, the 3rd October, at 7 p.m., at the Institute. Present: Messrs. Davis (in the chair), Hughes, Thompson, Harris Ford, and Bayley.
Resignation.—The Secretary read a letter from T. King, Esq., tendering his resignation as a Member of the Board.—A. resolution was passed acknowledging the receipt of the letter, and expressing the regret of the Board for the loss of Mr. King’s services.
Overseer of Works.—Mr. Hughes was appointed overseer of works for the current month.
The Board then adjourned.
TH, NOVEMBER 3, 1879
SWIMMING CLUB
A MEETING of those interested in the formation of a Swimming Club in connection with the Ornamental Water in the Recreation Ground will be held (by kind permission of the Mayor) in the Council Chamber, on Wednesday Evening next, at 7.30.
J. C. ADAMS.
TH, NOVEMBER 7, 1879
SWIMMING CLUB.
A MEETING was held on Wednesday in the Council Chambers for the purpose of forming a swimming club in connection with the ornamental waters in the Recreation Grounds, a number of gentlemen being present. Mr. R. H. Thompson was voted to the chair. Mr. Thompson then read the advertisement calling the meeting, and asked Mr. Adams, whose name appeared to the advertisement, to give his views and explain his reason for calling the meeting.
Mr. Adams said he with several other gentlemen had seen the necessity of having a swimming club, as by forming a club they would give the rising generation an opportunity of learning to swim, for in conjunction with the club there would be suitable appliances to instruct beginners in the art of swimming ; also that a swimming club was a source of amusement to the public, as they held swimming races annually. He then proposed “That a swimming club be formed.” This was seconded by Mr. Nicoll.
Mr. Edmonds agreed with Mr. Adams’ proposition, and thought that the subscription should not be fixed at too high a rate, as it would debar young people from becoming members. He thought that an annual subscription of 2s. 6d. would be sufficient, as by making it 2s. 6d. they would get three members to one at 5s. Mr. Adams proposition was then put and carried.
Mr. Edmonds then proposed “The annual subscription be fixed at 2s. 6d.’’—Seconded by Mr. Thompson, and carried.
It was then proposed by Mr. Nicoll, and seconded by Mr. Thompson, “That the following gentlemen form a committee for the purpose of forwarding the interests of the club—Messrs. Adams, Thompson, Edmonds, Newman, Newell, Baker and Nicolls.”— Carried.
Proposed by Mr. Thompson, “That Mr. Edmonds be secretary and treasurer.”— Carried.
The committee then decided to meet on Wednesday the 12th to report progress. The meeting then closed.
TH, DECEMBER 6, 1879
RECREATION SWIMMING CLUB COMPETITION,
To be held on Wednesday, December 10.
President: Dr. O’Carroll. Judge: Major Tuke. Starter: Captain Holford, Committee: Messrs. C. W. Govett, N. King, R. H. Thompson, W. L. Newman, J. C. Adams, J. Nicoll, and J. A. Edmonds. Referees: Judge Shaw, and R. H. Thompson Esq.
PROGRAMME:
- Swimming Race for boys under 14; 50 yards, 1st prize, Magic Lantern; 2nd prize, Bone and Gold Ring.
- Champion Race; 100 yards, 1st prize, a Handsome Book; 2nd prize, Travelling Bag.
- Swimming Race for boys under 16; 200 yards. 1st prize, Waltham Watch; 2nd prize, Washing Machine,
- Champion Half-mile, 1st prize, Dressing Case; 2nd prize, Handsome Book; 3rd prize, Greenstone Pendant.
- Long Dive for boys under 16, Prize, Cricket Bat.
- Champion 300 Yards. 1st prize, Album; 2nd prize, Inkstand.
- Long Dive. Prize, Gold Neck Ring,
- Ornamental Diving and Swimming, 1st prize. Opera Glass; 2nd prize, Cricket Bat.
- Tub Race. Prize, Bag of Flour, winner to carry it home, each competitor to provide his own tub; paddles 3ft. and under.
- Lady of the Lake, with Zulu and Afghan admirers.
Entrance for each event, 1s. Post entries.
Decision of Referees to be final when disputes arise.
Three to compete in each race, or no prize will be given.
None but members of the Recreation Grounds Swimming Club will be allowed to compete.
Bathing drawers and singlets must in every instance be worn by the competitors.
JOHN A. EDMONDS, Hon. Sec.
|
TH, DECEMBER 11, 1879
RECREATION SWIMMING CLUB.
AQUATIC SPORTS.
President: Dr. O’Carroll. Judge: Major Stapp. Starter: Captain Holford, Committee: Messrs. C. W. Govett, N. King, R. H. Thompson, W. L. Newman, J. C. Adams, J. Nicoll, and J. A. Edmonds. Referees: Judge Shaw, and R. Thompson, Esq.
The Recreation Swimming Club held a competition yesterday at the lake in the Recreation Ground. The Committee were unremitting in their efforts to make the Aquatic Sports a success, and they must have been thoroughly gratified at the result of their labours. A public half holiday was proclaimed by His Worship the Mayor, which was heartily responded to by the principal places of business in town, and the afternoon being fine a large number of spectators visited the Grounds. Major Stapp acted as judge, and Mr. J. A. Edmonds as secretary. The arrangements made were all that could be desired, and the course for the various matches was marked off with exactness, and in such a manner as to make it almost impossible that a mistake could be made, Mr. Thompson did good service—preceding the competitors in a boat, and guiding them round the course. The band of the Mounted Rifles was in attendance, and discoursed enlivening music at intervals during the afternoon, which contributed in no small measure to the enjoyment of the public. No charge of admission was made at the gates, but subscriptions in aid of the funds of the Club were solicited. The first event was—
Swimming Race for boys under 11 ; 50 yards. 1st. prize, Magic Lantern; 2nd prize, Bone and Gold Ring.
A, Bayly, 1; Holford, 2; Williams, 0. This race was well contested.
Champion Race, 100 yards. 1st. prize, a Handsome Book; 2nd prize, Travelling Bag.
Watt, 1; Scott, 2; Goss, 3; Brewster, 0; Cooper, 0; Wilson, 0. A good start was effected, and, after, a few strokes, Watt came to the front, and maintained the lead till the finish, winning rather easily. A close contest took place between Scott and Goss for second place, Scott leading by a few strokes.
Swimming Race for boys under 16; 200 yards. 1st prize, Waltham Watch; 2nd prize, Washing machine.
Perry, 1; Holford, 2; Broad, 3; Bayly, 0. This event was won leisurely by Perry, who had it all his own way from the start. The contest for second place was spirited.
Champion Half-mile. 1st prize, Dressing Case; 2nd prize, Handsome Book; 3rd prize, Greenstone Pendant.
Scott, 1st; Cooper, 2nd; Stockley, 3rd; Hughes, 0 ; Baker, 0; Gibbes, 0; Ambridge, 0; Spark, 0; Leicester, 0; Holford, 0; Broad, 0; Bowden, 0. This was an excellent race, and, at the finish, created great excitement. Cooper lead after the 1st lap until within a few strokes of the finish, when Scott put on a spurt and won with very little to spare. Scott used the side stroke apparently throughout the race, but Cooper only occasionally tried the side stroke, and always lost ground when he did so. The struggle for third place was keen.
Long Dive, for boys under 16. Prize, Cricket Bat.
Williams, 1; Bayly, 2nd; Holford, 3; Ford, 0. The diving was very creditable.
Champion 300 Yards. 1st prize, Album; 2nd prize, Inkstand.
Watt, 1st; Scott, 2nd; Carrington, 3rd; Connell, 0; McLaughlin, 0. This was not exciting, as Watt lead from the start, and did not give the others a chance.
Long Dive, Prize, Gold Neck Ring.
Grey, 1; Bevan, 2; Goss, 3; Newman, 0; Gibbs, 0; S. Hamerton, 0; Scott, 0. Grey and Bevan were nearly equal.
Ornamental Diving and Swimming. 1st prize, Opera Glass; 2nd prize, Cricket Bat.
Troughton, 1; Adams, 2; Newman, 0. This event gave the judge some trouble to decide, the competitors being so well matched.
The Tub Race set down in the programme did not take place, no one having obeyed the condition imposed of bringing his own tub.
The event called the Lady of the Lake was very amusing. Many of the competitors were dressed in the most imposing costumes, and had taken, care to begrime their visages in order to bear some resemblance to Zulus. The Lady of the Lake was dressed with the object of display, and certainly the object was attained. The event appeared to be which could “douche” the other most. This closed a most enjoyable day’s amusement, and we think aquatic sports of this description could be repeated at suitable intervals affording pleasure to the public and the best of practice for the competitors.
TH, DECEMBER 12, 1879
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Board met on Monday at 7 p.m. Present: Mr. Hughes (in the chair), Messrs. Colson, Davis, Ford, Thomson, and Bayley,
Correspondence.—The Hon. Sec. then read correspondence from the Hon. the Colonial Secretary, and from Mr. T. Kelly, M.H.R.
Mr. Gilmour’s Application.—On Mr. Gilmour’s application being again brought forward, two propositions were placed before the meeting, but neither being considered satisfactory, the matter was postponed.
Bank of New Zealand Overdraft. —Mr. Bayley proposed, and Mr. Colson seconded, “That no more expenditure be incurred by the Board with the exception of the custodian’s salary, pending the liquidation of the overdraft at the Bank of New. Zealand.”— Carried.
Mr. Davis was appointed canvasser for December.
1880
TH, JANUARY 3, 1880
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Board met last evening. Present: Messrs. Colson (in the chair), Hughes, Davis, Ford, and Thompson.
Present of Shrubs.—The thanks of the Board were tendered to Mr. G. K. Duncan for his handsome present of shrubs.
The Lute Bazaar.—Mr. Thompson proposed, and Mr. Hughes seconded “That the Secretary be instructed to invite the ladies who kindly assisted at the late Bazaar to meet the Board in the Council Chamber to discuss the mode of best utilising the goods and money that remain over from the Bazaar;”—Carried.
Overseer of Grounds.—Mr. Colson was appointed Overseer for the present month.
TH, JANUARY 5, 1880
JAMES DAVIDSON JOINS BOARD.
His Excellency the Governor has appointed Mr. James Davidson to be a member of the Public Recreation Board, vice Mr. T. King, resigned.
TH, FEBRUARY 6, 1880
SWIMMING CLUB MEETING.
The members of the Recreation Ground Bathing Club held a very well attended meeting last night, of which Mr. C. W. Govett was chairman. The Secretary presented a balance-sheet, showing the sum of £3 17s. 4d. in hand, with liabilities amounting to £2, which was adopted. On a ballot being taken, the following committee were elected: Messrs. Baker, Brewster, Govett, N. King, Roy, and Dr. Gibbes. It was decided to hold swimming matches on Wednesday, the 3rd March. After some discussion it was settled that the prizes should be given on the ground at the close of the matches. A vote of thanks was given to the Secretary for his valuable services in connection with the club, and to the Chairman. After the general meeting, the newly-elected committee held a long and important meeting, and drew up the programme, particulars of which will be published shortly. The Secretary (Mr. Edmonds) was appointed handicapper.
TH, FEBRUARY 7, 1880
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Recreation Board held a meeting last night, when it was brought under the notice of the Board that the ladies of New Plymouth were desirous of having the use of part of the lake in the Recreation Ground for bathing, as the beach was not sufficiently retired. The Board resolved to have part of the lake enclosed by a wire fence to be set apart for the use of the ladies in future.
TH, FEBRUARY 16, 1880
DONATION TO THE BOTANICAL CARDENS.
The members of the Botanical Gardens Board, with a view of keeping the Recreation Ground in order, have incurred a debt of £150, for which the members are personally liable. There being a sum of money voted by Parliament for Botanical Gardens. Mr. Kelly, M.H.R, applied to the Government for a portion of it for New Plymouth, and on Saturday last received the following reply :—
Colonial Secretary’s Office,
Wellington, February 6th, 1880.
T. Kelly. Esq.-
Dear Sir,—I have received your letter of the 2nd instant. The vote for the Botanical Gardens will be divided without delay, and £100 given to the New Plymouth Garden.— I am, &c., John Hall.
The Government has acted very generously we think, in giving such a large sum out of the vote, and have been actuated, no doubt by a desire to help the members of the Board out of their difficulties. It is for the public to do the remainder, and although these are not the times to give money away, still if one or two al fresco promenade concerts on a moonlight evening were got up, a small amount being charged for admission to the grounds, the sum owing would soon be cleared off.
TH, MARCH 4, 1880
RECREATION GROUNDS SWIMMING CLUB.
President: Dr. O’Carroll. Vice-President: Major Stapp. Judge: Major Tuke. Starter: Captain Holford. Handicapper: J. A. Edmonds. Committee: Messrs. J. E. Brewster, C. Govett, Dr. Gibbes, N. King, J. Baker, and J. B. Roy.
The Autumn Meeting of the above Club was held yesterday, on the ornamental water of the Recreation Grounds, At first the day assumed a very unpromising aspect, and the Committee decided to adjourn the aquatic sports for a week, but towards noon a decided improvement in the weather occurred, and it was thought advisable to go on with the sports. The services of the town crier were accordingly obtained to inform the public that the programme of the day’s amusements would be commenced at 2 p.m. At the hour appointed there was a moderately good attendance of spectators and competitors on the grounds, and as the afternoon advanced quite a holiday gathering was present to witness the various competitions. The day had not been proclaimed a public holiday, but some of the places of business closed. Judging from the numerous attendance of the ladies, they appeared to have taken a lively interest in the day’s proceedings; no doubt the event of the “washerwoman’s surprise” announced in the programme having an especial feature of interest for them. We heard of one lady who expected to see this event contested by female, and not male, competitors. The chagrin of the lady when she discovered her mistake, baffles description. The blindfold race was a novelty, producing very general excitement during the contest, and the same remark applies to the trial race, in walking costume. The Champion Half-mile, Handicap was well contested. In the betting circles Watt was the favourite, his excellent stroke having on a former occasion completely vanquished all his rivals. He acquitted himself very creditably yesterday, but was compelled to yield the palm to Baker. The Champion Dive for adults was another event which attracted much notice—two of the rivals (Messrs. Hughes and Bevan) being well matched. Mr. R. Hughes eventually proved the victor, diving the distance of forty-six yards. He was lustily cheered for accomplishing this unusually clever feat. The 300 yards race was won by Watt, whose chance from the start was never seriously endangered. At the conclusion of the competitions the prizes were distributed by Mrs. Halse, who performed her duties in a pleasing and graceful manner, bestowing a few words of encouragement and commendation upon the recipients of the prizes. The committee must have been thoroughly gratified at the success which attended their efforts in forming and carrying out such an excellent programme of sports, and, as a necessary consequence, the Swimming Club will be even more popular than heretofore. Major Stapp, Major Tuke, Captain Holford, and Mr. Edmonds worked most energetically in the performance of their respective duties. We append the result of each event:-
All-comers’ Race, for boys under 14 years ; 75 yards. Prize, preserve jar. Bayly 1, Furlong 2.
President’s Cup Handicap, for adults : 150 yards. First prize, electro-plated inkstand; second, dressing-case; third, silver scarf-ring. Baker (12sec) 1, O. Scott (5sec) 2, J. E. Brewster (8sec) 3.
The race was closely contested, Baker winning by about half-a-length.
Boys’ Handicap, 150 yards. First prize, Albert chain; second, preserve jar. Gibson (20sec) 1, W. Holford (15sec) 2.
Ladies’ Prize, for adults; 300 yards. First prize, electro-plated inkstand; second prize, alarm clock. Watt 1, Cooper 2, Hughes 3.
Long Dive for boys under 17 years. Prize, electro-plated butter-dish. Kirby (tied at 21yards) 1, Williams 2.
Washerwoman’s Surprise, in tubs; 50 yards. Prize, a clock. Adams 1, King 2.
This event occasioned much merriment. A protest was lodged against the winner, as his tub was oval, and not round.
Champion Half-mile Handicap. First prize, electro-plated tea and coffee service; second, opera glass; third, preserve jar. Baker (15sec) 1, Watt (scratch) 2, Brewster (5sec) 3.
Baker led after the first half lap, and maintained the lead to the close. Watt put on a “spurt” at the finish, and succeeded in putting himself on a closer acquaintance with Baker. Time: 20mins.
Champion Dive, for adults. First prize; biscuit jar ; second, spirit flask. R. C. Hughes (46yards) 1, Bevin (39yards) 2.
Boys’ race, 200 yards. First prize, elctro-plated cruet; second, inkstand. W. Shuttleworth 1, W. Gibson 2.
Blindfold Race. Prize, Drinking flask. Holford 1, O’Donnell 2.
Trial Race in Walking Costume. Distance, 50 yards. Prize, Dressing-case. Adams 1, Carrington 2, Brewster 3.
TH, MARCH 13, 1880
LECTURE ON PALESTINE AND THE HOLY LAND.
An interesting lecture was given last evening, at the Odd Fellows’ Hall, by Sir William Fox, the subject being Palestine and the Holy Land.” His Worship the Mayor occupied the chair, and, in introducing the lecturer, said that Sir William Fox had been asked to give a lecture in aid of the Recreation Grounds, and had very readily consented to do so. The Grounds required certain improvements—the large swamp must be drained, and other necessary matters attended to—but the Board had no funds at their disposal. The object of the lecture was to assist in providing funds for carrying out those much-needed improvements.
The lecturer then engaged the attention of the audience, and gave a graphic account of his travels in Palestine and the Holy Land. He first spoke of the journey from England to Alexandria, describing the last-mentioned city with minuteness. From there he took his audience to Cairo, and then introduced them to the Nile. A three weeks journey up the Nile was depicted, all the wonders of that extraordinary river being fully noticed. The lecturer then made his hearers acquainted with a journey through the Desert of Sin, and gave them a description of Mount Sinai and the Holy Land. Mr. Williamson exhibited some excellent dissolving views of the Holy Land, and the lecturer pointed out the places of interest, relating many incidents both amusing and interesting. In his remarks on camels and donkeys the lecturer provoked irrepressible mirth, and throughout the delivery of the lecture there was a vein of fine humour which did not fail to please. During the evening Mr. Francis presided at the piano and gave appropriate selections in his brilliant style.
At the conclusion of the lecture a hearty vote of thanks was given lo the lecturer for the able manner in which he treated his subject.
TH, MAY 5, 1880
BOARD ASKS COUNCIL FOR HELP
Deputation from Botanical Gardens Board.—A deputation from the Botanical Gardens Board waited on the Council and stated through Mr. Hughes that the Board was without funds, having no reserves to bring any revenue, and had hitherto trusted to the liberality of the public and the Council. The Board, however, had not had sufficient funds to carry on with, and had obtained an overdraft at the Bank, the members becoming personally liable for the amount. They had now been called upon by the Bank Manager to pay it up, and they had little or no prospect of money from the public to do so. They had accordingly come to apply to the Council for assistance. They had one man employed, whose wages were paid out of the grant given by the Council. There were £5 of his salary unpaid. It was desirable to keep him or the work they had done would soon be destroyed. Their debt was about £65.—The Mayor said the Council would consider the matter, and its decision would be communicated to them by letter.
TH, JUNE 3, 1880
FINANCIAL POSITION OF RECREATION GROUND BOARD
TO THE EDITOR.
Sir,—With surprise and regret I learn that the Recreation Board is in a state of complete collapse unless the public of New Plymouth come promptly and substantially to the rescue. My informant tells me they are without funds for continuing the work, and moreover, in their laudable endeavours to somewhat forestall time in rendering the ground attractive, stand committed to a liability for which these gentlemen are personally responsible. Also the necessary office of custodian, that has been zealously filled by Claffey, frequenters of the grounds can testify to. This useful officer is discharged, and I am sure the consequences will be soon apparent by this promising public estate lapsing into its former state—to be again covered with furze; the thousands of ornamental trees there planted will be destroyed, and it will become a Tom Tiddler’s ground for all the stray cattle of the district. Now, notwithstanding the bad times, this I say would be most calamitous, and disgraceful to us as a community. The remedy is simple—a small contribution from each one will prevent its occurring. And when things look brighter we shall feel glad we made the effort, and think the money well spent in saving the birthright of our children from destruction. —I am, &c.,
CIVIS.
TH, JUNE 8, 1880
COUNCIL DECLINE REQUESTED HELP
…..On the above being read it was asked if the petition of the Botanical Gardens Board had been considered.—Mr. Bellringer said the Committee had discussed the matter, but they did not see their way to put any sum on the estimates, but should they get a subsidy from the Government the application would be again considered.—On the motion of the Mayor, seconded by Mr. Humphries, the report of the Estimates Committee adopted…………………
Notices of Motion.—Mr. Nicoll to move at the next meeting, “That this Borough take over the debt of the Recreation Board, and that the trust be taken over by the Borough.”
TH, JUNE 10, 1880
SUBSCRIPTIONS TO RECREATION GROUND
We learn that subscription lists have been opened, and that the public are subscribing liberally, to relieve the Recreation Grounds Board from their present financial difficulty. A great proportion of their funds has been expended in planting and protecting trees and shrubs. We are not aware of the Acclimatisation Society having done anything in the way of encouraging planting of useful and ornamental trees, though this is one of the objects of the Society. We think that, under the circumstances, the Society should, out of its funds, make a donation to a Board like that of the Recreation Grounds, which is practically one of its duties.
TH, JUNE 23, 1880
BOROUGH COUNCIL
Recreation Board.—Mr. Nicoll asked leave to withdraw his notice of motion re the taking over of the Recreation Grounds by the Council.—Leave granted.
TH, JUNE 28, 1880
A PLEA FOR THE RECREATION GROUNDS, NEW PLYMOUTH,
[COMMUNICATED.]
It is a point noted by travellers, that the natural beauties which render a place interesting and attractive, and so amply repay the tourist or adventurer for the trouble of “lionising,” are invariably less prominent and less appreciated by residents in the immediate locality, than by those whose regret it is that such pleasures are not always close at hand to them. This is not difficult to explain. Familiarity, even with Nature’s brightest products, begets an indifference to effect, and the beauties of to-day seem but the beauties of yesterday. The stranger brings, to assist his contemplation of such objects, the freshness of an unbiassed opinion. As Shakespeare says, he “holds the mirror up to Nature,” and is rewarded with a likeness exquisitely sharp and truthful.
The foregoing, as a preface, will introduce the intention of this sketch, which is intended as a plea in support of the movement now on foot to supply funds for properly keeping in order and attention our beautiful reserve for public recreation, redeemed from a natural waste of fern, but which languishes now for want of a proper public interest being taken therein. Our action does not give evidence of that philanthropic spirit which one sees in the parks and recreation grounds—the lungs of a city, the sweetest aids to public health, and the best evidence of people’s cultured tastes. The natural beauties which the wealth and magnanimity of some have bestowed on European towns—the reserves which less favoured localities guard so jealously in the public interest confirm the argument that public health and greatness advance side by side. This locality is exceptionally favoured with natural beauties, and it is the duty of each citizen to conserve those beauties, to his own enjoyment and for the benefit of those to come after.
Two years ago, the task of winning from its natural disorder the present Recreation Ground, was commenced by a liberal body of our townsfolk, who gave their time and attention to the work, the result of which gave evident satisfaction. Deep-set between the hills is the present splendid lake, which has been the scene of many an aquatic entertainment, the popularity of which is proved by the public interest and attendance.
And now it is with genuine regret that we see the good work stopped for want of funds, which neglect will surely allow the place to return to its primal disorder, unless the public show a proper spirit and determination about the matter. Subscription lists are now soliciting support to keep these grounds in order, and there is a rumour current that a meeting of ladies (Heaven bless ’em) will be called for Tuesday, 6th July, to consider the best means of raising funds to carry on this necessary public work. A fancy bazaar will probably be the result, and it behoves every one of our “sisters, cousins, and aunts” to take an interest in, and be present at, this meeting; and to those of the sterner sex, it is just as much their duty to assist in this, good work to the best of these means, always recognising in these matters a duty as well as a pleasure: and assisting to keep these public grounds “a thing of beauty and a joy for ever.”
TH, JULY 2, 1880
FUNDRAISING
A meeting of the ladies interested in getting up a Bazaar to raise funds for the Botanical Gardens will be held in the Oddfellows’ Hall on Tuesday next at 3 o’clock.
TH, JULY 6, 1880
BOROUGH COUNCIL
RE MOTION TO TAKE OVER GROUNDS
Recreation Board.—Mr. Nicoll asked leave to adjourn the notice of motion standing in his name re taking over the trust vested in the Recreation Board.—Messrs. Bellringer and Veale expressed themselves as opposed to the motion, as the funds of the Council would not admit of incurring the increased expenditure.—Leave was granted to allow the notice of motion to stand over until next meeting.
TH, SEPTEMBER 8, 1880
BOROUGH COUNCIL
Recreation Ground.—Mr. Nicoll asked permission to withdraw his resolution respecting the Council taking over the Recreation Ground, which was granted.—The Mayor stated that the Botanical Gardens Board did not intend to relinquish their trust, and as the ladies were working for a bazaar to be held shortly, he expected they would get out of their difficulties and be able to keep the grounds in order for the benefit of the public.
TH, SEPTEMBER 11, 1880
DONATION
Mr. T. Kelly, M.H.R., when in Wellington, applied for a share of the vote of money for “Domain Boards” for the New Plymouth Botanical Gardens, and to-day he received a telegram from the Premier stating that £35 would be granted to New Plymouth. This amount coming so unexpectedly will put the members of the Botanical Gardens Board in quite a good spirit.
TH, SEPTEMBER 17, 1880
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
A meeting of the Botanical Gardens Board was held on Tuesday evening, when it was decided to resume the work of improving the grounds, the Board trusting to the support of the public in carrying the work through. The lake will be filled in time for the bathing season, and a man has been engaged to take charge of the grounds. The Board received a large package of valuable pine seeds from the Geological Department.
TH, OCTOBER 12, 1880
SEED DONATION
The Botanical Gardens Board received yesterday from the Government a parcel of seeds of the wild vine of California (vitis Californica), which was seat by Mr. R. J. Crieghton, of San Francisco, for propagation in New Zealand. A printed paper containing extracts from Mr. Creighton’s letter, and from a pamphlet by Mr. Charles A. Wetmore, of San Francisco, was also received, affording valuable information with reference to the manner in which the vines are to be cultivated, and their peculiar qualities. From these extracts we learn that the vine is valuable from the fact that it is phylloxera-proof. It is found growing in California in the midst of vineyards which have been destroyed by that pest, but wholly uninjured, and experiments have shown conclusively that the vitis californica is too robust for the parasite to fasten upon. The crowning virtue of this vine is its value for making claret wines. It produces tannin and tartrate of potash, has no striking aroma, is sufficiently neutral, and has no disagreeable taste whatever.
PATEA MAIL, OCTOBER 10, 1880
TROUT OVA
Six thousand one hundred trout ova were landed at New Plymouth on Friday. The Botanical Gardens are to receive 200, the Huatoki stream near town 400, tributaries of the Waitara 3,200, Oakura streams 1,300, and some in the Stoney River district.
TH, NOVEMBER 3, 1880
BOROUGH COUNCIL
It was resolved that, “That a foot-bridge be erected in Gilbert-street to allow a footpath into the Recreation Ground.
TH, NOVEMBER 13, 1880
WATER LILY DONATION
Mr. Caverhill has presented the Botanical Garden with four beautiful water-lilies, which were sent to him by Mr. A. M. Johnson, of Troutdale Farm, Opawa, Christchurch. They arrived by the s.s. Penguin on Monday last, and were taken charge of by Mr. R. Bayley, who planted them according to instructions. There are two English lilies (Nymphaea Alba), and two Aponogeton Distictryon, which in two or three years’ time will make the ornamental water in the gardens look very pretty.
1881
TH, JANUARY 12, 1881
GRAND FINAL
PROMENADE CONCERT!
THIS EVENING, January 12.
THE FINAL PROMENADE CONCERT of the Cape Egmont Band will be given in the RECREATION GROUNDS, under the patronage of his Worship the Mayor, Major Stapp. Captains Davidson and Ellis, and the Mounted Rifles and Volunteers, who will appear in uniform.
A GRAND DISPLAY OF FIREWORKS!
To commence at 7 o’clock.
ADMISSION-ONE SHILLING.
For the Committee
C.D. WHITCOMBE.
TH, FEBRUARY 17, 1881
RECREATION GROUNDS SWIMMING CLUB.
AQUATIC SPORTS.
President: Dr. Gibbes. Vice-President : Mr. R. C. Hughes. Judges: Major Stapp and Major Tuke. Starter: Captain Holford. Committee: Messrs. N. King, J. B. Roy, Collis, Okey, F. Carrington, Dr. Gibbes, and C. Govett.
AQUATIC sports under the auspices of the above Club were held yesterday at the Recreation Grounds, and the weather being favourable a large number of spectators assembled to witness the various events. The programme was similar to that of last year, but the events were, on the whole, not so well contested, the entries not being so numerous.
None of the local men started in the important events, the competitors being all A.C. men. The half-mile race and the Taranaki champion race were both exciting events, the finishes being very close. Considerable interest was manifested in the proceedings, particularly in the blindfold race, washerwoman’s surprise, and Siamese twins. An event came off which was not down in the programme, but which proved provocative of much merriment. One of the boats on the lake capsized, and the occupants were precipitated into the water close to the bank of the lake. The appearance of the drenched personages was very ludicrous, and an irresistible peal of laughter was heard throughout the grounds, little sympathy being shown for the sorry plight of the unfortunates.
Dr. Gibbes, the president of the club, Captain Holford, starter, and Captain Cornwall, judge, discharged their duties with assiduity, and the members of the committee did everything in their power to promote the success of the meeting. At the close of the sports Mrs. Gibbes, with a few complimentary remarks, pinned the medals to the breasts of the following winners of the long races:- Messrs. Watt, Cooper, Galbraith, and Pannell, who were loudly cheered as each one came forward to the honor. Each of the other winners also received prizes at the same time. Three cheers were called for the Ladies, Dr. Gibbes, and the Committee, which were heartily responded to.
The following is the result of the races :-
All-comer’s Handicap; 75 yards; for Boys under 14 years.
Lynch 1, Scriviner 2, Schofield 3
This was a pretty race, Lynch winning by two yards; the others making a good struggle for second place.
Half-mile Handicap, 880 yards.
Cooper (10sec.) 1, Galbraith (10sec.) 2, Pannell (scratch) 3
Cooper and Galbraith each swam together for 300 yards, when Pannell drew up level; but at the quarter-mile buoy Pannell threw up the sponge to Cooper and Galbraith, who were both swimming strong. In turning the last buoy for home Cooper began to draw away; but twenty yards from home Galbraith put on a splendid spurt, and Cooper, following suit, just managed to win by one yard, after a most exciting struggle, amidst much clapping of hands from the spectators.
Handicap for boys under 18; 150 yards.
Broad 1, Carrington 2, Shuttleworth 3
The other two failed to catch Broad, who had 10sec. start; although Carrington and Shuttleworth swam a hard stern chase. Carrington beat Shuttleworth by two yards.
President’s Medal Handicap, 300 yards.
- Watt (scratch) 1, Pannell (scratch) 2, Cooper (10 seconds) 3.
Galbraith and Adams did not start. Cooper gave in after swimming 20 yards. Pannell, seeing he had no chance against Watt, also “caved in” after he had covered 100 yards, leaving Watt to win as he liked.
Blindfold Race, 50 yards.
Carrington 1, King 2, Cornwall 3.
This race caused much amusement amongst the people. Five started, Carrington steered a straight course, and won by six yards, whilst the others went for a short cruise up and down the lake; ultimately King and Cornwall managed to get to the right side close behind each other, but about thirty yards apart; C. W. Govett fourth. Warnock didn’t find the other side.
Taranaki Champion Half-mile (all-comers.) 880 yards.
Pannell 1, Watt 2, Galbraith 3.
Galbraith gave in after he had covered thirty yards, leaving Watt and Pannell to fight it out. Watt led Pannell nearly all the way till close to the winning post, when Pannell challenged Watt, and after a short sharp struggle, Pannell managed to beat Watt by two yards, after a fine exhibition of swimming.
Club’s Medal—300 yards.
Galbraith 1, R. Govett 2, Cooper 3.
This was a rather easy win for Galbraith, although Govett tried hard to pass him, but failed to get closer than six yards, Govett beating Cooper about the same distance for second place.
Champion Dive.
Galbraith 1, Bevan 2, G. Scott 3.
Three came forward for this, which was won by Galbraith with a dive of 50 yards.
TH, FEBRUARY 25, 1881
THE FANCY FAIR
AT THE RECREATION GROUNDS.
We intimated yesterday that the Fancy Fair in aid of the funds of the Recreation Grounds was likely to be a success, and our prognostication was fully realized. In the afternoon most of the business places in town closed in order to allow the employees an opportunity of visiting the grounds. From 2 p.m. the grounds presented a scene of animation and festivity, and the promoters of the Fancy Fair had no misgivings as to the success of their labours. The originators of the movement were the ladies, and they worked long and incessantly in bringing matters to a successful issue.
For months past they have been engaged in working articles for the Fair, and an inspection of the stalls yesterday revealed how assiduous and devoted they were to the cause. Every conceivable article in the useful and fancy lines were upon the tables as the result of the many “Working Bees” which they had held, and if they were proud of their labours they had every reason to be so.
While eulogising the ladies generally for their praiseworthy efforts, we would particularly mention the name of one lady as being in a pre-eminent degree entitled to credit for her untiring exertions in the management of the details. Mrs. Humphries was always looked upon by the ladies as their leader; and upon her devolved the general supervision of affairs. We are informed that had it not been for her resolute determination, the idea of a fancy fair would probably not have been carried out, owing to the difficulties experienced in the early stages of the movement. She instilled life and energy in the workers, both by her example and by words of encouragement. It afforded us great pleasure yesterday to see her full of animation, and working with earnest zeal, notwithstanding that she has passed the sixth decade of life.
The stalls were neatly constructed of raupo and ornamented with flags. There were four fancy stalls and two refreshment stalls.
Stall No. 1 was presided over by Mesdames Humphries, Phillips, and O’Carroll, assisted by Misses Humphries (2), B. Carrington, Wilson, Webster, and Hamerton.
Stall No. 2—Mesdames C. Rawson, White, and E. Rawson, assisted by Misses Rawson and Shuttleworth.
Stall No. 3 (toy stall)—Misses B. Humphries and Sole.
Stall No. 4 (boat stall)—Mesdames Holford and Brown, assisted by Misses Waller, Ellis, and DeForges.
Stall No. 5 (refreshment stall) —Mrs. Hulke. Misses Cotterell and Hulke.
Stall No. 6 (refreshment stall)—Mesdames Smith, S. Smith, and Miss Smith.
A refreshment booth, under the superintendence of Mr. Callaghan, was also on the grounds,
In the fancy goods stalls we noticed displayed for sale workboxes, photographs, purses, smoking caps, vases, perfumery, fancy baskets, picture frames, knives, toys, chinaware, antimacassars, mats, shawls. &c. The ladies who presided at the stalls were all intent on business, and the luckless old bachelor who happened to go near the table for the purpose of inspection was generally victimized. We ourselves witnessed one young lady spend twenty minutes endeavouring to persuade an unfortunate to buy a baby’s hood. Why she should have offered a baby’s hood to a bachelor appeared a mystery, but then ladies are so knowing; she might have meant him to take the hint and get married. He was evidently not a warm admirer of the ladies, or he would have been tempted to follow the example of a noble duke, on a similar occasion, who was bewitched by the charms of a young lady of gentle birth into making the mad offer of £500 for a kiss, which was promptly accepted, and the kiss given in public on the spot. The kiss, of course, was looked upon by the young lady as merchandise, and the proceeds went to considerably swell the bazaar fund. We did not, however, hear of any such merchandise being for sale at the Recreation Grounds yesterday.
At 4.30 p.m. the game of “water polo” was started, when six competitors appeared at the post with their noble steeds—viz., beer barrels ornamented with saddle cloths and wooden horse heads. This was expected to be a game of much excitement and interest, but we cannot say that it was a success. The only sport derived from it was the number of “spills” each competitor had. There were only three out of the six who reached the bail, and they were too busily engaged in keeping their seats to think of striking it. They did not lack courage or perseverance, but they evidently lacked practice in the game.
In the evening the attendance was large, and the grounds being lighted up with Chinese lanterns, presented a very brilliant appearance. A number of gentlemen appeared in fancy costumes, the character of a “Sambo ” being the favourite. We noticed one gentleman dressed as a Highlander, but whether he intended it for a fancy costume or not we are unable to say. The Glee and Chorus Band rendered some choice selections of vocal music on the lake, and made the hills resound with the melody.
The stalls were well patronized, and the Fancy Fair will probably be a success financially.
The amount collected at the gates yesterday was £41.
TH, FEBRUARY 28, 1881
THE LATE FANCY FAIR
We have been requested to call the attention of persons to who the Committee are indebted to send in their accounts at once to the Hon. Secretary, Mr. R. Bayley, with view to their settlement.
The result of the takings at the late Fancy Fair in aid of the funds of the Recreation Grounds, are on the whole very satisfactory as will be seen from the following return :—
£ s d
Mrs. Humphries….. …. … 29 15 3
Mrs. Rawson….. … 14 2 5
Miss Mabel Humphries…. … 3 8 3
Refreshment stalls… …. … 17 8 2
Mrs. Holford … … 4 10 9
Gates … … … 41 8 10
Total …………… 110 13 8
TH, MAY 30, 1881
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Board met on Monday. Present: Captain Davidson (in the chair), Messrs. Colson, Davis, Hughes, and Ford.
Surrender of Lease.—It was resolved on the motion of Mr. Hughes, seconded by Mr. Davis, “That the Secretary be instructed to write to Mr. Breidecker requesting him to sign a surrender of his lease from the Board of the vineyard and strawberry grounds.”
Thanks.—Mr. Hughes moved, and Mr. Colson seconded, “That the sincere thanks of the Board be tendered to Mrs. Humphries and the other ladies for their exertions in getting up a bazaar in aid of the funds of the Board.”—Carried.
Croquet Ground.—It was decided to commence the draining and clearing of the swamp in the Recreation Grounds, for the purpose of making a croquet ground.
Rents.—The Board resolved that all rents due to the Board not paid by the end of the present month be sued for.
Defunct Swan.—On the motion of Mr. Colson, seconded by Mr. Hughes, it was agreed that steps be taken to recover the value of the swan destroyed by a dog belonging to the members of the A.C. Band.
Resignation of a Member.—The resignation of Mr. R. Bayley, as a Member of the Board was accepted, and it was decided to recommend the Government to appoint Mr. J. B. Roy to the vacant seat.
Vacancy.—The Board declared that the seat of Mr. R. Thompson was rendered vacant on account of non-attendance, and decided to recommend that Dr. Gibbes be appointed to the seat.
This concluded the business.
TH, JUNE 7, 1881
BOROUGH COUNCIL
REQUEST FOR SWAMP FILL
Recreation Grounds.—An application was received from Mr. H. Ford, Secretary of the Recreation Ground Board, requesting permission to remove the earth at the entrance of the grounds, near Liardet-street, for the purpose of filling in the swamp in the grounds,— The matter was referred to the Works Committee.
TH, JUNE 28, 1881
PLANT DONATION
We hear that Mr. Mitchinson, of the Caledonian Nursery, has liberally offered about a thousand well-grown trees and plants of various kinds to the Recreation Board, the only condition being that that the Board employs an experienced man to transplant them. For want of funds it is feared that this handsome offer will be declined. Until lately the Board owed the custodian of the grounds over thirty weeks’ wages, part only of which has been paid.
TH, JULY 5, 1881
REQUEST FOR SWAMP FILL GRANTED
Public Works Committee.—The report of the Public Works Committee was read as follows :—Resolved, That the Recreation Ground Board have permission to remove 2,000 yards of earth from Liardet-street, provided it be taken off the brow of the hill the full width of the street, and that owners of property on each side have notice to put their fences in their proper places, the work to be done to the satisfaction of the Public Works Committee.
TH, JULY 25, 1881
RECREATION GROUND IMPROVEMENTS
The Botanical Gardens Board are carrying out extensive improvements in the Recreation Grounds. Several hundreds of trees have been planted, and the swamp at the northeast end of the grounds has been drained preparatory to its being laid down in grass for a croquet lawn. In the course of two or three years, when the trees will have grown up, the grounds will present a charming appearance, and will vie in point of excellence with any other to be found in the Colony. The thanks of the community are due to the Botanical Gardens Board for their assiduity in the discharge of their duties, and the public will have an opportunity of showing their appreciation by patronizing the forthcoming entertainment to be given by amateurs in aid of the funds of the Board.
TH, JULY 27, 1881
STATE OF FINANCES – CONCERNED CITIZEN
The Botanical Gardens Board is doing its best with the limited means at command to effect certain improvements in the Recreation Grounds. It must be evident, however, to every person that a considerable amount of work remains yet to be done before the Grounds will be at all presentable, and, as the Board has no money for carrying out improvements, the question arises how can be supplied with funds? A number of gentlemen have interested themselves in the matter, and have decided to give a performance, with the object of assisting the Board in its present financial difficulties; but, although these gentlemen are to be commended for their generous intentions, it cannot be said that this is a satisfactory or adequate way of providing ways and means. The work which the Board has to perform is of far too much importance to be dependent upon occasional donations, and unless some regular system of finance can be devised, the Grounds will be simply ruined by piecemeal operations. There can be no controverting the fact that a Recreation Ground of some kind is essential for all communities. The health of the city or town depends largely upon the means its inhabitants possess for out-door recreation; and the sanitary condition of any town is imperilled by the neglect of procuring means for obtaining healthy recreation. We take it for granted, therefore, that this is admitted by everyone, and the only question which we have to deal with is, how are the funds for the New Plymouth Recreation Grounds to be provided? Unquestionably it appears to us that the Municipal authorities, by virtue of their office, are called upon to provide sufficient funds for the purpose, and their neglect of duty in this respect is as reprehensible as if they neglected to make and maintain the streets within the Borough. The planting out of Pleasure Grounds is mentioned in the Act as one of the purposes for which Municipal Corporations are established, and the claim which the Recreation Grounds has upon the Borough Council should not, therefore, be lost sight of. It is true that the Council has this year recognised this claim to a certain extent, and has voted the sum of £50 to the Botanical Gardens Board ; but it must be remembered that this is a special vote, and may or may not be granted next year. As a matter of fact it matters not whether the funds are provided by the Borough Council or not, the community must in any case provide the means; but as a matter of expediency we think the Borough Council should supply the necessary funds. In order to do this it will probably be necessary to increase the ordinary Borough rate, but we feel sure that the small increase of say one penny in the pound would not be objected to, and would supply an annual revenue of over £100 to the Botanical Gardens Board. With this small fixed revenue, and any donations that might be obtained, the Board could carry out the improvements, and we are certain the result would be exceedingly gratifying. Shrubberies and flower-beds would be laid out, and an extensive croquet lawn formed, which, in addition to the ornamental water already procured, and the shady arbours which will no doubt be provided, the residents of New Plymouth would have no cause to be ashamed of their Botanical Gardens. A holiday would then be much more enjoyable to the townspeople, and that vapid state of affairs which is only too often noticeable during a holiday in New Plymouth would be avoided, as amusement and recreation would be within the reach of all.
TH, AUGUST 17, 1881
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Board met on Friday. Present: Messrs. Davis, Ford, Hughes, and Roy.
Resignation.—A letter was read from Mr. T. Colson, resigning his seat as a member of the Board.—Mr. Davis moved, “That the hearty thanks of the board be tendered to Mr. Colson for his valuable services as a member during the past six years, and the Board expresses their regret at his being compelled to resign.”—Carried.
Appointment.—On the motion of Mr. Ford, it was resolved, “That the Governor be requested to appoint Mr. T. K. Skinner as a member of the Board, vice Mr. Colson.”
Plans.—It was resolved “That the thanks of the Board be given to Mr. Bayley for his donation of two plans of the grounds.”
Overseer.— Mr. H. Ford was appointed overseer for the present month.
Trees.— The Secretary reported that 1100 trees had been planted in the grounds this season.
This concluded the business.
TH, AUGUST 30, 1881
FUNDRAISING
The Star Minstrels perform to-night in Courtney’s Hall, in aid of the Recreation Ground Funds, and we are glad to hear that there is likely to be a full house. A stage has been fitted up, the scenery fixed, and the place lighted with gas, so that everything having been made as complete as possible, the visitors will be able to enjoy the performance.
TH, SEPTEMBER 14, 1881
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
A meeting of the Botanical Gardens Board was held on Friday, the 9th instant. Present. Mr. Roy (in the chair), Dr. Gibbes, and Messrs. Davis, Ford, Hughes, and Skinner.
Sections Leased.—Mr. H. Moverly’s tender for lease of Section 1064, for a term of one year certain, at 30s. per annum, was accepted, it being agreed that six months’ notice should be given on either side of discontinuance of lease.—Mr. D. Power’s tender for lease of Sections 1140 and 1180, for fourteen years, at 10s. each per annum, was declined.—Mr. Pellew’s tender for a piece of cultivated land in the Recreation Grounds, amounting to £5, was accepted by the Board on condition that the lessee would plant shrubs, &c., in the ground; and keep the footpaths clean.
Votes of Thanks.—Votes of thanks were passed to Mr. Mitchinson for his valuable donation of shrubs; to Mr. Govett for a donation of money; to the Star Minstrels for their services in getting up the late concert, by which the sum of £13 11s. 6d. was received, in augmentation of the Board’s funds; and to the Borough Council for the grant of £50.
Clearing Swamp.—Mr. Skinner was requested to prepare a plan and specification for the removal of earth and filling in the swamp at the Grounds, and to call for tenders for the same.
This concluded the business.
TH, SEPTEMBER 14, 1881
SWAMP FILLING TENDERS
For earthworks in Recreation Grounds will be received till 4 p.m. on Thursday next. Particulars can be obtained from Mr. T. K. Skinner.
Harris Ford, Secretary.
September 10, 1881
TH, SEPTEMBER 17, 1881
SWAMP TENDER ACCEPTED
Mr. Alfred Wells is the successful tenderer for the removal of earth at the Recreation Grounds, for the purpose of filling in the swamp. It is proposed to make a cricket ground when the swamp has been filled up. This will prove a great boon to the cricketers of the district, who for years past have been labouring under the disadvantage of having only a very inferior ground, and they could consequently derive little or no pleasure in pursuing this favourite pastime.
TH, SEPTEMBER 22, 1881
FUNDRAISING
LECTURE ON ELECTRICITY
A Lecture on “Electricity” with Illustrations and Experiments, by Mr. W. Parker, to conclude with a TELEPHONIC CONCERT, will be given at the Freemasons’ Hall, This Evening, in aid of the funds of the Recreation Ground, Admission, 1s.
To commence at 8 p.m.
HARRIS FORD, Secretary
TH, OCTOBER 8, 1881
RECREATION GROUNDS
BATHING HOUSE.
Persons using this house during the ensuing season are required to obtain a ticket (price 2s 6d) from the undersigned H.Ford, Secretary.
RECREATION GROUNDS
Owing to the persistent disregard of the regulations as to the non-admission of DOGS to these GROUNDS, the public are respectfully informed that persons walking in the Grounds after the 15th inst. with dogs in their following will be prosecuted.
RECREATION GROUNDS FUND
An entertainment, under the auspices of the Egmont Lodge, I.O.G.T., will be held in the Freemasons’ Hall on Tuesday, the 18th instant in aid of this fund.
RECREATION GROUNDS BATHING HOUSE
A meeting of all persons interested in this building will be held at Mr. Govett’s office on Monday Evening next, at 8 o’clock.
Business: To consider the propriety of handing the property to the Recreation Board.
TH, OCTOBER 12, 1881
Amusements.
RECREATION GROUNDS FUND.
MUSICAL AND LITERARY ENTERTAINMENT (under the auspices of the Egmont Lodge, I.O.G.T.) will be held at the Freemasons’ Hall on TUESDAY, 18th instant, at 7.30 p.m. The programme will comprise some specialities, including a brief description by an M.D. of a simple method of resuscitating the apparently drowned (a patient will be provided), and also a performance on the ocarina, by a gentlemen lately from Europe.
Tickets (1s.) may be had at Mrs. Hood’s, Mr. Drew’s, Miss Retford’s, and Mr. Gilmour’s.
TH, OCTOBER 15, 1881
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
A meeting of the Botanical Gardens Board was held on Friday, the 7th instant. Present. Captain Davidson (in the chair), Messrs Davis, Hughes, Roy, Skinner, and Ford.
Application for Sections. — Mr. Bamford applied for the lease of sections 1066 and 1087, Town of New Plymouth.—It was resolved, “That Mr. Bamford’s offer to lease sections 1066 and 1087, at £l each per annum, be accepted at a yearly tenancy, subject to three months’ notice from either side after the 1st year.”
Disputed Sections.—It was resolved that Messrs. Roy, Hughes, and the Secretary be appointed a Committee to enquire into and take the necessary action in the matter of the sections occupied by Messrs. Healy and Carnell.
Approach to Lawn.—Mr. Skinner was authorised to expend £5 in making an easier approach to the lawn in the Recreation Ground.
Progress Payment.—The Secretary was authorised to make a progress payment to the contractor now engaged in the Grounds.
Bathing house.—It was decided to appoint a Committee, consisting of Messrs. Hughes, Roy, and Skinner, to arranged with the Bathing Club to take over the bathing-house, and make the necessary arrangements for the season.
Votes of thanks.—Votes of thanks were passed to Mr. Parker for his lecture, and to the ladies and gentlemen who assisted at the recent entertainment in aid of the Board’s funds; to Mr. Reginald Bayley for his collection of native seeds, and for having forwarded the same to the Curator of the Botanical Gardens, Melbourne.
Overseer.—Mr. Hughes was appointed overseer for the current month.
This concluded the business.
TH, OCTOBER 28, 1881
PLANT DONATION
Mr. Harris Ford, the Secretary of the Botanical Gardens Board, has received a valuable selection of flower and shrub seeds from the Curator of the Botanical Gardens, Melbourne. The parcel was sent in exchange for a quantity of seeds forwarded by the Board to Melbourne, and the Curator express the hope that the Botanical Gardens Board of New Plymouth will continue the interchange of donations.
TH, NOVEMBER 1, 1881
MUSICAL AND LITERARY ENTERTAINMENT.
A number of ladies and gentlemen, gave an entertainment last evening at the Masonic Hall, in aid of the funds of the Recreation Grounds. The hall was well filled, and the Ven. Archdeacon Govett officiated. The first piece on the programme was a piano duet by Misses Haise and Rennell, which was executed in an accomplished style, and was loudly applauded. Mr. Fookes vocalised the favourite song, “The Arab’s Farewell to his Steed,” and was followed by a reading which was given by Mr. Govett. The performance on the ocarina by Mr. Brewster was a novelty, and was fully appreciated by the audience. We have not space to comment upon the various pieces given, but they were of more than average excellence. The entertainment was of a social character, and everyone present appeared to enjoy themselves. In addition to the pieces already mentioned, the following were given:—Reading, “ What Mr. Robinson thinks,” Mr. Govett; song and recitation, Mr. Burd; reading, Mr. Wood house ; song, Mr. Gilbert; comic sketch, “The Miserable Man,” Mr. Ainslie; song, Mr. Edmonds; duet, Miss Govett and Mr. Brewster; song, Mr. Wildman; comic sketch, “The Nightmare,” Mr. DeMey; reading, “A Night with a Stork,” Mr. Matthews. Miss Wildman and several other ladies officiated at the piano during the evening.
TH, DECEMBER 12, 1881
TROUT IN THE LAKE
We are informed that salmon are now becoming plentiful in the Waiwakaiho River. A gentleman, a few days ago, saw a number of salmon in the river disporting themselves, and they were all of good size. At the lake in the Recreation Grounds the trout are also increasing rapidly to all appearances, and some good sport will shortly be had.
1882
TH, JANUARY 16, 1882
FIGHT IN THE RECREATION GROUNDS
On Sunday afternoon a disgraceful scene occurred at the Recreation Grounds, in the shape of a free fight amongst some youngsters, and it was found necessary to send for the police. It is time these young sparks were taught that they cannot commit breaches of the peace with impunity whenever and wherever they please.
The police are on the alert, and will make an example of the first offenders they can lay hold of in future. It is very essential that strict order and decency should be maintained in the Recreation Grounds, or the public generally will be compelled to abandon them to the exclusive use of a few “rowdies.”
TH, FEBRUARY 6, 1882
FILL FROM LIARDET ST STOPPED
The upper end of Liardet-street, leading into the Recreation Grounds, is in a dangerous state owing to the recent removal of earth to fill in the swamp in the Grounds. Quite a precipice has been formed and several persons have already met with accidents while walking along the street. We believe no blame is attached to the Botanical Gardens Board who caused the removal of the earth from the road, for we understand they were suddenly ordered to desist by the Borough Council, and the street was left in a most disgraceful condition. The Borough Council should take immediate action in the matter, and at once remedy the evil.
TH, FEBRUARY 7, 1882
UNSAFE LIARDT STREET
State of Liardet-street.—Mr. Bellringer alluded to a paragraph in the Herald re the state of Liardet street; and said that the Botanical Gardens Board were to blame for leaving the street in that condition.
The Council then adjourned.
TH, MARCH 7, 1882
PIG AT THE END OF A GREASY POLE
We have been requested to state that amongst the amusements will be the following:— A greasy pole will be fixed so as to hang over the water, and at its end will be fastened a box in which will be placed at “porker,” which has been presented by His Worship the Mayor for the purpose. The swimmers have to climb along the pole, let out the pig which falls into the water; and then if a party secures it and brings it ashore, he becomes its owner.
TH, MARCH 9, 1882
SWIMMING TOURNAMENT
THE Recreation Ground Swimming Club held their annual tournament on the lake yesterday. A half-holiday was observed in town by most of the business people, and the weather being fine a large number of spectators visited the grounds. These annual aquatic sports have been decidedly popular, and the Committee entrusted with the management must have been gratified that their exertions were duly appreciated, as the general public evinced great interest in the various events of the day. A more pleasant holiday, both for young and old, could not have been desired, and the cheerful, happy faces that were to be seen everywhere told how much enjoyment was being afforded to the visitors. Seated under the shady trees were to be seen groups of persons listening to the strains of the Town Band, or watching the various events with eagerness. The merry peals of laughter which frequently floated across the lake denoted that some unfortunate swimmer had made an exhibition of himself or come to “grief” in his excitement to win the contest. Much amusement was afforded by the greasy pole, the attempts made to reach the pig at the end being for a considerable time unsuccessful. When the unfortunate porker was at last reached, taken out of the box, and dropped into the water, the scramble which ensued among the competitors to win the prize caused quite a commotion. W. Holford was the first to grapple with the submerged porker, which put forth its best swimming powers to escape from its pursuers. Holford landed the prize, and it accordingly became his own property. The convenience of the visitors was studied by the Committee in every way, seats being placed along the walks at suitable intervals, and a refreshment booth was erected, where Mr. Moverley supplied the wants of his numerous customers. The courses were all distinctly marked off, thus preventing any mistakes occurring in that respect among the competitors. Major Tuke acted as judge, Captain Davidson as starter, and Mr. Watt as referee. Dr. Gibbes, the President of the Club, worked very hard in receiving the entries and generally. supervising the events. The members of the Committee were also very attentive to their duties, and it is to be recorded to their credit that not a single hitch occurred during the whole proceedings. The Town Band contributed selections of music, filling up the intervals between the races in an agreeable manner.
TH, MARCH 30, 1882
FANCY FAIR IN RECREATION GROUNDS.
A fancy fair was opened at the Recreation Grounds yesterday, with the object of raising funds for the Botanical Gardens Board. A considerable quantity of fancy articles remaining unsold from the last fancy fair was available for this occasion; and, with new goods furnished by the ladies, quite a respectable show was displayed on the stalls. During the afternoon a considerable amount of business was done although there was not a very large attendance of the public. ‘The boats plying on the lake were well patronised, and contributed a good sum to the general fund. Mr. Cock, sen., was in charge of the navigation of the lake, and by his careful management no casualties are to be recorded.
The Rev. Mr. Taylor appeared very busy, as he was in charge of the target at which the competitors fired for prizes. This was found to be a very useful way of aiding in the disposal of the articles for sale, and was not by any means an evasion of the Lotteries Act, as it was a genuine game skill. A booth was erected. in front of the lake, which was divided into three stalls, and presided over by ladies. The refreshment booth was under the charge of Mesdames Skinner, Devenish, and Holford and Misses Smith and Cotterell. The fancy stall was presided over by Mrs. Roy and Misses Brind, Shuttleworth, Devonish, Watkins, and Wilson. Mrs. Gibbes had the general supervision of the toy stall, and was assisted by Mrs. Humphries and Misses Humphries and Rawson. Miss E. Hamerton had charge of the Wheel of Fortune, and did a remarkably good business with it. Mrs. Phillips had the management of the Art Union, and was also successful in disposing of the goods. The evening: was beautiful, and being moonlight, as was to be expected a large number of persons were present to see the display of fireworks and to enjoy the music discoursed by the A.C. Band. The margin of the lake was lighted up with Chinese lanterns, and the effect was pleasing. Mr. W. Newman was in charge of the fireworks and discharged his duties well. The display of fireworks was most effective, and it was heightened by the reflection upon the lake. Dancing was kept up on the green; and the A.C. Band performed a Selection of music, the street melodies of which were echoed from hill and vale, and were appreciated by everyone. The members of the Botanical Gardens Board were present during the day and in the evening, and worked hard to make the affair a success. The Fair will be continued to-day, when we understand the goods not disposed of yesterday will-be-sold at a considerable reduction in the prices.
TH, APRIL 8, 1881
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING.
The Botanical Gardens Board met on the 6th instant. Present: Captain Davidson (chairman), Dr. Gibbes, Messrs. Hughes, Davis, Ford, and Skinner.
The Funds.—Dr. Gibbes reported that the net proceeds received in aid of the funds from the Fancy Fair and Swimming Club Tournament amounted to £60. He stated that he had been requested by the ladies who worked for the Fancy Fair to ask that the money realised should be expended in further levelling the swamp.—It was resolved, on the motion of Mr. Hughes, “That the first work to be done out of the money in hand shall be the levelling of the swamp and further extension of the lawn.”
Thanks.—Mr. Hughes proposed and Mr. Skinner seconded, “That the hearty thanks of this Board be tendered to the ladies for their valuable services at the Fancy Fair; and to the ladies and gentlemen who kindly contributed in aid of the same.”—Carried.
The A.C. Band.—It was resolved, “That the thanks the Board be tendered to the A.C. Band for their services at the Fancy Fair, and that they be asked to accept the sum of £5 as a contribution to the Band Fund.”
Report on Work.—It was resolved, “That the Secretary be requested to report as to the amount and extent of work done in the Recreation Grounds during the past year.”
Application for Sections.—D. Power applied for a lease of sections 1140 and 1180, Town of New Plymouth, at a rental of £1 per annum, for fourteen years.—The application was granted.
Overseer.—Mr. Hughes was appointed overseer for the month.
The Board then adjourned.
TH, APRIL 22, 1882
NEAR DROWNING
At the Recreation Grounds on Wednesday last, a little boy named Bernard Rawson, aged seven years, narrowly escaped drowning by falling into the lake. He accompanied his brother and another lad named Arthur Manners, who went to the lake for the purpose of bathing. While the two elder boys were preparing for their dip, the younger boy went along the diving board, and, when at the end of it, he missed his footing, and fell into the water. Arthur Manners, seeing the accident, immediately jumped into the water and rescued the little fellow from drowning. We understand this is the second time young Manners has distinguished himself in this way, and he is entitled to some acknowledgement for his bravery. Possibly he may be thought too young to wear the Royal Humane Society’s Medal, but he has exhibited equal courage with his seniors who have been awarded that distinction.
TH, JUNE 15, 1882
PLANT DONATION
Dr. Hector has forwarded to the Botanical Gardens Board a parcel, containing 17 different kinds of seeds, of shrubs, and trees, which will be a very valuable addition to the varieties already planted in the Recreation Grounds. The Board will be thankful to receive contributions of shrubs and seeds from the public, in order that the grounds may be further planted with ornamental trees, &c. Donations may be left at Mr. Ford’s shop, Brougham-street.
TH, JULY 4, 1882
BOARD ASKS COUNCIL FOR FUNDS
THREATENS TO HAND OVER THE GROUNDS
Recreation Grounds.—Mr. Hughes said they waited upon the Council on behalf of the Recreation Grounds Board for the purpose of asking the assistance of the Council. At the last meeting of the Board the finances were considered and they were found to be so low that a resolution was passed appointing Dr. Gibbes and himself as a deputation to wait on the Council and ask for a grant of money in aid of the Grounds. At present the permanent charges for maintaining the Grounds amounted to about £45 the custodian receiving £25 of that sum. The Board had not regular funds out of which to meet this permanent expenditure, and the members of the Board had already made themselves personally liable for money borrowed from the Bank. They could not carry on affairs any longer in this way, and they had resolved to ask the Council for a similar amount to that which had been voted previously in aid of the funds, viz., £50. If the Council could not help the Board, the only thing that remained to be done was for the Board to hand over the grounds to the Council, as it was a fair charge upon the Council. He also referred to the proposal which had been made to take an acre of ground from Poverty Flat for the purpose of a school site, and he hoped the Council would not agree to such a proposal, as it would spoil the Square for purposes of recreation. He considered New Plymouth had not been over liberally dealt with as regards public pleasure grounds, and he trusted the Council would jealously guard against any encroachment upon the grounds already granted to the people for public amusement and recreation. — Dr. Gibbes said that the money asked for would, if granted, be expended in reclaiming the swamp, and when that was done he thought the Board would be able to derive a revenue sufficient for its requirements by letting the grounds for fetes, &c.— The Chairman asked if it was true that a petition had been got up asking the Council to grant this money, but the ratepayers refused to sign it ?—Mr. Hughes said he was sorry to admit that such was the case. The petition had been prepared and taken round for signature, but it had been signed by so few ratepayers that the Board thought it advisable not to present the petition. Whether the ratepayers had refused to sign the petition, thinking that the funds of the Council were more urgently required for making roads or not, or whether some people were opposed to all amusement, he could not say.—Dr. Gibbes said the Board had made a mistake in hiring two men to take the petition round. If the members of the Board had taken the petition round themselves, he was sure the result would have been different.—Mr. Boswell was opposed to the Council granting any money out of the rates for such a purpose when there were so many roads in the Borough in a disgraceful state. He thought they should be just before they were generous. If the Council had funds to spare, he would gladly have seen the money granted to the Recreation Grounds; but as the funds of the Council now stood, he must vote against it.—The Chairman said he believed that the majority of the ratepayers would rather see the money spent in making roads, and he, therefore, considered the Council should not grant the money.—Mr. Cock considered it was the duty of the Council to support the Recreation Grounds for the sake of securing the health of the town. The Council had received a warning letter from the Health Officer with regard to the sanitary condition of the town, and he thought the Council should do everything in its power to aid in maintaining the health of the inhabitants of the town.—Mr. Nicoll was in favour of granting the application, and he proposed “That the application be referred to the Finance Committee,” which was carried.
TH, JULY 5, 1882
BOARD’S FINANCES CLARIFIED
The financial condition of the Botanical Gardens Board did not fully appear in our report of the Borough Council, and we have been supplied with the following additional particulars:—Permanent charge £58 10s. (for wages), and contingent expenses of about £20. To meet this there is an income of about £20 a year in rents. The members of the Board at present owe the Bank about £20, and there are outstanding accounts of about £25 to be paid.
TH, JULY 25, 1882
SALMON IN THE LAKE
To-day two gentlemen observed in the lake at the Recreation Grounds two salmon —one about sixteen inches and the other twelve inches long.
TH, AUGUST 8, 1882
COUNCIL DEBATE FUNDING
Finance Committee.—The report of the Finance Committee was read as follows:—That this Committee recommends the Council to give the Recreation Board the sum of £10; they should have been only too glad to advise the Council to give a larger amount, but as the roads and footpaths in the Borough are in such a state they cannot propose any more.—Mr. Humphries objected to the report as he had not received a notice of the meeting being held. He said the sum of £10 was too small to give to the Recreation Grounds, and he would advocate £50 being given. —Mr. Nicoll also spoke in favour of a larger donation to the Board.—Mr. Cock moved, “That £50 be given instead of £10.”—Mr. Bellringer objected to such a motion unless due notice were given of it according to the bye-laws.—Mr. Sheppee said that he would have liked to have voted more than £10, but he could not do so consistently when there were so many streets unmade. —Mr. King said that under the existing circumstances he could not vote for more than £10.—The Mayor was also in favour of only £10 being given.— Mr. Humphries replied. He said that he looked upon the Ground as part of the municipal estate, and he thought they should do everything in their power to improve that estate. Persons would, no doubt be induced to come to settle in the district when they noticed that they were civilised enough to have good public gardens. He considered the sum of £50 would not be missed in the making of the streets, and if they would not support the Recreation Grounds until all the streets were made in the Borough, they might as well make up their minds never to give any support at all.—The Council divided on the question “that the Committee’s report be confirmed,” with the following result:—Ayes (5): Messrs. Bellringer, Sheppee, Boswell, King, and Bayly. Noes (5): Messrs. Cock, Hooker, Humphries, Davis, and Nicoll. The Mayor gave his casting vote with the ayes, and the report was accordingly confirmed.
TH, AUGUST 28, 1882
THE RECREATION GROUNDS.
TO THE EDITOR.
Sir,—For some time past there has been so little said about our Recreation Grounds in the columns of the local papers that fully seventy per cent. of the townspeople seem to forget that any such privilege is theirs to enjoy; and visitors come and go, quite oblivious of such Arcadian beauties being within ten minutes’ easy walk from where they have been boarding. This is the more to be surprised at, seeing that we have grounds for recreation unmatched, perhaps, in the Colonies. Is it not much to be regretted that there are really next to no funds to keep this grand, health-yielding endowment in order? However, at the present time it is very gratifying to know that there are individuals in the community with sufficient public spirit to prevent, at any rate, part of the grounds from reverting to its pristine aspect. One worthy citizen alone, within these last few weeks, has expended the sum of £20, in addition to his labour, in the formation of artistic embellishments—having placed two sculptured Graces in the lake, made a miniature lake on the west end of it, and brought to play a very pretty fountain, throwing a jet of water up in mid-air about ten feet; in addition, converting an unseemly swamp into a fair and seemly garden. In the immediate neighbourhood also of this private undertaking, the overflow of water from the large lake is made to form, in its fall to the lower level, two very handsome cascades, this last elegant improvement having been effected by the Recreation Board. There are, I learn, a few more private citizens about to follow suit in this initiatory philanthropic direction. More power to them! and may they speedily multiply, as such beautiful resorts yield the most rational delights in man’s existence.—I am, &c., NGAIO
New Plymouth, Aug. 28, 1882.
TH, AUGUST 30, 1882
THE RECREATION GROUNDS.
IMPROVEMENTS UPDATE
The public are well aware that the Recreation Grounds Board are in almost a helpless state of impecuniosity. It is, therefore, useless to expect them to do anything under the present circumstances towards carrying out improvements in the grounds under their charge. But we are glad to notice that private persons have taken the matter up, and several gentlemen have come forward with praiseworthy liberality in order to carry on the work of ornamenting and improving the grounds, so that the town need not be ashamed of the place that has been set apart for public recreation and amusement. On entering the grounds from the Carrington Road, the visitor finds several men at work clearing a swamp to the left of the walk. This work is for the purpose of making an ornamental pond, which Mr. Hughes has kindly undertaken to construct at his own expense. A few yards lower down where the men are engaged working it is intended to make a ladies’ bathing-pond and to erect a suitable bathing-house. There is an excellent site for the purpose, with an ample supply of water, but as this will most likely be undertaken by the Board, it cannot be expected to be executed for some time yet, until the Board finds itself in funds again, so that the prospect of the fair maids and mermaids disporting themselves in their aquatic exercises is somewhat in the distant future. Further on, within a few yards of the lake, Mr. Furlong has expended a considerable sum of money pro bono publico. He has erected a fountain with a jet of about 9 feet, which plays in the centre of a neatly finished basin formed of turf sods, and of suitable extent. Mr. Furlong has also arranged to have an ornamental earthen basin about five feet high, into which the fountain will play, and the spray will afterwards descend to the lower basin. This, when completed, will be an exceedingly handsome feature. The effect of the fountain is heightened by a series of well formed cascades running past it from the lake immediately above. Close to the fountain an ornamental pond has been made of considerable extent, and will be very suitable for gold and silver fish. When the full design is carried out there will be three ornamental ponds at regular intervals, extending from close to the entrance at the Carrington Road up near to the lake. On the other side of the hill where there is at present a swamp it is most likely that another series of ponds will be made with cascades, so that visitors standing at the top of the hill will have the delightful prospect of three ornamental ponds on either side and the lake in front. It is not expected that all this will be completed for some time, but it has been set out on the plan of the grounds which has been prepared. Mr. Furlong, we understand, will shortly erect on the crown of the hill a flagstaff, on which will be fixed a large “tell-tale” mirror, which will no doubt prove of itself to be very attractive to visitors. It is a large glass ball which reflects the surrounding objects for a considerable distance. We must not forget to mention the two statuettes of “the Graces,” which have been fixed in the lake on either side, and are also the gift of Mr. Furlong. It is needless to say that they adorn the lake and arrest the attention of visitors. Another gentleman has intimated his intention of erecting a small iron bridge across the lake and situated nearly at its head for the convenience of the public, so that they can cross from one side of the lake to the other without being under the necessity of making a long detour as at present. This will be a useful as well as an ornamental gift, and we feel sure it will be duly appreciated.
It is gratifying to find gentlemen of sufficient public spirit to bestow both time and money to the accomplishment of the improvements we have mentioned, and it is one of the surest guarantees that the Recreation Grounds will not be allowed to become a wilderness of desolation. When private enterprize can accomplish so much, it is very assuring, and leads us to hope for better things to come. There is one eyesore to the guardians of the grounds, that is the place set apart for a lawn. Work was vigorously commenced in cutting down the hill in Liardet-street for the purpose of filling in the swamp and making a lawn and cricket ground, but when this object was scarcely half accomplished the funds of the Board were exhausted, and it was necessary to suspend operations. Of course the grounds can never be said to be complete until a lawn has been made, and it is to be hoped that sufficient funds will be raised to complete the work. The Acclimatisation Society might be induced to help in some way, as they have, we believe, a good balance in hand, which they have no immediate use for. We are not aware how far the Society might feel themselves justified in expending their funds, but we can safely assert that it is customary in other places in the Colony—Auckland and Dunedin especially —for the Acclimatisation Societies to assist in ornamenting the public domains and pleasure grounds. We merely throw out the suggestion for the consideration of the members of the Acclimatisation Society, and we are sure, if they can see their way to render some assistance in the manner indicated, such action would meet with public favour.
If the promoters of the fancy fair held last year in the grounds would take the matter in hand, and endeavour to get up another, it would no doubt be as successful as the last proved to be. Of course, in such matters the greater portion of the work falls on one or two willing hands, and it cannot be expected that they will also be able to come to the front. Other persons might come forward now and take an active part in arranging preliminaries for the next fair. The aid of the ladies is, of course, indispensable, but we feel sure their aid will not be sought in vain or given unwillingly. It is a matter of public benefit, and everyone should feel interested in the matter und do what they can to promote the public good.
TH, SEPTEMBER 5, 1882
BOROUGH COUNCIL
Recreation Grounds.—A letter was read from the Recreation Grounds Board, enclosing a resolution passed by the Board to the effect that the Grounds be handed over to the Borough Council. The Chairman of the Board also stated that unless the Borough would grant £100 per annum the above resolution would have to be carried out.—Mr. Bellringer said the matter required consideration, and the provisions of the Act studied before the Council could come to a decision on the matter. He, therefore, moved, “ That the matter be adjourned until the next meeting.”—Mr. Davis said the Act gave power to the Recreation Grounds Board to hand the Grounds over to the Borough.—Mr. Humphries proposed as an amendment, “That the sum of £40 be voted to the Recreation Grounds Board.”—Exception was taken to the amendment on the ground that notice of motion must be given.—Mr. Humphries asked the leave of the Council to move it without notice, but leave was refused.—Mr. Humphries then gave notice that he would move the resolution at the next meeting of the Council.
TH, SEPTEMBER 21, 1882
RECREATION GROUNDS BOARD MEETING
A meeting of the Botanical Gardens Board was held on Tuesday evening. Present: Messrs. J. Davidson (chairman), J.T. Davis, Ford, Hughes, Skinner, and Dr. Gibbes.
Government Vote.—The Secretary read a telegram from Mr. T. Kelly, M.H.R., informing the Board that no vote had been placed on the estimates for the Recreation Grounds at New Plymouth.
Overdraft.—A letter was read from Mr. Buller, Manager of the Bank of New Zealand, requesting payment of the Board’s overdraft.—It was resolved, “That a letter be written to the Acclimatization Society requesting their cooperation and assistance in carrying out the improvement of the grounds.”
Vote of Thanks.—A hearty vote of thanks was passed to Mr. T. Furlong for his kind and handsome donations towards the improvement of the grounds.
Overseer.—Mr. Skinner was requested to remain overseer of the grounds for the ensuing month.
Fancy Dress Ball.—Dr. Gibbes stated that the ladies were getting up a children’s Fancy Dress Ball in aid of the funds of the Board.
The Board then adjourned.
TH, SEPTEMBER 22, 1882
FUNDRAISING
A JUVENILE FANCY DRESS BALL
Will be held at the Freemasons’ Hall on Tuesday, 3rd October, at 7 p.m. for the benefit of the Recreation Grounds.
Admittance.—Children under 10, 1s; under 15, 2s; ladies, 2s. 6d.; gentlemen, 3s. 6d.; to be obtained from Mrs. Humphries, Mrs. Gibbes, Miss Allen, and Miss Cottier.
Owing to the smallness of the hall parents and those in charge of children will only be able to obtain tickets. J.Murray Gibbes, Hon. Sec.
TH, OCTOBER 5, 1882
JUVENILE FANCY DRESS BALL.
The Masonic Hall held a gay assemblage on Tuesday evening, on the occasion of the Juvenile Fancy Dress Ball, which was given in aid of the funds of the Recreation Grounds. About 260 persons of both sexes, and all ages from two years old to venerable old age, were present, the youthful portion of the company appearing in fancy dress costume. The scene was one of complete enjoyment, and the beaming faces of the juveniles testified how supremely happy they were in their gay and attractive dresses. Probably the most consequential little figure in all the throng was General Tom Thumb, a little “three-year-old,” who gallantly led a little bride into the ball-room. It was an amusing spectacle to see the children doing the “finger polka” and other country dances with zest and emulation. A number of adults mingled with the juveniles to encourage them in dancing, and to put some of the little ones through their figures, the result being that grown up persons and little “dolls” were to be seen dancing together in the most graceful of attitudes. At 10 p.m., all the little folks under nine years old were taken into the supper-room, and were regaled with refreshments ad libitum. The other children followed, and the Committee had their time fully occupied for an hour and a-half attending to the young people. Foremost amongst those who were thus engaged was Mrs. Humphries, whose sole enjoyment appeared to be in attending to the wants of the “rising generation.” Mrs. Gibbes, Dr. Gibbes, Mr. Black, and others were also devoted to their duties. The refreshments were under the superintendence of Mr. Walter Black, who gave his valuable services freely, and the edibles were obtained, free of cost, from the storekeepers in town. The expenses incurred were consequently very light, and a large margin of profit was thus available for the funds of the Board. The music was supplied chiefly by members of the Philharmonic Society; and Mr. Skeet acted as M.C. After 10 o’clock, the children retired, and the adults were afforded an opportunity of enjoying themselves. Many of the fancy costumes of the ladies were well worthy of notice, but want of space precludes our doing so.
Owing to our list of names of the juveniles not being completed in time for to-day’s issue, we have to postpone publishing them till to-morrow.
TH, OCTOBER 13, 1882
RECREATION GROUNDS BOARD MEETING
A meeting of the Recreation Board was held at the usual place (Mr. Ford’s back workshop) last Tuesday evening, when there were present: Captain Davidson (on the seat), Dr. Gibbes, Messrs. T. K. Skinner, H. Ford, R. C. Hughes, and J. T. Davis. The public were represented by Mr. Fleetwood Pellew and Mr. Darby Claffey.
The Secretary reported that he had got out of pawn the £100 p. note, which the members had given ten months ago to secure the Board’s overdraft, and much emotion was exhibited as the little bit of paper was handed round for inspection, and they all said they would never do it again.
The late grant of £50 from the Borough was also reported and thankfully acknowledged, but the joy of the members was cut short when the greater part of it was found to be wanted for the following accounts, which were presented and passed for payment;—J. Bellringer, 1s. 6d.; J. C. George, 18s.; News, £1 5s. 6d.; W. Dingle, £1 13s. 6d.; Webster Bros.’ estate, 15s. 5d.; J. Nicoll, 12s. 6d.; J. T. Davis, £1 4s.; D. Claffey, £24 13s. 7d. Total, £31 4s. [The account is detailed, because the ladies want to know what we do with our money.]
In view of a regular subsidy from the Borough, and of the cooperation of the Acclimatization Society, the Board determined to abandon the idea expressed at a late meeting to hand over the trust to the Borough. Cheered by its brighter prospects, the members discussed long and earnestly the necessity of throwing more vigor into its proceedings; and with this object the resignation of the old and the election of new officers was suggested. The attempted carrying out of this idea was accompanied by such throes and spasms as to threaten the existence of the body, and dire confusion was prevented only by an immediate return to the status quo. It was, however, resolved that the Chairman should exercise certain functions hitherto left to the Secretary, and that he should ask the Mayor for the use of the Council Chamber for future meetings. With a severe glance at the talkative members the Chairman said that when we got into our new quarters he would insist upon the observance of the ordinary rules of debate.
Several minor matters came up for consideration. These included the strawberry question, and that of the education of Mr. Claffy in the care of monkeys, goats, buffalos. elephants, serpents, and the other interesting animals which the Acclimatisation Society may propose to let loose on the grounds.
Mr. Skinner, whose able administration has tended greatly to the ornamentation of the grounds, was appointed overseer till the end of the year.
TH, OCTOBER 16, 1882
PARATAWHITI FERNS DONATED
Mr. Thomas Wilson has sent to Mr. Skinner to have planted in the Botanical Gardens a few Paratawhiti ferns. In his letter to Mr. Skinner, Mr. Wilson writes: —“Colenso in his paper on food products of ancient Maoris says: Another magnificent fern, Para of the Maoris (Maratha Salicina), was also an article of food. The large, scaly, tract-like pieces of its big tuberous roots were used for this purpose. It inhabits damp places, and was very scarce. I never found it but once in the forest of the Waikare River, Bay of Inlands. When I took off my hat to it its large arching fronds were ten to twelve feet in length. It is plentiful enough in the Urenui district, but only grows in patches in dark gullies.”
TH, OCTOBER 17, 1882
TAKINGS FROM JUVENILE BALL
The ladies of New Plymouth, headed by Mrs. Humphries, are again to the front in raising funds for the Botanical Gardens. This time a Juvenile Fancy Ball was got up by them, from which they realised £34 17s. 4d. The expenses amounted to £11 14s. 10d., and were as follows:—Mr. Walter Black, for refreshments, £6 18s. Mrs. Curtis and Mr. Cork, attendance, £3 10s; trap hire, 13s.; advertising, 10s. sundries, £3 10s.—leaving a balance of £23 2s. 6d., which Mrs. Humphries and the ladies of the Committee handed yesterday to Captain Davidson, suggesting at the same time that they would like to see the money expended in improving the lawn. The members of the Botanical Gardens Board have requested us to tender their thanks to the ladies for their donation, and to intimate that their suggestion shall be carried out.
TH, OCTOBER 20, 1882
LAWN WANTED BY LADIES
At a meeting of the Botanical Gardens Board it was agreed to at once carry out the suggestion of the ladies with regard to the formation of a lawn, and tenders are called for reclaiming a portion of the swamp to enable the work to be done.
TH, OCTOBER 27, 1882
PROPOSED IMPROVEMENTS
The Botanical Gardens Board, having again a small balance to their credit at the bank, have resolved to carry out further improvements in the Recreation Grounds. It has been decided to erect shower-baths at the waterfall, and the lawn will be completed as speedily as possible.
TH, OCTOBER 27, 1882
SWAMP TENDER ACCEPTED
Three tenders for reclaiming the swamp in the Recreation Ground were sent in, and the lowest accepted. They are as follows :—G. Thomson (accepted), £19 19s. : E. Moore. £24 19s. 11d.; H. Eva, £26.
TH, NOVEMBER 2, 1882
PRUSSIAN CARP DONATED
It is gratifying to notice how much interest is manifested by the public in the Recreation Grounds, and it is with pleasure we notify a number of donations to the Botanical Gardens Board. Mrs. D. Shuttleworth has given 25 Prussian carp, which have been liberated in the ornamental water, as follows : 6 in the pond made by Professor Furlong, below the fountain ; 8 in the basin of the fountain; and 11 in the lake. Mr. Shuttleworth has promised a donation of gold fish in a few months, and Mrs. Shuttleworth will also contribute a further supply of Prussian carp. Mr. W. Newman has signified his intention of presenting some gold fish, and Mr. Mitchinson has sent to Canterbury to procure some carp and gold fish. These numerous presents show that the public are not insensible of the efforts put forth by the Botanical Gardens Board to make a suitable ground for public recreation and amusement.
TH, NOVEMBER 6, 1882
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
A meeting of the Botanical Gardens Board was held on Friday evening. Present: Messrs. J. Davidson (chairman), Hughes, Ford, Gibbes, Roy, and Skinner.
Donations.—The secretary notified that he had received £50 from the Borough Council, and £23 2s. 6d. from the Committee of ladies in connection with the late Childrens’ Fancy Dress Ball. Also that Mr. T. Wilson had contributed a number of New Zealand fern trees, and Mr. Shuttleworth a number of Prussian carp.—Votes of thanks were passed to the donors.
Furze.—The Secretary was instructed to notify the tenants of the Board that all furze must be cleared off the Board’s property.
Grazing.—It was resolved that tenders be called for the right of depasturing from 200 to 300 sheep on certain portions of the grounds, on certain conditions.
Reclamation.—The Secretary stated that the contractor for the reclamation of the swamp had commenced work, and would finish it within the contract time.
Concert.—An offer was received from the Taranaki Rifle Volunteer Band to the effect that they would give an open air concert in the Grounds on the 9th November, in aid of the funds of the Board.—The offer was accepted, and it was agreed that the charge for admission should be—‘adults, 1s.; children, 6d.
Swimming Club.—The following Committee was appointed to manage the affairs of the Swimming Club at the Recreation Grounds :—Messrs. Roy, Skinner, and Dr. Gibbes ; and it was decided that the members’ subscription to the Club should be 2s. 6d. for the season.
The Board then adjourned.
TH, NOVEMBER 7, 1882
PROGRAMME OF VOLUNTEER BAND.
The Volunteer Band will play the following pieces in the Recreation Ground on Thursday evening next, commencing at 7 p.m.:—
Lancers, “Lights of London;” Valse, “Lucky Stars;” Overture, “Red Cross;” Schottische, “Enchantment;” Valse, “Sussette;” Quadrille, “King’s Dragoons;” March, “Faded Flower;” Valse, “Rustic Queen;” Glee, “Meditation;” Glee, “Hark the Lark.” “God Save the Queen.”
TH, NOVEMBER 25, 1882
IMPROVEMENTS UPDATE
At this time of year the Recreation Ground is a great source of attraction, and the public are certainly indebted to those who have devoted their time and given their money towards beautifying the place. Mr. Furlong was amongst the first to give donations, and has erected a fountain and placed two statues on the lake. Mr. R.C. Hughes has had a pond constructed, which adds to the picturesqueness of the grounds. Several others have promised to contribute and aid in beautifying the place. Amongst them is Dr. O’Carroll, who is going to erect a fountain. A third of an acre has been added to the lawn, and the other improvements going on are all tending to make the grounds an agreeable place of resort.
TH, DECEMBER 2, 1882
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
BAND ROTUNDA
At a meeting of the Recreation Grounds Board held recently, a plan of a band pavilion was submitted by Mr. Edmonds, architect, the estimated cost of the building being between £70 and £80. The design of the pavilion is both suitable and ornamental, and was approved of by the Board. It was decided that the pavilion should be erected at the knoll on which Mr. Furlong’s mirror stands; but in order to cover the cost of the outlay the band is expected to give as many concerts as will enable the Board to defray the cost from the proceeds of the concerts. Messrs. Davidson and Skinner were appointed to make arrangements for carrying out the work.
TH, DECEMBER 28, 1882
ANOTHER FOUNTAIN
We notice that another fountain has been erected in the Recreation Grounds, a short distance below Professor Furlong’s fountain. It is fixed in the centre of the pond near the lake, and is the gift of Dr. O’Carroll, who has gone to considerable expense in procuring it, and having it fixed. We are glad to see so many persons assisting the Board in adding to the attractiveness of the grounds by such acceptable donations, and the Board must feel very thankful for their assistance. It is to be hoped that every care will be taken to preserve these gifts from damage, and surely no one would be so base as to wilfully injure or destroy them. We regret that damage has been done to one of the statuettes placed in the lake by Mr. T. Furlong; but we are glad to state it was not the result of design, but rather that of accident — one of the bathers thoughtlessly clutching the statuette while bathing in the pond, and breaking it. Such carelessness, however, is reprehensible in itself, and does not tend to encourage private persons to put their hands in their pockets for the purpose of carrying out improvements.
TH, DECEMBER 29, 1882
PROMENADE CONCERT
The promenade concert at the Recreation Grounds last evening was not so successful as could have been desired, owing to the inclemency of the weather. Although the night was fine and clear, the ground was very wet, making matters very unpleasant for a promenade. The attendance consequently was small, and those present contented themselves with surrounding the band near the bathing-house, and listening to the music, which was excellent. It is to be hoped that these concerts will be held periodically during the fine weather, and no doubt they will prove a source of amusement to the public and materially augment the funds of the Board. The amount taken at the gates last evening was £4 10s. 6d.
1883
TH, JANUARY 6, 1883
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
A Meeting of the Botanical Gardens Board was held on Friday evening. Present: Messrs. J. Davidson (chairman), Davis, Ford, Gibbes, Hughes, and Skinner.
Dancing Pavilion.—A letter was read from the Town Band, in reply to a letter sent from the Board requesting the Band to guarantee a certain number of concerts at the Recreation Grounds, in order to assist in defraying the cost of the erection of a pavilion.—The Band declined to accept any responsibility in the matter, or to give any guarantee; but intimated their willingness to render every assistance they could.—A Committee, consisting of Dr. Gibbes and Mr. Davidson, was appointed to wait on the Band and endeavor to make arrangements for the erection of the pavilion.
Larrikinism.—The Chairman was requested to take any measures necessary to suppress any disorderly conduct in the Recreation Grounds, as many complaints had been received of females being subjected to insult in the Grounds by disorderly young fellows.
Overseer.—Mr. Skinner was appointed overseer for the year, with full power to approve and carry out alterations and improvements to the grounds.
Thanks.—Votes of thanks were accorded to Mr. Ford, Secretary, and Mr. Skinner, Overseer, for their services during the past year.
The Board then adjourned.
TH, JANUARY 16, 1883
SWANS DONATED
Mr. Vavasour sent from Blenheim, by the s.s. Wanaka, which arrived here on Sunday, a pair of black swans as a donation to the Recreation Grounds, but unfortunately one of the swans died on the passage. The other swan has been placed in the ornamental water. We believe it is the intention of the Board to endeavour to procure a number of swans from Auckland. The Board and the public will feel grateful to Mr. Vavasour, who is an old Taranaki settler, for his kindness in sending the swans, and it is to be regretted that both birds did not arrive in safety. The Board, however, will probably be able to procure swans in a short time, which will add to the attractiveness of the lake.
TH, JANUARY 17, 1883
DOGS IN THE RECREATION GROUNDS.
SWANS having been placed in the Ornamental Water in the Recreation Grounds, persons visiting there are requested NOT TO BRING THEIR DOGS.
All DOGS found within the enclosure after this notice will be SHOT.
JAS. DAVIDSON,
Chairman Recreation Grounds Board.
TH, JANUARY 20, 1883
SWAN DIES
The swan which was liberated at the Recreation Ground a few days ago died last night. The Board appear to be very unfortunate in their endeavours to import swans.
TH, FEBRUARY 6, 1883
YE OLD ENGLISH FAYRE.
An Old English Fancy Fayre will be opened in the Alexandra Hall tomorrow and following evenings for a week. The Fayre, which is in aid of the Botanical Gardens fund, is certainly a great novelty, and one that is likely to be cordially appreciated. Everything that can be thought of as necessary to make the entertainment attractive and amusing has been brought into requisition. An Old English Street is very ably represented, and the shops under the old fashioned sign-boards which were necessary when only a favoured few could read, are to be occupied as stalls for the exhibition of a very great variety of articles, and a number of ladies have undertaken to be the pretty shop-keepers. The buildings are in appearance such as were seen in London during the reign of Queen Elizabeth; the old-fashioned gables, lattice windows, and roofs covered with red tiles, are quaint and picturesque. There is a large refreshment stall called Ye Chelsea Bun House, where any quantity of buns may be had. We must not attempt to describe the place too fully, but must leave it to the visitors to see for themselves. Tomorrow evening it will be opened formally, and as it can only be opened “once,” everyone should be there to witness the proceedings.
TH, FEBRUARY 9, 1883
YE OLDE ENGLISH FAYRE.
Last night the attendance at the Alexandra Hall was unusually large, and everything connected with the Fair went off splendidly. The business at the shops was brisk, and the Richardson’s Show was crowded at each performance. The tent of the Gipsies was removed to the main hall, which was a great improvement, as the fair fortune-tellers had a much better opportunity of carrying on their business successfully. All the arrangements seemed to be more complete, and the performers had settled down into their allotted positions, so that affairs went very smoothly, and there was no “slowness” experienced throughout the evening. The gentlemen who appeared in fancy dress were more numerous, and they were to be found in all directions among the crowd creating fun and amusement wherever they went. The elegant piece of mechanism called the stocks, so beautifully designed for the correction of men’s morals, was tired, and the individual who was made an example of did not appear to have a happy time of it. Customs and manners change, and although the stocks, would be condemned in the 19th century it was an exceedingly useful institution in its day. The acting of Miss Lolo de Glorian and Mr. Harry Power in the different pieces at the Richardson’s Show was excellent, and they were loudly applauded at the close of each performance. This part of the Fair appears to be exceedingly popular, for no sooner is the room vacated by one audience than it is re-filled by another. The tea-room had a share of the patronage, and the ladies who have charge of this department are very agreeable to the visitors. Perhaps one of the best places available for the public last night was the platform, and we noticed that during the whole evening it was a favorite resort. It was pleasant to withdraw for a short time from the crowd, and take up a position on the platform where a good view can be obtained of the whole proceedings. The gallery hitherto has not been made available for the public; but the committee intend opening it to-night at the small price of sixpence, in addition to the entrance to the hall. A splendid view can be obtained from it of the Maypole dance. The whole of the gallery has previously been occupied by the band, which was a great waste of space, and we are sure the public will fully appreciate the additional advantages which will be given this evening.
To-night new pieces will be produced in the Show, and we think that the attractions of the Fayre generally are so genuine that throughout the season the Hall will be crowded.
TH, FEBRUARY 10, 1883
YE OLDE ENGLISH FAYRE.
We wandered through the fascinating and bewildering maze of the Fayre again last night, and the scenes of old were so graphically reproduced that we seemed to lose our identity with the present age, and were wafted back to those good “olde days,” the history of which we read of in Pepy’s diary or Evelyn’s Memoirs. How happy the blithe village maidens seemed with their gaily coloured kirtle and neat white caps. There they were, as Pepy saw them, trim figures and merry manner, dancing round the Maypole of an “olde tymed Fayre.” Then the age of Pope in brought prominently before the eye—that period of powder and patches—when moles on the face were considered aids to beauty. There were gipsies too—very gorgeous in their scarlet and gold “fixings”—who decoyed visitors to the picturesque encampment, where their queen told fortunes. She assured single men that they would marry rich wives—she told married men that they would marry again and come into large fortunes—she whispered to the trembling maiden that a “darling” was on his way to New Zealand to marry her—and sternly informed wives that their husbands were not so good to them as they should be, and that they had better die of a broken heart in order to punish the bad men for their vile treatment of them. We fear the young lady who told fortunes at the Fair will have much to answer for, but we are sure that Uncle Toby’s recording angel will wipe out the peccadillos with a tear, especially as she sinned for a praiseworthy purpose.
Owing to the crowd and the ceaseless activity of the ladies it was almost impossible to get a good look at them individually, and the only chance was when they pertinaciously solicited a name for a raffle, saying “do go in for this raffle; its only a shilling.” Then the victims in order to get as much as possible for their money persist in saying “No,” and holding out until the full value of coaxing had been lavished on them; reluctantly give in and paid the money. And so as each pleasant face passes before us we read the old legends and romantic stories of the fanciful dreamer of the period. Such a scene revives for the moment the time when wimpled maidens loved, and bold esquires planned stolen tryst, while “Mailed moss-troopers rode the hill,” while the cowled-monk paced the monastic corridors meditatively, and the Abbot “half warrior and half priest” now sang his solemn office in the richly-appointed abbey; and anon led armoured legions to battle.
All this has passed away. The light and color of the old days have gone out, and we have but a shadowy representation of the good “old tymes” in the Fayre now open. However, aided by the good taste of the ladies, the scenery and the antiquated setting of the whole affair, we can trace again the poetry of the past, bringing fresh to the memory the various characters and scenes so vividly depicted by Sir Walter Scott. The Richardson Show is of more modern date, but it brings back to the memory the happy days of boyhood—when the “spangled bedizened” performers were looked up to with utmost reverence. Madame Lolo de Glorian and Mr. Harry Power were grand in their delineation of a Richardson Show tragedy; whilst the other gentlemen carefully played their parts. This part of the Fayre has attracted well, and will add a considerable sum to the treasury. On ascending to the stage, the illusion of “old-tymes” is suddenly dispelled, and we are ourselves again. Here we found a number of attentive ladies ready to supply us with a cup of tea. Tea! thou soft, thou sober, sage, and venerable liquid!—thou females tongue!—running, smile-smoothing, heartopening, wink-tipping cordial, to whose glorious insipidity I owe the happiest moment of my life, let me fall prostrate,” says Colley Ciber—and his praise is not too high for a cup of this beverage—it is so very refreshing after coming from the over-heated ball. The Fayre will be opened this evening with fresh attractions.
TH, FEBRUARY 12, 1883
THE OLDE ENGLISH FAYRE
On Saturday evening the public again liberally patronised the Olde English Fayre, there being fresh attractions in the shape of new dramas and pantomimes. It speaks well for the management of the Fayre that it should have such a successful season, and the result will probably be that a handsome sum will be realised for the benefit of the Recreation Grounds. The Richardson show was crowded throughout the evening, and that fact is a high compliment to the abilities of Mr. Power and Miss de Glorian, Mr. Johnson, the clever clown, and the amateurs who render assistance. Richard III. was played for the first time on Saturday, and it passed off with great success.
This evening there will be an extra attraction, as presents will be given away to every one entering. After the Show is over the floor of the Hall will be swept, and all gentlemen paying 2s. 6d. on entering will be allowed to participate in the dance which follows. No additional charge will be made for the ladies. There will be a full orchestra.
TH, FEBRUARY 21, 1883
THE OLD ENGLISH FANCY FAIR.
The following memorandum of the receipts and expenditure of The Old English Fair for the benefit of the Recreation Ground, held in the Alexandra Hall, has been handed to us for publication :—
Receipts. £ s d
Taken at doors 105 4 10
Richardson Show 52 5 5
Donations 5 9 8
Sale of Mercury 2 7 2
Gipsies’ Tent 5 10 9
192 2 5
Expenditure £ s d
Sundry Expenses 69 15 0
Mr Gibbs’ 63 0 1
132 15 1
Balance for Rec 59 7 4
James Davidson, Chairman of Board.
Harris Ford, Secretary,
New Plymouth, Feb. 20, 1883.
TH, FEBRUARY 23, 1883
HUGHES’ POND – DAM BREACH
The dam of Mr. Hughes’ ornamental pond in the Recreation Grounds, has given way, owing to the heavy flood, and a large number of Prussian carp have been lost.
TH, FEBRUARY 24, 1883
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The annual meeting of the Botanical Gardens Board was held on Thursday evening. Present: Mr. J. Davidson (chairman), Dr. Gibbes, Messrs. Davis, Hughes, Skinner, and Ford.
Balance-sheet.—The Secretary read the annual balance-sheet, which showed a balance in hand of £32—the total receipts for the year being £193, and the expenditure £161.—The balance-sheet was adopted.
High School Plat.—A letter was read from Mr. Toms, second teacher of the High School, requesting permission to lay out and plant a piece of ground to be called the “High School Plat.”—The application was granted subject to the work being carried out under the supervision of Mr. Skinner.
Fancy Bazaar.—It was resolved, “That the sum of £10 be set aside for procuring material, &c., for a Fancy Fair and Bazaar, to be held in the Recreation Grounds at a future date.
Improvement of Lawn.—The Board decided to expend a sum not exceeding £25 on the further extension of the lawn, and Mr. Skinner was requested to prepare specifications for the work.
New Zealand Seeds.—An application was received from Mr. B. Gulliver, of Acacia Vale Nursery, Townsville, Queensland, requesting a supply of New Zealand seeds and ferns in exchange for Queensland seeds and plants.—The Board decided to accede to the application at the earliest opportunity.
Thanks.—It was resolved, “That a hearty vote of thanks be tendered to the ladies and gentlemen who rendered valuable services at the recent Old English Fair, thereby substantially aiding the funds of the Board. A vote of thanks was also tendered to Mr. R. Thompson for the assistance he gave to the Committee in carrying out the arrangements in connection with the Fair; and a special vote of thanks was given to the Volunteer Band.
This concluded the business.
TH, FEBRUARY 28, 1883
TENDERS FOR EXTENSION TO LAWN.
Tenders will be received, addressed to the undersigned, up to noon on Wednesday, the 7th March, for an EXTENSION to LAWN in the Recreation Grounds. Specification and plan may be seen at the office of Skinner & Sole, the Board’s Surveyors.
JAMES DAVIDSON.
Chairman Recreation Board.
TH, MARCH 1, 1883
SWIMMING COMPETITION RESULTS
THE Annual Aquatic Sports was held in the lake at the Recreation Grounds yesterday afternoon, and although the day was fine, the attendance of spectators was not so large as hitherto. Some of the matches were well contested, and on the whole there was a marked improvement in the form of the majority of the swimmers.
There were nine competitors in the Grand Half-mile Race, but the handicapping was not considered good, Broad being handicapped too heavily ; nevertheless, he managed to secure third place. The only exciting part of the race was the struggle at the finish between Broad and Rogers for third honors. After rounding the first buoy, Gibson led through the remainder of the race, and won easily, Graham being second, and Broad third. The Long Dive contest was won by R. C. Hughes, with a splendid dive of 46 yards. He was loudly cheered, none of the other competitors coming within 10 yards of him. In the Back Race some of the swimmers imagined they had covered the distance when they had reached the buoy, and accordingly slackened speed, only to find that they had lost the race by so doing, as they had to touch the line before finishing.
The chase after the pig was amusing, but the little porker fell rather an easy prey to Graham, a half-caste. The pig was thrown into the middle of the lake, and appeared to make straight for the swimmers instead of giving them a wide berth.
The visitors to the grounds felt the lack of a band to enliven the proceedings, and we hope next year the Committee will be able to remedy this. Mr. R. Bayley acted as judge, and Captain Cornwall and Dr. Gibbes as starters.
Appended are the results :-
80 Yards Race.— 1st prize, £1 10s.; 2nd prize 10s. Kevell, 1; Graham, 2; Ogle, 3rd. Two others competed.
50 Yards Race (for boys under 13).— 1st prize, 10s. T. Raymond, 1; R. Williams, 2; M. Cornwall, 3. T. Bishop and W. Rawson also competed.
300 Yards Race.— 1st prize, £1 10s. R. C. Hughes, 1; T. Barclay, 2.
100 Yards Boys’ Race (under 17).— 1st prize, £1. J. Gralam, 1; Wakefield (native), 2; M. Cornwall, 3. Arthur Manners, T. Harvey, D. Lynch, and J. O’Donnell also started.
Long Dive.— R. C. Hughes (46 yards), 1; Collis (37 yards), 2; T. Barclay (30 yards), 3.
Grand Half Mile Handicap.—1st prize; £5; 2nd prize, £2; 3rd prize, £1. W. Gibson, a young man with one arm, (60 secs.), 1; Graham (30 secs.), 2; I. Broad (scratch), 3. Ogle, Bell, Troughton Marrett, Coad, and Rogers also started.
60 Yards Back Race.—1st prize, £1. J. Kevell, 1; Burton, 2; Ogle, 3. Three others competed.
TH, MARCH 17, 1883
MAIN LAKE DRAINED-FISH LOST
A few months ago, about 200 Prussian carp were placed in the lake in the Recreation Grounds, and we are sorry to state that they have all been lost, owing to the water being drained out of the lake. Why the order was given to empty the lake it is difficult to understand, unless the Board were afraid of the disastrous storm predicted by Mr. Wiggins affecting the small sheet of water, and causing it to carry away the dam. It scorns ridiculous to stock the lake with fish, and in a few months afterwards to deliberately allow all the water to flow out, and the fish to be lost. Such procedure is not calculated to encourage the public to contribute in the future.
TH, MARCH 21, 1883
LAKE DAM BEING REPAIRED
The water in the lake at the Botanical Gardens has been run off by order of the Recreation Grounds Board, owing to it being reported to the members that the dam was not safe. The dam has been examined, and the repairs to it commenced yesterday. We hear that the Prussian carp are not all dead, as a few have been seen in the water.
H, APRIL 6, 1883
PLANT DONATION
The Botanical Gardens Board have received from Mr. P. C. Morton a donation of seeds of the persimmon, a fruit resembling the medlar. The juice makes a very delicious beer, and is used largely in the Southern States of America. The tree grows very rapidly, and produces fruit in three or four years.
TH, APRIL 24, 1883
THE POET’S BRIDGE
We have been informed that the lucky winner who drew The Poet in the Auckland Autumn Handicap Sweepstake resides in New Plymouth, and has determined, in consequence of his good fortune, to erect a suspension bridge across the lake in the Recreation Grounds, to be called, we believe, “The Poet’s Corner.”
AUCKLAND AUTUMN MEETING.
Autumn Handicap of 200 sovs 1½ miles.
The Poet … …1
Hippodamia … 2
Larry … 3
TH, APRIL 26, 1883
PLANT DONATION
The Secretary of the Botanical Gardens Board has received two packets of seeds from the Government—one packet containing seeds of the eucalyptus, or blue gum, and the other that of the golden wattle. The latter is being introduced by the Government for the purpose of producing bark for tanning purposes, and the Secretary of the Board will supply any of the settlers who may be desirous of growing the trees with a quantity of the seed.
TH, JUNE 18, 1883
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
A meeting of the Botanical Gardens Board was held on Friday last. Present: Mr. Hughes (in the chair), Messrs. Skinner, Ford, and Davis.
Leave of Absence.—Leave of absence was granted to Dr. Gibbes during his absence from the Colony.
Iron Bridge.—Mr. J. T. Davis offered to erect an iron bridge across the upper end of the lake, from any design approved of by the Board.—Accepted; and a vote of thanks was passed to Mr. Davis for his generous offer.—Some discussion followed as to the best means of obtaining designs. The majority of the members thought that as the bridge was for the benefit of the public generally, no doubt a number of gentlemen would willingly send in designs gratis in order to save the Board expense. It was resolved, “That designs for the bridge will be thankfully received from any gentlemen inclined to assist the Board, and the Secretary be instructed to invite designs by advertisement in the Herald.”
Lake.—Mr. Skinner reported that the repairs to the dam had been effected as far as the funds would allow.—The Board decided that the water should be again turned on to the lake.
The Board then adjourned.
|
TH, JUNE 20, 1883
DESIGN FOR BRIDGE.
Mr. J. T. Davis having kindly offered to erect a Foot Bridge over upper portion of the lake in the Recreation Ground, any Designs would be thankfully accepted by the Board up to 13th July. Particulars may be obtained from Mr. T. K. Skinner.
Harris Ford. Secretary.
TH, JUNE 25, 1883
THE POET’S BRIDGE CLARIFICATION
For the information of those persons intending to send in designs for the new bridge at the Recreation Grounds we may state that the design may be for either an iron bridge or an ornamental wooden bridge, providing the cost of construction does not exceed a given sum. The centre span of the bridge will be 60 feet long, and the height from the level of the water from 8 to 10 feet.
TH, JULY 14, 1883
THE POET’S BRIDGE DESIGNS
The Botanical Gardens Board have received six designs for the proposed ornamental bridge across the lake in the Recreation Grounds. A special meeting of the Board will be called next week to decide upon the most suitable design, when tenders will be held for the construction of the bridge commenced without delay.
TH, JULY 19, 1883
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
A meeting of the Botanical Gardens Board was held on Friday, 13th July. Present: Captain Davidson (in the chair), Messrs. Davis, Hughes, Roy, and Ford.
Boating.—A letter was read from Mr. J. Earp, Secretary of the Rob Roy Boating’ Club, asking permission to use the lake for boating purposes.—It was resolved, “That the application be granted, and a fee of 5s. per annum be charged for each canoe; and in order to prevent accidents, no one is to be allowed to use the canoes unless they are swimmers.”
Nursery.—It was resolved that the trees in the nursery fit for planting out be done as soon as possible.
Sunday Concert.—An application was received from Mr. Wildman to allow the band to play in the Grounds on Sunday last, but the Board declined to grant the application as it was proposed to charge for entrance.
Designs for Footbridge.—At an adjourned meeting of the Board held on Monday last, the designs for the footbridge were considered and the design sent by Mr. Barclay was ultimately chosen. It was resolved, “That a hearty vote of thanks be tendered to Messrs, Barclay, Rhind, Ritso, Holford, Sands, Sanderson, Brown and Fitzhern for their kindness in forwarding designs for the footbridge; and that the designs be placed in the reading rooms of the Institute for inspection.
The Board then adjourned.
TH, JULY 21, 1883
TENDERS
For the Erection of Footbridge in the Recreation Grounds will be received up to Friday, the 3rd August. Plans and specifications may be seen and all particulars obtained at the office of Mr. T. K. Skinner.
Harris Ford, Secretary.
New Plymouth, July 21, 1883.
TH, JULY 23, 1883
BRIDGE WORKING PLANS COMPLETE
Mr. Barclay has completed the working plans of the proposed ornamental bridge at the Recreation Grounds, and he has made several improvements on the original design. He has devoted considerable amount of time to this work, and he is certainly deserving of the thanks of the community. Mr. J. T. Davis who has voluntarily come forward to defray the cost of the erection of the bridge will long be remembered for this act of generosity by which the public will be benefited.
TH, AUGUST 7, 1883
BRIDGE CONSTRUCTION
CONTRACTOR CHOSEN
Messrs. Hooker and Campbell are the successful tenderers for Mr. Davis’ bridge across the ornamental water in the Recreation Ground, the price being £155.
TH, SEPTEMBER 22, 1883
MINSTREL SHOW PROCEEDS
The Secretary of the Botanical Gardens Board desires to acknowledge the receipt of £5 18s. as the proceeds of the entertainment given by the Sunflower Minstrels in aid of the Board’s fund.
TH, OCTOBER 29, 1883
GOVENOR’S VISIT
THE OPEN AIR CONCERT.
On Sunday afternoon, the Volunteer Band, assisted by several members of the A.C. Band, gave a sacred concert in the Recreation Grounds, and it attracted an assemblage of about 1,500 people, who were seated under the shade of the trees in groups, the whole scene being most picturesque. The band performed each selection in a very pleasing manner, and the public were highly pleased with the performance. We hope during the summer months that arrangements will be made for giving periodical concerts of this description, as they are suited to the popular taste. The following were the selections given:—
Selections from “12th Mass” (Mozart), selections from “Messiah” (Handel), Cujus Animus from Stabat Mater (Rossini), selection from Vital Spark (Harwood), march, Sacred Melodies (Millars), selection, Meditation (Round), march, Onward, Christian Soldiers (Hare). By special request the selection from Mozart’s 12th
TH, NOVEMBER 24, 1883
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
A meeting of the Botanical Gardens Board was held on Thursday evening last, when an application was received, for permission to hold open air religious services in the Recreation Grounds on Sunday afternoon. After some discussion, it was resolved, “That until further notice permission be granted, provided the services be held on the lawn, and every precaution taken to prevent injury to the grounds,” The Secretary intimated the receipt of £6 10s., as a donation from the Governor’s Reception Committee. Several members spoke rather warmly with respect to the delay in the erection of the new footbridge in the grounds; and also complaints were made of the water having been run off from the lake so long before work at the bridge had been commenced.
TH, NOVEMBER 26, 1883
BRIDGE CONSTRUCTION UPDATE
We learn that Mr. Hooker, the contractor for the new bridge at the Recreation Grounds, has commenced the work, and is pushing the erection of the structure with all speed. He has five men engaged at the work, and as the woodwork is well advanced Mr. Hooker will probably have the bridge completed by Christmas Day, according to the terms of his contract.
1884
TH, JANUARY 22, 1884
AMATEUR DRAMATIC COMPANY SET UP FOR FUNDRAISING
A combination Amateur Dramatic Company has been formed for the purpose of giving an entertainment in aid of the funds of the Recreation Ground, New Plymouth. Several local ladies have kindly come forward, and will give very valuable assistance in carrying out the object of the Club. For the last two months the Company has been actively rehearsing the deservedly popular nautical drama of Ben Bolt, founded upon the well-known song so intimately associated with our school days, and always pleasingly welcome to the theatre-going public. The heroine of the piece (a local lady) is spoken of as being in every way well chosen for the role of character she sustains, the other parts being equally well appointed. The scenic appliances, music, costumes, and pretty grouping, will be a novelty in amateur performances never before attempted in New Plymouth, the stage being at times occupied by no less than fourteen male and six female characters. The Company also produce a new and fashionable comidetta, in which another local lady, as leader of the piece, will contribute greatly to the enjoyable wind up of the evening’s entertainment.
TH, JANUARY 26, 1884
ALEXANDRA HALL,
NEW FLYMOUTH.
WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 6, 1884.
The Combination Amateur Dramatic Company
WILL give their first performance on the above date in aid of the funds of the Recreation Ground, when will be produced the deservedly popular Nautical Drama of
BEN BOLT,
assisted by 20 male and female performers;
with New Costumes Music and Scenic Appliances.
To conclude with Maddison Morton’s fashionable Comedietta,
BETSY BAKER; Or TOO ATTENTIVE BY HALF.
The Management calls the attention of the play-going public to the excellency of this entertainment being the first ever offered where none but purely local male and female amateurs have been engaged.
Every precaution has been taken to secure comfort and good order during the evening.
Prices—3s, 2s, and ls.
Box Office—Wildman’s Alexandra Music Depot. Tickets may be had of Mr Parker, Jeweller, Devon-street. J. BROWNE,
Manager.
TH, JANUARY 31, 1884
FUNDRAISING
A dramatic entertainment in aid of the funds of the Recreation Ground will be given in the Alexandra Hall on Wednesday next, by an Amateur Dramatic Company, which has been organised by Mr. J. Brown.
The Company includes over twenty performers—six will be young ladies who have consented to take part. The drama of “Ben Bolt” will be the first piece, and for it scenery is being specially prepared. There will be a ballet introduced, in which several young ladies will take part. A programme will be circulated in our Saturday’s paper.
TH, FEBRUARY 9, 1884
RECREATION GROUNDS BOARD MEETING
A meeting, of the Recreation Grounds Board was held last evening. Present: Messrs. Roy (in the chair), Davis, Skinner, Ford, Hughes, and Dr. Gibbes.
Sanitary.—A complaint having been made about the pond on the section opposite Mr. Hunter’s late residence adjoining the Recreation Ground, the Secretary reported that steps had been taken to fill it, and do away with the nuisance complained of.
Lease of section.—Mr. White applied to rent sections 1066 and 1087 from the Board at a rental of £1 per annum, on condition that no right of way be allowed through them. The application was adjourned until next meeting.
Donations.—The Secretary informed the meeting that Mr. G. Newman had given a donation of £2 14s., and Mr. Cock 18s., towards defraying the expense incurred in the formation of paths in the Recreation Grounds. Also that Messrs Berry and Newman had presented a Sans souci for the benefit of visitors to the grounds. The Board recorded a vote of thanks to the donors for their liberality.
Balance Sheet.—The annual balance- sheet, showing a credit balance of £6, was read and adopted.
Opening of new Bridge.—It was decided that on the opening of the new bridge to the public—which will take place shortly—to hold aquatic sports.; and efforts will be made to have as attractive a programme as possible.
The Board then adjourned.
TH, FEBRUARY 20, 1884
CALL FOR BRIDGE OPENING DAY
As the bridge in the Recreation Ground (the donation of Mr. J. T. Davis), is nearly completed, it has been suggested to the Chairman of the Board that it should be formally opened to the public, and that on that occasion some demonstration should take place. A meeting of the Board has, therefore, been called for Thursday evening, when the matter will be fully discussed.
TH, FEBRUARY 22, 1884
RECREATION GROUNDS BOARD MEETING
The Recreation Ground Board met on Thursday evening. Present: Messrs. Davidson (chairman), Ford, Davis, Roy, R. C. Hughes, and T. K. Skinner.
Leases.—The applications of Messrs. White and Fookes for lease of sections 1086 and 1087 are considered.—The Board decided to accept the application of Mr. Fookes, and a lease for three years was granted at a rental of 30s, per annum.
THE NEW BRIDGE.
A letter was received from Mr. Barclay recommending that the new bridge should be tested before it is opened to the public. —This was agreed to be done.
The Board then considered the ceremony to be adopted for opening the new bridge. It was decided to open the bridge in about 14 days with a moonlight promenade concert, and to ask the volunteers to take part in the proceedings.
TH, FEBRUARY 28, 1884
THE NEW BRIDGE IN THE RECREATION GROUNDS.
CONSTRUCTION DETAILS
The bridge over the lake in the Recreation Grounds, which has been in course of construction for months past, has been completed, with the exception of the hand-rail to the approaches, and other minor matters. It has the appearance of durability, and its architectural design is faultless. It consists of a wooden arch, possessing a span of 70 feet, and is supported at each end on a solid concrete foundation. The height of the floor of the bridge from the level of the water is 8ft. 6in., and the width of the floor is 5 feet, which is planked with totara and is supported by seven wooden horizontal timbers, fixed to the arch by iron rods. The hand-rails of the bridge are 3ft. 6in. high, and are of an open pattern, carrying a suitable coping. At each end there are two substantial pillars with carved solid circular ornaments, and the handrails terminate with carved ornaments in a neat scroll design. The woodwork of the bridge consists of totara, and it has been painted in a durable brown colour. Altogether it is such a structure that Mr. J. T. Davis, its generous donor, may well be proud of, and will for years to come be the centre of attraction in the Recreation Grounds. It gives a completeness to the ornamental water, and adorns the grounds in a very marked manner. Mr. Barclay, C.E., executed the design, and he is entitled to praise for the amount of time and professional skill he bestowed upon it gratis in supervising its construction. The paths on either side of the lake leading to the bridge have been lately widened and re-formed, and in the improvements of the grounds generally we notice that a considerable expenditure has been incurred. Mr. Hooker was the contractor for the bridge and, he was delayed in procuring the necessary timber and by unfavourable weather. Mr. Cambell was the sub-contractor for the woodwork which he has carried out in a faithful manner, the workmanship being first-class. The Recreation Grounds Board have decided to formally open the bridge to the public, when the ceremony of handing it over by the donor to the Board will take place, and it will then be declared opened by the Mayoress. We hope that successful sports will be got up for the occasion, and that the public will show their appreciation of the gift which has been made for their benefit by Mr. Davis by being present in large numbers and taking part in the ceremony.
TH, FEBRUARY 29, 1884
BRIDGE OPENING DAY ADVERT
THE OPENING CEREMONY in connection with the Bridge across the Ornamental Water in the Recreation Ground, the donation of J. T. DAVIS, Esq., will take place on MONDAY EVENING, 10th March (weather permitting.)
The Mayoress will formally declare the Bridge open to the public at 6.30 p m., after which there will be AN OPEN AIR CONCERT and other Amusements.
ADMISSION ON THIS OCCASION—Adults 1s,
Children 6d.
TH, MARCH 4, 1884
STATE OF SWAMP
Swamp in Recreation Ground.—A letter was read from the Under-Secretary stating that the Health Officer, Dr. O’Carroll, had reported the unhealthy state of the Botanical Garden’s swamp, and had pointed out the danger of disease arising from it. The Mayor was asked to furnish the Under-Secretary with an explanation of the failure of the local Board to abate the nuisance referred to by the Health Officer. —It was stated by Mr. Davidson, that the Botanical Gardens Board were doing all they could to rectify any evil that might arise from the swamp.
TH, MARCH 6, 1884
ARRANGEMENTS FOR OPENING THE RECREATION GROUNDS BRIDGE.
The Recreation Grounds Board have decided to open the new bridge on Monday evening next, by a promenade concert and a sham fight by the Volunteers. A very good programme has been prepared, and will be very attractive. The grounds will be opened at 5.30 p m., when an entrance fee of 1s. for adults and 6d. for children will be made. At 6.45 p.m. the members of the Board will meet the Mayoress at the Carrington Road Gate, and escort her to the bridge where the volunteers will be drawn up as a guard of honor. Mr. J. T. Davis will then formally hand over the bridge to the chairman of the Recreation Grounds, and the chairman will request the Mayoress to declare the bridge opened. After this ceremony is performed there will be a procession formed which will march over the bridge and round to the bathing-house, where they will break off. The promenade concert by the Volunteer Band will then be given, and it is expected that there will be singing parties in boats on the lake. The Volunteers will have a sham fight on the hills during the evening. It is intended to have an exhibition and competition of model yachts on the lake in the afternoon at four o’clock, when the admission to the grounds will be free. The cutting at the Liardet-street entrance will be completed before Monday. Captain Davidson has been made conductor of the ceremonies. As the proceeds will be in aid of the Recreation Grounds Board, it is to be hoped that the public will patronise the concert, and willingly pay the small charge for entrance.
TH, MARCH 11, 1884
OPENING THE NEW BRIDGE IN THE RECREATION GROUNDS
MOONLIGHT CONCERT
The ceremony of opening the new bridge in the Recreation Grounds (the gift of Mr. J. T. Davis), took place last evening, in the presence of a large assemblage. The Recreation Ground Board had made very complete arrangements so as to make the evening pass pleasantly, and they certainly attained the object. A flagstaff had been erected on the knoll opposite the bathing-house, and bunting was floating in the breeze from the masthead. The bathing-house was illuminated with Chinese lanterns, and lanterns were also suspended from the bridge. At 7 o’clock, His Worship the Mayor and Mayoress were met at the Carrington Road gate, leading to the grounds, by the Members of the Recreation Grounds Board, and were escorted to the bridge. At the lake, a guard of honor was stationed to receive the Mayoress, and, on arrival at the new bridge, the members of the Board, His Worship the Mayor, and Mrs. Bayly took up their positions at the approach, where the bridge was formally handed over. A large crowd had gathered at the spot to witness the proceedings.
Mr. J. T. DAVIS, in handing over the bridge, gave an interesting account of the history of the Recreation Grounds. He said that when he came to New Plymouth he saw that the great want of the town was a public pleasure gardens, and he at once commenced to agitate the question. A memorial was drawn up and presented to the Provincial Council, and after a considerable delay the ground was presented to the public for a Recreation Ground. At the suggestion of Mr. Kelly, who was then Provincial Secretary, a number of names were sent in to the Government for the purpose of appointing a Board to manage the affairs of the ground. The gentlemen whose names were sent in were appointed the first Board, and those gentlemen met and considered what was best to be done. They visited the spot one afternoon, and it was with the greatest difficulty that they managed to scramble over the ground, which was at that time covered with furze, and they could scarcely cross the gullies. When they had scrambled round the place they came back to town, and he for one thought they had done a good day’s work. In the petition they sent to the Council they promised that if they got the ground they would carry out plans for improving it, and a few days after it was granted they went out collecting subscriptions.
They got a few pounds, and then the Provincial Government also helped them. About the first thing they had to do was to purchase the lease of the hill opposite to him there [where the majority of the audience were gathered], as that was not included in the original grant. There was also another piece of ground on the other side which the Board wanted to purchase when they could get it cheap, as it was necessary to have it to make the grounds complete. For fear that the owner would ask more money for it, they concluded the purchase. They afterwards decided upon having a grand opening day, and Miss Carrington publicly planted a tree in the grounds on the occasion of its being opened. Some months afterwards they commenced planting the ground with ornamental trees, poplars, pinus insignis, etc., which they planted round the boundary. It was a great struggle at first to get the public to come and see the grounds. He was up there every Sunday for he was a single man, but he is sorry to say he generally had the grounds to himself.
The Board determined to have a lake or pond in the grounds, and for that purpose they raised £60 Mr. R. Bayly got to work drawing out a plan making one of the gullies into a pond; he was instructed not to exceed £60 for fear the Board would go bankrupt. However, instead of the lake only costing £60 the scheme was improved as the work progressed until it at last cost £160. The Board was exceedingly well pleased with the work when it was completed, but they did not know how to get out of their financial difficulties. They had borrowed money to pay for the water scheme, but the question was how were they to pay it back? Another difficulty occurred which plunged them into deeper debt. The bank of the lake was not so secure at first as it might have been, and it commenced to leak. Well, before that leak was stopped it cost £40. However, they by degrees got over their difficulties. He (Mr. D.) was visiting the ground one day, sitting on the hill and looking down on the lake. The idea occurred to him that the ornamental water would not be complete until there was a bridge made to span it near the centre. He considered the bridge was one of the requirements of the place, and having got that idea firmly fixed in his mind, he decided not to leave a stone unturned until it was accomplished. He was not in a position at that time to erect the bridge, but by dint of a good deal of scheming he managed to enrich himself to the extent that would justify him in incurring the outlay. Mr. Sands drew out a plan of a bridge which was only to cost £100, but neither he nor the Board thought it would do—they could see that to make anything out of it he would have to increase the sum. He thought if he gave £150 it could be made a more suitable structure; and he also thought—and so did the Board—that if he was to call for competitive designs for a bridge it would give the young men in the place a chance of showing their talent (laughter). This they decided to do, and number of designs were received, but he thought there was no doubt that Mr. Barclay’s design was the best, and that design the Board adopted. The tenders for the construction of the bridge were far in excess of the estimate, and could not be accepted, but he ultimately came to an arrangement with Mr. Hooker to construct it. Mr. Hooker was also assisted by Mr. Campbell, carpenter, Mr. Bellringer, painter, and Mr. Revell, blacksmith, and he thought the public would freely admit they had done their work well. (Hear, hear). It had given him satisfaction, and he hoped it would give the public satisfaction. There was one thing he would like to say, and that was he became a member of the Borough Council purposely to aid in getting a grant to the Recreation Grounds; and he was not ashamed to say it. (Cheers). He thought that when they had got the Mayor there that night, and also some of the Borough Councillors, they would impress on these gentlemen that it was very desirable the Council should continue to support the grounds. The grounds belonged to the public, everyone of them had right to it, even the youngest child present had its vested right in the grounds. (Applause.) It was a good thing to come there, and even if they had not another inch of land, to be able to say, “This land is ours.” (Laughter and cheers.) He would advise them in future borough elections not be led away with the cry of the racecourse reserve, but to put the question straight to the candidates, “Are you in favour of the Recreation Grounds?” and if they did not answer that question satisfactorily they should not vote for them. (cheers) In conclusion all he had to say was that it gave him great pleasure to hand over the bridge to the Chairman of the Recreation Grounds Board, and he hoped the Mayor and the Mayoress, and the whole company present, would live long enjoy it. (Loud applause.)
Captain DAVIDSON, the Chairman of the Board, said he had great pleasure in returning Mr. Davis the thanks of the Board and the people of the town for the munificent present he had made. He (Captain D.) had been told by persons visiting New Plymouth that the Recreation Grounds were the best pleasure grounds in the colony for beauty and picturesqueness.
That was a great thing to say ; but now that the bridge was completed it made the grounds more attractive than ever. There had been a great deal done by the ladies of Taranaki in aid of the funds of the Board, by holding fancy fairs, bazaars, &c., and the Volunteer Band had also given concerts, half the proceeds of which went to the improvements of the grounds ; and as chairman of the Board he begged to publicly thank those persons who had so generously assisted in improving the grounds. The Board was indebted to Mr. T. K. Skinner for his gratuitous professional services in laying out the grounds, giving levels, &c.; and likewise to Mr. H. V. Barclay, C.E., who designed and superintended the construction of the bridge. He agreed with Mr. Davis that the Borough Council should assist the Board, and he also concurred in the idea of impressing that fact on all candidates who came forward to be elected to the Borough Council. He would certainly use his influence as long as he remained in the Council to obtain a grant for the grounds. With these few remarks he would again thank Mr. Davis for his generous gift and assure him that it afforded the people great pleasure—a fact which was fully testified by the large attendance of the public that evening. Captain DAVIDSON then requested the Mayoress to declare the bridge formally opened.
The Mayoress said: Ladies and Gentlemen, it gives me great pleasure to declare the bridge now open to the public, and I have to express the wish that the bridge be named “The Poet’s” bridge. (Applause.)
Captain DAVIDSON, on behalf of the Board, said the name would be adopted.
The procession then formed, headed by the Mayor and Mayoress, and the whole company walked over the bridge and proceeded to the bathing house, when Captain DAVIDSON proposed a vote of thanks to Mrs. Bayly for having assisted in the ceremony, which was passed by acclamation.
Three cheers were then given for the Mayoress, and an additional cheer for His Worship the Mayor.
The Volunteer Band then gave musical selections, and the public assembled round the band to listen to the music. A frame for a music stand was erected for the band near the bathing house, and a number of lamps were suspended, which illuminated this part of the ground.
The Volunteers, during the evening, gave what was originally intended to be a sham fight, but some alteration must have occurred, for we only heard volley firing (which was certainly done to perfection), but there was no skirmishing or maneuvering which goes to make up a sham fight. It would have been more effective had a detachment of the firing party been posted on the opposite side of the lake.
Fireworks and rockets were also let off, and singing parties on the lake made the hills resound with vocal music.
We must not omit to mention that in the afternoon there was a competition on the lake for model yachts, when twelve models were duly entered. The proceeds last evening amounted to £30 17s.
TH, MARCH 11, 1884
POISON LAID FOR DOGS
NOTICE TO DOG OWNERS.
Persons owning valuable dogs are cautioned not to take them into the Recreation Ground, for owing to the nuisance caused by those animals, the Board has to lay poison down.
TH, MARCH 13, 1884
THE POET’S BRIDGE NAMED AFTER RACEHORSE
The bridge across the ornamental waters in the Recreation Ground was named “The Poet’s Bridge,” after the racehorse “The Poet,” who won a race at Auckland in 1883. It appears that Mr. J. T. Davis drew that horse in a “racing sweep” and gave the bulk of the money he won towards the construction of the bridge, and on that account it is to be called “The Poet’s Bridge.”
TH, APRIL 5, 1884
THE BATHING SEASON.
The Lake in the Recreation Ground having been re-filled, the BATHING SEASON will be re-opened from this date.
The subscription can be paid to the Custodian, on the ground. Season tickets, 2s, 6d.
JAMES DAVIDSON,
Chairman of Recreation Garden Board.
TH, APRIL 12, 1884
GIFT OF FERN
We have been requested by the Chairman of the Botanical Garden Board, to tender the thanks of the Board to Mr. Courtenay Kyngdon for his present of a valuable and rare fern.
TH, MAY 8, 1884
BOROUGH COUNCIL FUNDING
THE RECREATION GROUND VOTE
TO THE EDITOR.
Sir,—In your report of the proceedings of the Borough Council I notice in paragraph headed Recreation Grounds that Mr. Cock moved “That £50 be placed on the estimates as a grant to the Recreation Grounds, and that I said that the matter should be referred to the public to strike a special rate of 1d. in the £, which would produce £118.”
Now I think that in a matter of such importance as this that the argument used by myself and others opposed to the resolution, should have been placed before the public; therefore if you will allow me space I will explain my reason for opposing the vote.
Messrs. Cottier, King, Bellringer, Handy, and myself were appointed a Committee to draw up the estimates for the current year. Bearing in mind our pledge to the burgesses to reduce our rates, if possible, we cut down our expenditure to the very lowest limit, as you can see by the estimates brought down to the Council enabling us to reduce our rates from 1s. to 11d. for general, 1s. 2d. to 1s. for special, and from 3d. to 2d. for gas, which 1 am sure are quite heavy enough in these depressed times; and it will require a great deal of care and attention on the part of the Council to keep our expenses within our income. You will observe we had only some £35 surplus for contingencies.
If the Council had passed the estimate as brought down, I consider they would have done all that was required of them; that is to say rated the burgesses for necessaries only. If the public require luxuries then give them an opportunity of saying so, and petition the Council to strike a special rate for the purpose, and I feel certain that if this course had been pursued the Council would have been unanimous in striking a rate of 1d. in the £ for improving the Recreation Grounds, which would have produced £118, whereas now £50 only was squeezed on the estimate by the casting vote of his Worship the Mayor —I am, &c., W. Humphries.
TH, SEPTEMBER 20, 1884
BARRETT’S CANNON
The Ngamotu cannon, or the “Dicky Barrett,” as it is sometimes called, was the subject of a discussion at the Botanical Board’s meeting last night. The ownership of this memento of the siege of Ngamotu, (when a horde of some three thousand Waikatoes tried to dislodge from the Ngamotu pah three or four hundred Ngatiawas, who were assisted by a handful of Europeans,) has long been a moot point. The provincial Government always looked upon the relic as pertaining to themselves, but lately it had fallen into private hands and been bought and sold without any reference at all to the powers that be. In the possession of the Recreation ground authorities it is apparently in more appreciative hands, for a proposal has been made to mount it in the grounds where it will be visible to the public. It is an old-fashioned piece of artillery, and as it is associated with one of the most bloody and cruel episodes on record in these old inter-tribal contentions humanised by the name of warfare, it is an interesting relic of the past.
TH, SEPTEMBER 20, 1884
DONATION OF GATES PROMISED
New Plymouth is fortunate in possessing a number of citizens who now and again place the burgesses under a debt of gratitude by the valuable presentations they make to the town. The last instance of this is the gift of a double iron gate to be erected at the Liardet street entrance to the Recreation grounds. The donation was announced at a meeting of the Recreation Board last night, but at the donor’s request his name was not mentioned.
TH, SEPTEMBER 20, 1884
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Botanical Gardens Board met on Friday night. Present: Messrs. Hughes, Davis, Skinner, and Ford. Mr. Hughes was voted to the chair.
Lease of Paddocks.—An application was received from Mr. Cooper for the use of the paddock at the upper end of the grounds. —This was acceded to, at a rental of 40s. a year, conditionally on his keeping the gardens free from furze and fern and the paddock being at all time open to the public. The Board reserve the right to plant and improve the ground.—Mr. Power applied to lease another part of the property, and it was decided that Messrs. Skinner and Davis should meet the applicant on the ground about the matter.
Donations.— A vote of thanks was passed to the following gentlemen:—Mr. G. Oliver, for donation of native shrubs; Mr. R. Wells, for puriris; Mr. J. T, Davis, for hollies; Mr. E. Humphries for seeds; and the Secretary was instructed to tender the Board’s thanks to Mr. Govett for his donation of £1. A special vote of thanks was passed to Mr Furlong for his present of the Ngamotu cannon.
Notices of Motion.—Mr. Davis gave notice of a motion for the next meeting that the Board consider the advisability of co-operating with the Horticultural Society.—Mr. Davis will also move at the next meeting that as the cottages owned by the Board are unfit for habitation, they should be sold.
Accounts.—The following accounts were passed:— Mr. Davis, 13s. 6d.; and Mr. Brown, £1.
This concluded the business.
TH, SEPTEBER 29, 1884
REC NOT SUITABLE FOR CRICKET
The Cricket Club are negotiating for the lease of Mr. Mitchinson’s paddock as a cricket ground, the pitch on the Recreation Ground being unfit for use. There seems to be an opinion gaining ground amongst the members of the Cricket Club that the large expenditure on the Recreation Ground was ill-advised. The site is not by any means a good one, being bleak and apparently incapable of improvement except at a great cost.
TH, OCTOBER 9, 1884
DICKY BARRETT CANNON
The Dicky Barrett’s cannon is to be mounted on concrete in the Recreation Ground, Mr. W. Skinner having kindly offered to present a suitable stand.
TH, NOVEMBER 3, 1884
FUNDRAISING
RECREATION GROUND.
WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 5.
OPEN AIR CONCERT BY VOLUNTEER BAND.
GRAND display of Fireworks.
Christening of Fire Brigade’s new Hose-reel.
ADMISSION—6D.
TH, NOVEMBER 20, 1884
CHILDREN’S BATHING AREA
Better provision is to be made in the Recreation Grounds for juveniles bathing, and on Wednesday the Board commenced to excavate a bay of about an eighth of an acre in extent, near the bathing-house. This will be about four feet deep, and will be separated from deep water by a wire fence. The water will be reserved for ladies during certain hours in the forenoon. At present only swimmers can venture in the lake, and the extension will doubtless be a great boon to many. The lake made by Mr. Hughes, below the dam, will also receive attention, and the dam that was washed away last year will be replaced.
TH, NOVEMBER 27, 1884
HUGHES’ POND DAM REPAIRED
Mr. Hughes has had two men employed in the Recreation Ground repairing the dam which formerly kept back the water and formed a lake below the one in which the fountain stands. Mr. Fookes, who owns property close by, objected to the lake being re-made, as the water would also overflow part of his land. Operations are suspended pending an arrangement.
A general clear up of weeds and overgrown gross is now being made, and the new bathing place is finished.
TH, NOVEMBER 28, 1884
LADIES BATHING
LETTER TO EDITOR
Sir,—A warm admirer from the first of the manner in which the Recreation Ground Board has worked to make the grounds attractive, and of the generousness of individual residents in aiding the Board’s efforts, I could not but regret to observe recently that it was the intention of the Board to provide bathing facilities for ladies; and, in order to compass this object, to close the grounds during the time allotted for the ladies to bathe. By all means encourage the ladies bathing or any other kind of athletic exercise; but do not, at the time the town is emerging from obscurity, and when visitors from all quarters of the colony are trooping round, close these beautiful grounds during the time of day when a walk around is both refreshing and enjoyable. There would be great difficulty, supposing certain mornings or afternoons were set apart exclusively for ladies, in drilling townspeople to the regulation hours. How much more difficult in the case of casual visitors, with only an hour perhaps to fit in for a visit to these grounds, which it is a proper pride on the part of residents to talk about—thus creating a desire in visitors to see. For the few ladies who would be likely to take advantage of facilities for bathing, it would be injudicious to close the grounds at any time of the day. Should an unfortunate of the male gender, in blissful ignorance of the restrictive regulations, happen to invade the precincts of the ladies’ bathing place, with ladies bathing, what a harrowing bowl would follow—a veritable “Peeping Tom,” lewd, vulgar, etc. though actually without guile.
If the ladies care to take turn about with the men for a dip before eight o’clock in the morning (the early stir-about would do them good) then it would be easy to arrange with the regular bathers, and so avoid clashing, and do away with the necessity of closing the grounds during the daytime.—I am. &c.,
Rather Not.
TH, DECEMBER 1, 1884
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
At the meeting of the Recreation Grounds Board on Friday, a lease was granted to Mr. Power of a vacant piece of land on the east side, and it was decided to sell the unoccupied cottages by public auction next Saturday. The matter of Mr. Fookes’ objection to the refilling of Mr. Hughes’ lake came under discussion, and as there was a doubt about the exact boundaries of the land affected, it was decided to make a survey. Mr. Hughes and Mr. Roy at their own expense have employed several men to assist the Board in completing the Liardet-street entrance, as it is desired to have the gates erected, and other alterations finished by Christmas.
TH, DECEMBER 1, 1884
REQUEST TO BUILD A BOATSHED
An application was made to the Recreation Grounds Board by the High School for permission to excavate a piece of ground for a boat shed at the upper end of the ground. The Board acceded to the request, but the site and style of the edifice have to be approved of by Mr. Skinner.
TH, DECEMBER 5, 1884
RHIND GATES COMPLETED
Mr. J. Revell, blacksmith, has just completed a handsome pair of gates which are to be fixed at the Liardet-street entrance to the Recreation Grounds.
TH, DECEMBER 2, 1884
COTTAGE SALES, SATURDAY, DECEMBER 6.
WITHOUT RESERVE, NEWTON KING
Will sell by auction at his mart on the above date,—
2 COTTAGES in the Recreation Grounds, lately occupied by Messrs. Power and Ldroski; to be removed within a month.
Sale at 2 o’clock.
1885
TH, JANUARY 30, 1885
SWIMMING TOURNAMENT
A meeting of the committee of the Recreation Ground Swimming Club, at which Mr. C. W. Govett presided, was held on Thursday night in the Court House, when the programme for the aquatic sports to be held on the 11th February was drawn up. It comprises a variety of contests such as swimming races in walking costume and tights, diving, washerwoman’s surprise, otherwise a tub race, obstacle race starting with a plunge from the bridge and scrambling over a boat, through hoops &c., swimming tug of war, and canoe race; in all twelve events. Captain Holford was appointed Commodore, and Dr. Gibbes Judge. The starters are Mr. J. Paul and Mr. J. T. Davis; handicappers, Mr. R. B. Roy, and Mr. R. Gilmour. A Committee of Management was also appointed.
TH, FEBRUARY 2, 1885
NAMING THE RECREATION GROUND
Sir,—Every city in New Zealand has its park, its domain, or its pleasure grounds. New Plymouth may well be proud of its Recreation Ground, for with the exception of the public domain in Auckland there is nothing to compare with it in New Zealand for natural beauty, seclusion, and its approaches. The landscape from the bridge looking towards the sea is one of exceptional loveliness—it is, in fact, faultless. Nature has done much to create a variety of character in the undulations, shelter, and slopes, so as to render it a comparatively easy task for art to beautify and lay out the grounds at a moderate cost. The lagoon with its grassy slopes stands prominently in the foreground, giving a charming relief to the wooded sides and foliage which surround it. But my main object now is to call the attention of the public to the necessity of giving this delightful spot a proper name other than the Recreation Ground—rather let it be Egmont Park; it will be appropriate, and justly merited. Mount Egmont, the pride of the people in Taranaki, will ever look down upon its offspring with quiet and dignified approval, and the visitors to these sylvan woods will look up to its parent with silent awe and admiration; and as New Plymouth advances in wealth and prosperity, so will its people by judicious expenditure contribute to the development of this health resort, and feel that pure and healthy enjoyments, both mental and physical, will be within the reach of themselves, their children, and their descendants.—I am, &c.,
A Visitor.
TH, FEBRUARY 7, 1885
SWIMMING GALA BUNTING
The Recreation Grounds Board have granted permission to the Aquatic Sports Committee to levy a charge for admission to the Grounds on Wednesday. The Committee were up on Friday arranging to spread a line of bunting across the water from hill to hill on the occasion of their sports.
TH, FEBRUARY 7, 1885
LADIES BATHING AREA
The thoughtful provision of the Recreation Board in supplying a bathing place for ladies and children has been largely taken advantage of lately. On Friday morning there were about twenty children in the enclosed water, none of whom would have been safe in the old state of the lake. Ladies, however, have not made use of it, probably from the fact that no day can be set apart for them.
TH, FEBRUARY 7, 1885
ORNAMENTAL GATES BEING ERECTED
The presentation gates are now being erected at the Liardet-street entrance to the Recreation Ground.
TH, FEBRUARY 7, 1885
NEAR DROWNING
It has nearly been our sad lot to chronicle a case of drowning in the lake at the Recreation Grounds. A young gentleman who could not swim got into one of the Rob Roy canoes, and when about in the centre of the lake capsized. Several people looking on thought it an amusing incident and at once commenced to laugh at the unfortunate, never for a moment dreaming that he was unable to swim. On seeing that the canoeman was in danger Mr. R. Gilmour at once plunged in and pluckily swam out to the rescue. Immediately he reached him the unfortunate young man became insensible, and had to be supported till a boat was put off from the shore. He was then conveyed to the bathing shed, but it was fully half-an-hour before consciousness was restored.
TH, FEBRUARY 10, 1885
CHEW CHONG OFFERS FLAGSTAFF
Mr. Chew Chong has offered to present a flagstaff to the Recreation Ground. On his offer being announced at the Recreation Board meeting last night, a vote of thanks was warmly accorded.
TH, FEBRUARY 11, 1885
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The Recreation Board passed the following resolution at its last meeting. ‘‘That in reviewing the history of the Board during the past year the members look with much satisfaction and pleasure at the permanent improvement of the grounds caused by the presentation by Mr. J.T. Davis of the handsome bridge across the lake; and this Board tender to him, their hearty thanks for his very liberal donation.” It was also decided to put an inscribed metal plate on one of the pillars recording the name of the donor and particulars of the gift.
A visitor to New Plymouth has announced his intention of presenting the Recreation Ground with a number of garden seats. The order will be sent home, as soon as the Board have decided on a name for the grounds, as it is desired to have it in lettering in the castings. The name will be fixed upon next Board meeting, notice of motion having been given, that it be the “Egmont Gardens.”
TH, FEBRUARY 12, 1885
SWIMMING GALA, HUGE SUCCESS
THERE must have been fully a thousand people in the Recreation Grounds on Wednesday on the occasion of the aquatic sports. The groups of people dotted all about the green slopes and clustered in knots under the trees gave the grounds a very animated appearance, while the bright summer dresses of the ladies and the display of bunting made a very pretty picture.
The sports went off very well, and with the exception of the unfortunate accident to W. Holford while crossing the water on a tight rope, there was nothing to spoil the spectators’ enjoyment, except perhaps the little shower that came on just at the conclusion of the programme. The band which was in attendance, under Mr. Garry, showed a great improvement on their previous appearance, and pleasantly whiled away the time between the different events.
As far as the swimmers were concerned the clouded sky was an advantage, as it kept the sun out of their eyes. The committee succeeded in getting off all the events without a hitch, and everyone of the competitors seemed satisfied. Mr. A. H. Holmes as Secretary was always where he was wanted. The duties of Messrs. Paul and Davis as starters though not very extensive received their whole attention, and as Judge Dr. Gibbes acted very efficiently. Mr. Riley had a refreshment booth in the grounds, and apparently did a large trade. The children were treated to a row on the lake by the good-natured boatmen who were present to row in attendance on the swimmers. The takings at the gate amounted to £32 1s 7d, which, after paying expenses, will leave a balance to be handed over to the ground authorities. The following are the results of the several events:—
75YDS., BOYS UNDER 15. Open to all-comers. Prize 7s 6d. Entrance 6d.— C. Cornwall, 1; R. Williams, 2; W. Treeby, 3; won easily. The following also entered:- P. Bisbop, C. Kirkby, F. Carthew, and C. Cooper.
100YDS., ALL-COMERS Prize £1. Entrance 1s.— W. H. Shuttleworth, 1; W. Holford, 2; Waki, 3. Won by a length; Goodwin also started.
150YDS. BOYS UNDER 15. Prize 10s. Entrance 6d.— O. Cornwall, 1; W. Rawson, 2; R. Williams, 3. Again Cornwall won easily.
300YDS. HANDICAP.— 1st prize £1 10s., 2nd 10s. Nominations 1s., acceptances 1s. W. Gibson (5 secs.), 1; W. Shuttleworth (15secs.), 2; Cornwall (30secs.), 3. Won easily. Holmes (25 secs.), Holford (scratch), Davis (20 secs.) also started, and finished in the order named.
LONG DIVE. Prize, £1. Entrance, 1s. R. Hughes, 48yds., 1; Williams, 25yds., 2. Treeby and Morton tied for third place, each doing 21 yards. Rawson, the other competitor, did 18 yards.
TUB RACE, 50yds. Special prize. Entrance, 1s.— R. Williams, 1; A. Manners, 2. Manners could not sit his tub and foundered. Williams paddled home an easy winner.
HALF-MILE. HANDICAP. 1st prize, £4 and silver medal; 2nd prize, £1 .- W. Gibson, 10 secs., 1; Holmes, 50 secs., 2; F. Humphries, 55 secs., 3. The following came in in the order named: Shuttleworth, 45 secs.; Cornwall, 60 secs.; Lovejoy, scratch; Hughes, 35 secs; Young, 40 secs.
Gibson swam strongly and straight, and again touched the rope first, leading Holmes by half- a-dozen yards.
BLINDFOLD RACE, 50yds. Special prize. Entrance, free.— W. Treeby,1; F. G. Carthew, 2; E. J. Carthew, 3. C. Cornwall, N. Cornwall, P. Bishop, Waki, and W. Rawson also started. An amusing race. Most of the swimmers steered very eccentric courses.
CANOE RACE, one mile. Prize, £1. Entrance, 1s.— R. Kirkby, 1; J. W. Davis, 2; R. W. Halse, 3. Shuttleworth also started. Won without much pushing.
The obstacle race is to be held on a future occasion.
TH, MARCH 2, 1885
LAKE STATUE DESTROYED
The big boat that is kept on the Recreation Ground lake broke loose last Wednesday and drifted against one of the statues, the presentation of Professor Furlong. The figure was toppled over from its stand into the water. It was recovered on Sunday by some bathers, but, unfortunately, when it was being hauled ashore it broke in half at the waist. The material of which the statues are made—plaster of Paris—does not stand the exposure well; it is showing out in black spots, and has become very brittle.
TH, MARCH 7, 1885
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
The name Egmont Park for the Recreation Ground was adopted at a meeting of the Board last night on the motion of Capt. Davidson, seconded by Dr. Gibbes. A letter from the Swimming Club was received enclosing a donation of £4; and a decision was come to that as no tenders were received for the erection of Mr. Chew Chong’s flagstaff the work would be done by the Board. The flagstaff is to be erected on the top of the hill near Mr. Furlong’s reflector.
TH, MARCH 9, 1885
NAME CHANGE TO BE CONFIRMED
The change of name for the Recreation Ground has yet to be confirmed at the next meeting of the Board. “Egmont Park” is the name adopted more as a feeler to ascertain the wishes of the public in the matter, and was suggested by the gentleman who recently offered to present the garden seats to the ground. A final decision will be arrived at next meeting.
TH, MARCH 17, 1885
REMAINING STATUE BLOWN OVER
The remaining nymph in the Recreation Grounds was toppled over by the storm on Saturday, and in its fall broke into three pieces. No other damage was done in the grounds.
TH, APRIL 8, 1885
CAPTAIN DAVIDSON SHOOTS HIMSELF
The town was thrown into a great state of excitement yesterday afternoon on the report gaining currency that Captain Davidson, Coroner and ex-Mayor, had shot himself dead. At first it was thought to be a cruel canard, but the house of the deceased being close to the centre of the town, it was not long before numbers verified the report for themselves, and then the subject was discussed with almost bated breath by knots of people everywhere in Devon-street. The scene of the tragedy is on the Carrington Road. Captain Davidson’s residence stands in a retired spot on the right hand side of the road which, being on a higher level, overlooks the grounds around the house. The grounds are also under the view of houses on Marsland Hill. It is, however, nearly hidden by trees in the midst of which the house may almost be said to stand. There is a cluster of young pine trees and blue gums at the back of the house, which offer a kind of retreat where a person is visible neither from the road nor the hill. It was here that the fearful act took place, and where the pool of blood and portions of brains scattered about were seen as described by the witness Bleasdale.
It was the habit of the deceased on his return home in genial weather always to take off his coat, and on this fatal occasion the habit had been followed. When found the body was without a coat or waistcoat, and the hard felt hat which the deceased had worn was lying on the ground with a jagged bullet hole in the crown. The wound in the head had bled very profusely, and all the front of his shirt was a mass of clotted gore, as were also his shirt sleeves and hands. The mouth was slightly open, but the aperture at the top of the head seemed to have bled most, for the features were not so much discolored as might have been expected. The hair of the head was all clotted, but the horrible wound in the crown of the head could be easily seen. The bullet in its escape had shattered a hole about the size of a penny and the jagged fragments of the skull at the sides were protruding upwards through the hair. After Dr. Leatham had examined the body it was removed, on a door to the workshop which is full of tools and appliances for fretwork at which the deceased spent nearly all his leisure time—and was placed on the work bench. The expression of the face was quite vacant, but it was very haggard, and showed signs of either great mental trouble or excessive pain. It seems that the deceased had left two revolvers at Mr. Gilmour’s for sale. When he called there in the afternoon, he asked very cooly and composed for one of the weapons and on Mr. Gilmour reaching it from the shelf and handing it to him, he requested that it should be done up in paper. It may be said that the deceased, who had led a soldier’s life in many parts of the world and who was in consequence rather fond of firearms, had several other weapons in the house, so that if he had premeditated self destruction there was no necessity for making the special call at Mr. Gilmour’s for the revolver. The more charitable construction is that he had removed his coat and waistcoat with the intention of setting to work; the pain of his old wound coming on after the excitement of the altercation with Mr. Bayly, he, almost on the spur of the moment, picked up the weapon he had just brought home and, with the restless and strange look noticed in him five minutes before by the domestic in the kitchen, had walked round to the back, and after a few minutes of anguish, during which the witness Bleasdale had seen him seated on the ground, sought relief in death.
TH, APRIL 8, 1885
CAPTAIN DAVIDSON’S INQUEST
An inquest Was held on the body last night, before H. Weston, Esq., J.P., who acted as Coroner. The following jury was empanelled:—Alfred Drew (foreman), Thomas E. Petty, Henry Moverly, Harris Ford, Richard Cock, Samuel Rowe, James M. Vivian, Charles Brown, Ralph D. Colson, Archibald Hood, James Wells, Henry Honeyfield, Alfred Moore, Charles Ford.
After the jury had viewed the body, the following witnesses were called by Inspector Purdy, who said that he had very little evidence to bring forward, but he had no doubt that it would establish a case of suicide.
Frederick Bleasdale deposed: I am a butcher, and work for Mr. Bayly. I know the deceased, who was a clerk employed at the same establishment, and resided in Carrington Road. I live next door, and I last saw him alive at about ten minutes to four under some pine trees a short distance behind his house. I was in the same paddock or grounds, but was not looking for him. He was sitting with his back towards Carrington Road, and his face towards Marsland Hill. I was looking for a hen nest, and not finding it returned to my own house. Nothing else occurred to attract my attention till about twenty minutes past four, when I heard a report of firearms. I thought at first it was in the direction of the gaol, which was in about the same direction that I saw him sitting. I got up and looked out of the window, but not seeing anything I sat down again. The next thing that attracted my attention was Mr. Davidson’s servant, a young woman named Cole, calling out “Mr. Bleasdale” or “Mrs. Bleasdale” or both perhaps. I went out immediately, and she told me the captain had shot himself. I ‘jumped over the fence, and ran towards, where the captain had been sitting. I saw the body just as if it had been sitting down and had fallen over on his right side; that is bent as it would be when sitting. There was a quantity of blood on the top of his head, and there was a pool of blood where his head was lying, Mrs. Davidson was standing by, and had been washing him, and I saw no blood flowing from his mouth. A sixchambered revolver, similar to the one produced, was lying near his right hand. I saw a hole in the top of his head and a portion of the brain scattered about. I then went immediately to town, meeting Dr. Leatham on the way, and after acquainting Sergeant Duffin about the affair, I returned to the body. 1 have not noticed anything peculiar about the deceased. The last time I saw him previous to what I have described was at half-past twelve to-day, when he was sitting at his desk in the office, alone.
Dr. Leatham deposed: I am a duly qualified medical practitioner. I knew the deceased. A little before five this afternoon I was asked by Mr. Ryan, senior, the deceased’s father-in-law, to come up at once, as Captain Davidson had shot himself. I went immediately and found the body doubled up lying on the right side with the hands underneath. Life was extinct. The revolver was partly under the body, about three inches from the right hand. I placed the body on its back, took up and examined the revolver. I saw that it had two or three cartridges in it, and in the presence of Sergeant Duffin I removed a recently discharged cartridge and one not exploded. On examining the body I found a wound in the palate and another wound in the vortex of the skull. The latter one I saw to be connected with the one in the palate, and was the exit of the ball. The wound was such as would have been produced by a bullet entering the palate and passing out at the other aperture. The wounds were recently inflicted. There was a good deal of blood about, and the body was quite warm. I should say death had occurred about an hour before. The wound, in my opinion, would cause instantaneous death. The revolver must have been placed in the month when wide open, because if it had been fired with the mouth closed it would have hit the teeth. From the surrounding circumstances I should say the wound was self-inflicted. I have known the deceased about four years. I attended him about three years ago, when he complained of great pains in the head, and he seemed to be agitated in his mind. He said he frequently suffered from the effects of a sabre wound in the skull, which had been received in action. Old head injuries are liable at remote periods to produce disorders of the brain. That is all I know of deceased.
Beatrice Cole depose: I am a domestic servant employed by the deceased. I saw him last alive at quarter past four in the kitchen walking about looking very strange, but did not appear to be out of his mind. He did not speak. He went out of the kitchen. I did not notice that he had a revolver. That was the last I saw of him alive. I was standing in the kitchen door about five minutes afterwards and heard a firearm discharged. I thought it was a gun fired at one of the prisoners, and I took no notice of it. About ten minutes after this I went out into the paddock to take some linen off the clothes line, and I saw the body lying down under the pine trees. I saw the deceased’s daughter, a child of about ten years of age, go up to her father. She called put to me, “What’s the matter with dadda; his nose is bleeding.” I saw the revolver lying beside him, and ran and told Mrs. Davidson at once. Mrs. Davidson then went to the body, and I followed with some water. I saw blood coming from his head, and after Mrs. Davidson and I got to the body I ran and called Mr. Bleasdale, who came at once.
Mr. W. Bayly deposed: I am a settler residing in New Plymouth. The deceased had been employed as clerk and bookkeeper at a butchering establishment of mine in Devon-street. Deceased was in my company in my office to-day from a quarter past eleven until after two. That was the last I saw of him alive. I was occupied in going over my books and accounts during that time. There is a discrepancy in the books, or, I might say they are not quite correct, and we had a few words over them. I took the keys from him, but before parting I returned them to him, and told him I would keep him on. The keys are the latch-key of the door, the key of the iron safe, two of the two drawers, and one of a cupboard. When I left I told him I would see him again as soon as I had been home and had luncheon. I expected to see him when I returned to my office, but he was not there. I expected him to go on with his work as usual.
By the Coroner: He appeared to be very excited.
The foreman: Was the reinstatement to be permanent ?
Mr. Bayly: I think that is hardly a fair question. I gave him up all the keys, and reinstated him in full possession and left him in the office to go on with his work as usual.
Harry Gilmour deposed: I am a son of John Gilmour who carries on business in Brougham-street, and knew the deceased. I recollect his leaving a revolver at my father’s shop about three month’s ago for sale. He called for it at half-past two this afternoon. He gave no reason for doing so, and I did not notice anything unusual about him. The revolver produced is the one.
Constable W. H. Ryan deposed: The deceased was my brother-in law, and I saw him alive to-day about two o’clock. I was speaking to him and noticed that he appeared very strange. He had a strange look, and seemed quite troubled in mind, and his appearance was quite different from usual. I have known him this last nine or ten years, and he has often complained of an old sabre wound in the head, and he said it caused him great pain. He had at times asked me to examine the place where it was. About two or three years ago he was quite out of his mind, and had to be treated for it. He said he had seen Dr. Leatham and Dr. O’Carrol but they were unable to relieve him.
Inspector Pardy deposed: I knew the deceased for the last two years and over. I saw him yesterday between 12 and 1 standing in front of Mr. Bayly’s shop in Devon-street, with his hands in his pockets and his back leaning against the wall. I was so struck with his appearance that I stopped and looked at him. He looked to me to be a man with some great burden on his mind, as though verging on insanity. I never saw such a woe-begone miserable look on a man in my life. I was going to speak to him at first, but I thought I had better not, so I only nodded to him. His looks haunted me afterwards.
This concludes the evidence.
The acting Coroner, commenting on the evidence, said there was very little room to doubt that the deceased had been in a state of temporary insanity, but added that of course it was for the jury themselves to decide.
The foreman announced the verdict of the jury to be that the deceased died by his own hand while in a state of temporary insanity.
TH, APRIL 11, 1885
FIRST RUGBY PRACTICE
The local football club have obtained permission from the Recreation Grounds Board to use the lawn for football purposes.
TH, APRIL 11, 1885
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
A full meeting of the Recreation Ground Board was held last night, when Mr. J. T. Davis was elected chairman, in place of the late Capt. Davidson. The resolution passed at the last meeting, changing the name of the grounds to Egmont Park, was brought up for discussion and confirmation. It appears that the Board had not power to alter the name given to the grounds by Act of Parliament, and the resolution was therefore not confirmed. A vote of thanks was passed to the swimming club for their donation of £4. It was also resolved to send a letter of condolence to the widow of the late chairman.
TH, APRIL 25, 1885
FLAGSTAFF BEIN ERECTED
A new adornment is being added to the Recreation Grounds in the shape of a flagstaff, part of which was presented by Mr. Chew Chong. Men are now employed in erecting it.
The idea of re-naming the grounds has been abandoned as a special Act of Parliament would have to be passed, and they will in all probability be handed down for a generation or so to come as “The Recreation Grounds.” The football club already use it as a practice ground.
TH, MAY 7, 1885
DONATION OF GARDEN SEATS
The Recreation Grounds Board have been notified by Mr. J. C. Sharland that he has ordered six park seats as a donation to the grounds. The sitting accommodation in the gardens would be complete if someone else would only present a circular seat to be placed round the foot of the flagstaff which is now erected on the hill.
TH, MAY 12, 1885
- P. CORKILL APPOINTED TO BOARD
The Government have appointed Mr. F. P. Corkill to the vacancy on the Recreation Ground Board, caused by the death of Captain Davidson.
TH, MAY 27, 1885
LARGE PLANT DONATION
With the large donation of plants the Recreation Ground Board has been enabled to lay out a new plantation. About 600 young trees have been set out on the hill above the strawberry bed.
TH, JUNE 8, 1885
NEW PATH PLANNED
The Recreation Ground authorities are still improving the gardens. A pathway is to be made up the hill near the strawberry bed, and a seat placed on top. From this point the best view of the garden can be obtained. It overlooks the racecourse and all the surrounding country.
TH, JUNE 9, 1885
MORE FISH FOR LAKE
It is expected that the revenue of the Recreation Grounds Board will be considerably augmented when the fish that are already there, and those which are to be placed there soon, are ready to be angled for. Licenses to fish may figure in their returns as bringing in a not inconsiderable sum of money. At present there are Prussian carp, and a few trout in the waters, but it is not known whether the trout are increasing. It is feared that the stagnant state of the water does not suit the trout very well. Some time back the waters of the lake were released, and it is thought that many of the trout were lost then. The carp are very numerous. The perch which are shortly to be placed there give excellent sport, being very voracious baittakers.
The Acclimatisation Society are procuring some more American trout for distribution, this kind being preferred to the English variety on account of its quicker growth. A number of perch are also ordered, and are to be placed in the Recreation Ground lake.
TH, JULY 7, 1885
GOLDEN WATTLE CULTIVATED
The Recreation Grounds Board have been very successful in the cultivation of the Australian golden wattle, the bark of which is so valuable for tanning. The trees are now a couple of years old, and give every promise of being suitable to the climate.
TH, JULY 18, 1885
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
A meeting of the Recreation Grounds Board was held last night. Mrs Dougherty’s scholars were thanked for their donation, and their request that the money be expended in providing a seat around the base of the flagstaff is to be carried out. Votes of thanks were passed to Capt. Holford, for assisting in erecting the flagstaff, and to Messrs, Mitchinson, C. W. Govett, Wm. Luke, Aleh Laird, for donations. It was also decided to procure two terracotta vases to replace the destroyed nymphs.
The Survey department are to be asked to supply a plan the Recreation Ground, so that trees may be planted along the boundaries. At present the boundaries are not known with sufficient exactness to enable the tree planting to be done. It is said that in some places there is a variation of thirty feet.
TH, JULY 18, 1885
FISHING LICENSES
Now that fish are getting so plentiful in the Recreation Ground lake the Board are contemplating issuing angling licenses.
TH, JULY 30, 1885
VASES TO REPLACE STATUES IN LAKE
The work of making the large earthenware vases for the Recreation Ground has been given to Mr. White, who has the brick-yard in Waiwakaiho. The vases are of an unusually large size, and are to take the place of the nymphs.
TH, AUGUST 24, 1885
PLANT DONATION
At a meeting of the Recreation Grounds Board on Friday, an offer from Mr. Mitchinson to donate a large quantity of evergreen trees and a parcel of valuable aquatic plants was received. Mr. Mitchinson also offered to plant the latter. The offer was accepted with thanks, and £5 was voted towards planting the other trees offered by Mr. Mitchinson. A vote of thanks was also passed to Captain Messenger for his presentation of several hundred young Pohutukawa trees.
TH, AUGUST 25, 1885
TROUT FOUND IN LAKE
The trout found in the Recreation Ground pond on Sunday was, it seems, first discovered by a lad named Crozier. It was in the race leading to the fall, and had evidently become stranded. Trout always spawn in gravel or coarse sand, and there not being any such material in the lake the fish was probably in search of it elsewhere. The fact that it was full of ova makes this appear all the more probable.
TH, SEPTEMBER 5, 1885
GRAVEL PUT IN LAKE FOR TROUT
Several loads of gravel have been placed in the Recreation ground lake for the benefit of trout.
TH, SEPTEMBER 12, 1885
PLANT DONATION
Mr. Mitchinson has presented the Recreation Ground with a number of water lily plants, and he has also given his services and planted them for the Board.
TH, SEPTEMBER 21, 1885
PLANT DONATION
The Recreation Ground Board desire to acknowledge donations of shrubs from Miss Neil, of Manutahi, and a number of water lilies from W. L. Newman.
TH, SEPTEMBER 30, 1885
PLANT DONATION
The Recreation Ground Board desire to acknowledge the very acceptable donation of 150 puriri plants from Captain Wilson, of Urenui.
TH, OCTOBER 5, 1885
PLANT DONATION
The Recreation Ground authorities are further beautifying the gardens by planting a border of box around the lake.
TH, OCTOBER 3, 1885
GARDEN SEATS DONATED
Mr. J. C. Sharland’s donation of iron garden seats for the Recreation Ground may be expected to arrive very shortly, the secretary of the Recreation Grounds Board having received advices that they left London by the ship Canterbury last July.
TH, OCTOBER 5, 1885
BOX PLANTED AROUND LAKE
The Recreation Grounds authorities are further beautifying the gardens by planting a border of box around the lake.
TH, OCTOBER 21, 1885
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
It has been decided to procure an inscribed brass plate to put on the Poet’s Bridge in the Recreation Ground, recording the name of the donor.
At the last meeting of the Recreation Grounds Board a communication was received from the Borough authorities, notifying that the furze must be eradicated from their grounds. At the same meeting also a discussion took place on a proposal of Mr. Hughes’, that the lake should be lowered to enable repairs to be effected to the bank. It was ultimately decided not to lower the lake until after the dry season.
TH, OCTOBER 24, 1885
FIREWORKS DISPLAY
A monster fireworks display is to take place in the Recreation Grounds on the night of the 5th November. The exhibition will be under the auspices of the Recreation Ground authorities, and a large consignment of fireworks has been bought. A full description of the fireworks as well as other particulars will be advertised in subsequent issues.
TH, NOVEMBER 17, 1885
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
A special vote of thanks was passed last night by the recreation Ground Board to Mr. J. C. Sharland for his handsome gift of six garden seats. Thanks were likewise accorded to Mr. H. Taylor for the erection and completion of the seats around the flagstaff. It was also desired that a donation of five guineas by Mr. H. Weston should be suitably acknowledged.
After getting in all the accounts of the late fireworks display’ in the Recreation Grounds, it has been found that the net proceeds are £15 11s 1d. The thanks of the public are due to the gentlemen who arranged and carried out the exhibition, and whose efforts resulted in so large an accession to the funds of the grounds. At the meeting of the Recreation Grounds Board last night, it was decided to erect a band stand, and the local architects are to be asked to supply gratuitously a plan capable of extension when funds permit.
TH, NOVEMBER 30, 1885
DISCUSSIONS ON SWAMP RECLAMATION
A meeting of the Football Club was held in the Bridge Club rooms on Saturday evening, for the purpose of discussing the project of reclaiming the swamp in the Recreation Grounds. Messrs. Davis, Roy, Corkill, and Ford, of the Recreation Grounds Board, were also present. It was stated that the cost of filling in the swamp sufficiently to admit of cricket and football being played would be about £40, but to make a thorough job it was estimated that a sum not far short of £200 would be required. The Football Club appointed a committee to make formal application to the Recreation Grounds Board, and generally to make arrangements about procuring money. The fact that a good tennis lawn could also be provided is expected to attach the support of the ladies to the undertaking.
TH, DECEMBER 14, 1885
BAND ROTUNDA DISCUSSIONS
A deputation from the New Plymouth Town Band recently waited on Mr. J. T. Davis, chairman of the Recreation Grounds Board, with the object of having a site fixed for the band rotunda which is to be erected in the gardens. A site was provisionally selected below Professor Furlong’s globular mirror, but as it would be necessary to fell one of the largest pine trees in the grounds to make room for the erection, it has been decided, at the request of several members of the Board, to consider the matter fully at the next Board meeting. It is probable, however, that the open space where the reflector stands will be appropriated, and that Professor Furlong’s gift will be placed in some other spot equally suitable.
TH, DECEMBER 19, 1885
RECREATION GROUND BOARD MEETING
BAND STAND
A meeting of the Recreation Grounds Board was held on Thursday night, when the question of creating a band stand in the gardens was discussed. A design sent in by Mr. Sanderson was adopted, and the cost of the work is estimated to be about £100. It was resolved to submit plans to the colonial iron founders for estimates of cost before deciding to procure material from Home. Judging from the design, the stand will be quite an ornament to the grounds. It is shown as having a conical roof, supported on eight pillars which again rest on an octagonal shaped base of concrete. Iron railings run from pillar to pillar, and the entrance is by four steps, which are continued all the way round the structure. If funds do not permit of the whole of this band convenience being put up at present, it is the intention of the Recreation Grounds Board to erect part at a time rather than have anything in the Gardens that would not do the place credit. A vote of thanks was accorded Mr. Sanderson for his design, which it was stated he was willing to supplement by full and detailed plans. Mr. Sanderson has also kindly offered to superintend the construction.
TH, DECEMBER 21, 1885
DONATION
The Union Boating Club of New Plymouth has recently disposed of its boats to the Waitara Club for some £14, and as the club itself is in a languishing condition, and there being no prospect of its members again engaging in boating, the money is to be handed over to the Recreation Ground.
1886
Boy eats poisonous tutu berries. TH, 18 1 1886
Larrakins throwing glass in lake. TH, 1 2 1886
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 1 2 1886
Swimming tournament programme. TH, 2 2 1886
Aquatic sports results. TH, 23 2 1886
Bathing times questioned. TH, 27 2 1886
Bandstand estimate requested from Scott bros. TH, 12 3 1886
Claffey catches poacher. TH, 23 3 1886
Donation given for park seats. TH, 30 3 1886
Strawberry trees damaged. TH, 5 4 1886
Lake cleaning and extension. TH, 10 4 1886
Recreation Ground Board meeting – Gates finished. TH, 10 4 1886
Recreation Ground Board meeting – Rotunda. TH, 12 6 1886
Trees to be planted. TH, 7 1886
Black wattle trees hit by frost. TH, 26 7 1886
Trout in the lake. TH, 26 7 1886
An overview of improvements. TH, 4 8 1886
Fundraising for rotunda. TH, 12 8 1886
Recreation Ground Board meeting – Section 1086 purchased. TH, 14 8 1886
Fancy dress ball fundraiser for Rotunda. TH, 21 8 1886
List of fireworks for upcoming display. TH, 3 9 1886
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 9 10 1886
Dead horse buried outside entrance to Rec. TH, 12 10 1886
Flagstaff struck by lightening. TH, 27 10 1886
Swimming club AGM. TH, 30 10 1886
Plant donation. TH, 11 11 1886
Board meeting ladies bathing hours and fishing licenses. TH, 13 11 1886
Red flag introduced for ladies bathing due to change of bathing hours. TH, 13 11 1886
Complaint about cost of firework display entry. TH, 15 11 1886
Firework display write up. TH, 17 11 1886
Bandstand to proceed. TH, 22 11 1886
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 22 11 1886
Davis duped by boys fishing. TH, 26 11 1886
Fishing in the lake. TH, 3 12 1886
Recue at the lake. TH, 6 12 1886
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 22 12 1886
Donations for band performance – incl buttons etc. TH, 29 12 1886
1887
Links for this section to come shortly
Fireworks display write up. TH, 4 1 1887
Tender accepted for clearing foundation for rotunda. TH, 4 1 1887
Recreation Ground Board meeting-Petition for evening swimming in lake. TH, 7 1 1887
Promise of deer for the park. TH, 10 1 1887
Trout hard to catch. TH, 13 1 1887
Swimming tournament handicaps. TH, 17 1 1887
Aquatic Sports day results. TH, 19 1 1887
Pine trees blown down. TH, 7 2 1887
Rotunda earthworks finished. TH, 1 3 1887
One of Barrett’s cannon’s put in park. TH, 12 3 1887
Damage to rotunda base. TH, 17 3 1887
Starlings released in park. TH, 29 3 1887
Rotunda setting concrete trampled. TH, 2 4 1887
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 25 4 1887
Rotunda base used by a band for Victoria’s 50th jubilee. TH, 21 6 1887
Poet’s Bridge defaced. TH, 6 7 1887
Five acres of land offered. TH, 25 7 1887
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 20 8 1887
Receipt of cannon. TH, 30 8 1887
Fundraising for the recreation Grounds. TH, 9 9 1887
Mollyhawk presented to Rec. TH, 25 11 1887
Mollyhawk injured – to be put down. TH, 10 12 1887
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 10 12 1887
Talk of athletics club. TH, 17 12 1887
Committee formed to organise Fancy Fair. TH, 17 12 1887
First committee meeting of Fancy Fair committee. TH, 22 12 1887
1888
Fancy fair organisers. TH, 7 1 1888
Fancy fair committee meeting. TH, 11 1 1888
Ladies meet for fancy fair. TH, 18 1 1888
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 27 1 1888
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 4 2 1888
Donations for Fancy fair called for. TH, 18 2 1888
Meeting of men involved in fair. TH, 9 3 1888
Fancy fair preparation. TH, 21 3 1888
No fireworks at fair. TH, 27 3 1888
Fancy fair in park abandoned – moved indoors.TH, 28 3 1888
Fancy fair write up. TH, 29 3 1888
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 11 4 1888
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 2 8 1888
1889
Harry Atkinson offers swans to park. TH, 21 1 1889
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 26 1 1889
Atkinson swans put in lake. TH, 4 2 1889
Peahens gifted to park. TH, 18 2 1889
Black Swan gifeted to park. TH, 25 2 1889
Nuisance under the Tree. TH, 25 2 1889
Peacock joins peahens. TH, 9 3 1889
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 15 6 1889
Dispute over boundary at Brooklands. TH, 20 6 1889
Mr R Cock appointed to board. TH, 10 7 1889
Visit by General Strange. TH, 15 7 1889
Concert advert for park fundraising. TH, 20 7 1889
Letter to editor looking for support of Recreation Ground. TH, 9 8 1889
Fundraising concert ad. TH, 10 8 1889
Claffey helping with fundraising. TH, 12 8 1889
Letter to editor looking for support of Recreation Ground. TH, 12 8 1889
Holdsworthy Road and Jones road issue. TH, 27 8 1889
Concert offer to raise money. TH, 3 9 1889
Meeting called to consider options to improve sportsground. TH, 12 10 1889
Sports committee formed. TH, 14 10 1889
Moses the swan injured by dog. TH, 18 10 1889
Terms of Sports committee set. TH, 18 10 1889
Sports committee formed. TH, 21 10 1889
T K Skinner produces plans for sports ground. TH, 4 11 1889
Molly hawk presented to park. TH, 5 11 1889
Sports Committee star to fill in swamps fundraising. TH, 8 11 1889
1890
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 4 1 1890
Update on athletics ground. TH, 4 1 1890
George Bros win tender to build sports track. TH, 14 1 1890
Aquatic sports committee. TH, 28 1 1890
Aquatic sports programme. TH, 28 1 1890
Water lilies in lower pond. TH, 28 1 1890
Takings from Aquatic sports. TH, 30 1 1890
Jubilee Aquatic Sports results. TH, 30 1 1890
Education Board – section 1084 exchange in park. TH, 8 2 1890
Fennel in the park. TH, 11 2 1890
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 17 2 1890
Improvements to main gate. TH, 18 2 1890
Account of band concert and Fireworks display. TH, 22 2 1890
Ground improvements. TH, 26 2 1890
Entrance gate update. TH, 1 3 1890
Inaugural Sports meeting. TH, 3 3 1890
Gate Improvements postponed. TH, 7 3 1890
Sports ground update. TH, 19 3 1890
Working bees to clear hills around sports ground. TH, 24 3 1890
Lifeboat in grounds for sports day. TH, 5 4 1890
Sports meeting update. TH, 5 4 1890
Results of inaugural Sports meeting. TH, 8 4 1890
Maloney murder suspect spotted TH, 14 4 1890
Maloney murder rumours TH, 16 4 1890
Maloney inquest day 1 part 1. TH, 21 4 1890
Maloney inquest Day 1 part 2. TH, 21 4 1890
Coroner’s Jury visit scene TH, 22 4 1890
Pair of fancy ducks from canterbury. TH, 22 4 1890
Maloney inquest continues TH, 4 5 1890
Maloney inquest part 2. TH, 4 5 1890
Maloney inquest part 2, TH, 6 5 1890
Maloney inquest from 6 May cont. TH, 7 5 1890
Big trout in lake. TH, 10 5 1890
Swans leave lake. TH, 20 5 1890
Lost swans found. TH, 9 6 1890
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 10 6 1890
Ad for November athletics meet. TH, 21 8 1890
Appeal for funds for Liardet street gate. TH, 6 9 1890
Plant donations. TH, 13 9 1890
Tender for gate erection. TH, 27 9 1890
Ornamental gate erection started. TH, 8 10 1890
Advert for fundraising bazaar. TH, 31 10 1890
Lifeboat being repaired. TH, 3 11 1890
Bazaar in aid of park a huge success. TH, 11 11 1890
New Entrance at Liardet Street completed. TH, 25 11 1890
1891
Band Rotunda tender accepted. TH, 12 1 1891
Band rotunda arrives. TH, 16 2 1891
Jubilee sports day programme. TH, 16 2 1891
Fire at the bathing shed. TH, 26 2 1891
Fire at the bathing shed court case. TH, 27 2 1891
Damage to Park (Midweek) 27 2 1991
Band Rotunda not as ordered. TH, 2 3 1891
Donations for gates at rec ground. TH, 9 3 1891
Gates at Liardet St entrance. TH, 9 3 1891
Fire at the bathing shed court case. TH, 17 3 1891
Letter to the editor. TH, 23 3 1891
Jubilee programme. TH, 24 3 1891
Sports track almost finished. TH, 25 3 1891
Jubilee celebration preparation. TH, 28 3 1891
Jubilee sports day review. TH, 31 3 1891
Completed bandstand used during Jubilee. TH, 1 4 1891
Money from jubilee. TH, 9 4 1891
Advert for Athletic and military exhibition. TH, 15 4 1891
Fire at the bathing shed court case. TH, 16 4 1891
Athletics and military games. TH, 17 4 1891
Salisbury put on bread and water. TH, 18 4 1891
Review of athletic and military exhibition. TH, 20 4 1891
Salisbury sentenced. TH, 29 4 1891
Full list of sports ground sponsors. TH, 29 5 1891
Organising fundraising opera. TH, 30 5 1891
Recreation Ground Board meeting – Fookes land purchase. TH, 16 6 1891
Description of Recreation grounds. TH, 2 7 1891
Fillis street land bought (Fookes). TH, 4 7 1891
Peacock presented to the park. TH, 13 7 1891
Donation to board. TH, 3 8 1891
Board meeting land purchased Bayley donates cannon. TH, 10 8 1891
Donations for planting. TH, 14 8 1891
Kidd brought in to help with planting. TH, 20 8 1891
Plant donations. TH, 20 8 1891
Native plant donation. TH, 28 8 1891
TRV Band Farewell Concert. TH, 10 9 1891
Kidd supervising Plantings. TH, 12 9 1891
Peacock missing. TH, 12 9 1891
Taranaki refugee fund donation. TH, 14 9 1891
Death of J T Davis. TH, 18 9 1891
Inquest part 1 of J T Davis. TH, 18 9 1891
Funeral of J T Davis. TH, 21 9 1891
Kidd helps with tree planting. TH, 6 10 1891
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 12 10 1891
September planting list. TH, 13 10 1891
Grass seed laid on sports track. TH, 26 10 1891
Donation via Criterion Hotel. TH, 28 10 1891
Emu offered to board. TH, 31 10 1891
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 7 11 1891
Board reject Emu offer. TH, 14 11 1891
Collis takes photos of grounds with new camera. TH, 21 12 1891
1892
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 12 1 1892
Reducing hill on Carrington Road.TH, 12 1 1892
Memorial to J T Davis. TH, 19 1 1892
Bulbs wanted + list of annual subscribers. TH, 21 1 1892
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 8 2 1892
Annual subscriptions. TH, 12 2 1892
Easter Monday Sports Day programme. TH, 16 4 1892
Sports Day Results. TH, 19 4 1892
Opening flower beds to schools. TH, 20 4 1892
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 22 4 1892
Modifying main lake. TH, 4 5 1892
Fernery at waterfall. TH, 9 5 1892
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 9 5 1892
Board to consider carriage track round ground. TH, 11 5 1892
Tenders for concrete work on lake outlet. TH, 12 5 1892
Public asked to plant flower beds. TH, 13 5 1892
Mrs Hursthouse takes charge of one Flower Bed. TH, 21 5 1892
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 4 6 1892
Committee agree to allow football and cricket on sports field. TH, 9 6 1892
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 9 7 1892
Fern donation from John Wheeler. TH, 21 7 1892
Recreation Ground Board meeting- maze offered. TH, 5 9 1892
Plantings in the park. TH, 12 9 1892
Cricket club lay down pitch. TH, 15 9 1892
Juvenille sports day. TH, 6 10 1892
Maze description. TH, 6 10 1892
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 10 10 1892
Swimming club reformed. TH, 17 10 1892
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 5 11 1892
Arrangements for juvenile sports day. TH, 7 11 1892
Maori canoe offered. TH, 7 11 1892
New bridge – offer to superintend construction. TH, 7 11 1892
1893
Note of Collis photo of Recreation Grounds. TH, 3 1 1893
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 25 1 1893
Letter to editor – Cannon hill faced. TH, 27 1 1893
Swimming comp organised. TH, 28 1 1893
Court case re dogs in park (newton king). TH, 30 1 1893
Aquatic Sports programme. TH, 2 2 1893
Easter Monday Athletics sports programme. TH, 6 2 1893
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 11 2 1893
Collis photo using new process. TH, 27 2 1893
Aquatic Sports results. TH, 3 3 1893
Recreation Ground Board meeting – Kiwi gifted. TH, 6 3 1893
Cavill swimming exhibition. TH, 17 3 1893
Whale bones arriving. TH, 29 3 1893
Athletic sports a success. TH, 4 4 1893
Plants and whale bones stolen. TH, 8 4 1893
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 8 4 1893
Corkill charged with taking dog into grounds. TH, 10 4 1893
Captain mace donates plants. TH, 12 5 1893
Fountain lake maze article. TH, 22 5 1893
Flooding in park. TH, 7 7 1893
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 11 7 1893
Plant donations – Arden helping with planting. TH, 22 7 1893
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 14 8 1893
Taranaki v Auckland. TH, 30 8 1893
Recreation Ground Board meeting (boatshed and new bridge). TH, 6 9 1893
Unusual planting. TH, 20 9 1893
Misses Albu’s concert. TH, 21 9 1893
Promenade Concert. TH, 30 9 1893
Concert promotion. TH, 2 10 1893
Write up of concert in park. TH, 3 10 1893
Fundraising for the Recreation Grounds. TH, 7 10 1893
E.M. Smith donates black swan. TH, 9 10 1893
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 10 10 1893
Fundraising concert. TH, 13 10 1893
Fundraising concert review. TH, 13 10 1893
Funds received. TH, 21 10 1893
New lower lake filled. TH, 4 12 1893
Recreation Ground Board meeting – Whale bones – Maze. TH, 4 12 1893
1894
First Annual Athletics Carnival. TH, 2 1 1894
Lake pics on chinaware. TH, 8 1 1894
Pea fowl donation. TH, 8 1 1894
Water polo in the park. TH, 9 1 1894
Results from Gymnasium sports day. TH, 11 1 1894
Sports results 2. TH, 12 1 1894
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 7 2 1894
Ad for citizens ball. TH, 12 3 1894
Recreation Grounds Athletic Sports Day Programme. TH, 12 3 1894
Balloonist Leila Adair advert. TH, 31 3 1894
Notice of madame Adair’s Balloon Jump. TH, 31 3 1894
Football Tournament results – Adair balloon burnt. TH, 6 4 1894
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 7 4 1894
Thinning out pine trees. TH, 16 4 1894
Thinning out pine trees. TH, 20 4 1894
Bathing shed broken into. TH, 23 4 1894
Offer of assistance cutting down trees. TH, 23 4 1894
Working bee successful. TH, 26 4 1894
Working bee successful. TH, 27 4 1894
Another working bee. TH, 2 5 1894
Summary of work 1893 – Boatshed Bridge flagstaff cannons whale bones. TH, 2 5 1894
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 5 5 1894
Arden to supervise working bee. TH, 9 5 1894
Charles Francis drowned in lake. TH, 11 5 1894
Charles Francis drowned in lake – inquest. TH, 14 5 1894
Newton King donation for new bridge. TH, 14 5 1894
Working bee a success. TH, 18 5 1894
Another working bee. TH, 29 5 1894
Sports Ground caretaker appointed. TH, 7 6 1894
Recreation Ground board meeting. TH, 9 6 1894
Planting on Fillis St boundary. TH, 12 6 1894
Purchase of section 1135. TH, 4 6 1894
Recreation Ground Board meeting – Roy resigns. TH, 9 7 1894
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 8 8 1894
Ad for china with park pictures on it. TH, 22 8 1894
Letter to editor re cricket pitch. TH, 28 8 1894
W L Newman appointed to board. TH, 29 8 1894
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 8 9 1894
Johnny Fro book goes on sale. TH, 10 10 1894
Fishing licences. TH, 16 10 1894
Fireworks display Ad. TH, 13 11 1894
Johhny Fro a fairytale book to raise funds for Mr Hood. TH, 3 12 1894
Board in financial difficulties. TH, 11 12 1894
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 11 12 1894
Athletics Club 2nd annual carnival programme. TH, 14 12 1894
Fireworks display advert. TH, 17 12 1894
Firework display a success. TH, 18 12 1894
1895
Town Band concert in the Recreation Grounds. TH, 11 2 1895
Fijian cricketers have a dip in the lake. TH, 26 2 1895
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 27 2 1895
Eltham and Ngaire children picnic in the Rec. TH, 1 3 1893
Easter Monday Sports Day programme. TH, 6 3 1895
Notice of Working Bee. TH, 6 3 1895
South Taranaki school picnic. TH, 15 3 1895
Account of working bee.TH, 6 3 1895
Board allowed to fence off part of racecourse. TH, 16 3 1895
Garden seat donation. TH, 20 3 1895
Annual Report for work carried out during 1894. TH, 21 3 1895
Inglewood school outing. TH, 22 3 1895
Surplus funds from sports day to go towards pavilion. TH, 5 4 1895
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 9 4 1895
Fundraising afternoon tea for sports day. TH, 10 4 1895
Fancy Dress Football Match. TH, 22 4 1895
Arden asking for plants donations for the park. TH, 23 4 1895
Ladies thanked for providing refreshments at working bees. TH, 11 6 1895
Jockey club gives park use of land. TH, 24 6 1895
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 16 7 1895
Arbor Day planting of land from jockey club. TH, 30 7 1895
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 3 8 1895
Arbor Day planting in the park. TH, 8 8 1895
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 13 9 1895
Prof Furlong promotes Aquatic carnival in park. TH, 20 9 1895
Sports Ground committee six-year summary. TH, 21 9 1895
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 5 10 1895
Assistance with Maze requested. TH, 7 11 1895
Assistance with Maze requested. TH, 9 11 1895
Winding up swimming club. TH, 21 11 1895
Winding up swimming club. TH, 23 11 1895
Maze work continues. TH, 7 12 1895
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 7 12 1895
1896
Rec Board’s notice of Claffey’s dismissal. TH, 13 1 1896
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 13 1 1896
Darby Claffey’s Letter to TH about his dismissal from the park. TH, 18 1 1896
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 10 2 1896
Charles Edgecombe appointed custodian. TH, 7 3 1896
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 7 3 1896
Easter Monday Sports Day programme. TH, 13 3 1896
Darby’s donkey sold. TH, 4 4 1896
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 11 4 1896
Trouble between Claffey and Edgecombe. TH, 11 4 1896
Darby Claffey issues an apology. TH, 15 4 1896
Chairman’s Annual Report. TH, 25 4 1896
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 11 5 1896
Fundraising concert for recreation grounds. TH, 27 5 1896
Mr. Harris Ford presented with clock. TH, 13 6 1896
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 13 6 1896
Art Union prize description. TH, 26 6 1896
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 6 7 1896
Fundraising football match. TH, 22 7 1896
Fundraising painting for Art Union. TH, 22 7 1896
Help wanted for Arbor Day planting. TH, 1 8 1896
Arbor Day Planting. TH, 3 8 1896
Thinning out of pines – free firewood. TH, 3 8 1896
Arbor Day Planting. TH, 4 8 1896
Taranaki’s first interprovincial game v Nelson. TH, 4 8 1896
Arbor Day Advert. TH, 5 8 1896
Arbor Day Planting. TH, 7 8 1896
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 17 8 1896
Thinning out trees. TH, 17 8 1896
Cabbage tree blight in the Recreation Grounds. TH, 31 8 1896
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 7 9 1896
Swans – sports ground. TH, 8 9 1896
Board allowed to take plants from meeting of the waters. TH, 12 9 1896
Sheep put on Sports ground to tread on sown grass. TH, 23 9
Inaugural meeting of the NP Amateur Athletics and Cycling club. TH, 8 10 1896
Recreation Ground Board meeting. – T K skinner plant donation TH, 13 10 1896
Floral Fete advert. TH, 30 10 1896
Floral Fete advert. TH, 4 11 1896
Account of first floral fete. TH, 10 11 1896
Floral display at main gate. TH, 11 11 1896
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 11 11 1896
Amateur Athletics Meeting advert. TH, 14 11 1896
Money from floral fete. TH, 19 11 1896
1897
Curator told to shoot dogs harassing swans. TH, 8 2 1897
Curator finds body in main lake. TH, 15 2 1897
Annie Way inquest TH, 16 2 1897
Dissolution of Sports Committee – surplus money for drinking fountain. TH, 25 2 1897
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 6 3 1897
Assistant custodian advert. TH, 10 3 1897
R H Mace appointed assistant caretaker. TH, 16 3 1897
Recreation Ground Board meeting -Annual Report. TH, 26 3 1897
Repainting poet’s bridge. TH, 5 4 1897
Repainting poet’s bridge. TH, 5 4 1897
Letter to editor defending rec board. TH, 8 4 1897
Black swans donated. TH, 15 4 1897
Dispute with Star Football Club. TH, 10 5 1897
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 10 5 1897
Dispute with Star Football Club. TH, 12 5 1897
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 12 5 1897
Donation of ferns. TH, 13 5 1897
Fountain progress. TH, 11 6 1897
Ad for unveiling of fountain. TH, 12 6 1897
Summary of all land purchases. TH, 5 6 1897
Use of prison labour to get grounds in order. TH, 16 6 1897
Fountain and land purchases. TH, 18 6 1897
Ad for funds for land purchase. TH, 21 6 1897
Unveiling Jubilee Water Fountain. TH, 23 6 1897
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 3 7 1897
Sports Ground dressing room built. TH, 20 7 1897
Martha King leaves money in will. TH, 13 8 1897
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 4 9 1897
Martha King second payment. TH, 7 9 1897
1898
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 2 7 1898
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 6 8 1898
Protecting swans. TH, 29 8 1898
Claffey benefit concert. TH, 1 8 1898
2000 plants in rec nursery. TH, 10 9 1898
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 10 9 1898
2000 plants in nurseries TH, 10 9 1898
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 8 10 1898
Floral fete ad. TH, 11 10 1898
Floral Carnival description. TH, 5 11 1898
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 5 11 1898
3000 attend floral fete. TH, 10 11 1898
Floral fete an unqualified success. TH, 10 11 1898
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 11 11 1898
Profit from Floral Fete. TH, 18 11 1898
Darby Claffey dies. TH, 25 11 1898
1899
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 7 1 1899
Swimming petition. TH, 7 1 1899
Swimming Gala Programme. TH, 18 1 1899
Forming Swimming Club. TH, 21 1 1899
Stealing lilies. TH, 23 1 1899
Swimming allowed 5-7. TH, 30 1 1899
Swimming carnival Results. TH, 10 3 1899
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 8 4 1899
Enough plants in nursery. TH, 6 5 1899
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 6 5 1899
Council request representation on board. TH, 9 5 1899
Custodian catches dog molesting swans. TH, 3 6 1899
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 3 6 1899
Summary of Improvements including Manhattan Island. TH, 16 6 1899
Honorary members and plant donations. TH, 26 6 1899
Fundraising Ball. TH, 1 7 1899
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 8 7 1899
Fundraising Ball Review. TH, 21 7 1899
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 5 8 1899
Visit to tarata collecting ferns etc. TH, 1 9 1899
Recreation Ground Board meeting- exchange of section 1182 with jockey club. TH, 18 9 1899
Meeting about organising Floral Fete. TH, 28 9 1899
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 7 10 1899
Aquatic carnival ad. TH, 14 10 1899
Aquatic carnival ad TH, 30 10 1899
Floral Fete Review. TH, 10 11 1899
Letter to editor re management of rec. TH, 13 11 1899
Christmas carnival. TH, 22 11 1899
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 9 12 1899
1900
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 13 1 1900
Mention of Harriet cannon. TH, 2 2 1900
Fireworks display. TH, 3 2 1900
Lifeboat and Firework display. TH, 6 2 1900
Firework Display Programme. TH, 7 2 1900
Firework Display Review. TH, 8 2 1900
Central school swimming club. TH, 9 2 1900
City Band swimming carnival ad. TH, 13 2 1900
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 17 2 1900
Maori canoe race at swimming gala. TH, 24 2 1900
Swimming Carnival Report. TH, 2 3 1900
Recreation Ground Ball committee. TH, 17 4 1900
Application for bigger grant from Borough Council. TH, 15 5 1900
More talk of council representation. TH, 15 5 1900
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 15 5 1900
Leasing 1140 and 1180 .TH, 8 6 1900
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 10 7 1900
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 11 8 1900
Star and Tukapa want to erect monument to troopers. TH, 8 9 1900
Lifeboat for hire on lake. TH, 20 9 1900
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 24 9 1900
Sports committee recommendations. TH, 24 9 1900
Scheme for upgrading sportsground. TH, 25 9 1900
T K Skinner asked to prepare plans for sports ground improvements. TH, 15 10 1900
Proposal to remove mound at park entrance. TH, 17 11 1900
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 19 11 1900
Body found in lower lake (Fountain Lake). TH, 5 12 1900
Boy caught setting fire. TH, 14 12 1900
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 14 12 1900
1901
Links for this section to come shortly
Protection of Tui in Recreation Grounds. TH, 7 1 1901
Five-pound reward for capture of people destroying Rimu trees. TH, 16 1 1901
Queen Victoria memorial service ad. TH, 29 1 1901
Victorias memorial service TH,4 2 1901
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 6 2 1901
Swimming carnival. TH, 14 2 1901
Another name offered. TH, 14 3 1901
Flagstaff from Auckland. TH, 19 3 1901
Fireworks display and concert review. TH, 9 4 1901
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 6 5 1901
Plant donations. TH, 17 5 1901
Tukapa v Star 2000 spectators. TH, 1 5 1901
Another call for name change (Victoria Park). TH, 10 6 1901
Edgecombe goes to Raglan for plants. TH, 25 7 1901
Plants Edgecombe brought back from raglan. TH, 19 8 1901
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 19 8 1901
Sportsground plans almost complete. TH, 19 8 1901
Fundraising football matches. TH, 17 9 1901
Kowhai flowering in the Recreation Grounds. TH, 27 9 1901
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 7 10 1901
Zinc tablets for tree names. TH, 17 10 1901
Sash and door company donate 500 ft 2-inch planking. TH, 25 10 1901
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 2 11 1901
Alexander the Australian Blondin Advert. TH, 3 12 1901
Alexander the Australian Blondin demonstration. TH, 3 13 1901
Blondin’s rope hung in Recreation Grounds. TH, 4 12 1901
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 7 12 1901
Grand open-air concert and Fireworks display. TH, 18 12 1901
1902
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 29 1 1902
Liardet Street Gates in need of painting. TH, 31 1 1902
Central school boys learning to swim. TH, 11 2 1902
White swans arrive. TH, 14 2 1902
E M Smith donates six white swans. TH, 17 2 1902
Band contest week advert. TH, 18 2 1902
Central School swimming carnival. TH, 26 2 1902
Fundraising – English fete. TH, 3 3 1902
Liardet Street gates painted. TH, 6 3 1902
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 10 3 1902
Band contest garden party. TH, 12 3 1902
Train driver benefit concert. TH, 12 3 1902
Marching contest. TH, 13 3 1902
Easter fete huge success. TH, 1 4 1902
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 3 5 1902
Acclimatisation Society fish ponds. TH, 12 5 1902
Wild ducks fill the Recreation Grounds. TH, 27 5 1902
Acclimatisation Society provide funds to feed wild ducks. TH, 11 6 1902
Two swans found dead on sports field. TH, 13 6 1902
Seeds from South Africa given to Recreation Grounds. TH, 18 6 1902
Supervisor appointed for sports events. TH, 5 7 1902
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 14 7 1902
Plant donations. TH, 21 7 1902
Plant donations. TH, 28 7 1902
Coronation programme. TH, 5 8 1902
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 16 10 1902
Fish ponds established. TH, 24 10 1902
Testament to hardness of cricket pitch. TH, 25 11 1902
Upcoming cricket game against Lord Hawke’s English XI. TH, 13 12 1902
Pair of Russian Geese donated. TH, 29 12 1902
Advert for cricket match against English 11. TH, 30 12 1902
Pitch preparation for international cricket game. TH, 30 12 1902
1903
North Taranaki v Lord Hawke’s XI. TH, 2 1 1903
North Taranaki v Lord Hawke’s XI – result. TH, 3 1 1903
Trout fry ready for release. TH, 9 1 1903
Volunteer camp in the Recreation Grounds. TH, 15 1 1903
Pair of paradise ducks donated. TH, 3 2 1903
Star club’s annual sports day. TH, 17 2 1903
Preserving rarer native trees. TH, 20 3 1903
Proposal for gully below racecourse (Stainton Dell). TH, 26 3 1903
Request to proceed with Wiggins Memorial. TH, 26 3 1903
Appeal by C. W. Govett for donations to Recreation Grounds. TH, 21 4 1903
Reply to appeal by C. W. Govett for donations to Recreation Grounds. TH, 22 4 1903
Chopping contest results. TH, 2 5 1903
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 6 5 1903
Empire Day fancy football match. TH, 16 5 1903
List of annual subscribers to Recreation Grounds. TH, 19 5 1903
Flooding in the recreation Grounds. TH, 28 5 1903
Trout released from ponds in Recreation Grounds. TH, 20 6 1903
Plant donations. TH, 13 7 1903
Peacock gifted to Recreation Grounds. TH, 21 8 1903
Stone for Wiggins memorial arrived. TH, 26 8 1903
Taranaki beat Auckland (Rugby). TH, 2 9 1903
Fry released into ponds. TH, 5 9 1903
Improving the swamp. TH, 5 9 1903
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 5 9 1903
Floral Fete advert. TH, 19 10 1903
Fry into ponds also improvements to grounds. TH, 22 10 1903
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 26 10 1903
Plant donation from T K Skinner. TH, 5 11 1903
Fireworks display advert. TH, 17 12 1903
Scheme to improve sportsground. TH, 17 12 1903
Draining swamp to racecourse. TH, 21 12 1903
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 21 12 1903
1904
Opposition to sports ground expansion. TH, 5 1 1904
Opposition to sports ground expansion. TH, 7 1 1904
Tenders for ploughing sports field. TH, 11 1 1904
Trout fry dying due to heat. TH, 22 1 1904
Grand carnival advert. TDN, 9 2 1904
Grand carnival advert. TH, 10 2 1904
Water lilies donated TH, 15 2 1904
Advert for wood chopping competition. TH, 23 4 1904
Acclimatisation Society report on state of fish ponds in Recreation Grounds. TH, 25 4 1904
Mayor seeks disclosure of finances. TH, 1 5 1904
Borough councillor’s selected to sit on Recreation Ground Board. TDN, 5 5 1904
Increased subsidy to Recreation Ground agreed. TH, 17 5 1904
Recommended converting old hospital. TH, 20 5 1904
Recreation Board Accounts for 1903. TH, 24 5 1904
E H Tribe appointed Secretary and Treasurer of Recreation Grounds Board. TH, 31 5 1904
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 31 5 1904
Possible improvements to Sports Ground. TDN, 1 7 1904
Letter about changes to Sports Ground. TDN, 4 7 1904
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 4 7 1904
Ad for tender for military hospital. TDN, 6 7 1904
Letter about changes to Sports Ground. TDN, 6 7 1904
Pea hen wanted for Recreation Grounds. TH, 9 7 1904
Some future improvements to be made. TH, 9 7 1904
Letter to editor seeking donations. TH, 11 7 1904
Tenders for moving hospital. TH, 23 7 1904
Newton King granted extension for removal of old military hospital. TDN, 27 7 1904
Taranaki v England rugby game advert. TH, 11 8 1904
Taranaki v England rugby game advert. TH, 13 8 1904
Taranaki v Britain game account. TH, 18 8 1904
More views on changes to Sports Ground. TH, 20 8 1904
A pair of opossums released into the Recreation Grounds. TH, 30 8 1904
First provincial soccer match in Taranaki advert. TH, 31 8 1904
First provincial soccer match. TH, 1 9 1904
Report on Taranaki Auckland soccer match. TH, 2 9 1904
Scum on lake after big earthquake. TH, 2 9 1904
Illegal operation in Recreation Grounds TDN, 12 9 1904
Illegal operation at the Band Rotunda. TH, 19 9 1904
Donations including opossums. TH, 20 9 1904
Recommendations to raise sports field. TH, 27 9 1904
10000 fry released. TH, 29 9 1904
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 5 10 1904
Suggestions for improving Sports Ground. TH, 5 10 1904
Borough Council acquire land and old hospital for recreation land. TH,3 12 1903
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 16 12 1904
Mention of Glowworm Caves. TH, 21 12 1904
1905
Swimming carnival and Fireworks display. TH, 2 1 1905
Athletics Sports advert. TH, 3 1 1905
Children’s day advert. TH, 4 1 1905
Military Tournament Advert. TH, 11 1 1905
Military parade – premier’s speech. TH, 13 1 1905
Military hospital (The Gables) rebuilt at Brooklands. TH, 31 1 1905
Vandals in the recreation Grounds. TH, 4 2 1905
Annual subscriptions. TH, 14 2 1905
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 21 2 1905
Complaints about lack of transparency of Recreation Grounds Board. TDN, 22 2 1905
Response to Daily News letter. TDN, 24 2 1905
Yearling trout released from ponds. TH, 3 1905
Tea House to proceed. TH, 16 3 1905
Description of Tea House TH, 22 3 1905
Erection of Tea house starts. TDN, 10 4 1905
Recreation Ground Board meeting – tea rooms started and Sports Ground improvements.TH, 12 4 1905
Star Sports Day. TH, 22 4 1905
Chairman’s Report. TDN, 28 4 1905
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 4 5 1905
Donations to Recreation grounds. TH, 5 5 1905
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 10 7 1905
Donation of plants for planting around new Tea Room. TH, 26 7 1905
Recreation Ground Board meeting – sportsground. TH, 4 8 1905
Herbarium talked about. TDN, 8 8 1905
Herbarium talked about. TDN, 19 8 1905
Assistant custodian job advert. TDN, 8 9 1905
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 8 9 1905
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 13 9 1905
Scheme for improving Sports Ground. TH, 14 9 1905
Plea for funds for Sports Ground development. TH, 30 9 1905
Land for lease. TH, 10 10 1905
Isabella Small Bequest. TH, 16 10 1905
More talk of herbarium. TDN, 2 11 1905
Tea House advert. TH, 7 11 1905
Tea House superintendent appointed. TH, 8 11 1905
New Borough Councillor on Recreation Grounds Board. TH, 14 11 1905
Agreement reached on sportsground development. TH, 15 11 1905
United sports committee gets volunteers. TH, 17 11 1905
Councillor Collis to sit on new Sports Gound committee. TH, 23 11 1905
First meeting of Sports Ground improvement committee. TH, 27 11 1905
Start of fundraising for Sports Ground improvements. TH, 30 11 1905
Sports Ground improvements committee meeting. TH, 1 12 1905
Tea House advert. TH, 5 12 1905
Door to door canvassing for Sports Ground fund. TH, 12 12 1905
Sports Ground Committee fundraising. TDN, 12 12 1905
Sports Ground improvements proposed.TH, 13 12 1905
Jockey Club appoint member to Sports Ground Committee. TH, 14 12 1905
Recreation Grounds Sports Committee thanking sponsors. TH, 14 12 1905
Takings from canvassing for Sports Ground funds. TH, 18 12 1905
1906
Sport Ground committee meeting TDN, 11 1 1906
Sports Ground committee meeting TH, 25 1 1906
Euchre party fundraising. TDN, 27 1 1906
Sports Ground committee meeting. TH, 9 2 1906
Concert fundraiser for Sports Ground funds. TH, 15 2 1906
Garden Party Programme. TH, 20 2 1906
Swimming Sports . TDN, 20 2 1906
Madsen bequest . TH, 21 2 1906
Successful Fete. TH, 22 2 1906
Successful Fete. TH, 22 2 1906
Euchre Party fundraising. TH, 6 3 1906
Boys try to kill pea foul. TH, 9 3 1906
Annual Subscriptions. TH, 12 3 1906
Fundraising Concert. TH, 13 3 1906
Star Sports Day. TDN, 11 4 1906
Handsome bequest. TH, 26 4 1906
List of donors to Sports Ground fund. TDN, 1 5 1906
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 3 5 1906
More fundraising. TH, 21 5 1906
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TDN, 29 5 1906
Rugby pitch not fit to play on. TDN, 1 6 1906
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 7 6 1906
Trouble with cyclists. TDN, 7 6 1906
Annual report for 1905. TH, 14 6 1906
Sedden memorial service. TDN, 22 6 1906
Sub soil from railway deviation for sports field. TH, 30 6 1906
Tender for carting soil. TH, 2 7 1906
Tenders for carting soil. TH, 5 7 1906
Call to demolish Wiggins memorial. TH, 12 7 1906
Topsoil offered for sports ground. TDN, 16 7 1906
Fundraising dance. TH, 23 7 1906
Date set for handing over sportsground. TH, 25 7 1906
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 25 7 1906
New entrance at Gilbert Street. TDN, 26 7 1906
Plant being moved from sportsground area. TDN, 26 7 1906
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 11 8 1906
Commemorative tablet placed on Cannon Hill. TH, 22 8 1906
Bucking Bronco for garden fete. TDN, 30 8 1906
Tender accepted for tree removal. TH, 8 9 1906
Labour Day demonstration fundraiser. TH, 18 9 1906
Tender for enlarging sportsground. TH, 18 9 1906
Tree cutting started – circular saw employed. TH, 21 9 1906
Gander ends up on plate. TDN, 25 9 1906
Tree planting list TH, 28 9 1906
Fireworks display. TH, 6 10 1906
Extraordinary fireworks. TH, 8 10 1906
Advert for Labour Day celebrations and fireworks display. TH, 9 10 1906
Labour Day – Trade Fair. TH, 10 10 1906
Recreation Ground fete account. TDN, 11 10 1906
Sports Ground update. TH, 15 10 1906
New entrance at Gilbert Street. TH, 7 11 1906
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 10 11 1906
Update on sportsground progress. TH, 19 11 1906
Sports Committee report. TH, 5 12 1906
1907
Sportsground update terraces draining etc. TH, 5 2 1907
Fireworks display. TH, 8 2 1907
20,000 trout in nurseries. TH, 18 2 1907
Sports ground progress. TH, 18 2 1907
Donation to central school baths. TH, 20 2 1907
Central school pool. TH, 21 2 1907
Drain pipes arrive on site. TH, 28 2 1907
Flowering Gum tree. TH, 2 3 1907
Grass seed donated for sports field. TH, 12 3 1907
Mace has accident. TH, 14 3 1907
First suggestion of Serpentine development. TH, 20 3 1907
Sportsground update terraces draining etc. TH, 4 4 1907
Topsoil for Sportsground. TH, 15 4 1907
Donation to sports ground development. TH, 19 4 1907
Recreation Ground Board annual meeting . TH, 23 4 1907
Offer to supply plants. TH, 10 5 1907
Terrace faces to be turfed. TH, 11 5 1907
Carrington Road entrance widened. TH, 15 5 1907
Turf for the terraces. TH, 25 5 1907
Seats required for sports ground. TH, 3 6 1907
Seat donations for the sports ground. TH, 21 6 1907
Seat donations for the sports ground. TH, 25 6 1907
Notice re prosecution if caught damaging terraces. TH, 3 7 1907
Proposed name change to Pukekura Park. TH, 11 7 1907
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 11 7 1907
Rip Van Winkle fundraiser. TH, 13 7 1907
Recreation Ground Board meeting – more improvements. TH, 17 7 1907
Native birds in park. TH, 19 7 1907
Seat donation for sports ground. TH, 22 7 1907
Sports ground plantings. TDN, 1 8 1907
Donations to sports ground. TH, 7 8 1907
Council agree to Fillis Street changes. TH, 13 8 1907
Sports ground improvements. TH, 13 8 1907
Entertainment programme for sports ground. TH, 31 8 1907
Poor drainage from sports ground. TH, 9 9 1907
Edgecombe returns from Raglan. TH, 16 9 1907
Tree planting in park. TH, 19 9 1907
Serpentine construction to start. TH, 21 9 1907
Fundraising concert. TDN, 23 9 1907
Recreation Ground Board meeting. TH, 23 9 1907
Fundraising concert. TH, 27 9 1907
Praise for Sports ground Committee. TDN, 1 10 1907
Sheep found to graze new sports field. TH, 8 10 1907
Donations towards Serpentine construction. TH, 16 10 1907
Donation of a row of seats. TH, 25 10 1907
Recreation Ground Board meeting – name change. start of serpentine. TH, 7 11 1907
Working bee to prepare new wicket. TDN, 8 11 1907
Alternative name suggestion – Plymouth Park. TH, 13 11 1907
Central School baths. TH, 20 11 1907
Notice of opening of Pukekura Park Sports Ground. TH, 2 12 1907
White swan has cygnets. TDN, 2 12 1907
Notice of opening of Pukekura Park Sports Ground. TH, 4 12 1907
Sports Ground Committee annual report. TH, 7 12 1907
Sports Ground Committee AGM. TH, 7 12 1907
Sports Ground opening day advert. TH, 10 12 1907
Donations wanted to finish terrace seating. TH, 16 12 1907
Cricket wicket ready for play. TH, 18 12 1907
Athletics meeting Ad. TH, 21 12 1907
Seat donations. TH, 24 12 1907
Serpentine update. TH, 24 12 1907
Fireworks display. TH, 27 12 1907
1908
Links for this section to come shortly
Official opening of Sports Ground. TH, 2 1 1908
25lb eel found during serpentine excavation. TH, 3 1 1908
Letter from Chairman congratulating Sports Committee. TH, 3 1 1908
NZ Athletics Championships. TH, 7 1 1908
Fillis street fence. TH, 11 1 1908
Pukekura Park Board Meeting. TH, 18 1 1908
Park improvements. TH, 27 1 1908
Praise for sports ground. TH, 29 1 1908
F P Corkill letter mentions maze. TH, 30 1 1908
Sports Ground improvements for Championship Athletic meet. TH, 30 1 1908
Electric Lights for Sports Ground. TH, 4 2 1908
Donation for horse drawn roller. TDN, 5 2 1908
Donation for horse drawn roller. TH, 5 2 1908
Request for Sports Ground Seats TH, 6 2 1908
Update on Sports Ground improvements. TDN, 6 2 1908
Park development update. TH, 17 2 1908
Sports Ground seat donation. TH, 18 2 1908
Smiths Manawatu debacle. Manawatu Times, 22 2 1908
Roller for sports ground. TH, 25 2 1908
Review of Athletics meet. TH, 27 2 1908
Band competition results. TH, 28 2 1908
W W Smith appointed curator. TH, 10 3 1908
Smith formerly accepts position of curator. TH, 13 3 1908
Palmerton North resident try to get Smith back. TH, 17 3 1908
Work started on Central School pool. TH, 19 3 1908
W W Smith started work. TH, 21 3 1908
Pukekura park Board Meeting. TH, 7 4 1908
BM – Park Board to seek bigger subsidy. TH, 8 4 1908
Sports Ground fundraising for electric lights. TH, 13 4 1908
Board go cap in hand to council. TH, 14 4 1908
Interview with ww smith. TH, 14 4 1908
Pukekura park Board Meeting. TH, 14 4 1908
Steps being erected to terraces. TDN, 29 4 1908
Palmerston North trying to woo Smith back. TDN, 11 5 1908
Council meeting urging a salary increase to keep Smith. TH, 12 5 1908
Assistant curator ad. TH, 13 5 1908
Duck shot in park. TDN, 26 5 1908
Pukekura Park land for lease. TH, 27 5 1906
Pukekura Park Board Meeting. TH, 27 5 1906
Central school baths proposal. TH, 30 5 1908
Swan returns to park. TH, 30 5 1908
Progress of swimming pool for Central School. TH, 3 6 1908
Park gets increased subsidy to retain Smith. TH, 9 6 1908
Smith plants fernery on island. TH, 12 6 1908
Progress of Central School Pool. TH, 16 6 1908
Land for lease by auction. TH, 24 6 1908
Mr Crozier donates kiwi. TH, 26 6 1908
Improvements to sports ground. TH, 30 6 1908
Curator’s report. TH, 4 7 1908
Taranaki v Britain ad. TDN, 14 7 1908
Taranaki v Britain result TH, 16 7 1908
Taranaki v Britain game writeup TH, 16 7 1908
Central school baths nearly complete. TH, 22 7 1908
Meeting to recognise Humphries role in sports ground development. TH, 29 7 1908
Central School boys help making path around pool. TH, 30 7 1908
New drain being installed at sports field. TH, 3 8 1908
Show of golden wattle. TH, 3 8 1908
Land Slip near glowworm. TDN, 6 8 1908
Smith injures himself. TH, 11 8 1908
Curators Report . TH, 8 9 1908
Pond in Stainton dell. TH, 8 9 1908
Pukekura park Board Meeting. TH, 8 9 1908
Small lakelet in Stainton dell. TH, 9 9 1908
Collecting plants from Egmont TH, 12 9 1908
Practice wicket being prepared. TH, 17 9 1908
Smith erecting pergola plus 3 more stories. TDN, 24 9 1908
W W Smith erecting a pergola. TDN, 24 9 1908
Goslings and fundraising. TH, 13 10 1908
Dogs worrying sheep on sports ground. TH, 14 10 1908
Central School pool and another article TH, 15 10 1908
About Picnic and floral fete TDN, 16 10 1908
Pukekura park Board Meeting. TH, 21 10 1908
1909
Pukekura Park Board Meeting. TH, 28 1 1909
Central school pool TH, 16 2 1909
Park update birds. TH, 19 2 1909
Lights in the park TH, 22 3 1909
Fireworks funds dire. TH, 30 3 1909
Smith on Gilbert St entrance mods. TDN, 1 7 1909
Issues with birds being stolen TH, 15 7 1909
Request to build fish hatchery TH, 16 7 1909
Unemployed put to work. TH, 21 7 1909
Recreation Ground Board accounts. TDN, 24 7 1909
Smith’s services offered to friendly society.TH, 3 8 1909
Unemployed workers in park.TH, 4 8 1909
Pukekura Park Board Meeting TH, 3 8 1909
Acclimatisation soc ponds. TH, 7 8 1909
Pukekura Park Board Meeting TH, 7 9 1909
Ponds operating 40000 trout in ponds . TH, 29 9 1909
Pukekura Park Board Meeting. TH, 5 10 1909
Smith improves walk to Rotunda. TDN, 8 10 1909
Sports meeting. TH, 28 10 1909
Frogs in the park. TH, 1 11 1909
Display of fireworks. TH, 4 11 1909
Funds from fireworks. TH, 8 11 1909
Athletics meet. TH, 10 11 1909
Swans eggs stolen TH, 24 11 1909
Swan egg theft. TH, 24 11 1909
Egg stealer caught TH, 26 11 1909
Movies in the park. TH, 4 12 1909
Board in deep debt. TH, 8 12 1909
1910
Upcoming fireworks display article. TH, 15 1 1910
Fireworks display ad. TDN, 21 1 1910
Fireworks display write up. TH, 22 1 1910
Proposed fish hatchery. TH, 5 2 1910
Visit of H. M. S. Pegasus ad. TDN, 14 2 1910
Sports meeting with crew of H. M. S. Pegasus. TH, 16 2 1910
Shackleton movie in the park. TDN, 17 2 1910
Shackleton movie write up. TH, 18 2 1910
Smith on noxious weeds. TH, 21 2 1910
W W Smith offer to name plants. TH, 21 2 1910
Taranaki v Australia cricket ad. TH, 18 3 1910
Taranaki v Australia cricket. TDN, 21 3 1910
Caledonian sports ad. TH, 23 3 1910
Taranaki v Australia cricket match report. TDN, 23 3 1910
Horse fell down terraces. TDN, 24 3 1910
O Samuel donation. TH, 30 3 1910
Australian cricketers praise ground. TH, 12 4 1910
Fundraising dance ad. TH, 16 4 1910
Central School pool abandoned. TH, 27 4 1910
Pukekura Park Board A. G. M. TH, 3 5 1910
Smith and Smith to collect plants. TH, 3 5 1910
Smiths kiwi observations with weka. EVENING POST, 7 5 1910
Update on fish ponds. TDN, 11 5 1910
King’s funeral. TDN, 21 5 1910
Board Meeting re tennis club. TDN, 16 6 1910
Tennis and croquet club tender for courts. TDN, 25 6 1910
Inaugural meeting to form tennis and croquet club. TDN, 1 7 1910
Smiths ad for kiwis. TH, 4 7 1910
W W Smith report. TDN, 5 7 1910
Forking of cricket pitch. TH, 23 7 1910
Tennis and croquet club meeting. TH, 26 7 1910
Sports Ground fundraising. TH, 8 8 1910
Tennis and croquet club meeting. TH, 10 8 1910
Tennis and croquet club meeting progress report. TH, 30 8 1910
Letter from W. C. T. U. regarding Sunday tennis. TDN, 6 9 1910
Call for improvement to Vogeltown entrance. TDN, 10 9 1910
Tennis court progress. TDN, 10 9 1910
Tennis court development. TDN, 17 10 1910
Hot Air Ballon demonstration ad. TH, 23 11 1910
Tennis and Croquet Club meeting progress report. TDN, 23 11 1910
Hot Air Ballon article. TDN, 24 11 1910
Hot Air Ballon flight. TDN, 25 11 1910
Swan flies into cable. TH, 19 12 1910
Fireworks display ad. TH, 21 12 1910
1911
Opening of tennis club. TH, 4 1 1911
Garden party and fete for lord Islington. TH, 19 1 1911
Garden party and fete for Lord Islington, dress description. TDN, 28 1 1911
Fireworks display ad. TH, 13 2 1911
Financial crisis. TH, 9 3 1911
Park Board visit tennis club site. TH, 10 3 1911
Board buying back own goldfish. TDN, 27 3 1911
Cutting down pine trees. TDN, 11 4 1911
Hatchery plans abandoned. TDN, 29 4 1911
Council reps on Park Board. TDN, 4 5 1911
Felling Pine Trees. TDN, 20 5 1911
Kingfisher habits in the park. Otago Witness, 31 5 1911
Park Board balance sheet. TH, 28 6 1911
Rose Garden to be made. TDN, 17 7 1911
Pine trees to be felled. TH, 16 8 1911
Ponds full of trout. TDN, 16 8 1911
1912
Visitors letter. TDN, 30 1 1912
Undervalued Park. TH, 6 2 1912
Tribe resigns as secretary. TH, 7 2 1912
W W Smith on botanical expedition. TDN, 12 2 1912
Park Saturday’s fundraising. TDN, 14 2 1912
Swimming sports proposal. TH, 17 2 1912
Discussion re handing over Board to council. TDN, 23 2 1912
Talk of handing over to council. TDN, 24 2 1912
Letter from Govett. TH, 26 2 1912
Results of Park Saturday fundraising. TH, 5 3 1912
Suggestion of friends of the park. TH, 6 3 1912
High school swimming comp. TH, 9 3 1912
Tea rooms under new management. TDN, 26 4 1912
Smith’s kiwi breeding. TH, 16 5 1912
Kiwi killed by stoat. TDN, 17 5 1912
Annual meeting mention of peacock house. TH, 21 5 1912
Park board considering taking back sports ground. TDN, 21 5 1912
Planting and donations. TH, 21 5 1912
Pukekura Park Board A. G. M. TDN, 21 5 1912
Water-fowl in the park TDN, 27 5 1912
sports committee on defence. TDN, 21 5 1912
Movie about park. TDN, 3 6 1912
Changes to board. TDN, 25 6 1912
Death of peacock. TDN, 25 6 1912
C H Drew appointed secretary. TH, 26 6 1912
Inspector wanted. TDN, 31 6 1912
Smith enquiring about Kiwi nesting habits. TH, 5 7 1912
Dogs killing birds. TDN, 6 8 1912
Inspector employed. TH, 14 8 1912
Tea rooms open all day. TH, 4 9 1912
Springboard gone – Smith catching eels. TDN, 23 10 1912
Horse shoe fern. TDN, 5 11 1912
Pinus halepensis. TH, 19 11 1912
Picture entertainment in the Park. TDN, 27 12 1912
1913
Maori Sports Day. TDN, 3 1 1913
Tea House Renovation. TH, 14 1 1913
Discussion about sports ground. TH, 4 3 1913
Trade Commission visit. Rider Haggard. TH, 13 3 1913
Pukekura Park Board A.G.M. TH, 6 5 1913
Story of sentries Ward and Wolfe. TH, 24 5 1913
Auckland Taranaki – Rugby. TH, 5 9 1913
1914
Pohutukawa in flower. TH, 9 1 1914
Royal Artillery band ad. TH, 10 2 1914
R.A.B. praise park. TH, 21 2 1914
Royal Artillery Band Performance. TH, 21 2 1914
Cutting down puriri. TH, 3 3 1914
Pukekura Park Board A. G. M. TH, 19 5 1914
Richard Cock elected chairman. TH, 19 5 1914
Death of Clement Govett. TH, 12 6 1914
Tribute to Govett. TH, 7 7 1914
Ranfurly shield ad. TH, 24 8 1914
Ranfurly shield report. TDN, 28 8 1914
Ladies hockey Taranaki v England. TDN, 29 8 1914
C H Drew appointed to board. TH, 16 12 1914
1915
Caretaker shoots shags. TDN, 5 1 1915
Meteorological station in park. TDN, 5 1 1915
Fundraiser Relief Fund. TH, 7 1 1915
Pukekura Park Sports Ground in bad condition. TDN, 13 1 1915
Fireworks and Fete ad. TH, 1 2 1915
Fireworks review. TH, 11 2 1915
Issues with the Sports Ground lease. TH, 9 3 1915
No park Saturday. TH, 9 3 1915
Thieving in the park. TH, 15 4 1915
Call to form new Sports Ground committee. TDN, 19 4 1915
Variegated kawakawa. TDN, 27 4 1915
Decline of ducks Lyttelton. Times, 22 25 1915
Pukekura Park Board A.G.M. TH, 25 5 1915
Typical weather report. TH, 2 8 1915
Man charged for cycling in the Park. TH, 28 10 1915
1916
Links for this section to come shortly
A sight in New Plymouth. TDN, 17 1 1916
Eels and ducklings. TDN, 2 2 1916
Hughes to write history. TDN, 2 2 1916
Waterfowl stolen. TDN, 2 2 1916
Two Controlling ducks. TH, 8 3 1916
Long term on Board. TH, 8 3 1916
Water supply from jockey club. TDN, 19 4 1916
Letter from Smith’s son. TH, 27 4 1916
Board meeting. AGM TH, 3 5 1916
Board to take control of Sports Ground. TH, 3 5 1916
Offer to pay staff. TH, 3 5 1916
Park Board take possession of sports ground. TDN, 3 5 1916
Citizens Band concert. TH, 2 6 1916
Citizens band performance. TDN, 5 6 1916
Park Saturday receipts .TH, 6 6 1916
Clement Wragge offer advice. TH, 7 6 1916
Annual subscribers. TH, 5 7 1916
Letter praising park. TDN, 5 7 1916
Hughes Park History. part 1. TH, 3 8 1916
Hughes Park History. part 2. TH, 3 8 1916
Hughes Park History. part 3. TH, 3 8 1916
Hughes Park History. part 4. TH, 3 8 1916
Hughes Park History. part 5. TH, 3 8 1916
Hughes Park History. part 6. TH, 3 8 1916
C. E. Bellringer appointed to board. TH, 29 8 1916
Plant donations, Cuckoo. TDN, 26 9 1916
Brass band review. TDN, 2 10 1916
New Vogeltown Entrance, Cannon vandalised. TH, 4 10 1916
Soldiers’ comforts week ad. TDN, 20 10 1916
Soldiers’ comforts week review. TDN, 23 10 1916
Burgess donation. TH, 8 11 1916
Board meeting. TH, 6 12 1916 7
1917
W W Smith undervalued. TDN, 9 1 1917
Curators report. TH, 10 1 1917
Pergola near sports ground. TDN, 19 1 1917
Donation for lights. TH, 1 2 1917
Electric lights. TDN, 1 2 1917
Board meeting sports ground state. TH, 7 3 1917
New hot water fountain. TDN, 17 3 1917
Band concert for electric lights in park. TH, 12 4 1917
Pukekura Park Board A.G.M. TH, 25 4 1917
Borough councillors on board. TH, 3 5 1917
Park Saturday ad. TH, 30 5 1917
Park Saturday takings. TDN, 4 6 1917
Sad state of pitch. TH, 30 6 1917
Drowning in the lake. TH, 10 7 1917
Horse and cart wanted for park. TDN, 16 7 1917
Bequest and donation. TDN, 3 8 1917
Tribe walks out over electric lights. TH, 3 10 1917
Special meeting – mirror waterfall to be remade. TDN, 14 11 1917
Mrs Hartnell’s body in lake. TH, 27 11 1917
Board Meeting. TDN, 29 11 1917
1918
Rose bed to move. TH, 9 1 1918
Park to develop a fernery. TDN, 10 1 1918
Proposed improvements. TDN, 17 1 1918
Park fete day organisation. TDN, 9 2 1918
Mayor’s honorarium. TH, 12 2 1918
Fined for driving in the park. TH, 14 2 1918
Gymkhana a success. TDN, 8 3 1918
W W Smith and weka breeding. TDN, 23 4 1918
Mrs Osborne found dead in lake. Sun Christchurch, 24 4 1918
Pukekura Park Board A.G.M. TH, 8 5 1918
Councillor Browne replaces Collis. on Board. TDN, 14 5 1918
Board Meeting – Jockey Club house. TDN, 4 7 1918
W W Smith Weka Breeding stories. Lyttelton Times, 13 7 1918
Fancy dress rugby fundraiser. TH, 3 9 1918
Fancy dress rugby review. TDN, 6 9 1918
Tin can band competition. TDN, 10 10 1918
Board Meeting. TDN, 16 10 1918
Citizens band contest. TH, 29 10 1918
Percy smith resigns. TDN, 6 11 1918
1919
Stone wall proposed for Fillis St. TH, 13 2 1919
Peace celebration. TDN, 25 2 1919
Pair of black swans donated. TH, 28 3 1919
Objection to Fillis St wall. TDN, 2 4 1919
Flowering banana tree. TDN, 9 4 1919
Councillors to join Board. TDN, 8 5 1919
Wiggins memorial damaged. TDN, 19 5 1919
Pine cones for sale. TH, 18 6 1919
Pukekura Park Board. A.G.M. TH, 18 6 1919
Peace celebration. TDN, 21 7 1919
Stone wall gets go-ahead. TH, 6 8 1919
Workers party picnic. TH, 20 9 1919
Sports Ground working bee. TH, 6 10 1919
Shining Cuckoo in the Park. NZ Herald, 18 10 1919
Labour day sports review. TDN, 28 10 1919
Ad for secretary. TH, 31 10 1919
1920
Band Concert review. TH, 19 1 1920
Bad state of Sports Ground. TDN, 4 2 1920
Percy Smith honoured. TH, 4 2 1920
Sketch of proposed Tea House presented to Board. TDN, 4 2 1920
Mrs Burgess fundraising proposal. TH, 3 3 1920
Pine tree removal discussions. TH, 3 3 1920
Tea House proposal to expensive. TDN, 3 3 1920
Board meeting, Mrs Burgess stirring it up. TDN, 5 3 1929
Tram route proposed through the Park. TH, 9 3 1920
£1000 fund proposal. TH, 24 3 1920
Prince of Wales to drive through park. TDN, 24 3 1920
Thousand pound fund. concert ad. TH, 29 3 1920
Racecourse Walk widened for Prince of Wales visit. TDN, 7 4 1920
Sports Ground committee. TDN, 7 4 1920
Tram route through park. TDN, 7 4 1920
Prince of Wales visit arrangements. TH, 13 4 1920
Prince of Wales visit seating. TH, 20 4 1920
Widows seating for Prince of Wales visit. TDN, 21 4 1920
Prince of Wales feathers. TDN, 24 4 1920
Visit of Prince of Wales 3 may. TH, 3 5 1920
Visit of Prince of Wales 3 may. TH, 3 5 1920
Prince of Wales visit report. TDN, 4 5 1920
Apple and Chrysanthemum Day fundraising. TH, 10 5 1920
Fundraising takings. TH, 15 5 1920
High School Old Girld street collection. TH, 22 5 1920
Council to approach Park Board re trams through park. TH, 25 5 1920
Mrs Burgess targets £1000. TDN, 27 5 1920
Hockey tournament. TDN, 2 6 1920
Proposed tram route through Park. TH, 16 6 1920
Shetland Pony donated for £1000 fund. TH, 17 6 1920
Boating on Sundays. TDN, 7 7 1920
Plant donations. TDN, 10 7 1920
Some pines culled. TH, 14 7 1920
£1000 events ad. TDN, 3 8 1920
Plant donations. TDN, 4 8 1920
Pukekura Park Board meeting. T DN, 4 8 1920
Day carnival opened. TDN, 5 8 1920 5
Park Carnival day 1 review. TH, 11 8 1920
Edgecombe dies. TDN, 12 8 1920
Park Carnival day 2 review. TH, 12 8 1920
Childs description of park. TH, 13 8 1920
Park Carnival closes. TH, 16 8 1920
New sports committee formed. TH, 18 8 1920
Burgess Interview. TDN, 21 8 1920
New sports committee. TH, 25 8 1920
Sports Ground pine trees removed. TDN, 26 8 1920
Reopening fish ponds in park. TH, 27 8 1920
Modifications to Tea Kiosk. TH, 8 9 1920
Damage to terraces. TDN, 10 9 1920
White swans donated. TDN, 14 10 1920
Trout holding ponds finished but fish released by larrakins.TH, 25 10 1920
W W Smith resigns. TDN, 25 10 1920
Letter to Editor re W W Smith resignation. TDN, 26 10 1920
W W Smith resignation – the Board’s position. TH, 3 11 1920
White swans go walk-about. TH, 4 11 1920
Letter from W W Smith to paper re resignation. TH, 5 11 1920
Board meeting, hatchery considered. TH, 8 12 1920
Board Meeting. Letter from Smith threatening legal action. TH, 8 12 1920
Tubular bells. TDN, 15 12 1920
Collis Obituary. TH, 16 12 1920
1921
Bellringer returns from overseas with ideas. TH, 12 1 1921
Row boats and hot water available at Park. TH, 12 1 1921
Sports Ground Committee – Groundsman. TH, 26 1 1921
Board Meeting – Question of Control. TH, 2 2 1921
Question of control. TH, 15 2 1921
Control of park. TH, 22 2 1921
Sports committee fundraising. TH, 23 2 1921
Acclimatisation Society hatchery. TH, 2 3 1921
Acclimatisation society. TH, 19 4 1921
Chopping competition. TH, 22 4 1921
Board Meeting- Burgess resigns. TDN, 4 5 1921
W L Newman Obituary. TH, 18 6 1921
Pukekura Park Board A.G.M. TH, 6 7 1921
Special meeting – fernery – rhodo dell. TH, 15 7 1921
Springbok game – famous draw. TDN, 18 7 1921
Proposed sportsground improvements. TDN, 23 7 1921
Trout released. TDN, 15 8 1921
Story of hatching. TDN, 20 8 1921
Sports Ground improvements. TH, 10 9 1921
Opening up of Gilbert St. TDN, 27 9 1921
Sports Ground Improvement. TH, 29 9 1921
Sports Ground Improvements. TH, 7 10 1921
Sports Ground Update. TH, 3 11 1921
Clement Wragge. TDN, 24 11 1921
Sports Ground fundraising. TH, 2 12 1921
1922
Sports Ground Improvements. TH, 6 1 1922
Baptism in the lake. TDN, 16 1 1922
Sports Ground committee. TH, 7 2 1922
Sports Ground improvements. TDN, 6 3 1922
Sports Ground fundraising concert. TH, 13 3 1922
Dogs in the park. TH, 25 3 1922
Percy Smith obituary. TDN, 20 4 1922
Harris Ford Obituary. TH, 21 4 1922
Opossums protected. TDN, 21 4 1922
Fundraising concert. TH, 1 5 1922
Sports ground committee meeting. TH, 3 5 1922
Sports Ground re-opening. TH, 3 5 1922
Sportsground re opening. TDN, 5 5 1922
Pukekura Park Board A.G.M. TDN, 7 6 1922
Employing the unemployed. TH, 4 7 1922
Unemployed employed. TH, 11 7 1922
Gilbert Street Gully to be filled in. TDN, 8 8 1922
Proposed modifications to Sports Ground terraces. TH, 6 9 1922
Fernery near completion. TDN, 9 9 1922
Rhododendrons stolen. TH, 12 9 1922
Hatchery summary. TDN, 29 9 1922
Queen carnival proposed. TDN, 29 9 1922
Rockery to be made. TH, 8 11 1922
Mr. Revell dies. TDN, 8 12 1922
1923
Caledonian athletics meet. TH, 12 3 1923
Pavilion promised. TH, 16 4 1923
Acclimatisation society annual report. TH, 17 4 1923
Pavilion fundraising. TH, 20 4 1923
Trout ova to be ordered. TH, 1 5 1923
Council representatives on the Board. TDN, 8 5 1923
Crockett Benefit. TH, 21 5 1923
Sports Ground Committee. TH, 23 5 1923
Empire Day celebration. TH, 25 5 1923
Pukekura Park Board A.G.M. TH, 18 7 1923
Sports Ground Committee. TH, 2 10 1923
Pavilion given go-ahead. TH, 5 10 1923
Tender for pavilion. TH, 3 11 1923
Sports Ground Committee AGM. TH, 21 11 1923
Sports Ground Committee Chairmans report. TH, 21 11 1923
Fundraising Queen carnival suggested. TH, 22 11 1923
Sports Ground Committee A.G.M. TH, 22 11 1923
Fernery fundraising. TDN, 28 11 1923
Fundraising for fernery. TDN, 3 12 1923
Fundraising queen carnival. TDN, 19 12 1923
Aim of Queen Carnival. TH, 21 12 1923
Relationship between S.G. Committee and Park Board. TDN, 21 12 1923
1924
Tramway extension to park. TH, 27 2 1924
Queen Carnival results. TDN, 10 3 1924
Maisie Whittle dies. TDN, 14 3 1924
Sports Ground committee. TH, 19 3 1924
St Marys Church timber from Pukekura Valley. TDN, 25 3 1924
Queen carnival financial results. TH, 27 3 1924
Acclimatisation Soc annual report extract. TH, 15 4 1924
Anzac Day Service. TDN, 26 4 1924
New pavilion thoroughly equipped. TH, 27 5 1924
Appointment of Thomas Horton. TH, 10 6 1924
Board Meeting. Fernery outlined. TDN, 19 6 1924
Trams to park – notice of opening. TH, 1 7 1924
Hatchery article. TH, 1 8 1924
Shuttleworth bequest. TDN, 8 8 1924
Kennel Club – Inaugural Dog Show. TDN, 4 10 1924
Dog show write-up. TDN, 6 10 1924
Pine tree being felled. TH, 20 10 1924
Pine tree being felled, R C Hughes Letter. TH, 25 10 1924
Horton’s plantings. Hawera and Normanby Star, 8 11 1924
1925
Boxing match at Pukekura Park. NZ Truth, 7 2 1925
Boxing roundup. TDN, 13 2 1925
Council reps on board. TDN, 7 5 1925
Pukekura Park Board meeting. TH, 22 7 1925
House tender at Brooklands. TDN, 3 8 1925
T K Skinner Obituary. TH, 29 8 1925
A botanical survey. TH, 19 9 1925
Walk through the park. TH, 19 9 1925
Pukekura Park Board meeting. TH, 23 9 1925
Pukekura Park Board meeting.TH, 21 10 1925
Six seats donated Mr Emeny. TDN, 21 10 1925
Fireworks display. TDN, 6 11 1925
Control of Sportsground. TDN, 25 11 1925
Pine Tree falls during cricket match. Manawatu Standard, 2 12 1925
1926
Scout rally and camp in the Park. TDN, 4 1 1926
Acclimatisation Society – Hatchery matters. TH, 20 1 1926
Visitors – ducks – albatross. TH, 20 1 1926
Visitors to the park – new tractor. TH, TH 6 1 1926
Swimming carnival – Fernery fundraiser. TDN, 5 3 1926
Swimming carnival success. TDN, 12 3 1926
Fireworks display. TDN, 19 3 1926
Board Meeting. A.G.M TH, 28 4 1926
Fernery to commence – funds needed. TDN, 16 6 1926
Fernery to commence – funds needed. TH, 16 6 1926
Fernery appeal. TDN, 17 6 1926
Acclimatisation notes _hatching. TH, 19 6 1926
Works in Progress. TH, 29 6 1926
Fundraising circular for building Fernery. TH, 4 7 1926
Improvement funds. TH, 13 7 1926
Park collection – Fernery appeal. TH, 16 7 1926
Construction of fernery. TH, 19 7 1926
Fernery progress. TDN, 20 7 1926
Status of board members. TH, 20 7 1926
Board Meeting – Fernery fund collection. TH, 21 7 1926
Seat donations. TDN, 21 10 1926
Seat donations. TDN, 26 10 1926
Fireworks display. TDN, 9 11 1926
Seats donated. TDN, 17 11 1926
1927
Sports Ground improvements. TH, 10 2 1927
Amateur Athletics night meeting. TDN, 21 2 1927
Upkeep of parks. TH, 15 3 1927
Rates for Park if transferred. TDN, 27 4 1927
Laying turf – Longburn soil. TDN, 1 4 1927
Acclimatisation Society. TH, 22 4 1927
Board Meeting A.G.M. TDN, 4 5 1927
Canadian soccer team beat Taranaki. TDN, 26 5 1927
Insufficient funds – suggest vesting in Borough. TDN, 22 6 1927
Support for transfer of Park. TDN, 24 6 1927
Newton King bequest. TDN, 11 8 1927
Proposal to vest Park in Borough Council. TDN, 30 8 1927
Fernery update. TDN, 15 9 1927
Acclimatisation meeting extract – Hatchery shutdown. TH, 19 9 1927
Control of park. TDN, 20 9 1927
Park to be vested in council. TDN, 20 9 1927
White swan found dead. TDN, 20 9 1927
Description of new Fernery. TDN, 21 9 1927
Rats in the hatchery. Thames Star, 26 9 1927
Floodlighting sports ground TH, 1 10 1927
Floodlighting of sports ground. TH, 3 10 1927
Death of birds. TDN, 12 10 1927
Fireworks display. TDN, 7 11 1927
Letter from nurse Cavell’s sister. TDN, 11 11 1927
Sports Ground Improvements. TDN, 9 12 1927
Eels in the park – protecting ducklings. TDN, 13 12 1927
Fernery and rhododendron dell. TDN, 14 12 1927
1928
Floral carnival – fundraising. TH, 18 1 1928
Fernery ready to open. TH, 26 1 1928
Historic pageant planned. TDN, 14 2 1928
Sports meeting – Stan Lay. TH, 20 2 1928
Pageant of Nations. TDN, 9 3 1928
Pageant of Nations fundraiser. TDN, 12 3 1928
Pageant takings. TDN, 13 3 1928
Taranaki v Australia cricket. TDN, 15 3 1928
Taranaki v Australia. TDN, 16 3 1928
Governor General visit. TH, 12 6 1928
Dissolution of board. TH, 20 7 1928
1929
Board of Trustees dissolved. TH, 3 4 1929
Pohutukawa planted above eastern terrace. TDN, 25 6 1929
Rats in the hatchery. Otago Daily Times, 21 9 1929
Control of park. TH, 16 10 1929
Borough Council take over park. TH, 17 10 1929
First tree planted Pic. TH, 17 10 1929
Number 1 chamber Pic. TH, 17 10 1929
New propagating house. TH, 18 10 1929
Official handover of Park. TH, 18 10 1929
Picture of fernery. TH, 18 10 1929
Governor Generals visit. TH, 23 10 1929
Picture of Clinton Huges and John Claffey. TH, 24 10 1929
Governor General – Sir Charles Fergusson in the Park pic. NZ Herald, 26 10 1929
1930
Graham donates three hundred pounds for sports ground lighting. NZ Herald, 7 1 1930
Large begonia in Fernery. Waikato Times, 7 1 1930
Board meeting caretakers cottage TH, 15 1 1930
Board meeting free fernery TH, 15 1 1930
Lighting sportsground TH, 15 1 1930
Park Board Meeting. TH, 15 1 1930
Board meeting Cottage location chosen. TH, 20 2 1930
Felling of pines. TH, 15 4 1930
Fernery visitors – Dog nuisance TH, 14 5 1930
Tender for cottage advert TH, 17 5 1930
Development scheme TH, 22 5 1930
Rugby ad Britain v Taranaki TH, 22 5 1930
Builder for cottage selected TH, 23 5 1930
British rugby team photo TH, 24 5 1930
Taranaki v Britain game result TH, 24 5 1930
Trees cut in park TH, 9 7 1930
Sports Ground committee TH, 10 7 1930
Scheme for lighting Sports Ground TH, 11 7 1930
1931
Tenders to be called for new tea house design. Evening Post, 14 3 1931
Board meeting – Tea House. TDN, 21 3 1931
Large pine tree in Pukekura Park. Nelson Evening Mail, 4 4 1931
Sparrows at the Tea House. Wairarapa Daily Times, 30 4 1931
Entries for tea House design. TDN, 1 5 1931
Competition results for Tea House design. TDN, 9 5 1931
Sports Ground committee protest. TH, 15 5 1931
Tea kiosk plan chosen. TH, 1 6 1931
Board Meeting to accept kiosk plans. TH, 2 6 1931
Description of proposed new Tea House. TDN,15 6 1931
Borough sewer system to be extended to Tea House. TDN, 7 7 1931
Tea House construction well underway. TDN, 5 8 1931
New kiosk progressing. TH, 15 8 1931
Tea House sewer line to be extended to Brooklands Road. TDN, 18 8 1931
Progress of sewer line through park. TDN, 25 8 1931
Tree felling in the Park. TH, 9 9 1931
Taranaki beat Australia. Patea. Mail, 21 9 1931
Pukekura park Board Meeting – Tree felling. TH, 1 10 31
Trees behind curator’s house. TH, 2 10 1931
Azaleas in the Park. TH, 26 10 1931
Burgess donates money for Tea House silverware. TDN, 11 11 1931
1932
Annual fernery numbers. TH, 9 3 1932
Planting new trees. TH, 28 4 1932
Tints of colour. TH, 28 4 1932
Growth of original kauri tree. TH, 15 6 1932
Rhododendron Gift. TH, 15 6 1932
Remarkable Kauri maybe not as it seems. Auckland Star, 7 7 1932
Remarkable Kauri maybe not as it seems. Evening Post, 8 7 1932
Bird Catching Plant (Stratford. Evening Post, 2 8 1932
Horton on Parapara tree. Nelson Evening Mail, 8 9 1932
Rhododendron Dell. TDN, 6 10 1932
1933
Blooms every 14 years. Waikato Independent, 7 2 1933
Big Eel caught. Bay of plenty Times, 29 5 1933
Sanders Bequest. TH, 15 6 1933
Use of Sportsground. TH, 30 8 1933
Rhododendron dell. TH, 1 9 1933
Beautiful Brooklands. TH, 2 9 1933
Horton on Brooklands. TH, 2 9 1933
Agreement about Brooklands future. TH, 4 9 1933
Brooklands a great asset. TH, 4 9 1933
Brooklands lake cleaned. TH, 12 9 1933
Rhododendron Dell. TH, 31 9 1931
Fernery takings. TH, 22 11 1933
1934
Fernery visitors. TH, 3 1 1934
Brooklands stables to go. TDN, 8 1 1934
Access to Brooklands List and Wilkinson properties. TH, 10 1 1934
Brooklands property. Suggested improvements. TDN, 10 1 1934
Caledonian Sports. TH, 10 1 1934
Committee meeting – opening of Brooklands. TDN, 10 1 1934
Gift of native bush. Maranui Gully. TDN, 10 1 1934
Notice of Opening of Brooklands. TH, 20 1 1934
Brooklands Lake Pic. NZ Herald, 26 1 1934
Proposed Brooklands opening day. TH, 30 1 1934
Main Lake and Tea House picture. AWN, 7 2 1934
Caledonian Sports. TH, 22 1 1934
BM Brookland Opening – Arrangements made. TH, 27 2 1934
Brooklands By-laws. TH, 27 2 1934
Today is Brooklands opening day -pictures. TH, 10 3 1934
Bledisloe Speech at Brooklands opening. Evening Post, 12 3 1934
Brooklands opening Ceremony. TH, 12 3 1934
Brooklands opening Ceremony. TDN, 12 3 1934
Description of Brooklands Garden. TDN, 12 3 1934
Growth of Brooklands. TDN, 12 3 1934
Brooklands opening day. TH, 16 3 1934
Brooklands chestnut. TH, 22 3 1934
Proposed Hughes plating kauri. TH, 29 3 1934
Board Meeting. Rhodo Dell. TH, 29 3 1934
Brooklands handover Eliot King. TH, 16 3 1934
Hughes kauri planting. TH, 6 4 1934
Huges kauri planting photo. TH, 11 4 1934
Huges kauri planting photo . TH, 11 4 1934
Brooklands stables cleared and replanted. TDN, 12 5 1934
Ceremonial spade found. TDN, 18 5 1934
Brooklands demolition. Patea Mail, 15 6 1934
Work at Brooklands. TH, 24 7 1934
Spade to be mounted in kiosk. Auckland Star, 30 7 1934
T. C. List tribute. TH, 22 8 1934
Fillis Street reserve. TDN, 4 9 1934
Committee meeting. TH, 26 9 1934
Committee meeting – Sports Ground. TH, 10 10 1934
Sportsground improvements. TDN, 13 11 1934
Committee meeting. TH, 14 11 1934
1935
Duke of Gloucester visit pic. TH, 7 1 1935
Duke of Gloucester visit pic. TH, 7 1 1935
Robert Clinton Hughes dies. TH, 18 1 1935
Committee meeting. TH, 13 2 1935
Rail ad Auckland to New Plymouth. Auckland Star, 6 3 1935
Committee meeting. TH, 13 3 1935
Siltation in the Park lake. TH, 3 4 1935
Park flood damage – Large silt build-up. TDN, 4 4 1935
Committee meeting. TH, 10 4 1935
Committee meeting. TH, 8 5 1935
Kings Jubilee picture. AWN, 15 5 1935
Scouts to plant trees Fillis St Native Reserve. TDN, 5 6 1935
Climbing down terraces. TH, 12 6 1935
Committee meeting. TH, 12 6 1935
Spread of disease in the Park. TH, 12 6 1935
Park trees diseased. TH, 10 7 1935
Committee meeting. TH, 10 7 1935
Kauri Grove planned. TH, 14 8 1935
Nurse Cavell’s Spanish Chestnut. NZ Herald, 14 8 1935
Committee meeting. TH, 14 8 1935
BM Planting of Brooklands. TDN, 11 9 1935
Trees on eastern terrace. TH, 11 9 1935
Committee meeting. TH, 9 10 1935
Committee meeting. TH, 13 11 1935
Committee meeting. 1 TH, 11 12 1935
Committee meeting. 2 TH, 11 12 1935
Vice Regal visit. TH, 16 12 1935
Lord Galway visit picture. TH, 19 12 1935
Lord Galway visit picture. TH, 19 12 1935
1936
George V memorial service. TH, 27 1 1936
Taranaki v MCC Drawn game. TH, 30 1 1936
Taranaki v MCC Drawn game score card. TH, 30 1 1936
Visitors impression of cricket tour. TH, 30 1 1936
MCC v Taranaki photo NP batting picture. TH, 3 2 1936
MCC Cricket match. NZ Herald, 5 2 1936
Committee meeting. TH, 12 2 1936
Story of The Poets Bridge sweepstake. TH, 19 2 1936
Band Contest Ad. TH, 21 2 1936
Brass band Competition. TH, 25 2 1936
Planting for future. TH, 26 2 1936
Taranaki Regiment presented with new colours. NZ Herald, 23 3 1936
Taranaki Regiment presented with new colours. TH, 26 3 1936
Committee meeting. TH, 12 3 1936
BM Pines in the park. TH, 22 4 1936
Terraces to be reformed. TH, 23 6 1936
120 ft pine tree falls. Horowhenua Chronicle, 29 6 1936
Brooklands entrance. TH, 15 7 1936
Committee meeting. TH, 15 7 1936
The Poets Bridge unsafe. TH, 15 7 1936
Committee meeting. TH, 12 8 1936
Committee meeting. TH, 9 9 1936
Sports Ground terraces. TH, 9 9 1936
A Transformation – kauri Grove. TH, 15 9 1936
Semi tropical plants T Horton. TH, 15 9 1936
Sports Ground improvements. TH, 5 10 1936
Aeroplane wood. Stratford Evening Post, 14 10 1936
Committee meeting. TH, 14 10 1936
1937
Committee meeting. TH, 10 2 1937
The Poet’s Bridge to be replaced with Sanders Bequest. Otago Daily Times, 23 2 1937
The Poets Bridge tender. TH, 27 2 1937
Committee meeting. TH, 17 3 1937
Committee meeting. TH, 14 4 1937
Sportsground use. TH, 14 4 1937
Contractor collapses. TH, 23 4 1937
Clearing of lake. TDN, 22 5 1937
New gate proposal. NZ Herald, 22 5 1937
New Liardet St gates approved. TH, 28 5 1937
New gates get council approval. TH, 8 6 1937
Sanders gate sketch. TH, 8 6 1937
Kauri growing in New Plymouth. Northern Advocate, 18 8 1937
Committee meeting. TH, 11 8 1937
Committee meeting. TH, 15 9 1937
Liardet St gate tender ad. NZ Herald, 20 9 1937
Colour of The Poets Bridge. TH, 13 10 1937
Committee meeting main gates tender accepted. TH, 13 10 193
C. H. Burgess obituary. Evening Post,14 10 1937
Strength of new gates. TH, 20 10 1937
Work to start on sanders gates. TH, 6 11 1937
1938
Horton honoured. TH, 28 1 1938
Committee meeting. TH, 9 2 1938
Tramlines removed. TDN, 12 2 1938
Extension to Kauri Grove. TDN, 30 3 1938
Committee meeting. TH, 30 3 1938
Fillis St and Kauri Grove update. TDN, 27 4 1938
Proposal to extend Fernery. TH, 27 4 1938
Committee meeting. TH, 27 4 1938
Wood chopping competition picture. AWN, 27 4 1938
Park Gates update. TDN, 28 4 1938
Committee meeting. TH, 11 5 1938
Committee meeting. TH, 15 6 1938
Committee meeting. TH, 13 7 1938
Sanders Gates almost complete. AWN, 27 7 1938
Rhus poisoning. Auckland Star, 3 8 1938
Committee meeting .TH, 10 8 1938
Committee meeting. TH, 14 9 1938
Pukekura Park Committee. TDN, 7 10 1938
Plants in the park. TH, 9 11 1938
Committee meeting. TH, 9 11 1938
Begonia House update. TDN, 23 11 1938
1939
Names for the lakes. TH, 25 1 1939
Committee meeting. TH, 22 2 1939
Clifton rowing crew demonstration. TH, 24 2 1939
Committee meeting. TH, 15 3 1939
Stream of visitors. TH, 12 4 1939
Autumn in the park. TH, 19 4 1939
Park inspection. TDN, 3 5 1938
Committee meeting A.G.M. TH, 10 5 1939
Lighting improvements. TDN, 16 5 1939
Committee meeting. TH, 14 6 1939
Widening Brooklands entrance. TH, 11 7 1939
Committee Meeting. TDN, 12 7 1939
Tennis club land wanted for trees. TH, 12 7 1939
Botanical students visiting park. TH, 9 8 1939
Committee meeting. TH, 9 8 1939
Upgrade to Brooklands Drive. TDN, 15 8 1939
Trees planted at Brooklands. TDN, 28 8 1939
Begonia House improvements. TDN, 31 8 1939
Committee meeting. TDN, 13 9 1939
Committee meeting. TH, 11 10 1939
Ivan Waddle leaves fernery to serve his country. TH, 20 10 1939
Park improvements. TH, 28 10 1939
Committee meeting TH, 15 11 1939
Park used for Institute exams. TDN, 13 12 1939
1940
Fernery visitors. TH, 10 1 1940
Elderly woman recues child. TH, 23 1 1940
Committee meeting. TH, 14 2 1940
Gents’ toilets. TDN, 20 2 1940
Committee meeting. TH, 13 3 1940
Newton King memorial plaque erected. TDN, 4 4 1940
Cherry Trees dead. TH, 10 4 1940
Committee meeting. TH, 10 4 1940
Bigger Subsidy needed. TH, 15 5 1940
Fernery visitors. TH, 15 5 1940
Committee meeting. A.G.M TH, 15 5 1940
Students visit park. TH, 15 5 1940
Valuable reserves. TH, 15 5 1940
Re-erection of Rhind Gates. TDN, 21 5 1940
Sanctuary for Birds. TDN, 31 5 1940
Labour shortage – Scheme 13 reintroduced. TDN, 20 6 1940
Committee meeting – Scheme 13. TDN, 21 6 1940
Committee meeting. TH, 10 7 1940
Horton appointed Superintendent of Reserves. TDN, 6 8 1940
Park grant increased. TDN, 6 8 1940
Committee meeting. TH, 14 8 1940
Committee meeting. TH, 11 9 1940
Sportsground comment .TH, 2 10 1940
Committee meeting. TDN, 10 10 1940
Cricket agreement reached. TH, 15 10 1940
Committee meeting. TH, 13 11 1940
Committee meeting. TDN, 11 12 1940
RNZIH exams in Park. TDN, 11 12 1940
Description of Park plantings. TDN, 19 12 1940
1941
Summary of 1940 planting. TDN, 4 1 1941
Committee meeting. TH, 12 2 1941
Apples grown in the Park. TDN, 12 3 1941
Committee meeting Kaimata Street shelter TH, 12 3 1941
Various articles. TH, 12 3 1941
Committee meeting. TH, 9 4 1941
Fierce fire in tool shed. TDN, 18 4 1941
Gala day in the park. TH, 5 5 1941
Committee meeting. TH, 14 5 1941
Mrs Bingham found in lake. TH, 8 7 1941
Fernery visitor numbers. TH, 9 7 1941
Committee meeting. TH, 9 7 1941
Committee meeting. TH, 13 8 1941
Damage to Lawns. TH, 10 9 1941
Committee meeting. TH, 10 9 1941
Vandalism and cycling in the Park. TDN, 10 9 1941
Fernery numbers and Bridge painting. TH, 15 10 1941
Committee meeting. TH, 15 10 1941
Women’s War Service Auxiliary marching in Park. TDN, 31 10 1941
Promising begonias. TH, 12 11 1941
Committee meeting. TH, 12 11 1941
Flowers at the park. TH, 14 11 1941
Record season for ducklings. TH, 14 11 1941
Tribute to Mrs Burgess Kiosk anniversary. TH, 15 11 1941
Mrs Burgess Birthday Party at kiosk. TH, 6 12 1941
Bridge and gates painted. TH, 10 12 1941
Committee meeting. TH, 10 12 1941
Slit trench design. NZ Herald, 13 12 1941
Slit trench digging. TH, 15 12 1941
1942
Women’s cricket. TH, 10 1 1942
Women’s cricket game. TDN, 12 1 1942
3360 ft of Slit Trenches dug. TH, 20 1 1942
Display in fernery. TH, 21 1 1942
Met Station to move from Brooklands. TH, 10 2 1942
300 Trenches dug. TH, 11 2 1942
Flowers in the park. TH, 11 2 1942
Committee meeting. TH, 11 2 1942
Athletics Sports. TH, 13 2 1942
Signs of Autumn. TH, 27 2 1942
W W Smith Obituary. TH, 3 3 1942
W W Smith funeral .TH, 4 3 1942
Girls for the park. TH, 11 3 1942
Committee meeting. TH, 11 3 1942
Committee meeting. TH, 16 4 1942
Committee meeting. TH, 13 5 1942
Committee meeting. TH, 10 6 1942
Committee meeting. TH, 15 7 1942
Lolly Pop plant flowering. TH, 13 8 1942
Committee meeting. TH, 9 9 1942
Committee meeting. TH, 11 11 1942
Eels and ducklings. TDN, 16 11 1942
Tea House lease Mrs Pascoe. TDN, 17 11 1942
Evelyn Lawson takes charge of Fernery. TDN, 7 12 1942
Flowerpot shortage. TDN, 7 12 1942
1000 begonias on display in Fernery. TDN, 9 12 1942
1943
Slit trenches being filled in. TDN, 16 1 1943
Wild ducklings survive TH, 29 1 1943
Vandalism in the Park. TDN, 8 2 1943
Committee meeting. TH, 10 2 1943
Plight of parks. TH, 16 2 1943
Committee meeting. TH, 10 3 1943
Marching display. TH, 15 3 1943
Signs of autumn. TH, 22 3 1943
Committee meeting. TH, 14 4 1943
Birds in the Park. TH, 5 5 1943
Thefts in the Park. TH, 5 5 1943
Committee meeting. TH, 12 5 1943
Committee meeting. TH, 15 6 1943
Friend of birds pruning parapara. TH, 1 7 1943
New boat built by W Horne. TDN, 15 7 1943
Flowers in the park. TH, 17 7 1943
Fernery visitors. TH, 11 8 1943
Committee meeting. TH, 11 8 1943
Car smashes gate. TH, 23 8 1943
Labour Day Sports. TH, 25 8 1943
Committee meeting. TH, 15 9 1943
Childs Drowning. TH, 22 9 1943
Tulip bed raided. TH, 30 9 1943
State of Rhododendron Dell. TDN, 2 10 1943
Interesting old book. TH, 14 10 1943
Maranui bequest. TH, 19 10 1943
Preparing for summer. TH, 4 11 1943
Committee meeting. TH, 10 11 1943
Met station closing. TH, 16 11 1943
Flowers in the park. TH, 30 11 1943
Drinking in the park. TH, 15 12 1943
Committee meeting. TH, 15 12 1943
Maranui land purchase. TDN, 21 12 1943
1944
Boat and fernery returns. TH, 6 1 1944
Flower displays in the park. TH, 24 1 1944
Cyclists in the park. TH, 9 2 1944
School Sports 3500 competitors. TH, 18 2 1944
Wind damage in park. TH, 3 3 1944
Trooping the colour. TH, 6 3 1944
Committee meeting. TH, 15 3 1944
Visitors during easter. TH, 11 4 1944
Hilltop planting doing well. TH, 12 4 1944
Ducks and plants. TH, 10 5 1944
Committee meeting. TH, 10 5 1944
Committee meeting. TH, 14 6 1944
Injured albatross in Park. TDN, 21 6 1944
Blasting tree stumps. TDN, 7 7 1944
Committee meeting. TH, 12 7 1944
Soldier saves boy from drowning. TH, 5 8 1944
Committee meeting. TH, 9 8 1944
Coming of spring. TH, 15 8 1944
A touch of spring. TH, 7 9 1944
Committee meeting. TH, 15 9 1944
Flowers in the park. TH, 28 9 1944
Committee meeting. TH, 11 10 1944
Profusion of colour. TH, 28 10 1944
Committee meeting. TH, 15 11 1944
Committee meeting. TH, 15 11 1944
Flowers in the park. TH, 30 11 1944
Swans eggs taken. TH, 4 12 1944
C E Bellringer dies. TH, 9 12 1944
Committee meeting. TH, 13 12 1944
1945
Glow-worm Cave blocked. TDN, 9 1 1945
Sports at the park. TH, 14 2 1945
Ducks and flowers. TH, 15 2 1945
Committee meeting. TH, 14 3 1945
Cyclists out of hand. TH, 28 3 1945
Sparkling display. TH, 31 3 1945
Committee meeting. TH, 11 4 1945
Special meeting for rugby consideration. TH, 19 4 1945
Obscene remarks in visitor book. TH, 21 4 1945
Gilbert Street section – rubbish dump. TDN, 13 6 1945
Committee meeting. TH, 13 6 1945
70th anniversary. TH, 30 6 1945
Committee meeting. TH, 11 7 1945
Mr A Dent leaves Brooklands to work at Burgess Park. TDN, 12 7 1945
Tennis club need to expand. TH, 15 8 1945
Explosions in the park. TH, 17 8 1945
Committee meeting. TDN, 12 9 1945
Cycling in the park. TH, 17 9 1945
Splashes of colour. TH, 8 10 1945
Fernery damage – boys prosecuted. TH, 31 10 1945
Alterations to Tea House. TH, 14 11 1945
Committee meeting. TH, 14 11 1945
Flowers in the park. TH, 26 11 1945
Committee meeting. TH, 12 12 1945
1946
Park in a bad state. TH, 31 1 1946
Import soil for cricket wicket. TH, 13 2 1946
Damage to Brooklands gates. TH, 13 3 1946
Proposed bowling green. TH, 13 3 1946
Committee meeting. TH, 13 3 1946
Pukekura park allocation. Attitude of league. TH, 19 3 1946
Codes agree on use of sports ground. TH, 10 4 1946
Committee meeting. TH, 10 4 1946
Better lighting for sports ground proposed. TH, 17 4 1946
ANZAC parade picture. TH, 30 4 1946
Large macrocarpa falls. TH, 30 4 1946
Committee meeting. TH, 15 5 1946
Lighting for Sports Ground. TH, 30 5 1946
Committee meeting. TH, 12 6 1946
Aerial Photo of Sportsground. TH, 22 6 1946
International Rugby history at Pukekura Park. TH, 22 6 1946
Fallen Macrocarpa cleared. TH, 24 6 1946
Trees planted near glowworm caves. TH, 10 7 1946
NPBHS rugby picture. TH, 27 7 1946
NPBHS Rugby Picture. TH, 3 8 1946
Kiosk mods done. TH, 19 8 1946
Lighting scheme deferred. TH, 28 8 1946
Death of F Amoore. TH, 9 9 1946
State of cricket ground. TH, 10 9 1946
New reserves department suggested. TH, 17 9 1946
Committee meeting. TH, 18 9 1946
Horton to produce 5-year plan. TH, 9 10 1946
Committee meeting. TH, 9 10 1946
Committee meeting. TH, 13 11 1946
Flowers in the park. TH, 22 11 1946
1947
Christmas visitors. TH, 3 1 1947
Ducklings in park. TH, 18 1 1947
Estimated Subsidy. TH, 11 2 1947
Committee meeting. TH, 12 2 1947
Horton on kauris. TH, 25 2 1947
Committee meeting .TH, 19 3 1947
Resealing drive. TDN, 19 3 1947
Small lorry needed. TH, 19 3 1947
Lord and Lady Bledisloe picture. TH, 20 3 1947
Sports Ground revenue. TH, 25 3 1947
Use of park for rugby league. TH, 26 3 1947
J.C.O.C summary of Park condition. TH, 27 3 1947
Junior Chamber of Commerce report. TH, 27 3 1947
Junior Chamber of Commerce report letter. TH, 28 3 1947
Committee answers criticism. TH, 16 4 1947
Spade gifted to museum. TH, 16 4 1947
Conference to be held about park future. TH, 22 4 1947
Committee meeting. TH, 14 5 1947
Standish bequest. TH, 17 5 1947
Conference re parks organisation. TH, 27 5 1947
Tennis club asked to go. TH, 13 6 1947
Rhododendrons to move. TH, 16 6 1947
Rhododendrons moved. TH, 8 7 1947
Committee meeting. TH, 9 7 1947
Record of donors. TH, 9 7 1947
Letter- Park costs. TH, 10 7 1947
Summary of Borough reserves in 1947. TH, 11 7 1947
Old drains blocked. TH, 29 7 1947
Committee meeting. TH, 13 8 1947
Letter re Tennis Club relocation 1. TH, 15 8 1947
Letter re Tennis Club relocation 2. TH, 15 8 1947
Letter re Tennis Club relocation. TH, 16 8 1947
Park case for moving Tennis Club put to Council. TH, 19 8 1947
Menace of trees to telephone lines. TH, 20 8 1947
Tree removal for telephone lines. TH, 10 9 1947
Attack by swan. TH, 11 10 1947
Blue Gums to go. TH, 15 10 1947
20lb eel caught. TH, 11 11 1947
Outside advice sought on planting. TH, 12 11 1947
Committee meeting. TH, 12 11 1947
Ducklings in the park. TH, 1 12 1947
Governor General. TH, 8 12 1947
Huthnance report. TH, 16 12 1947
1948
Begonia display – best ever. TH, 15 1 1948
Interest in Begonias. TH, 20 1 1948
Deterioration Goes on. TH, 11 2 1948
Need for ladies pavilion. TH, 11 2 1948
Park Grant overdrawn. TH, 11 2 1948
Committee meeting. TH, 11 2 1948
Submission to council. TH, 17 2 1948
Visitors’ comments. TH, 13 4 1948
Lady Baden Powell. TH, 28 4 1948
Ladies pavilion needed. TH, 5 5 1948
Committee meeting. TH, 5 5 1948
Comment on park issues. TH, 2 6 1948
Ladies changing room. TH, 2 6 1948
Tennis club to move. TH, 2 6 1948
Felled trees removed. TH, 8 7 1948
Committee invite Institute of Horticulture to add member. TH, 14 7 1948
Committee meeting. TH, 14 7 1948
Park maintenance. TH, 27 7 1948
Spanish Chestnut pic. TH, 7 8 1948
Children’s interest in park sought. TH, 11 8 1948
Planting in the Park. TH, 11 8 1948
Park Committee appointment. TH, 17 8 1948
Junior Chamber of Commerce to support park. TH, 19 8 1948
New Ladies dressing shed. TH, 1 10 1948
Flower prep for cancelled royal visit. TH, 2 10 1948
Ladies dressing shed update. TH, 13 10 1948
Horton to retire. TH, 6 11 1948
Horton to retire picture. TH, 6 11 1948
Help to clear Fillis Street Gully. TH, 9 11 1948
Committee meeting. TH, 12 11 1948
The Poet’s Bridge to be repainted. TH, 12 11 1948
Carols by candlelight. TH, 16 11 1948
Unauthorised entry into fernery. TH, 29 11 1948
J C O C fundraising donation. TH, 8 12 1948
1949
Visitors plea for map. TH, 8 1 1949
Fernery and Boat takings. TH, 13 1 1949
Ladies Dressing shed almost complete. TH, 27 1 1949
Asking for farmers help. TH, 1 2 1949
Historic Gables. TH, 11 2 1949
Pipe Band Contest. TH, 12 2 1949
Gable 100 years old Pic. TH, 17 2 1949
Overall superintendent to be appointed. TH, 22 2 1949
Olympic runner for sports event. TH, 2 3 1949
Track meeting results. TH, 5 3 1949
Picture in the park. TH, 12 3 1949
Dominion Pipe band contest opens. TH, 18 3 1949
Picture Ladies Pavilion. TH, 26 3 1949
Committee meeting. TH, 30 3 1949
Thomas Horton’s retirement function. TH, 31 3 1949
More money needed for sportsground development. TH, 13 4 1949
Origin of The Poets Bridge red colour. TH, 13 4 1949
Park boats pay way. TH, 13 4 1949
Committee meeting. TH, 13 4 1949
Committee meeting. TH, 11 5 1949
Chestnut tree dimensions. TH, 15 6 1949
Committee meeting. TH, 13 7 1949
Repairs to park. TH, 10 8 1949
Carols by Candlelight. TH, 14 9 1949
Flower display. TH, 12 10 1949
Goodwin protests. TH, 12 10 1949
Increased subsidy asked for. TH, 12 10 1949
Kuru Rd sportsground . TH, 12 10 1949
Splash of colour. TH, 12 10 1949
Sports Ground article. TH, 12 10 1949
Sports Ground widely sought. TH, 12 10 1949
Teahouse picture. TH, 5 11 1949
Backlog of work. TH, 9 11 1949
Fireworks display. TH, 9 11 1949
Appeal for funds. TH, 14 12 1949
Carols by Candlelight. TH, 14 12 1949
Cycles and Vandalism. TH, 14 12 1949
List Street path progress. TH, 14 12 1949
1950
Committee meeting. TH, 16 2 1950
Lakeside recorded music. TH, 29 3 1950
Bike riding in the park. TH, 19 4 1950
Hawks in the park. TH, 19 4 1950
Committee meeting. TH, 19 4 1950
Reestablishing tree ferns. TH, 19 4 1950
Donation of azaleas. TH, 7 5 1950
Expenditure on park AGM. TH, 7 5 1950
Replacement of tree ferns. TH, 17 5 1950
Tennis club fate. TH, 17 5 1950
Death in the park. TH, 14 6 1950
Goodwins development Plan. TH, 14 6 1950
Development of park. TH, 12 7 1950
Committee meeting. TH, 12 7 1950
Committee meeting – Raising lake level. TH, 16 8 1950
Committee meeting. TH, 16 8 1950
Vacation of tennis club. TH, 16 8 1950
Curator was wet through. TH, 13 9 1950
Committee meeting. TH, 13 9 1950
Question of scenic drive. TH, 13 9 1950
Use of Pukekura Park for Sport. TH, 11 10 1950
Vandalism in the Park. TH, 11 10 1950
Fireworks display. TH, 6 11 1950
Admin building plans submitted. TH, 13 12 1950
Sports Ground subcommittee. TH, 13 12 1950
1951
Boat and Fernery taking good. TH, 4 1 1951
Park recorded music Concerts popular. TH, 23 1 1951
Park recorded music concerts. TH, 25 1 1951
Letter promoting sound shell. TH, 27 1 1951
Damage north of west terrace. TH, 14 2 1951
Committee meeting. TH, 14 2 1951
The gables to be painted. TH, 14 2 1951
Vandalism – Boat takings – staff pay rise. TH, 14 2 1951
Staff pay rise on hold. TH, 20 2 1951
Facelift for Kiosk. TH, 14 3 1951
New Admin building needed. TH, 14 3 1951
Committee meeting. TH, 14 3 1951
Brooklands lake to be drained. TH, 11 4 1951
Committee meeting. TH, 11 4 1951
Recorded music concerts in the Park. TH, 11 4 1951
Eradication of Paspalum. TH, 12 4 1951
Date set for Tennis Club to relocate1. TH, 1 5 1951
Date set for Tennis Club to relocate 2. TH, 1 5 1951
Fireplace to be repaired. TH, 16 5 1951
Committee meeting. TH, 16 5 1951
Committee meeting. TH, 13 6 1951
Committee meeting. TH, 11 7 1951
New nursery at Brooklands. TH, 5 9 1951
Committee meeting. TH, 12 9 1951
Carols by candlelight given go-ahead. TH, 10 10 1951
High School Boys working on park path. TH, 10 10 1951
Committee meeting. TH, 10 10 1951
Graham bequest. TH, 15 10 1951
Graham bequest. TH, 16 10 1951
Fireworks display crowd of 14000. TH, 5 11 1951
Picture of Rhododendron Dell. TH, 10 11 1951
Summary of park needs. TH,15 11 1951
Brooklands Park Drive Street name suggested. TH, 16 11 1951
Committee considers 33 suggestions. TH, 16 11 1951
Committee meeting. TH, 16 11 1951
Native birds shot in the park. TH, 19 12 1951
Committee meeting. TH, 19 12 1951
1952
Children’s day at the Park. TH, 12 3 1952
Committee meeting – Admin Building. TH, 12 3 1952
Size of some trees including puriri. TH, 12 3 1952
Suggested improvements. TH, 12 3 1952
Committee meeting. TH, 9 4 1952
Shot gun used to kill vermin. TH, 22 4 1952
Plants donated and plants lost. TH, 11 6 1952
Committee meeting A.G.M. TH, 11 6 1952
Control of Parks and Reserves. TH, 21 7 1952
Tennis and Croquet Club offer. TH, 22 7 1952
More wardens needed. TH, 23 7 1952
Plan for re-siting Tennis and Croquet Clubs. TH, 13 8 1952
Committee meeting. TH, 13 8 1952
Cycling in the Park. TH, 15 10 1952
Committee meeting – Children’s playground. TH, 15 10 1952
10000 watch fireworks display. TH, 4 11 1952
High School path named Saxton Walk. TH, 12 11 1952
Committee meeting. TH, 12 11 1952
Model Engineers looking for site for model railway. TH, 10 12 1952
1953
Demand for Boats exceeds supply TH, 10 1 1953
Soundshell suggested TH, 10 1 1953
Work started on moving Tennis and Croquet Clubs TH, 30 1 1953
Children’s play area approved TH, 17 2 1953
First Graham Bequest payment received TH, 17 2 1953
Glowworm caves considered TH, 17 2 1953
Committee meeting. TH, 17 2 1953
Disposal of Graham Gold Cups considered. TH, 18 2 1953
Plans for Royal visit. TH, 18 2 1953
South African cricket game picture. TH, 20 3 1953
South African cricketers impressed with the park. TH, 20 3 1953
Dismantling of tennis courts. TH, 15 4 1953
Donation – Boat hire. TH, 15 4 1953
Graham Gold Cups to be sold. TH, 15 4 1953
Sports Ground to be Floodlit. TH, 15 4 1953
Trial Glow-worm Grotto. TH, 15 4 1953
Dismantling tennis club. TH, 2 5 1953
Breaking up of tennis courts. TH, 7 5 1953
Improved corner for traffic area. TH, 13 5 1953
New Boat-Shed Bridge. TH, 13 5 1953
Planting of Tennis Court area. TH, 13 5 1953
Boat Shed Bridge collapse. TH, 26 5 1953
Coronation Celebration. TH, 2 6 1953
Duck left in a hurry. TH, 2 6 1953
Partial draining of lake re Boatshed Bridge. TH, 8 6 1953
Park may be illuminated. TH, 10 6 1953
Problem cleaning lake. TH, 10 6 1953
Boatshed Bridge poem. TH, 2 7 1953
Cleaning lake – sluicing suggested. TH, 15 7 1953
Park secretary calls for unity. TH, 15 7 1953
Playground equipment ordered. TH, 15 7 1953
Request for urgent action on silting. TH, 21 7 1953
Tennis Club area ready for planting. TH, 23 7 1953
Tennis Club pavilion being dismantled. TH, 29 7 1953
Tender advert for Boatshed Bridge. TH, 31 7 1953
Graham bequest cups. TH, 12 8 1953
Main lake depth amazes. TH, 12 8 1953
Paddling Pool expensive. TH, 12 8 1953
Park boats popular. TH, 12 8 1953
Tender for Boatshed Bridge accepted. TH, 18 8 1953
Heating the Fernery. TH, 9 9 1953
No action on Floodlighting. TH, 9 9 1953
Rhododendrons to move. TH, 9 9 1953
Heating Begonia House. TH, 14 10 1953
Paddling Pool Delayed. TH, 14 10 1953
Bulletin Board for Park. TH, 11 11 1953
Coloured lights for Fernery. TH, 11 11 1953
Outdoor Concert. TH, 11 11 1953
Preparation for Royal Visit. TH, 9 12 1953
1954
Preparation for Royal visit. TH, 7 1 1954
Preparation for Royal visit. TH, 7 1 1954
Queens visit to New Plymouth. TH, 9 1 1954
Hundreds enjoy music. TH, 18 1 1954
Fernery popular. TH, 20 1 1954
January figures set new record. TH, 30 1 1954
Christmas lights to be dismantled. TH, 10 2 1954
Illuminated Fountain proposed. TH, 10 2 1954
Maori House for Park. TH, 10 2 1954
Sound Shell proposed. TH, 10 2 1954
No action on Sound Shell. TH, 12 2 1954
Letter to Editor re Sound Shell. TH, 13 2 1954
Spanish Chestnut. TH, 1 4 1954
Control of Gilbert St Sections. TH, 14 4 1954
Fountain estimates. TDN, 14 4 1954
Fountain location suggestions. TH, 14 4 1954
Park Duck killed by Arrow. TH, 14 4 1954
Committee meeting. TH, 14 4 1954
Sports Ground lighting. TH, 14 4 1954
Wardens for the Park. TH, 14 4 1954
Shonbachler retires. TH, 15 4 1954
Cost of Floodlighting and Fountain. TH, 3 6 1954
Citizen wardens. TDN, 9 6 1954
Fountain voluntary effort proposed. TH, 9 6 1954
No Fireworks display. TH, 9 6 1954
Park fountain memorial to athletes. TDN, 9 6 1954
Park priorities and Fountain. TH, 9 6 1954
New boathouse advocated. TDN, 16 6 1954
Sconbachler leaving do. TH, 16 6 1954
Sound Shell discussed. TH, 26 6 1954
Cost of Fountain to be investigated. TH, 21 7 1954
Fountain to commemorate royal visit. TDN, 21 7 1954
Kindergarten looking for site at Pukekura. TH, 21 7 1954
Park has its friends. TDN, 21 7 1954
Opposition to Fountain. TH, 22 7 1954
Societies favour Sound Shell. TH, 24 7 1954
Festival of sports proposed. TDN, 11 8 1954
Floodlights Essential. TH, 11 8 1954
Fountain favoured. TH, 11 8 1954
Fountain to proceed. TDN, 11 8 1954
Sporting facilities discussed. TDN, 11 8 1954
Support for soundshell. TDN, 11 8 1954
Wardens appointed. TH, 17 8 1954
Fountain Lake drained. TH, 20 8 1954
Opposition to Fountain. TH, 20 8 1954
Wardens can issue Warrants. TH, 24 8 1954
Thomas Sinclair bequest. TDN, 25 8 1954
Fountain Plans being prepared. TH, 22 9 1954
No reports of Cycling. TH, 22 9 1954
Native tree collection. TDN, 23 9 1954
Plans for Fountain almost ready. TH, 1 10 1954
Truck stuck in lake. TH, 12 10 1954
Brooklands lake may be cleaned. TH, 13 10 1954
Case for soundshell. TDN, 13 10 1954
Christmas Lights. TH, 13 10 1954
Deepening of Fountain Lake. TH, 13 10 1954
Digger begins on lower lake. TDN, 13 10 1954
Dry rot in kiosk. TDN, 13 10 1954
Fountain brochure. TH, 13 10 1954
Sound Shell decision deferred. TH, 13 10 1954
Soundshell and fountain. TH, 13 10 1954
Muddy conditions hamper fountain progress. TH, 14 10 1954
Brooklands lake to be cleaned. TDN, 16 10 1954
Removal of Park Island. TH, 18 10 1924
Builders asked to help with fountain. TH, 10 11 1954
Fountain plans arrive. TDN, 10 11 1954
Lease of Park area favoured for kindergarten. TH, 10 11 1954
Rhododendron display. TDN, 11 11 1954
Rare shrub in bloom. TH, 12 11 1954
Letter opposing fountain L C Hughes. TH, 3 12 1954
Reply to critics re fountain. TH, 9 12 1954
Letters opposing fountain. TH, 10 12 1954
Letter opposing fountain. TH, 13 12 1954
Committee defends decision to build fountain. TH, 15 12 1954
Letters re fountain. TH, 15 12 1954
New female staff building planned. TH, 15 12 1954
Letter pro fountain. TH, 16 12 1954
Clay brought in to fill Lily Pond. TH, 21 12 1954
Council wants new discussion re fountain. TH, 21 12 1954
Support for fountain. TDN, 21 12 1954
Council approves fountain order. TH, 23 12 1954
Council order of fountain explained. TH, 23 12 1954
Fountain cartoon. TH, 23 12 1954
1955
Truck delivering fill to lily pond picture. TH, 27 1 1955
Fountain construction to start. TDN, 31 1 1955
Progress on fountain. TDN, 5 2 1955
Fountain progress. TDN, 9 2 1955
Female quarters approved. TDN, 10 2 1955
Kindergarten site. TDN, 10 2 1955
Trees attacked by bronze beetle. TDN, 10 2 1955
Fountain on schedule. TDN, 22 2 1955
Fountain in final stages. TDN, 10 3 1955
Thinning trees. TDN, 16 3 1955
Fountain construction picture. TDN, 23 3 1955
Fountain construction picture. TDN, 23 3 1955
Lake nearing completion. TDN, 23 3 1955
Plumbing fountain picture. TDN, 28 3 1955
Fountain to start at easter. TDN, 29 3 1955
Fountain to start at easter picture. TDN, 29 3 1955
Fountain test picture. TDN, 4 4 1955
Letter defending fountain. TH, 5 4 1955
Letter of support for fountain. TH, 5 4 1955
Letter opposing fountain. TH, 5 4 1955
Fountain rehearses. TDN, 7 4 1955
Fountain rehearses picture. TDN, 7 4 1955
Fountain opening day. TH, 11 4 1955
Opening display by fountain. TDN, 11 4 1955
Big crowd at fountain. TDN, 12 4 1955
Cars barred from park at night. TDN, 13 4 1955
Fountain appeal. TDN, 19 4 1955
Fountain sculpture. TDN, 19 4 1955
Fountain display. TDN, 3 5 1955
Letter supporting fountain. TDN, 7 5 1955
Fountain reputation. TDN, 11 5 1955
Sparrow Hawk playing havoc with other birds. TDN, 11 5 1955
Test bores for pavilion. TDN, 11 5 1955
Staff rest room tender. TDN, 24 5 1955
Fountain draws crowds. TDN, 6 6 1955
Increased subsidy sought. TDN, 15 6 1955
Rail around lake. TDN, 15 6 1955
Reduction in fountain playing hours. TDN, 15 6 1955
Tender accepted for rest room. TDN, 15 6 1955
Money to make money. TDN, 12 7 1955
Seats for fountain watchers. TDN, 12 7 1955
Reduction in vandalism. TDN, 13 7 1955
Slipping terrace. TDN, 13 7 1955
Special fountain displays. TDN, 13 7 1955
Test bores for pavilion. TDN, 13 7 1955
Light scheme to be put to sports bodies. TDN, 10 8 1955
New time clock for fountain. TDN, 10 8 1955
Reconditioning pavilion. TDN, 10 8 1955
Pavilion not ready. TDN, 14 9 1955
Scheme for lighting decided. TDN, 14 9 1955
Rare plants sought. TDN, 15 9 1955
Fountain times. TDN, 12 10 1955
Pavilion estimate. TDN, 12 10 1955
Unsafe lighting. TDN, 12 10 1955
Temporary lights. TDN, 26 10 1955
Cypress canker. TDN, 9 11 1955
Fountain running costs. TDN, 9 11 1955
Night concert suggested. TDN, 9 11 1955
Pavilion plans approved. TDN, 22 11 1955
Shows how he would light park. TDN, 12 12 1955
1956
Fundraising five-day carnival. TDN, 20 1 1956
Native birds in Park. Jack Goodwin. Forest and Bird, 1 2 1956
Ducks find use for fountain. TDN, 7 3 1956
Native birds increased. TDN, 7 3 1956
Fountain to be overhauled. TDN, 14 3 1956
Fountain display to cease. TDN, 29 3 1956
Pavilion tender accepted. TDN, 29 3 1956
2000 watch fountain. TDN, 31 3 1956
Committee meeting. TH, 9 5 1956
Horticultural development. TDN, 10 5 1956
Kindergarten proposal for park. TH, 30 5 1956
Water carnival. TDN, 13 6 1956
Chemical tests on sportsground. TH, 11 7 1956
Fountain display for hockey team. TH, 11 7 1956
Support for water carnival .TH, 11 7 1956
Water carnival. TDN, 11 7 1956
Visitors see fountain. TDN, 23 7 1956
Truby King dell. TDN, 3 8 1965
Truby King dell. TDN, 6 8 1956
Drainage survey. TDN, 22 8 1956
Record takings. TDN, 12 9 1956
Permanent lights sought for Sports Grounds. TH, 26 9 1956
Restoration of lights wanted. TDN, 5 10 1956
Committee meeting. TH, 10 10 1956
Delays over Park lighting criticised. TDN, 2 11 1956
Cabbage trees to go. TH, 14 11 1956
Carnival spirit. TDN, 14 11 1956
Permanent lighting delayed. TDN, 14 11 1956
Committee meeting. TDN, 14 11 1956
Fountain lake drained. TDN, 7 12 1956
New pavilion almost complete. TDN, 7 12 1956
Path round lake to be lit. TDN, 7 12 1956
Sports pavilion to be opened. TDN, 12 12 1956
Staff shortage. TDN, 13 12 1956
Floating stage. TDN, 19 12 1956
Park expenditure detailed at pavilion opening. TH, 21 12 1956
1957
Thousands visit Park TH, 11 1 1957
Water Carnival Advert TH, 12 1 1957
Thousands at Water Carnival. TH, 14 1 1957
Water carnival concludes. TDN, 14 1 1957
Water carnival picture. TDN, 14 1 1957
Committee meeting. TH, 13 2 1957
Curator sent overseas. TH, 13 3 1957
Committee meeting. TH, 13 3 1957
Colour a problem again. TDN, 10 4 1957
Horticultural sub-committee recommendations. TH, 10 4 1957
New kindergarten taking shape. TH, 10 4 1957
Committee meeting. TH, 10 4 1957
Committee meeting. TH, 10 4 1957
Shade may affect begonias. TDN, 10 4 1957
Appeal for lights fund. TDN, 17 4 1957
Anniversary Day pageant. Photo news, April 1957
Australia v Taranaki cricket. Photo news, April 1957
Australia v Taranaki cricket. Photo news, April 1957
Marching championships. photo news, April 1957
Sparrowhawk shot. TDN, 8 5 1957
Heating for kiosk. TDN, 15 5 1957
Committee meeting. TH, 15 5 1957
Boathouse plans amended. TDN, 16 5 1957
Plan for Park lighting approved. TH, 17 5 1957
Opening of Pukekura Kindergarten. TH, 10 6 1957
Use of natural amphitheatre. TH, 11 6 1957
Festival of the Pines. TH, 12 6 1957
Park committee approve plan for Bowl. TH, 12 6 1957
Will prepare amphitheatre. TDN, 15 6 1957
Council subsidies. TDN, 18 6 1957
Pavilion floor. TDN, 10 7 1957
Proposed boatshed. TDN, 10 7 1957
Plans for site of Festival of the Pines. TH, 24 7 1957
Boat shed location fixed. TH, 14 8 1957
Committee meeting. TH, 14 8 1957
Weyergang poem – Pukekura in Winter. TDN, 17 8 1957
Work begins on Bowl site – picture TH, 17 8 1957
Festival site assistance. TDN, 11 9 1957
Boatshed plans approved. TH, 11 11 1957
Curators’ ideas. TDN, 18 9 1957
Boathouse tender. TDN, 19 9 1957
Festival lighting plans. TDN, 16 10 1957
Festival lighting finalised. TH, 24 10 1957
Five-year rights to festival site. TH, 24 10 1957
Sports Ground lighting. TDN, 24 10 1957
New Pukekura kindergarten opens. Photo News, 1957
Bowl stage plans accepted by Park Committee. TH, 13 11 1957
Fountain repairs. TDN, 13 11 1957
Work on new Boatshed Picture. TH, 13 11 1957
New Sportsground floodlights ready. TH, 3 12 1957
Will switch on lights. TDN, 3 12 1957
Coloured lights in the park. TDN, 10 12 1957
Enough aluminium for sound shell. TDN, 10 12 1957
More privacy for sportsmen. TDN, 10 12 1957
On with the sportsground lights. TDN, 10 12 1957
Committee meeting. TH, 10 12 1957
1958
Failing to help with festival. TDN, 17 1 1958
Bowl progress photo. TH, 27 1 1958
Queen Mothers visit. TH, 6 2 1958
Queen Mothers visit. Photo news, Feb 1958
Park staff help with festival. TDN, 12 2 1958
Sound Shell construction photo. TH, 13 2 1958
Makeup for Androcles the Lion. TH, 19 2 1958
Installing parabolic arch Photo News, 20 2 1958
Bowl like Hollywood. TDN, 25 2 1958
Festival of the Pines. TH, 25 2 1958
Bowl picture before work started. TH, 25 2 1958
Festival of Pines most ambitious venture. TDN, 25 2 1958
Festival programme. TDN, 25 2 1958
Festival programme. TH, 25 2 1958
Festival games. TDN, 26 2 1958
Fumigating Bowl picture. TDN, 27 2 1958
The perfect blend. TDN, 28 2 1958
Festival variety night. TH, 1 3 1958
Miss Brooklands float. TH, 1 3 1958
A Fabulous weekend. TDN, 3 3 1958
An Act of Worship. TDN, 3 3 1958
Bowl was brimful. TDN, 3 3 1958
Festival concert Saturday. TDN, 3 3 1958
Proclamation of Miss Brooklands. TH, 3 3 1958
Wellington Ballet act of worship NZ orchestra. TH, 3 3 1958
Future plans and helpers thanked. TH, 4 3 1958
Memorable orchestral concert. TH, 4 3 1958
Conductors feedback on venue. TH, 5 3 1958
Festival ends a. TDN, 5 3 1958
Festival Helpers presented. TDN, 5 3 1958
Festival of the Pines profit and plans TH, 5 3 1958
Good profit expected from festival. TH, 5 3 1958
Good shooting but no score. TDN, 5 3 1958
Midsummer night’s dream comes true. TDN, 5 3 1958
National Orchestra on final night. TDN, 5 3 1958
Festival of Pines articles. TDN, 5 3 1958
FOP 3000 needed to improve bowl. TDN, 5 3 1958
Trust fund set up for bowl development. TH, 8 3 1958
Weyergang poem – Pukekura in Summer. TDN, 12 4 1958
Fountain times. TDN, 16 4 1958
Need to level athletic track. TDN, 16 4 1958
Committee meeting. TH, 16 4 1958
Soccer under floodlights. TH, 16 4 1958
Weed eradication. TDN, 17 4 1958
Brooklands development plan. TDN, 2 5 1958
Thomas Horton dies TH, 2 5 1959
Brooklands development plan. TH, 14 5 1958
Committee meeting. TH, 14 5 1958
Floodlit football a success. TDN, 14 5 1958
Cartoon, Brooklands development. TDN, 5 6 1958
Drainage costly. TDN, 11 6 1958
Sound Shell plans. TDN, 12 6 1958
Work to start on bowl. TDN, 3 7 1958
Clearing new path from racecourse. TH, 5 7 1958
3 Small articles. TDN, 9 7 1958
Dangerous trees felled. TH, 9 7 1958
Lippiatt resigns. TDN, 9 7 1958
Soundshell design approved. TDN, 9 7 1958
Trial ventilation system for fernery. TDN, 9 7 1958
Eliot King dies. TDN, 16 7 1958
Reworking Bowl hillside slope – picture. TH, 27 8 1958
Tree felling in the park – picture. TH, 27 8 1958
Bowl of Brooklands Development Fund. TDN, 3 9 1957
Brooklands bowl appeal. TDN, 3 9 1958
Sportsground levelling costs. TDN, 10 9 1958
Committee meeting. TH, 22 10 1958
E R C Gilmour dies. TDN, 30 10 1958
New sound shell being erected – picture. TH, 30 10 1958
Maintenance of festival site discussed and sound columns. TH, 12 11 1958
Tree removal policy. TH, 12 11 1958
Wants bowl grass cut. TDN, 12 11 1958
Flagpoles for Park wall suggested. TH, 10 12 1958
Litter collecting machine. TDN, 10 12 1958
No morning session for fountain. TH, 10 12 1958
Gelignite as solution to frog problem. TH, 12 12 1958
Too much croaking going on. TDN, 12 12 1958
Bowl ready for children’s show. TDN, 22 12 1958
Picture of bowl. TDN, 22 12 1958
The frogs croaked on. TH, 22 12 1958
Christmas lights in the park picture. TDN, 22 12 1958
Rain mars children’s festival. TDN, 23 12 1958
1959
Frogmen called in. TH, 6 1 1959
Floodlit pipe band tattoo- picture. TH, 7 1 1959
How sound will be heard at festival. TDN, 8 1 1959
Installation of sound boxes a. TDN, 15 1 1959
Spectacular music for the bowl. TDN, 12 2 1959
40 years as secretary. TDN, 13 2 1959
Protective gear for staff. TDN, 13 2 1959
Festival of the Pines Programme. 1959 TH, 16 2 1959
Bowl more than annual event. TDN, 17 2 1959
Bowl tribute to the city. TDN, 17 2 1959
Festival of the Pines 1959. TDN, 17 2 1959
Festival of the Pines. TDN, 17 2 1959
Boat on the lake TH, 18 2 1959
Puck A Midsummer night’s Dream. TH, 18 2 1959
Stereophonic variety heard at Brooklands. TDN, 20 2 1959
Cannons for 1812 overture. TH, 23 2 1959
Cannons for 1812 overture. TH, 23 2 1959
Evenings write up. TH, 23 2 1959
Miss Brooklands. TH, 23 2 1959
New Plymouth Girls choir. TH, 23 2 1959
National Orchestra. TH, 25 2 1959
Committee meeting. TH, 13 3 1959
New roof for begonia house. TDN, 17 4 1959
Committee meeting. TDN, 17 4 1959
Bowl of Brooklands Development Plan. TH, 7 5 1959
Committee meeting. TH, 15 5 1959
Use of park for model boats. TH, 15 5 1959
Committee meeting. TH, 12 6 1959
Committee meeting. TH, 17 7 1959
Removal of trees taking too long TH, 17 7 1959
Work for 20 at bowl. TDN, 20 7 1959
4000 for bowl facilities. TDN, 21 7 1959
Brooklands lake. TDN, 14 8 1959
Committee meeting TH, 14 8 1959
Volunteers on dressing room. TDN, 24 8 1959
Committee meeting. TDN, 18 9 1959
How the sportsground will be developed. TDN, 9 10 1959
How the sportsground will be developed. TDN, 9 10 1959
Committee meeting. TH, 9 10 1959
Working on the bowl. Photo news, Oct 1959
Boat landings in Fountain Lake. TH, 13 11 1959
Committee meeting. TH, 13 11 1959
Choice of soil. TDN, 18 12 1959
New colour for fountain. TDN, 18 12 1959
Committee meeting. TH, 18 12 1959
1960
Cast of Romeo and Juliet. TH, 9 2 1960
Committee meeting. TH, 12 2 1960
Swimming banned in Brooklands Lake. TH, 12 2 1960
About the festival. TH, 26 2 1960
About the festival. TH, 26 2 1960
Description of improved Bowl .TH, 26 2 1960
Festival programme. TH, 26 2 1960
National orchestra soloist and conductor. TH, 26 2 1960
Picture of Bowl with pines in background. TH, 26 2 1960
Picture of improved Bowl. TH, 26 2 1960
Fallen pine wrecks garden. TH, 29 2 1960
Festival opening night. TH, 29 2 1960
Festival opening night pic. TH, 29 2 1960
Festival opening night pic. TH, 29 2 1960
Romeo and Juliet .TH, 1 3 1960
Predicted loss for festival. TH, 8 3 1960
Sports Ground improvements. TH, 12 3 1960
Curator to report on future park plans – Sportsground update. TH, 18 3 1960
Gardener S Zavos in Brooklands – picture. TH, 4 4 1960
Fountain times. TDN, 16 4 1960
Committee meeting. TDN, 16 4 1960
Weather helps plants. TDN, 16 4 1960
Committee meeting. TH, 13 5 1960
Committee meeting. TH, 10 6 1960
Overplanting to be resisted. TH, 12 8 1960
Plan for Park development. TH, 12 8 1960
Planning Pukekura. TH, 12 8 1960
Committee meeting. TH, 12 8 1960
Development plan adopted. TDN, 9 9 1960
New store shed to be built behind curator’s office… TDN, 9 9 1960
Proposal for new access road to bowl. TDN, 9 9 1960
Paddling pool under construction – picture. TH, 24 9 1960
Wicket will be ready. TDN, 14 10 1960
Committee meeting. TH, 11 11 1960
Installing Cats sculpture – picture. TH, 12 11 1960
Children playing in Paddling Pool – picture. TH, 28 11 1960
Ailsa McCrone working at nursery – picture. TH, 3 12 1960
Brookland nursery – picture. TH, 3 12 1960
Brookland nursery article – picture Miss I Small. TH, 3 12 1960
Fountain playing times. TDN, 9 12 1960
1961
John Mahaffey to appear at festival pic. TH, 31 1 1961
Robin Hood actors. TH, 2 2 1961
Paddling Pool faults to be fixed. TDN, 10 2 1961
Committee meeting. TH, 10 2 1961
Removal of prominent trees. TH, 10 2 1961
Actors signing autographs. TH, 16 2 1961
Festival programme. TH, 17 2 1961
Hanbury’s last festival in charge. TH, 17 2 1961
Performers pre festival get together. TH, 17 2 1961
Rehearsal of The Crucifixion. TH, 17 2 1961
Rehearsal picture. TH, 17 2 1961
Some performers. TH, 17 2 1961
Some performers 2. TH, 17 2 1961
Hanbury toilet ticket box pic. TH, 18 2 1961
Volunteers stop work at Bowl. TH, 4 3 1961
Committee meeting. TH, 10 3 1961
Committee meeting. TH, 12 5 1961
Committee meeting. TH, 9 6 1961
Committee meeting. TH, 19 7 1961
Dangerous trees. TH, 16 8 1961
New Boundary fence TDN, 16 8 1961
Committee meeting. TH, 16 8 1961
Committee meeting. TH, 20 9 1961
Committee meeting TDN, 18 10 1961
New Bowl stage under construction. TH, 31 10 1961
Attack on lake weeds. TH, 22 11 1961
Gates to be erected at Brooklands Bowl TDN, 22 11 1961
1962
Brooklands glass houses under construction. TH, 20 2 1962
Committee meeting. TH, 21 2 1962
Committee meeting. TH, 21 3 1962
Committee meeting 2. TH, 21 3 1962
Debate on exotic trees for Park. TH, 18 4 1962
Committee meeting TDN, 18 4 1962
Committee meeting. TH, 18 4 1962
Jellyman and Fairbrother working – pictures. TH, 12 5 1962
Mr R Thrass and Beverley Salisbury working at the Park -pictures. TH, 12 5 1962
Committee meeting. TDN, 16 5 1962
Committee meeting. TH, 16 5 1962
Committee meeting. TDN, 20 6 1962
Alan Jellyman in Brooklands – picture. TDN, 7 7 1962
Committee meeting. TDN, 18 7 1962
New look for park. TDN, 20 7 1962
Bowl sound control building to be built. TDN, 22 8 1962
Committee meeting. TDN, 22 8 1962
Committee meeting. TH, 22 8 1962
Committee meeting 2. TH, 22 8 1962
Committee meeting. TH, 17 10 1962
Committee meeting 2. TH, 17 10 1962
1963
Festival of the pines aerial photo TDN, 15 2 1963
Committee meeting TDN, 20 3 1963
Poet’s bridge painting TDN, 22 3 1963
Committee meeting. TH, 22 3 1963
Committee meeting. TDN, 19 6 1963
TDN, 19 6 1963 Silting in lake.
Pine trees to be felled – picture eastern hillside. TH, 17 7 1963
Pine trees to be felled on western hillside – picture. TH, 17 7 1963
Committee meeting. TH, 17 7 1963
Swans coaxed to main lake. TH, 17 7 1963
Brooklands lake being cleared. TH, 21 8 1963
Committee meeting – Motor access to park. TH, 21 8 1963
Beautifying the entrance – pictures. TH, 8 10 1963
Park Committee – taken for a ride. TH, 16 10 1963
Stainton resigns TDN, 16 10 1963
Committee meeting. TH, 21 11 1963
New communications centre for the Bowl. Sunday Express, 1 12 1963
1964
Judgement of Park harsh. Sunday Express, 12 1 1964
Committee meeting. TH, 19 2 1964
Lack of co-operation by sports bodies TDN, 22 4 1964
More pines to be felled. TH, 22 4 1964
Committee meeting. TH, 22 4 1964
ANZAC Parade 1964. May photo News,
Committee meeting. TH, 20 5 1964
T A Sambrook working in Brooklands -picture. TH, 21 5 1964
Committee meeting. TH, 22 7 1964
Rugby league match v France given go-ahead TDN, 22 7 1964
Use of park on Sundays for sport. TDN, 25 7 1964
Use of park on Sundays for sport. TDN, 25 7 1964
Spring update including pictures of Park staff. TH, 8 8 1964
Bid to turn Bowl into a tourist attraction. Sunday Express, 9 8 1964
Proposed broadcasting shed TDN, 19 8 1964
Committee meeting. TH, 19 8 1964
Launch of Zoo project. Sunday Express, 23 8 1964
Log Cabin for Bowl Entrance. TH, 16 9 1964
Committee meeting. TH, 16 9 1964
Zoo project to start soon TDN, 18 9 1964
Working on zoo site – picture. TH, 3 10 1964
Rare plants donated TDN, 21 10 1964
Zoo construction begins. October Photo News,
Clearing pine trees picture. TH, 3 11 1964
Committee meeting. TH, 18 11 1964
Brooklands Zoo picture. TH, 8 12 1964
Cable to be installed at park TDN, 16 12 1964
Carols by candlelight TDN, 21 12 1964
1965
New Zealand National Band pic. TH, 4 1 1965
Bowl benefits from electronics. TH, 6 1 1965
Friends of Festival set up TDN, 7 1 1965
Ronald Brooker dies TDN, 14 1 1965
Top athletes at park TDN, 16 1 1965
Work to resume on zoo cage. TH, 21 1 1965
Jaycees resume work at zoo. TH, 23 1 1965
Woodland stage at Bowl. Sunday Express, 31 1 1965
Committee meeting. TH, 17 2 1965
Carpark planned for Brooklands TDN, 18 2 1965
More native trees to be planted TDN, 18 2 1965
Committee meeting TDN, 18 2 1965
Festival of the Pines opening – February photo News.
No more monkeys yet for the zoo. TH, 16 3 1965
Committee meeting TDN, 17 3 1965
Rope donated to park. TDN, 17 3 1965
Fred Parker orchid donation TDN, 24 3 1965
Fred Parker orchid donation. TH, 24 3 1965
New Glasshouse for orchids. TH, 24 3 1965
Fountain Lake emptied – picture. TH, 9 4 1965
George Fuller to care for orchids. TH, 9 4 1965
To care for park orchids TDN, 9 4 1965
Committee meeting. TH, 28 4 1965
House for orchids TDN, 15 5 1965
Tom Sawyer play, photos – May photo News.
Log Cabin Ticket Box at Brooklands. TH, 20 7 1965
Access to Bowl approved. TH, 8 8 1965
Committee meeting. TH, 22 9 1965
Arbor Day planting at Brooklands – September Photo News.
Committee meeting. TH, 20 10 1965
Gables open to public – picture. TH, 13 11 1965
1966
Labour shortage at Park. TH, 23 2 1966
Committee meeting. TH, 23 2 1966
Aviary extension agreed to. TH, 22 3 1966
Committee meeting. TH, 22 3 1966
Zoo curator’s advice sought. TH, 7 4 1966
Committee meeting. TH, 27 4 1966
Free Flight Aviary urged. TH, 2 5 1966
Proposal to drain the main lake. TH, 25 5 1966
Committee meeting. TH, 25 5 1966
Committee meeting. TH, 22 6 1966
Planning new zoo cages. TH, 12 7 1966
Sluicing main lake – picture. TH, 21 7 1966
Draining Park lakes. TH, 13 9 1966
Mrs Stainton planting tree in Stainton Dell. TH, 23 9 1966
Park ideal as nature trail. TH, 6 10 1966
Work starts on peafowl cage. TH, 17 10 1966
Attempts to cull ducks. TH, 19 10 1966
Committee meeting. TH, 19 10 1966
Committee meeting. TH, 23 11 1966
1967
First cricket test scheduled for the Park. TH, 28 1 1967
Woodland stage at Bowl. Sunday Express, 29 1 1967
Woodland stage at Bowl. Sunday Express, 29 1 1967
Third orchid donation by Fred Parker. TH, 9 2 1967
Trees may pose a problem for cricketers. TH, 1 3 1967
Praise for Park cricket ground. TH, 4 3 1967
Committee meeting. TH, 9 3 1967
Band room tender talked about. TH, 21 3 1967
New Plymouth trees may be protected. TH, 21 3 1967
Bowl development. Sunday Express, 9 4 1967
Committee meeting. TH, 13 4 1967
Extract from Parks and Reserves meeting. TH, 18 4 1967
Committee meeting. TH, 11 5 1967
Sunday sport in the park. TH, 11 5 1967
Kibby gift to build Begonia House. TH, 6 6 1967
Conducted park tours to be organised.. TH, 16 6 1967
Committee meeting. TH, 16 6 1967
New Zoo enclosure opened. TH, 1 7 1967
Waterfall proposed for the Park. TH, 14 7 1965
Committee meeting. TH, 10 8 1967
Volunteers wanted for Bowl. TH, 9 9 1967
Committee meeting. TH, 14 9 1967
Plaque unveiling for Fred Parker donation. TH, 6 10 1967
Fred Parker Orchid display officially opened. TH, 9 10 1965
Park Development scheme to be drawn up. TH, 12 10 1967
Committee meeting. TH, 12 10 1967
Christmas lights expanded. TH, 9 12 1967
1968
Activity in the Park over Christmas. TH, 11 1 1968
About the Park. Sunday Express, 21 1 1968
Brooklands monkey dies. TH, 6 2 1968
Brooklands gets another monkey. TH, 13 2 1968
Park tree impresses expert. TH, 27 2 1968
Tribute to Percy Stainton. TH, 27 2 1968
Slot machine suggested for fountain. TH, 11 4 1968
Committee meeting. TH, 26 4 1968
Ideas for Pukekura Park development. TH, 3 5 1968
Committee meeting. TH, 13 6 1968
July displays in the Park. TH, 3 7 1968
Committee meeting. TH, 15 8 1968
First day of paying to operate fountain – pictures. TH, 13 9 1968
Free fountain displays to continue. TH, 16 9 1968
Black Swans breed successfully. TH, 24 9 1968
Committee meeting. TH, 10 10 1968
Park Committee abolished. TH, 30 10 1968
Abolition of Park Committee. TH, 31 10 1968
Heart of a garden city. TH, 2 11 1968
1969
Old bathing shed being demolished. TH, 18 3 1969
Plants of interest in the Park. TH, 28 3 1969
Fuller and Burstall – picture. TH, 18 4 1969
Fernery entrance charge reduced. TH, 22 4 1969
Goodwin seeks planned development of all Parks. TH, 22 4 1969
Mrs A N Page orchid donation. TH, 22 4 1969
Conducted Park tours. TH, 7 5 1969
Welsh rugby players in park boats – picture. TH, 27 5 1969
Kibby begonia house nearly completed – picture. TH, 7 7 1969
Donation for waterfall construction. TH, 23 7 1969
Sketch of proposed waterfall. TH, 30 7 1969
Update of projects in the Park. TH, 4 8 1969
Waterfall construction – picture. TH, 9 9 1969
New Kibby begonia house – picture. TH, 30 10 1969
Construction of waterfall – picture. TH, 25 11 1969
Children’s playground. Sunday Express, 14 12 1969
Christmas lights in the Park. Sunday Express, 14 12 1969
1970
Kibby house ready for opening – picture. TH, 28 1 1970
Wind damage to Brooklands set. TH, 30 1 1970
Brookland Zoo update – pictures. TH, 11 7 1970
Wallaby pen – deer pen and peacock cage completed. TH, 5 9 1970
Zoo Dovecoat dedicated. TDN, 7 9 1970
Waterfall construction photo – Sunday Express, 20 9 1970
Rhodos at their best Sunday Express, 17 10 1970
Waterfall tested – picture. TH, 17 10 1970
Waterfall progress picture.jpg”
Waterfall opening ceremony – picture. TH, 22 10 1970
1971
Trying to save Brooklands chestnut tree. TH, 13 4 1971
Sad story in weathered stone. Sunday Express, 24 1 1971
The Gables. Sunday Express, 21 2 1971
Arbor day planting at zoo. TH, 14 8 1971
Display in park for orchid week. TH,
Maori pit – George Fuller. TH, Sept
Clean-up day at the Bowl. TH, 11 12 1971
1972
1973
1974
Jumping off The Poets Bridge TDN, 24 1 1974
Waterwheel project in progress – pictures. TH, 27 3 1974
Snakeskin prank. TH, 30 3 1974
Zoo playground. Sunday Times, 1 4 1974
Waterwheel construction site – George Fuller pic. TH, 2 4 1974
Free flight cage progress TDN, 5 4 1974
Work starts on waterwheel. Sunday Express, 7 4 1974
The Gables to be open to public. TH, 2 10 1974
Free flight cage completed TDN, 3 10 1974
Free flight cage finished. TH, 4 10 1974
Gables again open to public. TH, 4 10 1974
1975
1976
1977
Fred parker concerned about orchids on decline. TH, 13 1 1977
Jack Goodwin article. TH,15 1 1977
NPBHS students upgrading Maranui track. TH, 7 4 1977
Cleaning Poets bridge. TH, 27 4 1977
Lawson cypress for park lake banks. TH, 5 8 1977
Dead Spanish chestnut trimmed TDN, 18 8 1977
Repair to sports Ground terraces. TH, 24 9 1977
Fernery 50th anniversary. TH, 28 11 1977
1978
Fernery jubilee preparations. TH, 25 1 1978
Display house popular. TH, 30 1 1978
Fernery jubilee ceremonial planting TDN, 30 1 1978
Park walk organised by Jack Goodwin TDN, 11 3 1978
International cricket unlikely at Pukekura Park. TH, 14 3 1978
Drinking Fountain picture. TH, 29 3 1978
George Fuller controlling waterwheel flow. TH, 29 3 1978
Waterwheel picture. TH, 29 3 1978
Men working on Fountain Lake. TH, 11 4 1978
Fordson tractor retired from park service. TH, 14 6 1978
Maple tree being moved. TH, 18 8 1978
Jaycees push for monkey cage TDN, 13 9 1978
Horticultural trainee Miles King. TH, 13 12 1978
Vandalism in the park. TH, 14 12 1978
1979
Crowds at the park. TH, 3 1 1979
21 years of the Bowl of Brooklands. Sunday Express, 4 2 1979
Desilting main lake – picture. TH, 30 4 1979
Fitting retaining wall to edge of main lake – picture. TH, 6 6 1979
Park boat operator Neil Old – picture. TH, 6 7 1949
Monkey cage nearly ready – picture TDN, 1 9 1979
Monkey house almost ready TDN, 10 11 1979
D V Pascoe planting flowers under dead chestnut tree – picture TDN, 28 11 1979
Installing lights. TH, 28 11 1979
Delay in arrival of monkeys TDN, 14 12 1979
1980
Sailing on the main lake – picture. TH, 16 1 1980
Monkeys finally arrive at New Plymouth – picture TDN, 24 1 1980
Monkeys popular TDN, 21 2 1980
NPBH students pulling out crow’s feet grass – picture TDN, 6 3 1980
Newborn Capuchin monkey at the zoo – picture TDN, 24 6 1980
1981
1982
Model boats on Fountain Lake – picture TDN, 7 1 1982
Felled Monterey pine – picture. TH, 13 1 1982
Jetboats on the Main Lake – picture TDN, 28 1 1982
Pine tree falls destroying other trees – picture. TH, 28 1 1982
Liardet Street gates being sandblasted – Picture. TH, 4 3 1982
Frothy waterfall – picture. TH, 8 6 1982
Fountain pump being reinstalled – picture. TH, 29 6 1982
Western Hillside tree felling begins – picture. TH, 27 9 1982
Tree felling on the western hillside TDN, 1 10 1982
Last act in pine sage. TH, 2 10 1982
New Park skyline – pictures. TH, 5 10 1982
George Fuller profile TDN, 15 8 1982
Bowl of Brooklands – picture. Sunday Express, 14 11 1982
Work starts on park kiosk flower beds – picture. TH, 18 11 1982
Yellow firebricks used on Brooklands shrubberies – picture. TH, 20 11 1982
New gardens at kiosk nearing completion – picture. TH, 18 12 1982
1983
Old clinker-built boat bought for the lake – picture TDN, 3 2 1983
Waterfall vandalism. TH, 5 4 1983
New gate being installed at zoo – picture. TH, 9 4 1983
New path being created on western hillside – picture. TH, 28 5 1983
New vantage point on western hillside – picture. TH, 9 6 1983
New gas pipeline being laid to the fernery – picture. TH, 23 7 1983
Children’s playground – picture TDN, 25 7 1983
Preparing to re-sow the sportsground – picture. TH, 5 9 1983
Construction progress on new tractor shed – picture. TH, 22 9 1983
Cutting construction by the Tea House. TH, 22 11 1983
Tall pine being adorned with Christmas lights – picture. TDN, 22 12 1983
1984
Legends of The Poets Bridge. TH, 10 3 1984
Clinker built boats wanted for park lake – picture. TH, 26 6 1984
Sports Ground terraces being repaired – picture. TH, 18 7 1984
New drinking fountain installed for joggers – picture. TH, 24 7 1984
Clinker-built boat donated to park – picture. TH, 20 8 1984
Flower-bed construction outside Tea House – picture. TH, 22 9 1984
Iolanthe Small 40 years at the park – picture. TH, 6 10 1984
1985
Summer activities in the park. TH, 7 1 1985
Youth drowned in lake. TH, 28 1 1985
Clinker-built boat donated – picture. TH, 4 7 1985
Hatchery Lawn Cascade revival – pictures TDN, 8 8 1985
Repairs to sportsground terraces – picture. TH, 3 10 1985
Hatchery Lawn Cascade – picture TDN, 9 11 1985
The Gables opened as art gallery – pictures TDN, 9 11 1985
Notable Tree panels added to park trees. TH, 12 11 1985
Brooklands puriri – picture. TH, 19 11 1985
1986
New monkeys for the zoo – picture. TH, 20 1 1986
Pines of Pukekura – picture. TH, 21 1 1986
New glass house at fernery – picture. TH, 7 8 1986
Band Rotunda getting makeover for its anniversary – picture. TH, 8 9 1886
Plans for toddlers playground – picture. TH, 1 10 1986
Gover Street sections sale resurfaces. TH, 18 11 1986
Wendy Snowdon found unconscious in Brooklands. TH, 21 11 1986
Electricians installing cross on top of tall pine – picture. TH, 13 12 1986
1987
Christmas lights – picture. TH, 14 1 1987
Park outdoor movies in jeopardy. TH, 18 2 1987
New pre-school play area – picture. TH, 12 3 1987
Band Rotunda jubilee. TDN, 14 3 1987
Band Rotunda centenary celebration. TH, 16 3 1987
Swings trap bigger kids – picture. TH, 28 3 1987
Fountain lights need re-anchoring. TH, 23 4 1987
Park acquires two white swans – picture. TH, 11 5 1987
New observation deck next to Tea House – picture. TH, 15 7 1987
New observation deck next to Tea House – picture. TH, 16 6 1987
1988
Eel hunt – picture TDN, 27 1 1988
Hundreds attend Eel hunt. TH, 27 1 1988
Lighting display extended a week – picture. TH, 30 1 1988
Safer children’s playground TDN, 22 4 1988
Possible enlargement of sportsground – picture. TH, 7 5 1988
Tree trimming – picture. TH, 24 5 1988
Cyclone Bola aftermath – pictures. TH, 25 6 1988
Old park photo presented to Mayor – picture. TH, 18 8 1988
Pavilion modifications. TH, 21 9 1988
Summer programme – picture. TH, 26 11 1988
Park hit by graffiti – picture. TH, 30 11 1988
Vandalism annoying – picture. TDN, 1 12 1988
1989
Annual eel hunt. TH, 25 1 1989
Park lights to be shown in U.S. TH, 8 2 1989
Pavilion mods cost blowout. TH, 8 2 1989
Park sale plan. TDN, 16 9 1989
Outrage over Park land sell-off plan. TDN, 23 9 1989
Park land sale in limbo. TDN, 10 10 1989
60-year anniversary of park handover – pictures. TDN, 21 10 1989
1990
1991
Park tour – picture TDN, 19 1 1991
Sportsground terraces in need of repair. TDN, 8 2 1991
Thomas Horton family gathering – picture TDN, 25 2 1991
Damage to Park. Midweek, 27 2 1991
Terrace erosion repair TDN, 23 4 1991
New maps for the park TDN, 30 4 1991
Working on banks of main lake. Weekender, 5 5 1991
Dangerous pine trees to be felled – picture. TDN, 19 9 1991
1992
Iolanthe Small retirement – picture. TDN, 8 1 1992
Mike Nicholls new park manager. TDN, 13 2 1992
Hillside is a hidden corner. TDN, 7 3 1992
Plaque taken from main entrance. TDN, 7 7 1992
Park heart of city. TDN, 19 9 1992
Residents to have say in park management. TDN, 10 10 1992
1993
Boy drowned in main lake. TDN, 7 1 1993
Drowning victim named. TDN, 8 1 1993
Walsh Appliance Eel Hunt -picture. TDN, 12 1 1993
Brooklands chimney being restored – picture. TDN, 6 3 1993
Draft management plan findings. TDN, 7 10 1993
Focus on the park fernery. TDN, 27 11 1993
1994
1995
Annual eel hunt – picture. TDN, 11 1 1995
No plans to use life jackets. TDN, 14 1 1995
Searchlight tattoo – picture. TDN, 6 3 1995
Fernery featured on TV – picture. TDN, 7 4 1995
Park future bleak. TDN, 22 4 1995
George Fuller ponders lake health – picture. TDN, 22 5 1995
FOPP back call to save lakes – picture. TDN, 25 5 1995
Council welcomes FOPP involvement in park. TDN, 27 5 1995
Victoria Road car park under construction. Midweek, 12 7 1995
Victoria Road car park under construction. TDN, 14 7 1995
Oil industry equipment considered for cleaning lakes. TDN, 20 7 1995
Waterfall and fountain at push of a button. TDN, 27 7 1995
Lake cleanup trial begins. Weekender, 22 10 1995
1996
Birth in the park. TDN, 27 2 1996
Councillors mixed views on fernery plan. TDN, 14 3 1996
Committee recommends silt removal from lakes. TDN, 15 3 1996
Cricket wicket being replaced. TDN, 15 3 1996
Watter high on agenda for FOPP. TDN, 26 4 1996
Water quality in the park. TDN, 29 4 1996
Park on NZ stamps. TDN, 8 5 1996
Alan Jellyman on parks future. TDN, 17 6 1996
Jack Goodwin leaves NP with mixed feelings. TDN, 5 7 1996
Bowl renovation begins – picture. TDN, 8 15 8 1996
Desilting main lake – picture. TDN, 24 9 1996
Roof for Bowl. TDN, 22 11 1996
Upgrade for Fernery. TDN, 23 11 1996
1997
Brooklands Zoo set for big upgrade. TDN, 11 3 1997
George Fuller with boy born in park. TDN, 15 4 1997
Spraying in park raises concern on health effects. TDN, 15 4 1997
Plans to raise Fernery roof. TDN, 3 6 1997
George Fuller in retirement. – pictures. TDN, 13 6 1997
Fernery roof plans. Midweek, 18 6 1997
Question on silt. TDN, 23 7 1997
Jack Goodwin story, TDN, 8 8 1997
Jack Goodwin story. TDN, 8 8 1997
Fernery upgrade on hold. TDN, 16 8 97
Farmyard comes to city zoo. TDN, 1 10 1997
Oak tree topples on park toilets. TDN, 6 10 1997
1998
Railway proposal. TDN, 13 1 1998
Park fernery to be upgraded .TDN,
Aviary undergoes redevelopment. TDN, 19 5 1998
Replacing trees in Liardet Street. TDN, 16 6 1998
Council turns down funds request for Bowl upgrade. TDN, 19 6 1998
Brooklands upgrade over budget. TDN, 1 7 1998
Upgrade for park display houses. TDN, 15 7 1998
New signs for park. Midweek, 22 7 1998
Ian McDowell surveys damage – picture. TDN, 28 7 1998
Fernery upgrade. TDN, 6 9 1998
Flood works a success. TDN, 13 10 1998
Upgrade to Bowl changing rooms. TDN, 12 11 1998
Fernery upgrade part 1. TDN, 25 11 1998
Fernery upgrade part 2. TDN, 25 11 1998
Saywell motors donate golf buggy – picture. TDN, 17 12 1998
1999
Early buggy. Midweek, 31 3 1999
Friends thanked. Midweek, 31 3 1999
New playground equipment. Midweek, 31 3 1999
New Park manager wanted. Midweek, 23 6 1999
New Park manager wanted. Midweek, 23 6 1999
Ian McDowell part 1. TDN, 25 6 1999
Ian McDowell part 2. TDN, 25 6 1999
Brian Gould appointed. TDN, 4 9 1999
New Mobility buggy. Midweek, 29 9 1999
Job was fate Brian Gould. TDN, 12 11 1999
Brian Gould takes over. Midweek, 17 11 1999
New Park book. Midweek, 17 11 1999
Scanlan Walk named. TDN, 19 11 1999
2000
Alan Jellyman retirement part 1TDN, 4 3 2000
Alan Jellyman retirement part 2. TDN, 4 3 2000
Alan Jellyman retirement part 3 -picture. TDN, 4 3 2000
Fernery upgrades. TDN, 28 8 2000
Rhododendrons being trimmed. TDN, 28 8 2000
Upgraded fernery opens. TDN, 2 9 2000
Trees vandalised. TDN, 6 11 2000
Ian McDowell dies. TDN, 23 11 2000
2001
Fish friendly waterways. Midweek, 31 1 2001
Wetland walkway. TDN, 23 3 2001
Focus on lakes. Midweek, 28 3 2001
Eels get chance to breed. TDN, 2 4 2001
Something fishy going on. Midweek, 16 5 2001
Torii Gates opened. TDN, 18 5 2001
Torii Gates opening. Midweek, 18 5 2001
Torii Gates opened. TDN, 23 5 2001
125-year Anniversary. TDN, 30 5 2001
Improving Bowl area. TDN, 1 6 2001
Man found in Park lake. TDN, 25 6 2001
Dead man named. TDN, 26 6 2001
Swan killed by dog. TDN, 30 6 2001
Second swan killed. TDN, 3 7 2001
Swan deaths. Midweek, 4 7 2001
2002
Ailsa McCrone retires. TDN, 4 1 2002
Orchids promise a great show. TDN, 12 1 2002
Wetland to get spruce-up. Midweek, 23 1 2002
Pest fish in the gun. TDN, 26 1 2002
Jellyman and Fuller – picture. TDN, 28 3 2002
Move to label park trees. Midweek, 22 5 2002
Documentary to celebrate parks birthday. Midweek, 26 6 2002
Park in line for major changes. TDN, 3 7 2002
Need for care with park changes. TDN, 4 7 2002
Talk of tree-top walkway. TDN, 23 9 2002
Treetop walkway part 1. TDN, 23 9 2002
Treetop walkway part 2. TDN, 23 9 2002
Work planned for Kauri Grove. Midweek, 25 9 2002
Opposition to tree-top walk. TDN, 8 10 2002
Last Samurai planning. TDN, 29 10 2002
Festival of lights to get boost. TDN, 31 10 2002
Parkscape to change operations. TDN, 31 10 2002
Kauri get the chop. TDN, 13 11 2002
Hatchery stage built. TDN, 21 11 2002
2003
Outrage at Firebugs targeting Park. TDN, 13 2 2003
Prestigious award for Alan Jellyman. TDN, 14 2 2003
Last Samurai at the sportsground. TDN, 20 2 2003
Cycling issue in the park. TDN, 9 5 2003
Jack Goodwin Honoured. TDN, 4 6 2003
Safety laws hit zoo volunteers. TDN, 7 6 2003
Scanlan lookout opened. TDN, 12 6 2003
Lama Samten visits park. TDN, 25 6 2003
Tree felling plan. TDN, 27 6 2003
Kauri trees in the park. TDN, 3 7 2003
David Bellamy visits park. TDN, 30 7 2003
Cutting kauri an investment for the future. TDN, 18 8 2003
Torrey Pine struck by lightning. TDN, 6 9 2003
Bold plans for park. TDN, 10 9 2003
Fullers opposition to bold plan. TDN, 11 9 2003
Discussions about bold plan for park. TDN, 12 9 2003
Park plans up in the air. Midweek, 17 9 2003
Band Rotunda facelift – picture. TDN, 30 9 2003
Public to have say on park plans. TDN, 4 10 2003
Kunming offer Pagoda. TDN, 7 10 2003
Mobility scooters introduced to park. TDN, 7 10 2003
Pagoda set to go-ahead. TDN, 14 10 2003
Views sought on park management plan. Midweek, 16 10 2003
Waterwheel to be renewed part 1. TDN, 28 10 2003
2004
Council berated over care of park. TDN, 12 2 2004
Mayor defends park staff. TDN, 13 2 2004
Council revises Park management Plan. TDN, 14 2 2004
Praise for park staff. TDN, 19 2 2004
Car ban upsets elderly. TDN, 27 2 2004
Palm tree cut down by vandals. Midweek, 5 3 2004
Park in limbo but still garden of national significance a. TDN, 5 3 2004
Park in limbo but still garden of national significance b. TDN, 5 3 2004
Disabled regain access to parking. TDN, 31 3 2004
No cycling signs installed. Midweek, 7 4 2004
Scanlan lookout opened. TDN, 30 4 2004
Trial vehicle access to kiosk. TDN, 4 5 2004
Kunming Garden proposal accepted. TDN, 26 5 2004
Gables studio moved. Midweek, 2 6 2004
Opinion sought on Chinese garden. Midweek, 2 6 2004
New disabled parking spots opened. Midweek, 30 6 2004
Submissions for Chinese garden closed. Midweek, 30 6 2004
Additional funding for park. TDN, 5 7 2004
Kunming Garden gets green light. TDN, 22 7 2004
Plan for Kunming Garden. Midweek, 28 7 2004
Highland school land sale. TDN, 20 9 2004
75 years since Park handed over to council. TDN, 16 10 2004
75-year memorial celebration. TDN, 18 10 2004
Work starts on Kunming Garden. TDN, 13 12 2004
2005
Questions to shed light on park profil . TDN, 11 1 2005
Caterers moving on. TDN, 8 2 200
Kiosk due for upgrade and change of operators. TDN,11 2 2005
Kunming Garden progress. TDN, 12 2 2005
Kunming Garden progress. TDN, 13 1 2005
Kunming Garden opening scheduled 1. TDN, 24 2 2005
Kunming Garden opening. TDN, 28 2 2005
Kunming opening. Midweek, 30 3 2005
Kiosk operators leave after 26 years. Midweek, 4 5 2005
More views sought on park development. TDN, 3 6 2005
Bureaucrats must be careful. TDN, 18 6 2005
New waterwheel under construction. TDN, 7 7 2005
Park to have new waterwheel. TDN, 11 7 2005
Park work is on track. TDN, 13 7 2005
Playgrounds to get new toilets. TDN, 20 7 2005
Park friends angry at damage. TDN, 26 7 2005
Future of kiosk up for discussion. TDN, 23 8 2005
State of kiosk shocks councillors. TDN, 24 8 2005
Tea House to be rebuilt. TDN, 10 9 2005
Council changes step over kiosk. TDN, 14 9 2005
Kiosk pair not the bad guys. Midweek, 21 9 2005
New waterwheel being installed. TDN, 1 11 2005
2006
Rock in the right place. TDN, 21 1 2006
Support for Park plan. TDN, 25 1 2006
One man’s vision. TDN, 28 1 2006
Tea House refurbishment. TDN, 1 2 2006
Tea House to remain. Midweek, 8 2 2006
Hatchery stage vandalised. Midweek, 22 2 2006
Events manager quits. TDN, 4 3 2006
Park copes with onslaught. Midweek, 15 3 2006
Medway on birds. TDN, 2 6 2006
Sculpture to go ahead. TDN, 2 6 2006
Park centre approved. TDN, 21 6 2006
Tree being removed – picture. TDN, 22 6 2006
Tea House facelift (Midweek). TDN, 2 8 2006
Boatbuilder. Midweek, 9 8 2006
Mungo the red panda arrives. Midweek, 9 8 2006
Tea House should be open for summer. TDN, 14 8 2006
New Parks manager. TDN, 18 8 2006
Tea House set to open. Midweek, 6 9 2006
Work on west terrace. TDN, 29 9 2006
Curator set to return. TDN, 17 11 2006
2007
Jenny Goddard on Tea House refurbishment. Midweek, 10 1 2007
Duck need more than luck. Midweek, 24 1 2007
Garden of national significance. Midweek, 24 1 2007
Drinking fountain vandalised. TDN, 26 1 2007
Smithers sculpture. TDN, 31 1 2007
Smithers sculpture. Midweek, 7 2 2007
Michael Smither. TDN, 21 2 2007
No haste considering sculpture. TDN, 22 2 2007
Sculpture hits snag. Midweek, 28 2 2007
Information centre on hold. TDN, 7 3 2007
Sculpture backed by council. TDN, 4 4 2007
Council approve sculpture. Midweek, 11 4 2007
Curator based at park. Midweek, 18 4 2007
Park mentioned in Wisden. Midweek, 20 6 2007
Park on NZ Monopoly. TDN, 26 6 2007
Sculpture rethink. Midweek, 4 7 2007
Lemurs new to the zoo. TDN, 16 7 2007
Lemurs sunbathing. Midweek, 18 7 2007
Grant for website. TDN, 2 8 2007
Sculpture in progress. Midweek, 5 9 2007
New Waterwheel broken being repaired. TDN, 6 9 2007
Drinking fountain being restored. TDN, 13 9 2007
Sculpture complete. TDN, 26 9 2007
Sculpture not spinning. Midweek, 10 10 2007
New Park booklet. Midweek, 7 11 2007
2008
50 years of the Bowl. Midweek, 9 1 2008
Bowl 50th anniversary. Midweek, 9 1 2008
First Park walk part 1. Midweek, 9 1 2008
First Park walk part 2. Midweek, 9 1 2008
Second Park walk. Midweek, 16 1 2008
Third Park walk. Midweek, 23 1 2008
Fernery 80 years old. TDN, 26 1 2008
Fernery 80 years old. TDN, 29 1 2008
Fourth Park walk part.1Midweek, 30 1 2008
Fourth Park walk part 2. Midweek, 30 1 2008
Maranui track upgrade starts. TDN, 5 2 2008
Fifth Park walk part 1. Midweek, 6 2 2008
Fifth Park walk part 2. Midweek, 6 2 2008
Grimace the gorilla. TDN, 9 2 2008
Bowl of Brooklands cartoon. Midweek, 13 2 2008
Model of bowl built by Robin Sinclair. Midweek, 13 2 2008
Sixth Park walk part 1. Midweek, 13 2 2008
Sixth Park walk part 2. Midweek, 13 2 2008
Bowl anniversary display. Midweek, 20 2 2008
New staff for zoo. TDN, 27 2 2008
Sportsground terraces to be strengthened. Midweek, 16 4 2008
Primula Dell restored. Midweek, 23 4 2008
New animals for zoo. Midweek, 21 5 2008
New female capuchins. TDN, 30 7 2008
New otter at zoo. Midweek, 13 8 2008
$4000 dollar donation to fernery. TDN, 12 9 2008
Park update. Midweek, 24 9 2008
New electric buggy. TDN, 22 10 2008
Zoo drainage improvements. Midweek, 22 10 2008
2009
Lakes disgusting. Midweek, 18 2 2009
Lakes water quality issues. Midweek, 4 3 2009
Vandals attack cricket ground. TDN, 7 3 2009
King family get together. TDN, 10 3 2009
Kete website launch. TDN, 27 5 2009
Friends battle for park trees. TDN, 11 6 2009
Campaign to save trees. TDN, 15 6 2009
Campaign to save trees. TDN, 17 6 2009
New bowl access road. Midweek, 17 6 2009
Bowl access issue. TDN, 18 6 2009
Bowl access issue a. TDN, 18 6 2009
Bowl access tree issues. TDN, 19 06 2009
Bowl access tree issues a. TDN, 19 06 2009
Racing club wrongly blamed for access road issues. TDN, 20 6 2009
Fuller campaign to save tree. TDN, 22 6 2009
Bowl access road issue. TDN, 24 6 2009
Orsborn’s taking over tea house. TDN, 24 6 2009
Battle to save tree. TDN, 25 6 2009
Access road to Bowl summary part 1. TDN, 27 6 2009
Access road to Bowl summary part 2. TDN, 27 6 2009
Puriri tree near bowl access saved. part 1. TDN, 27 6 2009
Puriri tree near bowl access saved. part 2. TDN, 27 6 2009
Road row damaged council standing. TDN, 30 6 2009
Waterwheel under repair. Midweek, 1 7 2009
Lake covered for concert. TDN, 6 7 2009
Debate over covering bowl lake. TDN, 8 7 2009
Bowl seating plan annoys. Midweek, 15 7 2009
Friends fear for Bowl lake. TDN, 25 7 2009
Access issue resolved. TDN, 10 8 2009
Bowl access road contract let. TDN, 22 08 2009
Wisteria to get new pergola. Midweek, 26 08 2009
Work starts on access road. TDN, 8 9 2009
Ground water monitoring holes being bored. TDN, 29 9 2009
Kauri trees may have problem. TDN, 20 10 2009
The Poet’s Bridge being refurbished. TDN, 21 10 2009
Bowl access road nearly finished. TDN, 10 11 2009
Kauri not suffering from kauri rot. TDN, 17 11 2009
Curator makes presence felt. TDN, 20 11 2009
Wisteria support finished. TDN, 28 11 2009
Cricket practice nets proposal not welcomed. TDN, 2 12 2009
Lake weed removal. TDN, 8 12 2009
Cricket net queries. TDN, 9 12 2009
2010
George Fuller Man of the year. TDN, 1 1 2010
George Fuller Man of the year a. TDN, 1 1 2010
Arsonist attack trees. TDN, 18 1 2010
Cricket practice nets. TDN, 30 3 2010
Nets plan sent for approval. TDN, 31 3 2010
Cricket nets debate. TDN, 3 4 2010
Nets get approved. TDN, 21 4 2010
Nets went to casting vote. TDN, 24 4 2010
Nets casting vote rule clarified. TDN, 27 4 2010
Kunming pavilion timber rotting. TDN, 14 5 2010
Cricket nets hit snag. TDN, 25 6 2010
Cricket nets water problem clarification. TDN, 26 6 2010
Mission to save Boris the eel. TDN, 8 7 2010
Boris off the hook. TDN, 10 7 2010
Mungo the red panda died. TDN, 14 7 2010
Operation to catch feral cats. TDN, 14 7 2010
Feral cats trapped. Midweek, 21 7 2010
Fountain nozzles being repaired. Midweek, 21 7 2010
Waterwheel removed for repairs. TDN, 21 7 2010
Fernery upgrade resumes. TDN, 22 9 2010
Waterfall boulders removed. Midweek, 29 9 2010
Vandals torch playground. TDN, 8 10 2010
2011
Brookland copper beech collapsed. TDN, 25 1 2011
Park copper beech to be removed. TDN, 29 1 2011
Fate of fallen copper beech timber. TDN, 1 2 2011
Friendship plaque unveiled. Midweek, 4 5 2011
Aging boats replaced with plastic lookalikes. TDN, 24 8 2011
Nets site wrong place. TDN, 10 11 2011
Park loses one-dayers. TDN, 10 11 2011
TSB backs nets. TDN, 23 11 2011
2012
Drunk teen creates havoc. TDN, 6 1 2012
Judge jails park hooligan. TDN, 14 1 2012
Bolivian monkeys arrive at zoo. TD, 22 1 2012
Council to call for nets tender. TDN, 2 2 2012
Nets decision brings ODI back. TDN, 3 2 2012
Firebugs torch toilets. TDN, 13 2 2012
Container loos to the rescue. TDN, 24 2 2012
Fibre optic cables for the park. TDN, 24 2 2012
Monarchs at Brooklands. TDN, 24 2 2012
Nets to start construction. TDN, 28 2 2012
Band Rotunda 125 years old. Midweek, 7 3 2012
Band Rotunda 125th celebration. TDN, 12 3 2012
Damage to fernery from storm. TDN, 21 3 2012
Chemical containers harmless. TDN, 23 3 2012
Nets construction underway. TDN, 30 3 2012
Baby tamarin monkeys die. TDN, 12 4 2012
Bolivian monkeys added to zoo. TDN, 13 4 2012
Nets less intrusive. TDN, 14 4 2012
Bolivian squirrel monkeys arrive. Midweek, 18 4 2012
Illegal dump to be covered with clay. TDN, 18 4 2012
Monkeys delight visitors. Midweek, 18 4 2012
Stage 3 of fernery upgrade to begin. TDN, 18 6 2012
Park wins certificate of excellence. TDN, 28 6 2012
Monkey needs a name. Midweek, 18 7 2012
New wetlands to keep park lakes cleaner. TDN, 6 8 2012
Work starts on new Brooklands toilets. TDN, 6 9 2012
Old boats for sale. TDN, 25 9 2012
Old boats for sale. Midweek, 26 9 2012
Boat bonus for park. TDN, 2 10 2012
Silt trap to be built. TDN, 4 10 2012
Fernery to get new roof. TDN, 10 10 2012
Fernery to get new roof red. TDN, 10 10 2012
Park lakes to be cleaned. TDN, 17 11 2012
2013
Nets ready for inspection. TDN, 10 1 2013
Bicycle riding in the Park. TDN, 30 1 2013
Playground set for upgrade. TDN, 26 2 2013
Opposition to playground update. TDN, 2 3 2013
A Park like no other. TDN, 9 3 2013
A Park like no other. TDN, 9 3 2013
We can’t put a price on our Park. TDN, 9 3 2013
Stags delighted with practice nets. TDN, 12 3 2013
Dream to reintroduce kokako to the Park. TDN, 16 3 2013
Cherry trees get felled at Kaimata St entrance. TDN, 13 4 2013
Park entrances to get smartened up. Midweek, 17 4 2013
Band Rotunda closed for restoration. TDN, 19 4 2013
Desilting and Children’s Playground. TDN, 31 5 2013
Zoo gets Blue Tongue Skinks. TDN, 21 6 2013
Development of the Fernery. TDN, 22 6 2013
Playground upgrade begins with for removal. TDN, 25 6 2013
New birds at Brooklands. Midweek, 26 6 2013
Zoo receives Australian brolga. TDN, 27 6 2013
Lake banks reinforced with geotextile bags. TDN, 6 7 2013
New playground equipment being installed. TDN, 9 8 2013
Lake desilting equipment arrives. TDN, 12 8 2013
Lake dregs yield coffee machine. TDN, 21 8 2013
Lake cleanup abandoned. TDN, 4 9 2013
David Medway Obituary. TDN, 8 10 2013
Friends of the Bowl bowing out after 10 years. TDN, 17 10 2013
Playground ready for opening. TDN, 18 10 2013
ICC gives Park green light. TDN, 31 10 2013
Orchid man of Pukekura. TDN, 1 11 2013
Playground slides to be installed. TDN, 7 11 2013
Charlie the cockatoo. TDN, 8 11 2013
Sharing Pukekura Park’s IT secrets – George mason. TDN, 8 11 2013
2014
Park recognised as world class. TDN, 9 1 2014
Golden tree erected. TDN, 30 1 2013
Friends of Park invite suggestions for improving Park. Midweek, 26 2 2014
Buggy vandalised. TDN, 28 2 2014
Buggy vandals caught. TDN, 1 3 2014
Lake desilting left for another year. TDN, 2 4 2014
Lake just a duck pond. TDN, 12 5 2014
Park gets new buggy. TDN, 13 5 2014
Park lake not just a duck pond. TDN, 14 5 2014
Park inspires children’s book. Midweek, 28 5 2014
Changes to fernery house 2. TDN, 13 6 2014
Work on lake outlets to start. Midweek, 18 6 2014
Goldfish are gone but eels are thriving. TDN, 30 7 2014
2015
Band Rotunda back in business. Midweek, 11 3 2015
Possum control plan. TDN, 30 3 2015
Fillis Street wall to be replaced. Midweek, 1 4 2015
George Fuller dies. TDN, 22 6 201531 7 2015
Zoo acquires leopard geckos. TDN,
Kunming pavilion rotting. Midweek, 12 8 2015
Brooklands nature walk to be updated. Midweek, 26 8 2015
Suffrage Day Camellia planting. Midweek, 167 9 2015
Bug hotel opens at zoo. TDN, 8 12 2015
New Cell Tower proposed to fix Bowl web woes. TDN, 15 12 2015
Rust-like bins appear in park. TDN, 18 12 2015
2016
Friends of Park celebrate 20 years. Midweek, 24 2 2016
Future workers build the zoo a new office. TDN, 24 2 2016
The gatekeepers of the Park. TDN, 5 3 2016
Park holds on to 5 star rating. TDN, 9 4 2016
Monkey cage modified. TDN, 13 4 2016
Rusty signs for park. TDN, 27 4 2016
Zoo Assistant curator Eve Cozzi. TDN, 27 4 2016
Entrances having new signs. TDN, 16 5 2016
New home for holy tree. Midweek, 18 5 2016
Ginkgo pavlova planted in Kunming Garden. Midweek, 29 6 2016
Park rates well on Trip Advisor. TDN, 30 6 2016
New accolade for Park’s pitch. TDN, 1 7 2016
Zoo gets accreditation TDN, 1 7 2016
Meerkats for Zoo. TDN, 11 7 2016
Historic passions of the Park. TDN, 19 7 2016
Fundraising for King gates. TDN, 9 8 2016
Friends recognise George Mason. Midweek, 10 8 2016
Park trapping feral cats. TDN, 30 8 2016
Park’s $70k signs unreadable. TDN, 3 10 2016
Bad drivers cost Park its scooters. TDN, 11 11 2016
2017
The rusty signs of the times at Pukekura Park. TDN, 28 1 2017
Shingles will be used for new roof on The gables. TDN, 1 2 2017
Bugs at the zoo. Midweek, 15 2 2017
Ratting out rodents in Park. TDN, 13 3 2017
Green flag for the park. Midweek, 15 3 2017
Barley not bread on the duck’s menu. TDN, 4 4 2017
Four cygnets return to Park then there was one. TDN, 12 4 2017
And then there were none. TDN, 19 4 2017
Jala the otter dies at Zoo. TDN, 26 4 2017
Sanctuary violated. TDN, 26 4 2017
$150k to be spent on The Gables roof. TDN, 7 6 2017
Kicking up a stink over Park lakes. TDN, 12 6 2017
Paint with meerkat Michelangelos. TDN, 5 7 2017
Charlies creation proves popular. TDN, 19 7 2017
Thieves coining in in at Park fernery. TDN, 1 8 2017
New roof for the Gables. Midweek, 2 8 2017
Newest tower in town. TDN, 4 9 2017
Council gateway to employment. Midweek, 22 11 2017